Flow Internet Thread

dean_spleen09

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby dean_spleen09 » March 20th, 2020, 8:32 am

daxt0r wrote:take care allyuh gettin a nex forced upgrade to *steamline* services followed by a price increase in coming months, as per flow modus operandi

well the other guys done do it , so only a matter of time .....

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 20th, 2020, 3:58 pm

The prices will go up as nobody cares to take cable tv anymore.

Trinis will be paying an estimated $600 a month for internet in the coming years, it will be bundled with "free cable TV" that NOBODY wants.

Hopefully Elon Musk can save us with StarLink by then

brickman

Postby brickman » March 21st, 2020, 3:17 pm

Well was on 60 for $320,then got the 100 upgrade they did a while back for the same price.Now they put me in the 250 package without saying anything but account still says 100mbps,if they change my $320 to anything significantly more i will downgrade to to the 75mbps & they will lose $.Lets see how much more "loyal & vip customer" phone calls & emails they will send me after.

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » March 21st, 2020, 3:30 pm

https://discoverflow.co/trinidad/broadband/overview
75/10 - $275
250/15 - $450
500/25 - $675

with the other scammers its 75/75 for 299
:\

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 21st, 2020, 8:59 pm

The Digicel Scam is a slightly better scam since its FTTH and u get some useless channels you will never watch

Postby gastly369 » March 21st, 2020, 9:29 pm

75/75 not a scam at all... Uploads at 75 will be good and full fiber network... I wouldn't call that scam infront flow

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » March 22nd, 2020, 5:57 am

75/75 started as 25/25 for $199 and is gonna be 75/75 for $350 by the end of the year.
stay woke bros.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 22nd, 2020, 11:53 am

I think for them to compensate for the loss of cable TV that nobody besides boomers watch anymore they are going to likely change their 75mb/$300 package to something like 300MB/$500

Reason is they know most people are never going to ever have use for those speeds and will always be using below what they pay for in terms of data.

But for this country the future is something like $500 for the cheapest internet package once the boomers go the way of the dodo and literally nobody pays for Cable TV anymore. The problem on the side with Flow is they always bankrupt in huge debt and it makes you wonder if this is a issue due to them not charging enough for internet or just simply overpaid staff at management and top and wastage of funds etc

h1tach1

Postby h1tach1 » March 30th, 2020, 6:52 pm

For the white modem, you can access the settings using 192.168.0.1.
I disabled the router function. So the modem is going into a 3rd party wireless router.
Even though I can ping the gateway which is the modem, I now cannot access the settings. Any advice?

Postby maj. tom » March 30th, 2020, 7:46 pm

Unplug the coaxial cable first or else you will just keep getting a message about customer service using the modem.

h1tach1

Postby h1tach1 » March 30th, 2020, 8:10 pm

Thanks.

m@x

Postby m@x » April 6th, 2020, 2:27 pm

Is flow internet giving trouble in san juan area?

Postby Dave » April 6th, 2020, 2:35 pm

Mt hope rd seems ok

cornfused

Postby cornfused » April 8th, 2020, 8:46 pm

Working like dial up St.Augustine

Soochi boi

Postby Soochi boi » April 9th, 2020, 1:48 pm

Flow Ultra.. peak or regular hours speeds on a given day . Maybe got that 100mbs once
Screenshot_2020-04-09-13-45-18-711_org.zwanoo.android.speedtest.jpeg

Postby Dizzy28 » April 9th, 2020, 1:58 pm

Flow Basix
Just finish watch 2 episodes of A Series of Unfortunate Events in 1080p whilst my son was on his Tab.

What do you all do with all that extra speed?

Capture.JPG

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » April 9th, 2020, 2:37 pm

Soochi boi wrote:Flow Ultra.. peak or regular hours speeds on a given day . Maybe got that 100mbs once Screenshot_2020-04-09-13-45-18-711_org.zwanoo.android.speedtest.jpeg

you testing with a nokia 1100 over wifi and expecting ethernet speeds ?
smh

Soochi boi

Postby Soochi boi » April 9th, 2020, 5:44 pm

Testing via Redmi note 8 op... Test have been done via desktop and via technician from Flow . No logical explanation was given ... Plus I'm a technician for a competitor so I have an idea what I'm doing .. just sharing
dean_spleen09 wrote:
Soochi boi wrote:Flow Ultra.. peak or regular hours speeds on a given day . Maybe got that 100mbs once Screenshot_2020-04-09-13-45-18-711_org.zwanoo.android.speedtest.jpeg

smh

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » April 9th, 2020, 7:31 pm

sharing what exactly?

Postby Ted_v2 » April 10th, 2020, 7:09 am

experiencing a issue, finally figured it out.

My system is like this, flow wifi router to my viewmax wifi router as a expander VIA WIFI, all my devices go through this viewmax router, both wired and wireless.

after about 30 mins of hard usage, csgo, division 2, torrents at full tilt on my pc (wired) i start to get a drop in bandwidth, connection drops off in the games ect, boiled down to my flow router getting hot, as i put a lasko on it, back to normal, seems like a passively cooled unit . If i use it without gaming, no issues, i get almost 60up and 15 down speed on a flow basic package at my final device. No issues doing regular stuff.

So its just as simple as getting a wired connection from the flow router to my viewmax router( acting as a expander) est 50 ft or so without getting a switch or changing my equipment much. My pc is already connected wired to the viewmax, some advice i got was that one of the ports on the flow router can support gigabit, so this can run that long connection to the expander thus taking load off the flow router.

Im looking to add a NAS to this system soon enough, looking to get this issue rectified.

also those cabled connections into the plugs, powerline ethernet starter kit, how can i know for sure if its going to work, i know some needs to be on the same phase?

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » April 10th, 2020, 7:50 am

Soochi boi wrote:Testing via Redmi note 8 op... Test have been done via desktop and via technician from Flow . No logical explanation was given ... Plus I'm a technician for a competitor so I have an idea what I'm doing .. just sharing
dean_spleen09 wrote:

smh

if you are a technician and havent figured out the node is overloaded , bess you look for a new job.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » April 10th, 2020, 8:35 am

Ted_v2 wrote:experiencing a issue, finally figured it out.

My system is like this, flow wifi router to my viewmax wifi router as a expander VIA WIFI, all my devices go through this viewmax router, both wired and wireless.

after about 30 mins of hard usage, csgo, division 2, torrents at full tilt on my pc (wired) i start to get a drop in bandwidth, connection drops off in the games ect, boiled down to my flow router getting hot, as i put a lasko on it, back to normal, seems like a passively cooled unit . If i use it without gaming, no issues, i get almost 60up and 15 down speed on a flow basic package at my final device. No issues doing regular stuff.

So its just as simple as getting a wired connection from the flow router to my viewmax router( acting as a expander) est 50 ft or so without getting a switch or changing my equipment much. My pc is already connected wired to the viewmax, some advice i got was that one of the ports on the flow router can support gigabit, so this can run that long connection to the expander thus taking load off the flow router.

Im looking to add a NAS to this system soon enough, looking to get this issue rectified.

also those cabled connections into the plugs, powerline ethernet starter kit, how can i know for sure if its going to work, i know some needs to be on the same phase?

never had an issue with cheap tplink powerline in normal household electrical installs, it only becomes problem with 3 phase, i used it flawless in apartment where landlord had router upstairs but wifi was terrible downstairs. D bigger problem is d quality of d installation can greatly affect performance.
Best solution is to put FLOW router in modem mode and let your viewmax router do all NAT, WIFI, LAN etc as FLOW modem performance drops off dramatically when asked to do anything extra (i.e. more than one wired and wireless device connected)

bossmann

Postby bossmann » April 10th, 2020, 1:48 pm

Correct. Remember that the Flow router is primarily a modem with an added perk. Whenever possible go with a dedicated router.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 11th, 2020, 2:29 am

did some research and discovered that, just need to run the cable, its a short distance, nothing to crazy.

Soochi boi

Postby Soochi boi » April 12th, 2020, 1:30 pm

dean_spleen09 wrote:
Soochi boi wrote:Testing via Redmi note 8 op... Test have been done via desktop and via technician from Flow . No logical explanation was given ... Plus I'm a technician for a competitor so I have an idea what I'm doing .. just sharing
dean_spleen09 wrote:

smh

if you are a technician and havent figured out the node is overloaded , bess you look for a new job.
Brother you and RedVevo is family ? All I was doing was sharing my issues atm with the provider.... So I appreciate your concern . Happy Easter to you OP.

Flow modem does have a dedicated router as suggested by some of you guys . But unfortunately working atm so when time permits would see what is the solution and provide an update .

Postby maj. tom » April 12th, 2020, 2:00 pm

Thanks for sharing the information on the speeds. They're always helpful. But he is saying that since everyone is home and accessing everything on the internet at every hour, the nodes are overloaded. The infrastructure is not there to handle this kind of load the entire world has been experiencing since the lockdown. Most websites are noticeably slower too like Twitter, Reddit, BBC, CNN, etc. There's nothing anyone at home can do about the slower speeds, and only getting 25Mbps on a 100Mbps connection.

Hopefully when this is over, telecoms will realize the need to push the next generation of internet connectivity and invest in the upgrades.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » April 12th, 2020, 6:56 pm

Moving like fowl chit here.

All kinda 1mbps down, but 10 upload.

Me eh beating up, I can still play some single player steam games if I need to.

Postby gastly369 » April 12th, 2020, 7:35 pm

Yeh same kakaness
Blaze d Chalice wrote:Moving like fowl chit here.

khandman

Postby khandman » April 12th, 2020, 9:16 pm

gastly369 wrote:Yeh same kakaness
Blaze d Chalice wrote:Moving like fowl chit here.

Real pressure here in la Romain. Speed test showing .34 mbps. And I have 100 mbps package.

khandman

Postby khandman » April 12th, 2020, 9:17 pm

IMG_2996.JPG