Building a house in Trinidad

worksux101

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby worksux101 » January 19th, 2021, 11:23 am

Toilets- I used 3 Armitage and 1 Richford (due to it being much shorter for ppl bringing their pickney).
Haven't moved in yet to advise.

Bought all my tiles from tile warehouse. Checked pretty much every tile place I could find, and always ended up back there.

Flooring I used LVP. Wanted the wood but without the creaking and need to reseal every few years. Got mine from CW interiors - no complaints thus far. Love the look, and installers have commented on the high quality of the board itself.

Does anyone know who offers steel framed vinyl pools (not intex etc, the full framed ones) beside Veldon? Or fiberglass beside igui? Don't want the drama and risks of leaking associated with building.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 19th, 2021, 3:11 pm

anybody care to recommend a RELIABLE and EXCELLENT cupboard man/group/company?

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » January 19th, 2021, 5:35 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:anybody care to recommend a RELIABLE and EXCELLENT cupboard man/group/company?

Good luck...I used the guy whose work was posted here a few months aback and was a horrible experience

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 19th, 2021, 6:00 pm

worksux101 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:anybody care to recommend a RELIABLE and EXCELLENT cupboard man/group/company?

Good luck...I used the guy whose work was posted here a few months aback and was a horrible experience

Scratches head....kicks bucket

Postby *KRONIK* » January 19th, 2021, 6:17 pm

I used roopnarine for the prefab cabinets,
Horrible experience, will not recommend

Check out ASLA interiors or SIVIC interiors
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
worksux101 wrote:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 19th, 2021, 6:48 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:I used roopnarine for the prefab cabinets,
Horrible experience, will not recommend

Check out ASLA interiors or SIVIC interiors
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
worksux101 wrote:

Funny story about sivic...i called for they to come and check out the area. Homeboy say grande to far to come for an estimate...I think Ive heard it all when it comes to house building

Postby pugboy » January 19th, 2021, 6:52 pm

sometimes you have to weigh going with basic prefab units like young sing and having somebody paint/finish the doors to your liking
often them full scale fabricators are hit and miss and their installation can be shoddy too.

one recommendation is to cast a good level concrete base and/or use spray expanding foam to fill any voids where critters could move in later

Postby Chimera » January 19th, 2021, 7:55 pm

It dont have a single reliable cupboard man or company in trinidad lol
Even the best of the best will give you a run around

I got some quotes for 40- 50k to do a simple kitchen cupboard.

Ended up paying 21k plus 3k in paint.

I took someone who I knew does "okay" work but was very unreliable with time and deadlines. I knew I could squeeze him to get my work done though.

Will post up a picture of my kitchen cupboards. It's a very small kitchen though.

I decided to rather risk the small money and bounce head than double the money and still bounce head.

daron

Postby daron » January 19th, 2021, 8:29 pm

paid 32k for small simple kitchen cupboard guy took 8 months to finish completely with a lot of fault,
he was very persistent to get the job

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 19th, 2021, 8:30 pm

Phone Surgeon said it in the first sentence. Idk what it is with cupboard men in Trinidad

Postby Chimera » January 19th, 2021, 9:36 pm

Pretend yuh eh seeing all that crap on the counter lol.

21k for completed cupboards. Labour and material

7k for quartz countertops..labour and material.

Screenshot_20210119-212935_Video%20Player.jpeg
Screenshot_20210119-212937_Video%20Player.jpeg
20210119_213550.jpeg
The attachment Screenshot_20210119-212935_Video%20Player.jpeg is no longer available

Postby supercharged turbo » January 20th, 2021, 1:02 am

Anybody?Preferably according to T/C requirements
supercharged turbo wrote:What's the maximum height a perimeter wall and backwall(wall between neighbour) can be?

Postby adnj » January 20th, 2021, 5:02 am

supercharged turbo wrote:Anybody?Preferably according to T/C requirements
supercharged turbo wrote:What's the maximum height a perimeter wall and backwall(wall between neighbour) can be?

TOWN AND COUNTRY PLANNING ACT
CHAPTER 35:01

CLASS II. SUNDRY MINOR OPERATIONS
1. The erection or construction of gates, fences, walls
or other means of enclosure not exceeding 4 feet in height
where abutting on a road or 7 feet in any other case, and
the maintenance, improvement, or other alteration of any
gates, fences, walls, or other means of enclosure.

1. No improvement
or alteration shall
increase the height
above the height
appropriate for a new
means of enclosure.

Wolfgang123

Postby Wolfgang123 » January 20th, 2021, 9:46 am

Phone surgeon who's that guy? Doing an apartment building atm and looking for a reasonable, reliable kitchen guy.

Postby Chimera » January 20th, 2021, 9:57 am

i telling yuh...he real unreliable...yuh WILL bounce yuh head i could guarantee that

i just was a in a position to squeeze him and not to bounce my head.

i will give yuh the number if yuh want but i warning you up front....you WILL get a dred problem with timeline.

Postby Dave » January 20th, 2021, 10:04 am

Betahomes/youngsing stuff isn't bad and they have their contractors who will pick up, finish and install for you.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » January 20th, 2021, 10:49 am

Are they reliable though ?
Dave wrote:Betahomes/youngsing stuff isn't bad and they have their contractors who will pick up, finish and install for you.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 20th, 2021, 12:52 pm

Can anyone recommend a good contractor who can install grass pavers?

Site is is Arima.

Thanks.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 20th, 2021, 1:27 pm

Saw some really classy work by ASLA interiors and R2 woodworking. Prices kinda wtf ish. As for reliability and non run around.....shrugs shoulders

Postby Chimera » January 20th, 2021, 1:54 pm

i hear maraj woodworking does great work and is reliable

just be ready to sell a kidney and limb.

blaine

Postby blaine » January 20th, 2021, 8:44 pm

This is my recommendation Mip Wood Designs. Colin James is the guy. My kitchen was done by him just a few months ago and after that experience I can gladly recommend him to anyone. An absolute stress free experience.
His work actually exceed what I expected locally. Imagine the wife couldn't even find a flaw in the cupboards when it was completed.Time frame was given as 6 to 8 weeks and he delivered. He's also very professional and knowledgeable and the little things like always answering my phone calls at anytime or returning my calls as soon as possible and spending the time to discuss things just to make sure I was satisfied. He checked all the boxes...

https://mipwooddesigns.com/
Screenshot_20210120-203510_Gallery.jpeg

Postby *KRONIK* » January 20th, 2021, 8:45 pm

Lovely kitchen
blaine wrote:
This is my recommendation Mip Wood Designs. Colin James is the guy. My kitchen was done by him just a few months ago and after that experience I can gladly recommend him to anyone. An absolute stress free experience.
His work actually exceed what I expected locally. Imagine the wife couldn't even find a flaw in the cupboards when it was completed.Time frame was given as 6 to 8 weeks and he delivered. He's also very professional and knowledgeable and the little things like always answering my phone calls at anytime or returning my calls as soon as possible and spending the time to discuss things just to make sure I was satisfied. He checked all the boxes...

Postby supercharged turbo » January 20th, 2021, 11:55 pm

Thanks.I'm planning to raise the height of the property by about 2 feet.Should the wall be checked from the new height or the current height?Also,anybody has any experience with Devis and Devatas Woodworking?Hearing them advertising on a few radio stations.
adnj wrote:
supercharged turbo wrote:Anybody?Preferably according to T/C requirements

TOWN AND COUNTRY PLANNING ACT
CHAPTER 35:01

CLASS II. SUNDRY MINOR OPERATIONS
1. The erection or construction of gates, fences, walls
or other means of enclosure not exceeding 4 feet in height
where abutting on a road or 7 feet in any other case, and
the maintenance, improvement, or other alteration of any
gates, fences, walls, or other means of enclosure.

1. No improvement
or alteration shall
increase the height
above the height
appropriate for a new
means of enclosure.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 21st, 2021, 8:40 am

blaine wrote:

Nice! Looks like a 3D render.
Well done.
What was the cost of the cabinetry?

Postby adnj » January 21st, 2021, 8:51 am

supercharged turbo wrote:Thanks.I'm planning to raise the height of the property by about 2 feet.Should the wall be checked from the new height or the current height?

The finished wall height is measured from either side of the wall to its base.

If you are unsure, you can submit a plan outline approval application with T&C for any issues.

One that is likely is you are either:
- building a perimeter wall on top of a retaining wall and require approval under a different section of the act, or
- you are planning to backfill behind an existing wall and risk sideload failure of the wall at two feet of fill.

originalbling

Postby originalbling » January 21st, 2021, 9:47 am

Dave wrote:Betahomes/youngsing stuff isn't bad and they have their contractors who will pick up, finish and install for you.

They make their own stuff as opposed to roopnarines who bring in the pre fab ones. Quality seems consistent.

shakes, you ever consider shipping in your cabinets? Most stores like Lowes, Ikea etc have a online designer you can use to get the measurements, styles etc.

I also came across https://www.rtacabinetstore.com/ among others that have good stuff.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 21st, 2021, 11:44 am

originalbling wrote:

They make their own stuff as opposed to roopnarines who bring in the pre fab ones. Quality seems consistent.

shakes, you ever consider shipping in your cabinets? Most stores like Lowes, Ikea etc have a online designer you can use to get the measurements, styles etc.

I also came across https://www.rtacabinetstore.com/ among others that have good stuff.

at one point yes, but with how customs moving these days...idk nah

Postby pugboy » January 21st, 2021, 2:25 pm

young sing cabinets are pretty good and if you get somebody competent to paint them will look very goos

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » January 21st, 2021, 3:33 pm

Steel prices going up drastically, paid per length of I Beam Last November for $243,just got quoted $346 per length today, heard also 1 ton smooth steel went up from $6500 to $10,000
Last edited by ru$$ell on January 21st, 2021, 3:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

blaine

Postby blaine » January 21st, 2021, 3:45 pm

blaine wrote:

Nice! Looks like a 3D render.
Well done.
What was the cost of the cabinetry?
Cabinets and island cost 60k which was around the same price and even lower than some of the other quotes I got.