Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby Rahtid » February 22nd, 2011, 2:15 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:Prices?

didnt expect me to do it free

rdeonarine

Postby rdeonarine » February 22nd, 2011, 3:27 pm

I could handle the structural aspect of the projects in a timley manner, I would advise you to engage a professional architect as these are 'sizeable projects'.

http://www.ttia-architects.org/index.cf ... 14&Menu=33

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » February 22nd, 2011, 3:54 pm

sleeper send me yuh number plz

Postby Kenjo » June 18th, 2011, 2:59 pm

anyone has any practical experiences in how much the cost of a dwelling house increases by if it is a 3 level versus a 2 level house?i am considering as building upwards adds more space how cost effective it may be or if the prices would just increase too phenomenally so should i just count out that idea.

Postby rspann » June 18th, 2011, 3:08 pm

Do any thing,don't give the job to calder hart

Postby De Dragon » June 18th, 2011, 3:13 pm

Rahtid wrote:
Aribabs wrote:
ek4ever wrote:Some really good info here....and I'll be sure to heed all the advice given....better to be informed and cautious than have to fix mistakes down the road. The biggest problem I'm facing right now is land....looking in the Freeport and Couva area...but alot of the listings are for huge plots or acres and lots without T&C approval. Anyway will keep looking...

What is T&C?

T&C,,,Town and Country,,,

A lot of the land is agricultural land that doesn't have approval for building, a lot of factors (electricity,water,proper drainage plans etc). You can try to get it approved,maybe maybe not it will be approved.What you can do, is sit and talk to the designer/architect and explain what you want,and then work around it to design your building incorporating the building codes.
It will not happen as quickly as you may think, but then again, Good designs takes some time (2weeks-1 month).

Thnx patchie

You can apply to T/C to have the designation changed to residential land. They'll send their site inspectors and they will make a determination

Postby rspann » June 18th, 2011, 3:16 pm

Going 3 stories costs a lot more because you have to do a different foundation.If you supervise the project yourself,you can save a lot.just hire qualified people to do the work,you don't need a contractor (or a Project Manager).I do it a lot and save quite a bit of money.Last but most important buy your material for yourself,don't give anyone your money to spend,and don't pay anyone advances.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » June 18th, 2011, 3:17 pm

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 18th, 2011, 4:28 pm

Kenjo wrote:anyone has any practical experiences in how much the cost of a dwelling house increases by if it is a 3 level versus a 2 level house?i am considering as building upwards adds more space how cost effective it may be or if the prices would just increase too phenomenally so should i just count out that idea.

yes the price would increase alot since you would have to do another decking.....

decking cost are very expensive......

Hopefully your foundation can take the extra level as well........

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » June 18th, 2011, 7:55 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:
Kenjo wrote:anyone has any practical experiences in how much the cost of a dwelling house increases by if it is a 3 level versus a 2 level house?i am considering as building upwards adds more space how cost effective it may be or if the prices would just increase too phenomenally so should i just count out that idea.

yes the price would increase alot since you would have to do another decking.....

decking cost are very expensive......

Hopefully your foundation can take the extra level as well........

What u said makes no sense.

You will have to design a different foundation, one that is suitable for your needs as its a 3 level building now. That will cost a lot!

I find a lot of ppl getting ripped off,confused,etc when they going to build/design their houses yes.

If any body needs advice, gimme a call,,it will cost u only the cost of the call. I spoke to some ppl during this week, they getting real trouble building their house with contractors/builders etc. I am currently doing a building (6400 sq ft) and I have no problems what so ever.
All y'all who wanna build, and you not clear on stuff, pm me and I will give u my number, or send your number via pm and I will call you.
DONT TAKE ADVICE FROM THOSE FLY-BY-NIGHT PPL.
You are also free to come to my office, see for yourself what jobs are going on etc.

Duane,Mods, I am not advertising, just merely telling the masses that they can call and get free advice cuz I dont like to see ppl get ripped off by fake azz builders/contractors.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 18th, 2011, 9:38 pm

Hey rahtid.....well I am no builder like u but if the man hadda do a third level wouldn't that need 2 deckings?

cornfused

Postby cornfused » June 18th, 2011, 10:32 pm

red good to know you're planning works

my house plans took a bit more than a few months , it a lot of thinking and practical use for your abode

Postby rfari » June 19th, 2011, 11:40 am

dread, wha ever you do, make sure that you save back at least 20% of the design fees until the designer gets the final approval from the regional corporation in charge. else you have to be on dey back all the time and threaten then and thing. and then they would sabotage your application and then you have to make more threats and then start to threaten the town super and then he go report you to the police you go have to give them a sad story. not personal experience. just saying... :drinking:

cornfused

Postby cornfused » June 19th, 2011, 1:56 pm

I used 60 % down and 40 on approval , its your money you dictate your terms

TriniGS

Postby TriniGS » September 1st, 2011, 4:20 pm

Wow very help full info. Rahtid I'll send you a PM.

Ry an

Postby Ry an » January 27th, 2012, 4:21 pm

Just enquiring.
Is it necesarry to go through town and country before starting to build a house?
And what are the implications of starting to build without approval?

Postby rfari » January 27th, 2012, 4:49 pm

Not necessary but its the legal way to go.

ttblax

Postby ttblax » January 27th, 2012, 8:16 pm

Town & Country approval is mandatory if you plan to get mortgage financing (TTMF, commercial banks etc). If you have the equity to finance the build then it isn't necessary. Not too sure on the legal consequences though.

Postby brams112 » January 27th, 2012, 8:33 pm

go to someone who is capable of doing house plans,make sure you have ideas about size of rooms,how much rooms,layout and so on,,,,do the plans and put it in to town and country,start building easy,if town and country do come ur just have to say ur fedup wait for approval,once ur plans are in code ur may not have a problem,,

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 27th, 2012, 10:25 pm

guys.....I need some Steel Props and some ply for a decking....
can anyone advise where I can rent these.....Thanks....

Also I kinda stickin with my plans,....need some help....

Postby De Dragon » January 27th, 2012, 11:54 pm

ttblax wrote:Town & Country approval is mandatory if you plan to get mortgage financing (TTMF, commercial banks etc). If you have the equity to finance the build then it isn't necessary. Not too sure on the legal consequences though.

Also, technically they can stop you from building, or force you to remove an existing structure. Never seen them actually do it though.

Devourment

Postby Devourment » January 28th, 2012, 8:29 am

How much does it cost to put up townhouse style apartments? I have a lot of land near uwi and want to build 6 (3 upstairs, 3 down)....my budget would be around 700k? Is that feasible?

Ry an

Postby Ry an » January 28th, 2012, 10:51 am

Kool thanks for the advice.
Building cash so dont need financing.
I did the plan using using chief architect.

Postby rfari » January 28th, 2012, 2:04 pm

Devourment wrote:How much does it cost to put up townhouse style apartments? I have a lot of land near uwi and want to build 6 (3 upstairs, 3 down)....my budget would be around 700k? Is that feasible?

Use $300 /sq ft rule of thumb

Ry an wrote:Kool thanks for the advice.
Building cash so dont need financing.

You in the game dey hoss. Although in your case it wouldn't hurt to get ur outline/final approvals just incase any of ur neighbours start to fuss over jah know what (setbacks, encroachment etc)

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 28th, 2012, 4:18 pm

Ry an wrote:Just enquiring.
Is it necesarry to go through town and country before starting to build a house?
And what are the implications of starting to build without approval?

To answer your question...YES. See link below for further information.

Why do I need planning permission?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 28th, 2012, 8:11 pm

Ry an wrote:.

Can you give me a contact for someone who can assist with preparing my plans....thanks alot man...

Postby rfari » January 28th, 2012, 8:21 pm

not to hijack ched but which company has the best prices for readmix cement?

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 28th, 2012, 8:24 pm

EZ-Con has good prices, when I was shopping around.

Postby rfari » January 28th, 2012, 8:48 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:
Ry an wrote:.

Can you give me a contact for someone who can assist with preparing my plans....thanks alot man...

here is a suggestion. get a designer that has links for the particular borough/regional corporation ur project falls under. and don't make the mistake of hiring a designer from the south and ur project is in the north. i had to wait 2 years to get my final approval and it all boiled down to my designer not having enough 'weight' in that particular regional corporation

silent_riot wrote:EZ-Con has good prices, when I was shopping around.

like how much a cubic metre? i believe readymix w.i. has from 3000 to 5000 psi starting at 800+VAT. something along those lines.