Building a house in Trinidad

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 30th, 2020, 9:12 am

telfer wrote:
thelem-again wrote:Quick question related to some kitchen work.

Pine, Mahogany and Teak. I know teak is probably the best but what are the cons and pros of each when it comes to Kitchen Cupboard applications.

Also in terms of varnishing in a dark oak color, what are the possibilities of such with each.

Recently did my kitchen in appamat it’s a hard wood not as hard as teak but cheaper and if you are using colored paint this is better if you going for a wood look then teak or mahogany is better
This is my recently done kitchen

Wow nice!
Like the shaker style cabinets and loving that fridge!

Postby MG Man » June 30th, 2020, 10:08 am

anybody consider PVC board for cabinet doors? Thinking to build my own kitchen cupboards, and I want the doors finished in dark brown or black
I was looking at PVC for the doors, as a low-maintenance option

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2020, 10:10 am

expensive and sometimes the screws don’t hold well for the hinges

MG Man wrote:anybody consider PVC board for cabinet doors? Thinking to build my own kitchen cupboards, and I want the doors finished in dark brown or black

Postby MG Man » June 30th, 2020, 10:29 am

pugboy wrote:expensive and sometimes the screws don’t hold well for the hinges

MG Man wrote:anybody consider PVC board for cabinet doors? Thinking to build my own kitchen cupboards, and I want the doors finished in dark brown or black

thanks for the feedback. Might go with appamat then and pay someone to build the doors out of that
Plan to do the rest myself. All I need now in terms of tools is a pocket-joint tool. I don't have a mitre saw but with the basic stuff I plan on doing, I shouldn't need it. My table saw can adjust to different angles so hopefully that will suffice

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2020, 10:44 am

kreg pocket hole jig selling everywhere

you using melamine for the cabinets ?

Postby MG Man » June 30th, 2020, 10:51 am

pugboy wrote:kreg pocket hole jig selling everywhere

Thinking MDF
Kreg self

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2020, 10:53 am

wear a good dust mask, that is nasty stuff

Thinking MDF
Kreg self

Postby MG Man » June 30th, 2020, 11:00 am

pugboy wrote:wear a good dust mask, that is nasty stuff

Thinking MDF
Kreg self

yup, I know
and none of my tools have vacuum attachments :|

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » June 30th, 2020, 5:18 pm

In the process of building my kitchen with mdf myself as well. Also need to get a pockethole jig lol.

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2020, 5:45 pm

two of allyuh could put up and buy a table saw with dust collection

worksux101 wrote:In the process of building my kitchen with mdf myself as well. Also need to get a pockethole jig lol.

Postby Chimera » June 30th, 2020, 6:13 pm

I had a store counter made with some PVC board the other day. It looks nice and easy to clean but the screws really dont hold good if you opening and closing regular

NR8

Postby NR8 » June 30th, 2020, 8:49 pm

What kinda screws you all used on the PVC board? Gypsum screws?

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » July 1st, 2020, 3:45 pm

Tuners,

What are your thoughts on buying land on/in a cul de sac?

carluva

Postby carluva » July 1st, 2020, 8:19 pm

Personally, I don't think it's a bad idea. Sometimes, the land on a cul de sac tends to be a larger lot, as it has been surveyed to be able to easily portion out the adjacent lots. The flip side is true as it can be smaller, for the same reasons.

If it's a large cul de sac, like some of those in Millennium Park in Trincity, that's nice.

If it is small like the one in Valsayn South heading down the road from Superpharm, well bleh.

I think a lot on a cul de sac is not bad if it's large enough the cul de sac itself is not too small (I.e. it's a nice wide arc). Safety wise, it's a plus as no bandit ought to head into a dead end. It's also a negative in that regard as it may be easy to get ambushed.
Joshie23 wrote:Tuners,

What are your thoughts on buying land on/in a cul de sac?

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » July 2nd, 2020, 10:28 am

What's the best way to do the framing for kitchen cupboards?
I see some does cast the frame, including the counter in solid concrete then put cupboards and your countertop over that.
I see others use pvc board, wood or concrete board for the framing instead.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » July 3rd, 2020, 2:24 am

Doing a clear roof over a pergola...what do you all suggest using...options so far are laminate glass, polycarbonate or plexi. Can't find any clear pvc roofing sheets down here

Postby MG Man » July 3rd, 2020, 7:38 am

wouldn't that defeat the purpose of a pergola tho?
If you can afford it, laminate glass
Anything plastic-ish will fade, craze etc, and will scratch when you try to clean it

Postby pugboy » July 3rd, 2020, 7:41 am

just remember all natural wood does weather and change colour,warp with the rain and sun

Postby Gladiator » July 3rd, 2020, 7:45 am

Hey pugboy... What do you recommend as a substitute for the natural wood?

I have to do some privacy screens.
pugboy wrote:just remember all natural wood does weather and change colour,warp with the rain and sun

Postby pugboy » July 3rd, 2020, 7:49 am

metal fence with flat bars
i see people using the fake wood for decking like by chaguaramas boardwalk

Gladiator wrote:Hey pugboy... What do you recommend as a substitute for the natural wood?

I have to do some privacy screens.
pugboy wrote:just remember all natural wood does weather and change colour,warp with the rain and sun

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » July 3rd, 2020, 9:00 am

Sorry I should've been more specific. It'll made from aluminum and used as a carport. Roughly 25x30

Postby MG Man » July 3rd, 2020, 9:46 am

so you parking your car under a semi-transparent roof? The pain't won't thank you for it
What you need is a fully enclosed workshop because we both know what your project is :)
High enough ceiling for a fully extended engine crane / block-and-tackle, assuming you can't fit the 2-post lift
Cast upper decking (roof) with skylights, LED tubes in ceiling and floor, central drain covered by decorative drain cover
110 and 220 plugs galore, wiring for extractor fan

Youngstar1989

Postby Youngstar1989 » July 3rd, 2020, 10:25 am

IMG-20200629-WA0007.jpg

Looking for roofing ideas here: pro and con of these roof designs and the avg cost to build them/changes in cost with design.

Size is 36'x 46' with the porch area 7'x10'

Thank you

Postby nemisis » July 6th, 2020, 10:13 am

Any good hardware south I can email a list for a quote

Postby gt4tified » July 6th, 2020, 10:26 am

nemisis wrote:Any good hardware south I can email a list for a quote

Johnny Q.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 6th, 2020, 10:55 am

Built to last does send via whatsapp
Hand written thing tho
Not fancy type up thing
nemisis wrote:Any good hardware south I can email a list for a quote

Postby nemisis » July 6th, 2020, 10:56 am

Called them * J Q, The female attendant was a bit clueless when I asked if there was a contact number or email address I could send a list in order to get a quote. Once I got the email address I was told I can expect a reply in two to three days.

Postby Chimera » July 6th, 2020, 10:59 am

Where can I get some ready made steel windows with burglar proof

Looking for something niceish

Postby MG Man » July 6th, 2020, 11:02 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Where can I get some ready made steel windows with burglar proof

QPSL did my custom steel windows....nobody else understood my design or was willing to work with me on something different to what I wantedd. Dealt with a guy named Indar. Several visits, tons of time discussing the design etc
Wasn't the cheapest, but we got exactly what we wanted

Postby nemisis » July 6th, 2020, 11:05 am

Post a pic nah!!!!
Phone Surgeon wrote:Where can I get some ready made steel windows with burglar proof

QPSL did my custom steel windows....nobody else understood my design or was willing to work with me on something different to what I wantedd. Dealt with a guy named Indar. Several visits, tons of time discussing the design etc
Wasn't the cheapest, but we got exactly what we wanted