Building a house in Trinidad

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 28th, 2012, 9:17 pm

rfari wrote:not to hijack ched but which company has the best prices for readmix cement?

zico85

Postby zico85 » February 3rd, 2012, 1:00 pm

how much u all think it should cost on average to do the construction below(materials & labour) for a 2 story house 23ft X 54ft ???
*Foundation with columns
*Upstairs decking with upstairs columns
*Roof
*Downstairs walls

Postby rfari » February 3rd, 2012, 4:10 pm

zico85 wrote:how much u all think it should cost on average to do the construction below(materials & labour) for a 2 story house 23ft X 54ft ???
*Foundation with columns
*Roof
*Downstairs walls

About 375K @ 300/sqft. Rule of thumb. Otherwise PM user Rahtid to get a more accurate builder's estimate.

zico85

Postby zico85 » February 3rd, 2012, 4:21 pm

but cud u say what it would be individually for

*Foundation with columns
*Roof
*Downstairs walls

Postby rfari » February 3rd, 2012, 4:34 pm

zico85 wrote:but cud u say what it would be individually for

*Foundation with columns
*Roof
*Downstairs walls

Nah sorry dude. Rahtid will definitely be able to help u there

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 4th, 2012, 11:50 pm

rfari wrote:
zico85 wrote:but cud u say what it would be individually for

*Foundation with columns
*Roof
*Downstairs walls

Nah sorry dude. Rahtid will definitely be able to help u there

havent seen Rahtid on tuner since last year......

zico85

Postby zico85 » February 5th, 2012, 7:02 am

sombody must wanna take a crack at average prices

how much u all think it should cost on average to do the construction below(materials & labour) for a 2 story house 23ft X 54ft ???
*Foundation with columns
*Roof
*Downstairs walls

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 5th, 2012, 11:16 am

at least between 400K and 500K....

loads of factors to consider zico...u should get a profeesional to give u an estimate.....

Rahtid does this but he is hardly around these days......

Any builder can give u an estimate.....(u dont have to pay for an estimate eh)...lol.....

thestroke

Postby thestroke » June 27th, 2014, 8:06 am

searchingone wrote:
Nigson wrote:post the link for the code here bro.....I also wanna do some building thanks!!

here it is:

http://www.boett.org/publications/Small ... 202004.pdf

Thanks ronsin1. Anywhere in PoS though?

Does anybody have a copy of this document? The link doesnt work anymore.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 28th, 2014, 12:05 pm

thestroke wrote:Does anybody have a copy of this document? The link doesnt work anymore.

I have a copy.

blacklight

Postby blacklight » June 30th, 2014, 5:47 pm

Anyone have a good idea on the average price for a lot of land in St Helena or Kelly village?

Postby 1UZFE » June 30th, 2014, 6:53 pm

Abt 300k to 350k i saw sellin in Madras rd. Kelly shud be cheaper.

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » July 1st, 2014, 10:35 am

I just finished building a house here...worst experience ever in terms of professionalism. All they care about is your $$ and most of them lack basic common sense and a proper work ethic. Next time I build a house I would pay 100 grand extra for a professional.

Things I encountered were:

Untidiness - unless you enforce it (and you should) don't give anyone on your site a penny until they clean up their mess after the work is completed.

Lack of attention to detail

Treating your stuff like it's garbage

Poor communication - They ONLY call you when you promise them $$ on a specific day. BUT they won't call you if they're not coming out...you'd have to find that out on your own.

I could list a dozen more things why building a house in Trinidad shouldn't be done by anyone who isn't licensed and professional.

Keep the PJ guys away!

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » July 1st, 2014, 10:37 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:at least between 400K and 500K....

loads of factors to consider zico...u should get a profeesional to give u an estimate.....

Rahtid does this but he is hardly around these days......

Any builder can give u an estimate.....(u dont have to pay for an estimate eh)...lol.....

True. NEVER pay for an estimate no matter how hard they try to tell you "It's a lot of work". If you want the job, do a proper estimate which includes the cost of material and labour for EACH phase of the project. If he can't provide you with one tell him to get lost...he's going to steal your money....GUARANTEED!

searchingone

Postby searchingone » July 1st, 2014, 11:47 am

thestroke wrote:
searchingone wrote:
Nigson wrote:post the link for the code here bro.....I also wanna do some building thanks!!

here it is:

http://www.boett.org/publications/Small ... 202004.pdf

Thanks ronsin1. Anywhere in PoS though?

Does anybody have a copy of this document? The link doesnt work anymore.

http://www.mediafire.com/view/kl6oe5mwp ... e_2004.pdf

Sunic

Postby Sunic » August 12th, 2014, 3:40 pm

Anybody use http://www.wilsonartstt.com/ to draw houseplan or use the construction services? Are they reliable?

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » February 12th, 2015, 11:57 am

Thanks for the building codes guys,
There was a thread where a contractor was giving estimates, he had pics up of completed houses and projects. I can not find that thread does anyone have the link?
Or name of the user?
Thanks.

konartis

Postby konartis » February 12th, 2015, 12:21 pm

ek4ever wrote:Tuners...I know we have some ppl in here who are in the building line....would like to get an idea, given current labour and materials costs, what kind of house is possible given the following:

Lot size: 8000 sqft
Construction budget: $700,000

Any sample pics, plans or general descriptions would be appreciated.

i did an estimate and it came up to 750K, for a basement and ground floor open and a upstairs, 40x52,(3 storey) so u can use that as an avg....just waiting for TTMF to get going now, keep in mind that TTMF is lending you alot more than the banks

Postby pete » February 12th, 2015, 7:51 pm

Three levels 2000sq ft each and 750k estimate? Lol

subie_2NR

Postby subie_2NR » February 12th, 2015, 8:18 pm

Really a lol... My 2 storey 32x40 exceeding that $750 fully furnished

computercentral

Postby computercentral » February 12th, 2015, 8:18 pm

USD dollars

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » February 13th, 2015, 7:06 am

Guys post or pm me some builders name pls.
Looking to go with a steel structure instead of concrete. Who did it that way?
What are the pros and cons?
Also average prices?
Thanks.

konartis

Postby konartis » February 17th, 2015, 8:40 pm

pete wrote:Three levels 2000sq ft each and 750k estimate? Lol

why u ent mind ur facking business? is just the basic construction, foundation etc...

when house is completed it will cost over to 1.3 million....that is after the quantity surveyor did his report.....how much urs cost?

The person asked for an average....i give him something....the first contractor also gave an estimate for the same building up to painting and tiles for 950K....

allyuh does feel because ur profile name n green allyuh is somthing?? stupes....allyuh is shiit!!

if ur from south, feel free to PM me for a good reliable professional contractor....

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » April 3rd, 2015, 3:58 pm

lolz...
whats realised here is that everyone is a contractor.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » April 3rd, 2015, 7:08 pm

zico85 wrote:sombody must wanna take a crack at average prices

*Foundation with columns
*Roof
*Downstairs walls

Call me when u get time, I around, just don't post much.

The Raven

Postby The Raven » April 5th, 2015, 4:38 pm

Guys where would be the best place to buy beams for building a steel frame this is from the foundation to the deck sheet. I heard point fortin hardware in Caroni industrial estate has good prices?
Where else can I check,
Thanks.

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 5th, 2015, 4:57 pm

buy wa ever beam yuh want

at the end of the day, jet fuel cyar melt it

Postby De Dragon » April 5th, 2015, 5:23 pm

The Raven wrote:Guys where would be the best place to buy beams for building a steel frame this is from the foundation to the deck sheet. I heard point fortin hardware in Caroni industrial estate has good prices?
Where else can I check,
Thanks.

Point Lisas Steel Products had some good prices when I bought coupla years ago.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » April 5th, 2015, 6:14 pm

The Raven wrote:Guys where would be the best place to buy beams for building a steel frame this is from the foundation to the deck sheet. I heard point fortin hardware in Caroni industrial estate has good prices?
Where else can I check,
Thanks.

Point Lisas Steel Products had some good prices when I bought coupla years ago.

Best place to buy them, tell the owner u know me n get a discount
Last edited by Rahtid on April 5th, 2015, 8:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

The Raven

Postby The Raven » April 5th, 2015, 7:01 pm

Thanks to the guys for the helpful reply.