Heavy Duty Brush Cutter?????

Re: Heavy Duty Brush Cutter?????

Postby pugboy » February 14th, 2019, 7:55 am

Farfan is the distributor so they do appear to have some morals and dont undercut the retailers who they sell to
but yes the prices could be a bit cheaper

Nexus

Postby Nexus » February 14th, 2019, 8:01 am

Alright, thanks for the advice. May pass in farfan today and check a few other places

Fireflyrain7

Postby Fireflyrain7 » February 14th, 2019, 8:12 am

If in central area ramlagan in balmain have probably the best prices and also service when required

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 14th, 2019, 9:06 am

Doh go and buy them electric thing eh

Nexus

Postby Nexus » February 14th, 2019, 9:11 am

Oh yes, I know ramlagan.... prices always better, thanks
Stick to gas motor?

Postby adnj » February 14th, 2019, 10:20 am

Electric shines if noise is a problem, the areas cut are small or you use it very often. Electric if you are cutting around high rise buildings and gasoline for just about everywhere else.

Fireflyrain7

Postby Fireflyrain7 » February 14th, 2019, 10:52 am

Yes stick to the gas. I have s couple stihl equipment and when it comes to service and repairs at ramlagan theres a guy name mike is a certified stihl tech and another guy. Its like $75 to service and if its like clutch or carburator repairs its around 250 - 300. These are wear and tear parts. But overall go stihl and they have the best prices. I checked and had dealing with them for a warranty replacement on a pressure washer and was handled really well.

Postby pugboy » February 14th, 2019, 12:05 pm

Yeah Ramlagans has good prices for a lot of things incl karcher pressure washers
Be careful with the karcher electrics
The plastic pump manifolds often split

Fireflyrain7

Postby Fireflyrain7 » February 14th, 2019, 2:26 pm

The run time for most of these domestic pressure washers is actually 1 hour becuase the pump dont really has its only pump oil. But we does used that whole day none stop thinking it could take. The seals in the pump does get damage.

Postby RedVEVO » February 15th, 2019, 7:07 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:man by me have real bush and the stihl 450 we have dey does mash up de dance!!!!!! more than 3 years owned and never had to do anything other than change the clutch (or was it clean the clutch)

Stihl 450 good.

But it's $5000 new @ Farfan :!:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 15th, 2019, 8:09 pm

And still wukkin bess....clearing 5 acres of bush every 3 months or so...
RedVEVO wrote:
~Vēġó~ wrote:man by me have real bush and the stihl 450 we have dey does mash up de dance!!!!!! more than 3 years owned and never had to do anything other than change the clutch (or was it clean the clutch)

Stihl 450 good.

But it's $5000 new @ Farfan :!:

Nexus

Postby Nexus » February 15th, 2019, 9:03 pm

Ok the difference in price are huge. At farfan, the Stihl 55 is 2300 and ramlagan has it for 1860; the 85 is 3200 at farfan and 2355 in ramlagan. I figure either of these models should suit my needs. Will do a bit more looking around, someone mentioned that central chemicals in Montrose has good prices and servicing.
Thanks for the advice all

Fireflyrain7

Postby Fireflyrain7 » February 15th, 2019, 9:03 pm

Yeah 450 is a beast. I have a 280 about 10 years now only thing i ever change was clutch, caburator and bump head. Normal wear and tear parts and i does cut grass for a hustle so it getting real use

Fireflyrain7

Postby Fireflyrain7 » February 15th, 2019, 9:10 pm

Ramlagan is a dealer and it cannot sell higher than the distributor price thats farfan. So you will pay less at the dealers and ive also checked prices around the central area and ramalagan has the best and service wise real good as well. Whatever fits in your bugdet go by ramlagan they are probably the biggest stihl in trinidad. I spoke to ramlagan himself once and he was telling me that because of his sales stihl trinidad actually took him on a tour of their factories abroad. Warrantly wise from experience once farfan has to replace anything and they hear ramlagan they replace stuff really fast.

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » December 16th, 2019, 10:51 pm

Can someone tell me what is the difference between the triple point blade and straight blade for the stihl 450 wacker?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » December 17th, 2019, 12:28 am

TrinbagoMan wrote:Can someone tell me what is the difference between the triple point blade and straight blade for the stihl 450 wacker?

i dont there is much difference. I used both, but stuck with the straight blade because i can get a bigger(longer) blade which cuts more. When you cutting large areas longer blades saves load of time . the straight blade cut through the thickest of stuff including trees 2 inches in diameter easily .

here is an article you can read
i did not read it so i dont know if it have the info you looking for

https://brushdestructor.com/brushdestru ... er-blades/

ADONI

Postby ADONI » December 17th, 2019, 12:21 pm

Triple point blade, is about triple the price of a straight blade.

Postby adnj » December 17th, 2019, 7:35 pm

TrinbagoMan wrote:Can someone tell me what is the difference between the triple point blade and straight blade for the stihl 450 wacker?
A straight blade will allow "dropping" the cutting head into tall grass instead of "swiping" at the base of the grass with a multipoint blade.

Multipoint blades are less likely to foul with long grass and vines. Multipoint blades don't vibrate as much and tend to allow the gearhead pinion and bearings to live longer.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » December 17th, 2019, 9:08 pm

Looking to purchase a shindaiwa wacker to cut down some bush in a piece of agriculture land about 2 acres in size. My options are the c350 or the B450, for those that own either of them, what are your thoughts?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » December 18th, 2019, 4:30 am

Own a 450 over 8 years now no complaints . heavy duty wacking .
only now my shaft have a little play

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » December 23rd, 2019, 7:22 am

Anyone know where to get a Japanese made shindaiwa brushcutter?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » December 23rd, 2019, 8:41 am

vaiostation wrote:Anyone know where to get a Japanese made shindaiwa brushcutter?

I might be wrong but i believe the ones in trinidad are still coming from japan and not the USA
Give trinidad hose a call .

Postby adnj » December 23rd, 2019, 1:16 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:
vaiostation wrote:Anyone know where to get a Japanese made shindaiwa brushcutter?

I might be wrong but i believe the ones in trinidad are still coming from japan and not the USA
Shindaiwa also manufactures product in China in their own facility.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » December 24th, 2019, 12:22 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:

Thanks, will give them a call.

axe

Postby axe » December 24th, 2019, 2:46 pm

Trintrac. Chase village

Kronik

Postby Kronik » December 27th, 2019, 9:07 am

Hadden and co. in aranguez also sells shindaiwa

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » January 31st, 2020, 12:14 am

Checked trinidad hose earlier this week the schindiwa machines they have is from japan
i believe they are a distributor for trintrac so they should also have japanese machines

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » June 6th, 2020, 8:40 am

Any reviews on Starke and Dunch wackers?

Postby rollingstock » June 6th, 2020, 10:35 am

I have a starke, but only for a short period, powerful and works well, can't say for longevity.
Only bought it cause I took a 10lb sledge to the Stihl fs55, and I left the Murray in the rain and the throttle cable rusted and the trigger broke.
The starke was cheap enough to change every few years.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 6th, 2020, 9:55 pm

How much stihl oil allyuh does put in a liter of gas?

I been doing it wrong I think I been putting 100ml in $16 Super Gas.

Can too much oil damage the carb?