Building a house in Trinidad

worksux101

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby worksux101 » September 4th, 2020, 12:02 am

Any suggestions for covering a drain...about 11" wide and varying depths (1" - 3")?

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » September 4th, 2020, 3:19 am

worksux101 wrote:Thanks very much for the advice folks. Will try the vulkem or dymonic this week. Its 1/2" for the most, but most parts are 1/4" or so.

Any suggestions for pool construction?

Veldon Andrews +1 (868) 239-1783

https://www.veldonatt.com/

carluva

Postby carluva » September 4th, 2020, 7:55 am

You can use decking pan to sheet off the gap.

Cut out some spaces for manholes for cleaning.

Steel rebar atop the decking pan and then cast with conctete, making sure to frame the openings for the manholes.

Make sure to out down the manhole covers when you are done.
worksux101 wrote:Any suggestions for covering a drain...about 11" wide and varying depths (1" - 3")?

Postby adnj » September 4th, 2020, 8:29 am

worksux101 wrote:Any suggestions for covering a drain...about 11" wide and varying depths (1" - 3")?
You may want to look at drain grating. It is available in steel and plastic. Plastic will not be suitable for a driveway if the drain is more than about 4" wide. Otherwise, either option will allow you to lift and clean your drain as required.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » September 5th, 2020, 8:22 am

adnj wrote:
You may want to look at drain grating. It is available in steel and plastic. Plastic will not be suitable for a driveway if the drain is more than about 4" wide. Otherwise, either option will allow you to lift and clean your drain as required.

Where can I find these?

Postby MaxPower » September 5th, 2020, 8:57 am

Hello worksux101,

Hope all is well.

Adjustments.JPG

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 5th, 2020, 9:17 am

worksux101 wrote:
adnj wrote:

Where can I find these?

Target Solutions has Clark Drain covers
https://www.targetsolutionstt.com/contact-us/

https://www.clark-drain.com/products/al ... e-channels

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » September 5th, 2020, 11:07 am

Thanks much both.

Building a house in Trinidad

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 5th, 2020, 11:57 am

worksux101 wrote:Thanks much both.

Adjustments.JPG

I bought linear drain covers like these from them to use in my driveway. Didn’t buy the drain itself. Just formed concrete and bought the covers alone. Got a flush fit

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » September 9th, 2020, 9:04 pm

Some miserable tenants recently had to be evicted one of our apartments and left the kitchen sink in a mess(one of those double bowl aluminum looking sinks). Its stained and looks disgusting. Wanted to know if there is anything I can use to clean it.
Maybe Mr. Spann could shed some light if he ever experienced this hurdle.

Much thanks.

carluva

Postby carluva » September 9th, 2020, 10:16 pm

I doubt it's aluminuim and would more likely be stainless steel. As a start, you can try stainless steel polish and some elbow grease.
Jerry84 wrote:Some miserable tenants recently had to be evicted one of our apartments and left the kitchen sink in a mess(one of those double bowl aluminum looking sinks). Its stained and looks disgusting. Wanted to know if there is anything I can use to clean it.
Maybe Mr. Spann could shed some light if he ever experienced this hurdle.

Much thanks.

Postby maj. tom » September 9th, 2020, 10:21 pm

Brasso. Read the bottle and apply.
Don't use steel wool or metal brushes on a stainless steel sink.
Use a regular 3M Scotch sponge with the cleaner.

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » September 10th, 2020, 6:38 pm

Thanks guys. Will try a thing.

kas1992

Postby kas1992 » September 15th, 2020, 10:11 am

Good morning, anyone ever used Poly V with regular thinset when laying porcelain tile? Any reviews?

Postby adnj » September 15th, 2020, 11:00 am

kas1992 wrote:Good morning, anyone ever used Poly V with regular thinset when laying porcelain tile? Any reviews?
There are different thinset formulas -- some specifically state that you do not add PVA. I have never mixed PVA with thinset and the only advantage that I can see is possibly having a faster setting mix if you are stuck using what you have on hand.

Postby maj. tom » September 15th, 2020, 11:07 am

Also, watch the video on how to lay tiles from the National Tile Contractors Association (NTCA) "Trowel and Error."
You will learn the correct installation techniques to have them last the lifetime of the porcelain tile without cracking or lifting.

originalbling

Postby originalbling » September 15th, 2020, 11:09 am

worksux101 wrote:
adnj wrote:

Where can I find these?

saw these advertised:

https://www.facebook.com/plsptt/photos/ ... =3&theater

Postby Chimera » September 15th, 2020, 11:22 am

i eh lie...the smallest construction have soo much mudddacunt headache

doing a new bathroom

connecting to an existing water heater
have a plumber i using for years all over, pretty skilled but expensive but i know any issues he does come back and make sure everything in order even if its midnight

he move water heater from point A to point B 10 feet away

the existing bathroom stop getting good water pressure plus a very heavy scent of pvc glue when you turn it on

he insist is the mixer, i gone and buy a new mixer (for the old bathroom)

install that,...same issue

then he say its the water heater....gone and buy a new water heater (tankless)

so old bathroom fixed back to how it was before

new bathroom.....install new mixer that i order online....initially no water at all after everything connect,
they prod inside the mixer with a setta different wire, some white pasty stuff come out...getting inadequate low water pressure...
so now i waiting for the amazon supplier to get back to me on what can be done.

buy a faucet from tile warehouse
the box says 3/8 compression fittings, i gone and buy 3/8 angle valve...time to install..its not that
so it hadda be 1/2 inch right?
gone and buy 1/2 inch..not that either

so the fitting bigger than 3/8 but smaller than 1/2

that was this morning so hadda go see what tilewarehouse say

and i realize no two plumbers could ever agree on something

i fall out with and run the first plumber when the sheit with the mixer and water heater happen, hje had use expansion foam to hold the mixer in place as he say it better than cement if you hadda take it out to fix anything

i bring a 2nd plumber to view the work to finish it and he see the expansion foam and say thats crazyness he would never do that in his life but his price to FINISH the work that already 80% complete was more than what the original plumber charge for everything including digging cesspit line and installing etc

muddac**t headache all over
Last edited by Chimera on September 15th, 2020, 11:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

originalbling

Postby originalbling » September 15th, 2020, 11:29 am

^^ every contractor or tradesman have their own ideas or way of doing things.
plus looking for shortcut in everything.

Postby adnj » September 15th, 2020, 11:39 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:i eh lie...the smallest construction have soo much mudddacunt headache

doing a new bathroom

connecting to an existing water heater
have a plumber i using for years all over, pretty skilled but expensive but i know any issues he does come back and make sure everything in order even if its midnight

he move water heater from point A to point B 10 feet away

the existing bathroom stop getting good water pressure plus a very heavy scent of pvc glue when you turn it on

he insist is the mixer, i gone and buy a new mixer (for the old bathroom)

install that,...same issue

then he say its the water heater....gone and buy a new water heater (tankless)

so old bathroom fixed back to how it was before

new bathroom.....install new mixer that i order online....initially no water at all after everything connect,
they prod inside the mixer with a setta different wire, some white pasty stuff come out...getting inadequate low water pressure...
so now i waiting for the amazon supplier to get back to me on what can be done.

buy a faucet from tile warehouse
the box says 3/8 compression fittings, i gone and buy 3/8 angle valve...time to install..its not that
so it hadda be 1/2 inch right?
gone and buy 1/2 inch..not that either

so the fitting bigger than 3/8 but smaller than 1/2

that was this morning so hadda go see what tilewarehouse say

and i realize no two plumbers could ever agree on something

i fall out with and run the first plumber when the sheit with the mixer and water heater happen, hje had use expansion foam to hold the mixer in place as he say it better than cement if you hadda take it out to fix anything

i bring a 2nd plumber to view the work to finish it and he see the expansion foam and say thats crazyness he would never do that in his life but his price to FINISH the work that already 80% complete was more than what the original plumber charge for everything including digging cesspit line and installing etc

muddac**t headache all over

The "white pasty stuff" plus the "heavy scent of PVC glue" usually indicates a line that was joined with excess PVC cement. The line was also likely not deburred and was not given a chance to completely dry.

Excess PVC cement mixed with PVC debris from a saw cut then made its way into your line.
Last edited by adnj on September 15th, 2020, 11:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » September 15th, 2020, 11:53 am

i realize them fawkers does use pvc glue like it going out of style

Postby pugboy » September 15th, 2020, 11:56 am

the pvc burrs does mess up the stiebel tankless heaters too
it messes the pressure switch in it

Postby Chimera » September 15th, 2020, 12:00 pm

i feel its that that firetruck up the first water heater

it was 6 years old though so i eh even know what the life span on them thing is

is there anything i can run through the line that will clean inside the mixer? (the new mixer)

kas1992

Postby kas1992 » September 15th, 2020, 1:48 pm

Will look into this, tile man said it ain't make sense buying porcelain thinset nuh, just by the regular one and use the Poly
maj. tom wrote:Also, watch the video on how to lay tiles from the National Tile Contractors Association (NTCA) "Trowel and Error."
You will learn the correct installation techniques to have them last the lifetime of the porcelain tile without cracking or lifting.

kas1992

Postby kas1992 » September 15th, 2020, 1:49 pm

Ok noted
adnj wrote:
kas1992 wrote:Good morning, anyone ever used Poly V with regular thinset when laying porcelain tile? Any reviews?
There are different thinset formulas -- some specifically state that you do not add PVA. I have never mixed PVA with thinset and the only advantage that I can see is possibly having a faster setting mix if you are stuck using what you have on hand.

dogg

Postby dogg » September 15th, 2020, 2:37 pm

Is it legal to build a three story home (not business) in a residential area? Is there a height limitation?

Covid has me thinking about building up behind my parents' house.

I might be coming here for advice and cotractor suggestions soon

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 15th, 2020, 2:40 pm

any suggestions regarding places that sell gypsum and the other necessities @ good prices?

Postby Chimera » September 15th, 2020, 3:12 pm

looking for some as well

kelvin ghany has a nice price on the framing, corner beads etc

bhagwansinghs has regular board for like $75 per sheet

i think thats the going price all over, $60 to $80 per sheet
but a massive difference in quality from place to place

Postby adnj » September 15th, 2020, 4:40 pm

dogg wrote:Is it legal to build a three story home (not business) in a residential area? Is there a height limitation?

T&C and the regional corporation both have regulations for building height and percentage floorspace for residential and business structures.

Postby pugboy » September 15th, 2020, 4:44 pm

and rules for adequate parking etc

if you live in an area with freehold land and lax local corporations you may be able to get away with it, of course no bank will finance an unapproved building

adnj wrote:
dogg wrote:Is it legal to build a three story home (not business) in a residential area? Is there a height limitation?

T&C and the regional corporation both have regulations for building height and percentage floorspace for residential and business structures.