Building a house in Trinidad

rebound

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby rebound » September 15th, 2020, 5:58 pm

Even tho it depends on your area, as a general rule they do not allow more than two stories above the road level or grade.

Therefore, you can get away with it if the land has an adequate slope.

dogg wrote:Is it legal to build a three story home (not business) in a residential area? Is there a height limitation?

Covid has me thinking about building up behind my parents' house.

I might be coming here for advice and cotractor suggestions soon

kas1992

Postby kas1992 » September 15th, 2020, 7:02 pm

Commercial Representation that's in the back of the trincity industrial estate. Purchased there recently, they carry the USG sheetrock brand too
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:any suggestions regarding places that sell gypsum and the other necessities @ good prices?

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » September 16th, 2020, 4:53 pm

Whats the normal cost to install quartz countertops?
Someone quoted 1000 per sheet - sounds right?

originalbling

Postby originalbling » September 16th, 2020, 5:05 pm

worksux101 wrote:Whats the normal cost to install quartz countertops?

is it those pre cut 4'x6' slabs?

When I bought was a custom size fabricated and installed with edge was around $400 per sq ft. from the guy in St. Helena

Postby Chimera » September 16th, 2020, 5:17 pm

worksux101 wrote:Whats the normal cost to install quartz countertops?

that price sounds amazing if its quality work

link meh with yuh quartz man if yuh hire him and they do good work

i hadda get some quartz counters in about 2 weeks

Postby pugboy » September 16th, 2020, 6:14 pm

i find them fellas pricing does be all over the place
many used to charge more than the cost of the slab

make sure yuh cabinets installed sturdy and top level or very slight grade for water to run to edge at least by sink side

them fellas tend to use little pieces of wood to chuck up for any spaces but often the pieces of wood compress later on as they use light wood

Postby Chimera » September 16th, 2020, 6:20 pm

yeah i get a quote of $8000 labour to install 3.25 sheet of quartz last week

looking around still

and that quartz coming with bullnose on one side already

Postby pugboy » September 16th, 2020, 6:45 pm

real ripoff pricing
the hardest part is cutting the sink hole and transporting the slabs

Phone Surgeon wrote:yeah i get a quote of $8000 labour to install 3.25 sheet of quartz last week

looking around still

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 16th, 2020, 7:04 pm

kas1992 wrote:Commercial Representation that's in the back of the trincity industrial estate. Purchased there recently, they carry the USG sheetrock brand too
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:any suggestions regarding places that sell gypsum and the other necessities @ good prices?

E bounce

Postby Chimera » September 16th, 2020, 7:13 pm

Some fellas charge me 400 the other day to install a 4x2 slab of granite and cut and install granite backsplash for a vanity . And to cut two holes for faucet and waste
pugboy wrote:real ripoff pricing
the hardest part is cutting the sink hole and transporting the slabs

Phone Surgeon wrote:yeah i get a quote of $8000 labour to install 3.25 sheet of quartz last week

looking around still

Postby *KRONIK* » September 16th, 2020, 7:33 pm

https://www.facebook.com/Exquisite-Granite-Creations-684679555001793/

This guy is/was a tuner here.
He did my granite on the kitchen, and his prices decent.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » September 16th, 2020, 9:18 pm

I bought the slabs alredy. Straight edged, around 10' x 2.5'
Will let yall know

Postby *KRONIK* » September 17th, 2020, 6:05 am

Hey guys

Looking for someone to build a 2x4 I-Beam Shed for me.
any recommendations?

Postby pugboy » September 17th, 2020, 6:34 am

use galv pipe for the posts
more rigid than ibeams unless you use large ones

*KRONIK* wrote:Hey guys

any recommendations?

Postby *KRONIK* » September 17th, 2020, 7:05 am

Looking to make it to bolt unto the spot and relocate to another spot within a 2 years time
So i dont wanna cast it in.
Was thinking I-beam since it can be plated and gusseted and bolted for easy dismantling
pugboy wrote:use galv pipe for the posts

any recommendations?

carluva

Postby carluva » September 17th, 2020, 7:37 am

Aye, partna, don't forget I have some material pack up... A few lengths of Z-purlin.

Remember I offered you to take and you said once you start your shed you'll let me know.

Just reminding you....
*KRONIK* wrote:Looking to make it to bolt unto the spot and relocate to another spot within a 2 years time
Was thinking I-beam since it can be plated and gusseted and bolted for easy dismantling

any recommendations?

Postby *KRONIK* » September 17th, 2020, 2:59 pm

Boi

Lol

I aint start nothing yet.
Want to start by month end
carluva wrote:Aye, partna, don't forget I have some material pack up... A few lengths of Z-purlin.

Remember I offered you to take and you said once you start your shed you'll let me know.

Just reminding you....
*KRONIK* wrote:Looking to make it to bolt unto the spot and relocate to another spot within a 2 years time

any recommendations?

msg1

Postby msg1 » September 17th, 2020, 6:45 pm

Anyone knows where I can get the pull bar or installation kit for installing laminate/vinyl plank flooring?

m@x

Postby m@x » September 18th, 2020, 10:17 am

good day, the 3/4 inch blue line that comes of the wasa main to your house , is that a "pex" or "flexible pvc" line? what fittings do i have to use to attach a ball valve as i understand you cant glue pex pipe. Thank you.

Postby adnj » September 18th, 2020, 2:07 pm

m@x wrote:good day, the 3/4 inch blue line that comes of the wasa main to your house , is that a "pex" or "flexible pvc" line? what fittings do i have to use to attach a ball valve as i understand you cant glue pex pipe. Thank you.
IIRC, it's 3/4" PEX blue tubing for cold water.

To add a ball valve, you will need 2 no. 3/4" PEX compression to 3/4" NPT female adapters, 2 no. 3/4" male/male PVC adapters, a tubing/PVC pipe cutter, and the valve.

I would make a male/male adapter from two male adapters and 3 inches of PVC pipe. I would also use a brass or chrome valve. Because many male adapters and PVC ball valves fail.

Postby nemisis » September 18th, 2020, 2:08 pm

What the cheapest method to cover the concrete skirting of a yard, non stick tiles terrazzo?

Postby pugboy » September 18th, 2020, 3:00 pm

wasa uses a lil brass valve which is screw compressed onto the line, no male adapters needed
and it has a hole latch to put a padlock on it too.
dunno where they get it from though

adnj wrote:
m@x wrote:good day, the 3/4 inch blue line that comes of the wasa main to your house , is that a "pex" or "flexible pvc" line? what fittings do i have to use to attach a ball valve as i understand you cant glue pex pipe. Thank you.

To add a ball valve, you will need 2 no. 3/4" PEX compression to 3/4" NPT female adapters, 2 no. 3/4" male/male PVC adapters, a tubing/PVC pipe cutter, and the valve.

I would make a male/male adapter from two male adapters and 3 inches of PVC pipe. I would also use a brass or chrome valve. Because many male adapters and PVC ball valves fail.

Postby adnj » September 18th, 2020, 4:32 pm

pugboy wrote:wasa uses a lil brass valve which is screw compressed onto the line, no male adapters needed
and it has a hole latch to put a padlock on it too.
dunno where they get it from though

adnj wrote:

Now we are talking about a curb stop valve. It's usually installed toward the beginning of the line.

Postby pugboy » September 18th, 2020, 5:05 pm

the ting self

Postby Country_Bookie » September 18th, 2020, 5:54 pm

msg1 wrote:Anyone knows where I can get the pull bar or installation kit for installing laminate/vinyl plank flooring?
Where u guys getting vinyl plank flooring at a reasonable price?

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » September 18th, 2020, 6:06 pm

See people use this to connect to the blue line on one side and pvc on the other.
110-05-2.jpeg
110-05-2.jpeg (6.64 KiB) Viewed 3932 times

msg1

Postby msg1 » September 18th, 2020, 6:40 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:
msg1 wrote:Anyone knows where I can get the pull bar or installation kit for installing laminate/vinyl plank flooring?
Where u guys getting vinyl plank flooring at a reasonable price?

I went 2001 in Chaguanas. But I did laminate and vinyl. Just really trying to get something to use as a pull bar for the last row.

rebound

Postby rebound » September 18th, 2020, 6:43 pm

I used the hexagonal clay tiles. It was very reasonable. Got them when TAP had a 50% sale a few years back.
nemisis wrote:What the cheapest method to cover the concrete skirting of a yard, non stick tiles terrazzo?

rebound

Postby rebound » September 18th, 2020, 6:52 pm

nemisis wrote:What the cheapest method to cover the concrete skirting of a yard, non stick tiles terrazzo?
Thats been installed 7yrs now and no cracks and regular vehicle traffic
20200424_171333.jpeg

screwbash

Postby screwbash » September 20th, 2020, 5:52 am

anyone know the cost of a yard of readymix presently ? who had the best price for a 5 yard of readymix?