Schengen Visa

Re: Schengen Visa

Postby Gem_in_i » January 22nd, 2015, 8:58 pm

whats your point abt the 25k appearing in bank account?

Lance

Postby Lance » January 23rd, 2015, 3:46 am

Gem_in_i wrote:whats your point abt the 25k appearing in bank account?

My basic point was that many are treating the visa wavier agreement as the main hinderance to traveling to Europe. Even without the wavier, the visas are not very difficult to receive.

The main issue will always be cost and a visa waiver will not magically make this go away.

Postby Gem_in_i » January 23rd, 2015, 6:29 am

People fear the unknown. They like sticking to places like the US lol
Travelling is awesome.

Postby DFC » January 23rd, 2015, 8:31 am

I hate this no-visa to europe deal.

Every dorg and cyat gonna be in europe stinking it up for everybody now.

Ugh.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 23rd, 2015, 9:16 am

DFC wrote:I hate this no-visa to europe deal.

Ugh.

I doubt

Who wanted to and could have afforded to go would have done so already. A waiver on a visa that cost like TT$500 can't possibly boost figures significantly.

Postby teems1 » January 23rd, 2015, 9:34 am

Ugh.

elitist much?

Trini tourists are actually well behaved when they travel. They follow the traffic/jaywalking/littering etc laws perfectly.

It's only at home they play the arse...

Lance

Postby Lance » January 23rd, 2015, 11:36 am

Ugh.

You ever thought that the new experience would broaden our perspective and lift our banana republic out of a state of perpetual ignorance?

I guess that should be something only reserved for the upper echelons of society?

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » January 23rd, 2015, 4:04 pm

Well is now self you will hear about yuh family who hiding out in Italy and cant come back

Postby Gem_in_i » January 24th, 2015, 11:27 am

cincuanta wrote:Well is now self you will hear about yuh family who hiding out in Italy and cant come back

Postby zoom rader » January 27th, 2015, 10:43 am

Lance wrote:

Ugh.

You ever thought that the new experience would broaden our perspective and lift our banana republic out of a state of perpetual ignorance?

I guess that should be something only reserved for the upper echelons of society?

Its the same as illegal caricom trash coming in to trini. The pour into trini and then get bright, but I guess doubles sales is up and bodi prices remains the same.

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » May 16th, 2015, 5:16 pm

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » May 16th, 2015, 5:50 pm

This exemption will come into force only when bilateral agreements on visa waiver between the Union and the countries concerned have been concluded in order to ensure full reciprocity.

Has this been done?

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » May 17th, 2015, 1:27 pm

cincuanta wrote:
This exemption will come into force only when bilateral agreements on visa waiver between the Union and the countries concerned have been concluded in order to ensure full reciprocity.

Has this been done?

From what I can tell, there are visa waiver agreements with EU countries here already.

http://www.immigration.gov.tt/Portals/0 ... ntries.pdf

Most (if not all) of the Schengen Area countries already are given short-term visa exemptions according to that document.

Lance

Postby Lance » May 17th, 2015, 2:31 pm

I would take that document with a grain of salty. Especially since it lists the Caribbean Agricultural Research & Development Institute (CARDI) as a country

Postby M_2NR » May 17th, 2015, 2:32 pm

More like the entire salt shaker. Them talks going on a few months now if not years and up to recently EU nations required the visa still.

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » May 17th, 2015, 4:29 pm

http://www.auswaertiges-amt.de/EN/EinreiseUndAufenthalt/StaatenlisteVisumpflicht_node.html

Trinidad and Tobago is still listed on the German Federal Foreign Office Site as needing a visa for entry (and also Jamaica). Barbados is one of the few Caribbean islands that do not require a visa. See a trend developing here :lol:

Postby janfar » May 17th, 2015, 7:34 pm

According to CIBT, schengen VISA is still required for visiting the Schengen territory.

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » May 17th, 2015, 9:12 pm

cincuanta wrote:http://www.auswaertiges-amt.de/EN/EinreiseUndAufenthalt/StaatenlisteVisumpflicht_node.html

Trinidad and Tobago is still listed on the German Federal Foreign Office Site as needing a visa for entry (and also Jamaica). Barbados is one of the few Caribbean islands that do not require a visa. See a trend developing here :lol:

That is because an official proclamation date for the visa waiver has not been announced as yet. Once that is done, then the relevant offices will update their information.

According to CIBT, schengen VISA is still required for visiting the Schengen territory.

CIBT isn't the most accurate for this info. Case in point being the UAE being listed as requiring a visa to Schengen Area countries (Germany, Italy etc), but the link above for the German Federal Foreign Office shows that a visa is not required - because they had a proclamation date for the visa waiver effective May 7, 2015 (and they were in the same batch as us for countries being processed for the waiver).

Postby Gem_in_i » May 17th, 2015, 11:00 pm

The bilateral agreement still needs to be done. They said by July?
If Parliment is dissolved this month, would this affect anything in if they could still sign such an agreement?

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » May 26th, 2015, 11:39 pm

Postby janfar » May 27th, 2015, 12:34 am

EU and Schengen are 2 different things eh. Schengen VISA is required for Norway but norway is not part of the EU.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 27th, 2015, 12:33 pm

janfar wrote:EU and Schengen are 2 different things eh. Schengen VISA is required for Norway but norway is not part of the EU.

Same goes for Switzerland..not EU member but Schengen needed.

Postby janfar » May 27th, 2015, 9:09 pm

I'm not trusting until I get official information from the embassy, whom I will call in the morning.

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » May 28th, 2015, 3:22 pm

Well, I guess this document will answer any questions with regards to which countries this waiver will be valid with:

http://www.eeas.europa.eu/delegations/t ... dex_en.htm

Postby Gem_in_i » May 29th, 2015, 8:15 pm

The travel insurance is still required?

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » May 29th, 2015, 8:22 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:The travel insurance is still required?

From the FAQ on the link I posted:

Is a travel medical insurance always necessary in order to travel in Schengen area?

A travel medical insurance is not mandatory for visa - free third country nationals. Nonetheless, it is recommended to get one in case of travel to the Schengen countries.

Postby Gem_in_i » June 6th, 2015, 1:05 pm

On the German embassy website they recommended health insurance too.

So where to go to get it? I went Algico last time. But I want other options.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » June 16th, 2015, 3:04 pm

On BA's website you should be able to pay £12 for travel ins

Lance

Postby Lance » June 16th, 2015, 3:08 pm

I used insure and go. An online site

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » June 16th, 2015, 3:36 pm

For specific coverage as needed, AXA Schengen.

http://www.axa-schengen.com/en