Building a house in Trinidad

telfer

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby telfer » November 3rd, 2020, 10:44 pm

blacklight wrote:What is the avg cost to do a roof soffit and bashboard sheeting on 62 x 35ft single storey house?
My gypsum guy is telling me around $22,000, but I think that's it is kinda high.

That’s a very good price a contractor give me a cost of $70000 for a 76ft x 44ft house flat ceiling throughout.....I ask him for the name of the drugs he smokes

screwbash

Postby screwbash » November 4th, 2020, 6:34 am

daz joke. one i met in south curepe limin in a bar tell me $40000.00 to plaster a red block room 44x20 an is just the inside. plus tell me if he hadda bring the cement and sand upstairs to mix it go be more. idk what these men smoking but them neva have money an want to charge big money

Postby Kenjo » November 4th, 2020, 6:37 am

screwbash wrote:daz joke. one i met in south curepe limin in a bar tell me $40000.00 to plaster a red block room 44x20 an is just the inside. plus tell me if he hadda bring the cement and sand upstairs to mix it go be more. idk what these men smoking but them neva have money an want to charge big money

His money probably going straight to the bar so that explains why he probably never has money ???

Postby pugboy » November 4th, 2020, 7:15 am

sliding gate usually only has posts for safety and guide rails
so don’t have to go super deep
like just 18” or so or a foot with diagonal support

Musical Doc wrote:Is it necessary to pile for the posts that going to hold a 15 ft sliding gate? If I do have to pile, how deep should I go?

Postby pugboy » November 4th, 2020, 7:18 am

roofing, ceiling and gypsum men like to buss price as it is hard to separate technical jobs from east ones.

some painters too but often you will find a painter who likes to take his time and work solo and those tend to be the better ones and i don’t mind paying more for those.

telfer wrote:
blacklight wrote:What is the avg cost to do a roof soffit and bashboard sheeting on 62 x 35ft single storey house?
My gypsum guy is telling me around $22,000, but I think that's it is kinda high.

That’s a very good price a contractor give me a cost of $70000 for a 76ft x 44ft house flat ceiling throughout.....I ask him for the name of the drugs he smokes

Postby Chimera » November 4th, 2020, 7:47 am

Have some fresh concrete that continously emitting white powdery dust....a concrete sealer would solve that issue?

Postby maj. tom » November 4th, 2020, 9:06 am

Concrete efflorescence. Concrete mix had too much water.

carluva

Postby carluva » November 4th, 2020, 10:52 pm

Too much water yes and this old school masonry technique of trowelling or floating concrete while it's wet and the water is still on the surface and/or then dusting with cement. This is absolute crap and always results in the problems you are experiencing.

Always wait for the water to be absorbed back in the concrete before floating. Concrete is a mixture, so after the pour, naturally the water floats to the top but it is quickly reabsorbed to begin the curing process. Only when this occurs is it safe to trowel and float. Note - what I am referring to is not the screeding float that is done to obtain the level as soon as the concrete is poured, but rather the intermediate float to begin the finishing of the surface and subsequent sealing

Anyway.... Call the SCL solutions store in Barataria. My neighbor had a similar problem a few weeks ago (actually have concrete poured in the rain and heavy spalling after cure) and they recommended a type of sealer which is rolled on. I believe it's some sort of silicate, but the name slips me.
Phone Surgeon wrote:Have some fresh concrete that continously emitting white powdery dust....a concrete sealer would solve that issue?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » November 5th, 2020, 4:45 am

worksux101 wrote:I did all of my pours with central concrete...was very happy with their service. The last went into 11pm in the night and required more concrete than I originally paid for - they continued and called another truck with no fuss whatsoever. Would highly recommend them.

them charging $1000 for yard of premix and once the pour is further than 10 feet away i would have to rent a pump at $1300 for the lil time i will need it. i looking to call around to see other prices.

Postby Chimera » November 5th, 2020, 6:16 pm

anyone got quartz countertops done in the last year or two?
whats the average price per sq ft to install?

also for spc/vinyl plank flooring, average price for installation?

blaine

Postby blaine » November 5th, 2020, 7:36 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:anyone got quartz countertops done in the last year or two?
whats the average price per sq ft to install?

also for spc/vinyl plank flooring, average price for installation?
Got my counters installed today actually. Cambria quartz 83 sq ft @ $433 per square ft.
20201105_141216.jpeg
20201105_192420.jpeg

Postby Chimera » November 5th, 2020, 7:40 pm

so like 36k for for 83 sq ft? labour and material?

blaine

Postby blaine » November 5th, 2020, 7:48 pm

Correct.
I must also say that it was a very good experience doing business with them. No headaches and job well done.

Postby pugboy » November 5th, 2020, 7:53 pm

that’s great that they sell and do the install

i know somebody who bought expensive granite and got a guy to cut the sink opening
and it cracked whilst transporting on the truck
needless to say the installer ain’t want to take responsibility

Postby Chimera » November 5th, 2020, 8:59 pm

I have a small countertop to do. Like 36 sq ft.
2 sheets of 9 feet quartz

Postby Chimera » November 5th, 2020, 9:07 pm

If I tell yuh I expecting to pay 7k material and installed yuh wouldn't believe meh

blaine

Postby blaine » November 5th, 2020, 9:33 pm

Thats the price of one sheet of the China quartz by International tile
20200813_140808.jpeg

Postby Chimera » November 5th, 2020, 10:09 pm

Most other places its 9 feet x 26 inches for 1800-2400.

Postby Chimera » November 5th, 2020, 10:12 pm

Cambria is a big American brand though. Can't compare that to the cheap thing I buying.

blaine

Postby blaine » November 5th, 2020, 10:13 pm

Ok.. I thought you meant whole sheets. Yeah that price is about right.

Postby supercharged turbo » November 13th, 2020, 12:09 am

I'm looking to cover some groove ply walls with either gypsum or concrete board.Which option would be better in terms of sound insulation?Is there anything I can add between the groove ply walls and either the gypsum/concrete board to make it even more sound insulated?

carluva

Postby carluva » November 13th, 2020, 7:51 am

Dynamat or something of the sort.

Postby adnj » November 13th, 2020, 8:16 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:I'm looking to cover some groove ply walls with either gypsum or concrete board.Which option would be better in terms of sound insulation?Is there anything I can add between the groove ply walls and either the gypsum/concrete board to make it even more sound insulated?
There is little acoustical insulation offered by gypsum or concrete. You would typically add fiberglass insulation behind the new sheathing material. You can buy it in rolls or sheets. You will also need space between the new and old sheathing so that the fiberglass is not compressed.

Postby supercharged turbo » November 13th, 2020, 11:55 pm

There is about 4" of space between the groove ply wall and the new sheet.Where can I get the fiberglass insulation and whats the price like?
adnj wrote:
supercharged turbo wrote:I'm looking to cover some groove ply walls with either gypsum or concrete board.Which option would be better in terms of sound insulation?Is there anything I can add between the groove ply walls and either the gypsum/concrete board to make it even more sound insulated?
There is little acoustical insulation offered by gypsum or concrete. You would typically add fiberglass insulation behind the new sheathing material. You can buy it in rolls or sheets. You will also need space between the new and old sheathing so that the fiberglass is not compressed.

Postby adnj » November 14th, 2020, 6:54 am

supercharged turbo wrote:There is about 4" of space between the groove ply wall and the new sheet.Where can I get the fiberglass insulation and whats the price like?
adnj wrote:
You can do a search for "fiberglass insulation". There are many stores that carry it.

It's also used to insulate cold rooms so it is widely available.

Postby pugboy » November 14th, 2020, 8:05 am

some aircon places carry it in big rolls to wrap around central ac ducting

Postby st7 » November 21st, 2020, 10:24 pm

anyone has experience with invisible floating shelves, and where in trinidad sells them?

Kronik

Postby Kronik » November 21st, 2020, 10:48 pm

st7 wrote:anyone has experience with invisible floating shelves, and where in trinidad sells them?
I know about floating shelves, I dunno where the invisible part come in.

Floating shelves are like a normal shelf where you don't see the supports exposed

Postby st7 » November 21st, 2020, 10:50 pm

Kronik wrote:
st7 wrote:anyone has experience with invisible floating shelves, and where in trinidad sells them?
I know about floating shelves, I dunno where the invisible part come in.

Floating shelves are like a normal shelf where you don't see the supports exposed

oh, i guess the invisible part (being the hidden supports) is redundant then lol

Postby st7 » November 21st, 2020, 11:42 pm

actually, this looking like the flick