This killed 100+ ppl

Postby SUPAstarr » May 24th, 2011, 8:13 am

Just massive

Re: This killed 100+ ppl

Postby wagonrunner » May 24th, 2011, 8:19 am

GATDAMN

Postby shogun » May 24th, 2011, 8:22 am

Wow! was a mile wide, from reports on the news.

red5FWD

Postby red5FWD » May 24th, 2011, 8:22 am

:shock: :shock: :shock:

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » May 24th, 2011, 8:33 am

power of nature...wow!
we really lucky in this place..

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » May 24th, 2011, 8:34 am

was now reading that in the newspapers, what continues to confuse me is why doesnt the US government change their Building codes when constructing buildings in Tornado areas?

stop the plyboard and dry wall exterior walls and use some good ole concrete.

RawVoltage

Postby RawVoltage » May 24th, 2011, 8:37 am

damn, the place turned night yes, man hadda put on his headlights.

noobie

Postby noobie » May 24th, 2011, 8:47 am

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:was now reading that in the newspapers, what continues to confuse me is why doesnt the US government change their Building codes when constructing buildings in Tornado areas?

Not sure that concrete helps much , with the forces that these tornadoes produce.

Postby SUPAstarr » May 24th, 2011, 8:57 am

^ agreed, those things have no respect for concrete or the 4 door luxury sedan that it picks up an pelts through the concrete wall

Category FO-- Gale Tornado Category 40 - 72 mph--
Light damage: some damage to chimneys, breaks branches off trees, pushes over shallow-rooted trees, and damages sign boards.

Category F1-- Moderate Tornado Category 73 - 112 mph--
Moderate damage: The lower limit Category 73 mph-- is the beginning of hurricane wind speed, peels surfaces of roofs, mobile homes pushed off foundations or overturned, and moving autos pushed off roads.

Category F2-- Significant Tornado Category 112 - 157 mph--
Considerable damage: Roofs torn off the frames of houses, mobile homes demolished, boxcars pushed over, large trees snapped or uprooted, and heavy cars lifted off ground and thrown

Category F3-- Severe Tornado Category 158 - 206 mph--
Severe damage: Roofs and some walls torn off well-constructed houses, trains overturned, most trees in forest uprooted, and heavy cars lifted off ground and thrown.

Category F4-- Devastating Tornado Category 207 - 260 mph--
Devastating damage: Well-constructed houses leveled, structures blown off weak foundations, and cars and other large objects thrown about.

Category F5-- Incredible Tornado Category 261 - 318 mph--
Incredible damage: Strong frame houses are lifted off foundations and carried a considerable distance and disintegrated, automobile sized missiles fly through the air in excess of 100 meters, and trees debarked.

Category F6+-- Inconceivable Tornado Category 319 - 379 mph--
The maximum wind speed of tornadoes is not expected to reach the F6 wind speeds.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » May 24th, 2011, 8:59 am

at the sAme time it would still offer much better protection than the typical american house if built properly

Postby Sky » May 24th, 2011, 9:02 am

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:was now reading that in the newspapers, what continues to confuse me is why doesnt the US government change their Building codes when constructing buildings in Tornado areas?

Ron White wrote:There was a guy down in Florida who said that, at the age of 53 years old, he was in good enough physical condition to withstand the wind, rain and hail of a force-3 hurricane. Now, let me explain somethin' to ya: it isn't that the wind is blowin', it's what the wind is blowin'. If you get hit by a Volvo, it doesn't matter how many sit-ups you did that morning. If you have a "Yield" sign in your spleen, joggin' don't really come into play. "I can run 25 miles without stopping." "You're bleedin'." "sheit!"

Postby crazybalhead » May 24th, 2011, 9:02 am

Seen pics of tornados in the past where they have thrown pieces of two by four that pierced concrete walls!

Postby Sky » May 24th, 2011, 9:05 am

And actually that's why they build the cheapo houses, because it won't make sense spending much more on concrete when the house is done for anyway. Let them continue to cheapout on the houses and have bunkers below.

Postby SUPAstarr » May 24th, 2011, 9:10 am

yup to me thats the thinkin, spend the money on a strong basement, cuz no matter what upstairs it go mash up

rossi

Postby rossi » May 24th, 2011, 9:11 am

I think they build with ply board and dry wall because it's cheaper to rebuild if a tornado hits. Think about it, it would be a waste of money to build something concrete and have it obliterated, while you could spend less to build and repair using cheap materials.

That tornado was intense......anybody gonna blame HAARP for this one?

noobie

Postby noobie » May 24th, 2011, 9:11 am

Sky wrote:And actually that's why they build the cheapo houses, because it won't make sense spending much more on concrete when the house is done for anyway. Let them continue to cheapout on the houses and have bunkers below.

That's it. Every house, business etc. needs to have underground bunkers specced to resist the F5 or F6 tornadoes.

Rememebr there was a 20 minute warning before this tornado hit. Technically this should have been enough time to take a sheit AND get into your bunker.

psykomorf

Postby psykomorf » May 24th, 2011, 9:15 am

can't believe the sirens weren't on when this was recorded.

kevcam

Postby kevcam » May 24th, 2011, 9:49 am

crazybalhead wrote:Seen pics of tornados in the past where they have thrown pieces of two by four that pierced concrete walls!

Yup. The first time I saw this I was shocked.

Postby Gladiator » May 24th, 2011, 9:49 am

rossi wrote:I think they build with ply board and dry wall because it's cheaper to rebuild if a tornado hits. Think about it, it would be a waste of money to build something concrete and have it obliterated, while you could spend less to build and repair using cheap materials.

I guess you can save a hell of alot of money when you are dead

Postby Sky » May 24th, 2011, 9:51 am

noobie wrote:
Sky wrote:And actually that's why they build the cheapo houses, because it won't make sense spending much more on concrete when the house is done for anyway. Let them continue to cheapout on the houses and have bunkers below.

That's it. Every house, business etc. needs to have underground bunkers specced to resist the F5 or F6 tornadoes.

Rememebr there was a 20 minute warning before this tornado hit. Technically this should have been enough time to take a sheit AND get into your bunker.

If you wait outside to see the tornado yourself you can take a sheit while running to the bunker.

rossi

Postby rossi » May 24th, 2011, 12:13 pm

Gladiator wrote:
rossi wrote:I think they build with ply board and dry wall because it's cheaper to rebuild if a tornado hits. Think about it, it would be a waste of money to build something concrete and have it obliterated, while you could spend less to build and repair using cheap materials.

I guess you can save a hell of alot of money when you are dead

Read "noobie" comment above.
Build a fortified basement/bunker.

Postby redmanjp » May 24th, 2011, 12:34 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Seen pics of tornados in the past where they have thrown pieces of two by four that pierced concrete walls!

serious? :shock:

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » May 24th, 2011, 1:05 pm

They build with wood also because of there climate. Wood can expand and contract better than concrete

Postby Razkal » May 24th, 2011, 1:21 pm

jaaah, that is breeze fadda.

gencon

Postby gencon » May 24th, 2011, 2:21 pm

most amount of people killed in a single event, since record keeping began 60 years ago, 118 so far.....

douglaking

Postby douglaking » May 24th, 2011, 2:51 pm

Sky wrote:
noobie wrote:

If you wait outside to see the tornado yourself you can take a sheit while running to the bunker.

Postby redmanjp » May 24th, 2011, 3:28 pm

this vid real popular now on utube

cornfused

Postby cornfused » May 24th, 2011, 8:09 pm

Hurricanes can do the same with 2x 4 , but its all depending on the brick

notice the reinforced concrete wall

there can be houses built to withstand such forces , or with reinforced bunkers and safe rooms

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 24th, 2011, 8:51 pm

man I so glad we doh have these here nah......well not often anyway...