Flow Internet Thread

cornfused

Re: Slow FLOW

Postby cornfused » February 9th, 2011, 12:10 pm

Just spoke to another technician called Derrick , he said that he want my MAC address and ip address.

Bombard FLOw with this issue for those of affected enough to make a call .

I saw Mr. Ried this am on tv talking about compare the rates to the Caribbean and the US and broadband penetration , there was not call in segment but i really wanted to get a point across.

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » February 9th, 2011, 8:49 pm

cornfused wrote:Just spoke to another technician called Derrick , he said that he want my MAC address and ip address.

I saw Mr. Ried this am on tv talking about compare the rates to the Caribbean and the US and broadband penetration , there was not call in segment but i really wanted to get a point across.

so flow fixes the throttling after making the call and providing the info?

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » February 9th, 2011, 8:52 pm

Let us know if they actually do anything to remove the throttling.

cornfused wrote:Just spoke to another technician called Derrick , he said that he want my MAC address and ip address.

jm3

Postby jm3 » February 9th, 2011, 8:56 pm

mine was 20mb

takes 5 mins for a movie normally

cornfused

Postby cornfused » February 9th, 2011, 10:19 pm

Maybe some of it is not a FLOW issue . Those using utorrent , for me it was a pop up that would come up on start up of the pc that prompts for something for u torrents , a restart and checked yes and 90-200 kbps :D :D :D :D :D up to 475 kbps at times
Last edited by cornfused on February 10th, 2011, 12:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 10th, 2011, 12:05 am

^isnt that still slow for 5Mbps speed?

havent seen u post any speed test results yet...

cornfused

Postby cornfused » February 10th, 2011, 12:12 am

Postby Stephon. » February 10th, 2011, 12:16 am

Stephon. wrote:So it's basically port forwarding?

if ubuntu is basically windows, because they both let you power up a machine, and surf the net, then yeah.

port forwarding, exposes and maps specific custom ports on your machine, to specific custom ports on your routers internet interface.

Thanks for clearing that up for me!

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 10th, 2011, 12:17 am

45Mbps? :shock:

something just not right here

Postby Stephon. » February 10th, 2011, 12:25 am

cornfused You have the 50mbit package from flow and happy with 200kb/s?

Postby SmokeyGTi » February 10th, 2011, 12:31 am

:( got a max of 200kbps on the 5mbit today on a torrent with more than a thousand seeds, connected to at least 200 peers..

Postby redmanjp » February 10th, 2011, 2:04 am

Flow was down for a few hrs tonight in Aranguez- both internet & cable- back up now :D

cornfused

Postby cornfused » February 10th, 2011, 9:14 am

Turbo 5 - $199.99

Package Speed 256 Kbps (upload)5 Mbps (download) Recommended Use
Unlimited access
1 email address
Recommended Use: Internet used for regular browsing, checking e-mail, research, online shopping and the occasional downloading of files.

This is what i pay for , and that's the speed test , through a router

what should i be getting 600 + kbps?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 10th, 2011, 11:47 am

^yep. dunno how your speed test giving such high results. try a different server besides POS.

dwl speeds should be around 600KBps since 5Mbps = 5120kbps = 640KBps

xaira

Postby xaira » February 10th, 2011, 1:00 pm

ed_metal_head

Postby ed_metal_head » February 10th, 2011, 8:58 pm

Hey folks, I'm new here. Just thought I'd confirm this issue in case there were any doubts.

I've been having the same problems with slow downloads for 2 weeks or so. This is limited to Bittorrent. Other downloads and Speed Tests are fine.

I'm on the 5mb package and torrents occasionally get as high as 100 kBps however most of the time it's much lower. Usually around 30, but frequently as low as 5 kBps.

The following should confirm that it's a FLOW issue:

1. I've tried different 3-4 different Bittorrent clients and there was no change.
2. Tried my laptop computer and there was no change.
3. Plugged both computers directly into the FLOW modem (bypassing router) and still no change.
4. Reset both my router and FLOW modem several times, still no change.

These tests were all done with random torrents that had very high numbers of seeders (> 300) and virtually no leechers (< 10).

You know what did work? While on my laptop I disconnected my FLOW connection and switched to my neighbour's open BLINK connection (I know, I know...)

The same torrent that had been suffering for over 15 minutes suddenly shot up to several hundred kBps. Of course, I disconnected from the neighbour's connection immediately.

I called FLOW twice and emailed them once about this (getflow@columbustrinidad.com) but nothing so far. They didn't respond to the email and the phone CSRs try to explain the notion of "Seeders" to me. They insist they aren't throttling and that everything is fine with the connection. One of them even suggested that I hang up and Google the problem (I'm serious...). That got me angry and I managed to get hold of a supervisor who promised to forward my information to someone who could help (after she tried to explain "Seeders" to me of course).

I hope that everyone who has the problem takes the time to make a complaint. At least that will make them aware that many users are bothered by something. At first I thought they were throttling but now I'm wondering if it could be an area problem. I see the complaints are coming in from St. Augustine/Tunapuna/El Dorado and environs and I'm around there too.

Again, please call or write them on facebook if you're affected. Better yet, if you have a friend inside of FLOW tell them about it.

Pardon the length, but I thought it best to put all the information out there.

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » February 10th, 2011, 9:54 pm

Stephon. wrote:ent^ BTW for those of you that SWEAR flow is the enemy, go to preferences > bittorrent and change the option to Forced.

I did that and got charged for rape...

Postby Stephon. » February 10th, 2011, 10:01 pm

^^ :lol: :lol:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 10th, 2011, 11:35 pm

nah boy Soundwave... :lol:

Kiro_lee

Postby Kiro_lee » February 10th, 2011, 11:47 pm

Last edited by Kiro_lee on February 14th, 2011, 10:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » February 11th, 2011, 7:35 am

http://broadband.mpi-sws.org/transparency/bttest.php
Glasnost: Test if your ISP is shaping your traffic
Results for your host (190.213.xxx.xxx - 190.213.xxx.xxx):
Is your upload traffic rate limited?
Your ISP appears to rate limit your uploads.
However, some of the measurements were affected by noise, which limits Glasnost ability to detect rate limiting.
Details:
* Your ISP appears to rate limit your BitTorrent uploads. In our tests, uploads using control flows achieved up to 103 Kbps while uploads using BitTorrent achieved up to 81 Kbps.
* There is no indication that your ISP rate limits uploads on port 6881 or 56446. In our tests, uploads on port 6881 achieved up to 76 Kbps while uploads on port 56446 achieved up to 81 Kbps.
Is your download traffic rate limited?
Your ISP appears to rate limit your downloads.
However, some of the measurements were affected by noise, which limits Glasnost ability to detect rate limiting.
Details:
* The measurement data is too noisy to detect whether your ISP rate limits your BitTorrent downloads. Re-running the test while ensuring that no other downloads or uploads are running in the background might fix this problem.
* Your ISP appears to rate limit downloads on port 56446. In our tests, downloads on port 6881 achieved up to 10 Kbps while downloads on port 56446 achieved up to 13 Kbps.

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » February 13th, 2011, 4:43 am

Tech support says they're not allowed to diagnose this issue.

Giving it a few more days then downgrading to the 5 mb package.

Having 24mb and not being able to use it for torrents is useless to me.

Tried on centos server, fedora core 14 and windows all directly connected to the modem, same problem.
0X

Affected areas reported in this thread:

St. Augustine
Tunapuna
El Dorado
Marabella

Add yours if you have the same problem.

unimatrix001

Postby unimatrix001 » February 13th, 2011, 11:26 am

if we could come up with some legitimate uses of torrents other than downloading linux distros, we could write a nice long letter to TATT to force flow to stop traffic shaping

Postby M_2NR » February 13th, 2011, 12:58 pm

LOL @ all of this.

Trini always like a free ting yes. I wanna see how ulyuh going to prove ulyuh not downloading pr0n and warez from torrents.

Get a usergroup (like usenet) or file sharing account (like RS,FS,HF), ~ $9.99 a month and no speed cutz.

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » February 13th, 2011, 1:05 pm

^ hahahahah even 9.99us a month will be a problem for most of them... all most of them know is FREE TING ... zero problems on my end with downloads

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » February 13th, 2011, 1:12 pm

hmmmm.

Idiots.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 13th, 2011, 1:26 pm

free thing? so if i pay a $10 US to download stuff from usenet or RS that mean i doh like free thing and better than everybody else who using torrents to dwl d same things i downloading? :S

Postby M_2NR » February 13th, 2011, 1:26 pm

who?

ent lucian!

so i was bored... and wasnt feeling to use about 500GB totaled Trafficshare RS allowing us now... (you get 150GB traffic share roll over per month) and i tried a torrent... um... what speed was the cap on?

i was getting a steady 256kB/s down. you can see from this:

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » February 13th, 2011, 1:31 pm

Wolfie wrote:hmmmm.

Idiots.

Homo habilis discovering his opposable thumbs says what?

Postby S_2NR » February 13th, 2011, 1:41 pm

switch to blink..im on blink 4mb package..
dl speeds are 400 kb/s all the time and higher late at night/early morning, sometimes dl speeds can exceed 1mb/s..
also, no traffic shaping when tested with the glasnost test..

Last edited by S_2NR on February 13th, 2011, 1:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.