DELETE

yudhistre

DELETE

Postby yudhistre » April 17th, 2011, 10:34 pm

YO 2ners,

I just bought a MSI laptop http://www.msi.com/product/nb/FX420.html from the states ans skybox it down... Every worked fine till i decided to upgrade the Bios Firmware. Once i flashed it, it said success and i restarted the computer. Now nothing appears.

I eah want to go through the warranty thing cuz i opened it up to put in a SSD drive so that voided...

It is an AMI bios and i tried loads of methods to revive it but to no avail.

Is there anyone that can help me fix this laptop, / reflash the bios

HELPPPP!!

Thanks
Last edited by yudhistre on July 4th, 2014, 1:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

CL9_EURO

Re: WTK: Laptop repair due to badly flashed bios [HELP!!!!!

Postby CL9_EURO » April 17th, 2011, 10:54 pm

do you know what type of physical bios chip is on the board?

yudhistre

Postby yudhistre » April 17th, 2011, 11:03 pm

its an AMI bios, that is all i know, I tried opening the laptop but realized there was too much stuff to remove to get to the chip, so i didn't bother digging any more.

TK!

Postby TK! » April 17th, 2011, 11:48 pm

unless there's a recovery feature in the bios, u'r screwed. the bios controls how the computer starts. to re-do a flash it needs to be able to run. if it's not running at all, theres not much u can do.
changing bios chips are a thing of the past. most likely (esp in a laptop) it will be solderd down to the mobo.

yudhistre

Postby yudhistre » April 18th, 2011, 12:08 am

so what do you suggest TK????

I'm thinking to ship the laptop to MSI and have it reflashed ??

Still looking to see if anyone knows better about reflashing bioses

yudhistre

Postby yudhistre » April 18th, 2011, 12:26 am

well he eah say nothing about handling meh....

If anyone can fix it let me know please..
Last edited by yudhistre on April 18th, 2011, 7:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby gastly369 » April 18th, 2011, 12:29 am

ahhhh memories... i take de easy way out new mobo :oops: :oops:

yudhistre

Postby yudhistre » April 18th, 2011, 12:46 am

the laptop soo new i dont think there is any parts for it.. might be so for a while..

Postby gastly369 » April 18th, 2011, 1:23 am

darn.. welll .... i eh know what to say nah and ah see it selling for almost $800US :?

when i doing bios update meh bottom does be clappin hoping i eh mess it up or current playup

de last time i mess up a bios
i overclocked the processor for normal 2.8-3.2 .. it wasnt running to stable and decided to do a bios update(wohoo!!) and closed the overclocking prog but de program doh close it does go to taskbar and . i thought everyting back to normal and halfway in de bios update bluescreen and that was de end :(

Postby SmokeyGTi » April 18th, 2011, 7:45 am

go on laptoptt.com

call the number, the man in felicity he does fix laptop an ting

Postby bushwakka » April 18th, 2011, 11:18 am

contact support for de laptop manf'r nah man

as TK said, it really depends on if ur BIOS is soldered or not....once u know that, we can go from there

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » April 18th, 2011, 2:11 pm

Removing the original drive and sticking in an SSD should not void your warranty. I'm sure you have the original drive lying around somewhere

Best bet for now is to contact MSI and hear what they have to say on the matter, and then take it from there

yudhistre

Postby yudhistre » April 18th, 2011, 3:40 pm

I contacted MSI, they say that they will fix it, I just have to ship it to them.

So off to Canada it is...

Lets see how long it takes,

Laptoptt cant do nothing. This thing deep deep...

Thanks All

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » April 18th, 2011, 6:41 pm

Wonderful to hear!

Postby gastly369 » April 18th, 2011, 6:44 pm

:O msi good service ... yuh know if that was trinidad .. dah dead

TK!

Postby TK! » April 18th, 2011, 6:55 pm

yudhistre wrote:so what do you suggest TK????

I'm thinking to ship the laptop to MSI and have it reflashed ??

Still looking to see if anyone knows better about reflashing bioses

:-( ten to one they will only offer you a new motherboard.

but check a lot of forums first man. would hate to see u spend 200US on a mobo.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 18th, 2011, 7:02 pm

Man now get a new laptop and frig it up already.....

u does know ah trini lol.....

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 18th, 2011, 7:09 pm

have you tried using m flash? http://service.msicomputer.com/html/pop ... IOS_FD.pdf maybe that will do it for you :)

rmlmv

Postby rmlmv » April 18th, 2011, 7:23 pm

U sure it's not something simpler dread?

Ensure there is no cd in the cd drive on startup.

What exactly is happening as you power it on? Anything on the screen at all? The screen lighting at all?
Try connecting a computer monitor to it and check the keyboard's special function keys to toggle display between the LCD and the Monitor.

yudhistre

Postby yudhistre » April 18th, 2011, 7:56 pm

I'm sure its nothing simple. I hooked it up to an external display. Nothing, No switch.

@jm3 --- "Enter BIOS setup, go to [Advance BIOS Features] -> [Boot Sequence], and configure your USB flash drive as the
first boot device."

I CANT enter the bios because it does not load, hence I cant select boot device.

Its a brick

trinited

Postby trinited » April 18th, 2011, 8:23 pm

Hmmmm......... 'd laptop so new there might not even be parts for it', yet d man done swap out ah drive and flash d bios. What exactly does it take to satisfy a Trini? LOL

ase_tt

Postby ase_tt » April 19th, 2011, 12:39 am

DUDE!!!/ Give us a call, b4 sending it away...we have recovery tools for HP/Compaq and many more laptops. 868.222.GEEK!