Building a house in Trinidad

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby Chimera » January 21st, 2021, 5:55 pm

ru$$ell wrote:Steel prices going up drastically, paid per length of I Beam Last November for $243,just got quoted $346 per length today, heard also 1 ton smooth steel went up from $6500 to $10,000

container shipping price gone from 14k TT to 70 to 80k TT
everything haffi go up

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 21st, 2021, 6:02 pm

ru$$ell wrote:Steel prices going up drastically, paid per length of I Beam Last November for $243,just got quoted $346 per length today, heard also 1 ton smooth steel went up from $6500 to $10,000

To quote individual prices

5/8 corrug went to $65 from $47
1/2 corrug went to $47 from $32

Those prices are at the cheapest hardware in Grande. Gonna buy a ton in each and rest it down

Postby pugboy » January 21st, 2021, 7:21 pm

ouch, well if folks were hoping for economy to ease up this year
this will put a damper on costs of a lot of things

Drea

Postby Drea » January 22nd, 2021, 10:43 am

Question, recently started to put focus into doing research on constructing a home so I'm really exploring the market and of course reading up on people's experience. I've see a few persons/entities that are offering an all-in-one package of constructing the entire home once you have land. Anyone has had or knows someone who have experience with such? My main observation with a lot of these pages I come across is people only have photos of 3D designs, but not actual completed work to show....
photo.PNG
photo1.PNG

Postby Chimera » January 22nd, 2021, 11:10 am

prepare for a massive price raise in tiles as well

i went to a tile place this morning to get some tiles that i ran out of,
they say they not restocking until august or so when they expect freight price to drop

80k to SHIP a container simply doesnt make sense for many many products

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » January 22nd, 2021, 12:30 pm

Drea wrote:Question, recently started to put focus into doing research on constructing a home so I'm really exploring the market and of course reading up on people's experience. I've see a few persons/entities that are offering an all-in-one package of constructing the entire home once you have land. Anyone has had or knows someone who have experience with such? My main observation with a lot of these pages I come across is people only have photos of 3D designs, but not actual completed work to show....

go with a repeatable builder i would say, if you can buy and supply the material yourself and just work out a labor price and you'll be amazed as to how much you'll actually save. Know a guy who did 3 houses for us so far and can recommend him,dm me for contact info.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 22nd, 2021, 3:51 pm

Drea wrote:Question, recently started to put focus into doing research on constructing a home so I'm really exploring the market and of course reading up on people's experience. I've see a few persons/entities that are offering an all-in-one package of constructing the entire home once you have land. Anyone has had or knows someone who have experience with such? My main observation with a lot of these pages I come across is people only have photos of 3D designs, but not actual completed work to show....

Personally, I would get different people to do different things. Ive seen people being raped with this "contractor" thing to build the entire house.

Postby Chimera » January 22nd, 2021, 4:21 pm

The hard part with that is one contractor will screw up another contractor work and say the other contractor didn't do it properly. Building is real mudda BUGWAAANAAA headache

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 22nd, 2021, 5:49 pm

That is typical with most tradesmen in Trinidad. The moment one person didnt get the job, they bad talk the other man's job

rafman

Postby rafman » January 22nd, 2021, 7:32 pm

does anyone have the current prices for 1/2" & 3/4 " plywood and mdf?

Postby Chimera » January 22nd, 2021, 7:43 pm

you ever see two electrician or two masons agree on a job?

i could never understand that na....

one highly skilled and trained electrician will do a install a certain way

another highly skilled and trained electrician will come after and ask what madness the first one do..

it have these people on facebook .....T&C woodworking...Olivia something
over 10 years they scamming people for cupboards....they have about 10 different groups on fb where they post up nice pictures to get downpayments

they get alot of jobs and downpayments and they owing no less than 50 people money for jobs that they took downpayments on
i not joking, i in a facebook group with atleast 50 people who they owing money and never do their work.

about 10 years ago i had an encounter with them and i sent someone to their workshop who start to pick up their tools and load them on a truck and tell them if my work don't finish they not getting back their items

end up getting my work 95% complete and then i run them

realllllllllllllllll racket and scam with them

Wolfgang123

Postby Wolfgang123 » January 25th, 2021, 5:02 pm

Looking for a good readymix company, anyone familiar with trinity in point lisas?

Postby De Dragon » January 25th, 2021, 5:21 pm

Wolfgang123 wrote:Looking for a good readymix company, anyone familiar with trinity in point lisas?

Call around. I got 2 quotes last week for 6 metres of concrete for $8400, not including the pump, which is 2-3K :? from Readymix, to $8220 including pump from Central Concrete and Pumps.

Postby Chimera » January 25th, 2021, 5:59 pm

1400 a meter?

swear i pay 750 a few months ago

Wolfgang123

Postby Wolfgang123 » January 25th, 2021, 6:21 pm

Damn thats a bit overkill, this company trinity, spoke to a guy and he told me 700 per meter which is darn good, what I wanna know is if they have a good reputation.

Postby De Dragon » January 25th, 2021, 6:56 pm

Wolfgang123 wrote:Damn thats a bit overkill, this company trinity, spoke to a guy and he told me 700 per meter which is darn good, what I wanna know is if they have a good reputation.

Can't say, but 700 per meter and then pump cost would put you right around 8.5K for 8 metres.

NR8

Postby NR8 » January 25th, 2021, 7:45 pm

Had good experiences with Trinity readymix in the past.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 25th, 2021, 7:47 pm

Up my side is $850-$875 per meter. Pump is around $2500. Central concrete has a pretty good reputation though

Postby Chimera » January 25th, 2021, 8:18 pm

Going price is 750 to 850 a meter. Readymix on madness if they charging 1400.

Unless their concrete is a whole different quality

Postby De Dragon » January 26th, 2021, 9:44 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Going price is 750 to 850 a meter. Readymix on madness if they charging 1400.

Unless their concrete is a whole different quality

Well it was specified that is was "just" for a deck, no engineered high pressure concrete mix was specified.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 26th, 2021, 9:59 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:you ever see two electrician or two masons agree on a job?

another highly skilled and trained electrician will come after and ask what madness the first one do..

YES! This happens all the time.
Also if you're not using one contractor with their own mason, electrician, plumber etc and you decide to hire a separate mason, plumber, electrician, each one will complain about what the other did. Electrician gonna complain about the wall and plaster the mason did.

Postby De Dragon » January 26th, 2021, 10:10 am

Also if you're not using one contractor with their own mason, electrician, plumber etc and you decide to hire a separate mason, plumber, electrician, each one will complain about what the other did. Electrician gonna complain about the wall and plaster the mason did.

Anytime your electrician pulls out a sledge while getting ready to run wiring in your newly plastered walls, stop him and send him home one time.

Postby Chimera » January 26th, 2021, 12:45 pm

i feel them fawkers does do that so they could easily blame any shoddy work on the first contractor as well as they could raise their prices

"yuh know i tell yuh in d beginning the person who wire the place eh do it properly, daz why we having this issue now"

"yuh know i tell yuh d walls eh straight and they use too much plaster and they eh mix the concrete good "

setta muddac**t

Postby MG Man » January 26th, 2021, 12:50 pm

standard tradesman scam
Find fault with previous guy's work, so they can charge you more to 'fix this sht'

Postby De Dragon » January 26th, 2021, 12:51 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:i feel them fawkers does do that so they could easily blame any shoddy work on the first contractor as well as they could raise their prices

"yuh know i tell yuh in d beginning the person who wire the place eh do it properly, daz why we having this issue now"

"yuh know i tell yuh d walls eh straight and they use too much plaster and they eh mix the concrete good "

setta muddac**t

Every single Trini mason ever. :lol:
First thing dey say, some of them go even say that about dey own wuk!

Postby MG Man » January 26th, 2021, 1:00 pm

Mason: dem wall real ben...that go cost real money tuh fix wid plaster
Me: Here look ah straight-edge...show me wey de ben dem dey
Mason: oh allyuh people so feel allyuh know trade eh
Me: Nah meem know shht, daz why ah askin yuh tuh show me
Mason: yuh eh go unnastan what ah sayin
Me: I eh go understand de gap between ah straight edge and ah benn wall?
Mason: I cya wukk for allyuh so nah
Me: no scn...look de gate dey...laters

Postby De Dragon » January 26th, 2021, 1:02 pm

MG Man wrote:Mason: dem wall real ben...that go cost real money tuh fix wid plaster
Me: Here look ah straight-edge...show me wey de ben dem dey
Mason: oh allyuh people so feel allyuh know trade eh
Me: Nah meem know shht, daz why ah askin yuh tuh show me
Mason: yuh eh go unnastan what ah sayin
Me: I eh go understand de gap between ah straight edge and ah benn wall?
Mason: I cya wukk for allyuh so nah
Me: no scn...look de gate dey...laters

Better yet, pull out a level and ask them the same thing!

Postby Ben_spanna » January 28th, 2021, 12:01 pm

This year is not a good time to build as world STEEL prices have gone up due to a shortage of scrap iron , the average price per tonn has gone up by almost 50-75% and local retailers have increased their prices on STeel and steel products by more than 30% since last year when the pandemic began.
Its only going to get worse as steel mills all around the world are having problems sourcing raw materials and thus prices will continue to go UP...
I figure by mid year prices on steel materials will go up by another 20-40%.

ENjoy.

demented

Postby demented » January 28th, 2021, 1:16 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:This year is not a good time to build as world STEEL prices have gone up due to a shortage of scrap iron , the average price per tonn has gone up by almost 50-75% and local retailers have increased their prices on STeel and steel products by more than 30% since last year when the pandemic began.
Its only going to get worse as steel mills all around the world are having problems sourcing raw materials and thus prices will continue to go UP...

ENjoy.

Time to build board house then?

Postby De Dragon » January 28th, 2021, 9:50 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:This year is not a good time to build as world STEEL prices have gone up due to a shortage of scrap iron , the average price per tonn has gone up by almost 50-75% and local retailers have increased their prices on STeel and steel products by more than 30% since last year when the pandemic began.

ENjoy.

Yep, did a house extension this month and a ton of corrugated went to $8400 from $5800 during that time. I bought my steel at the very beginning so I narrowly avoided the increase :lol: Deck pans I wasn't so fortunate :lol:
Nasty business owners of course, had steel purchased for the previous price, but passing on the new price to you instantly :?