The Deals Thread (Prime Day, Black Friday, Sales)

mad

Re: The Deals Thread (Prime Day, Black Friday, Sales)

Postby mad » December 6th, 2019, 9:21 am

Arcmanov wrote:So all them JVC buyers go be looking for a new TV in short order then?

For sure.

mad

Postby mad » December 6th, 2019, 9:31 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
mad wrote:Made a mistake with that JVC brand from pricemart. Not ever again.
Apparently is some knock off version from Panama. Has a motherboard problem and trust me there is no where you can get it online.

Rovin...homeboy here answered half of it

Just to clarify some more, when my JVC was in the repair shop we called a service tech from JVC in the US, when we told him the model #, it did not appear in their database. He told us that it was the knock-off version from Panama. He even explained that JVC US has nothing to do with Panama and has no affiliation with them. He said that they take cheap Chinese generic TV and put a JVC stamp on them. That's why parts are impossible to get for them.

I hope that answers the rest of it.

Postby gastly369 » December 6th, 2019, 9:43 am

Got my black Friday deal
IMG_20191205_152139.jpeg

Postby Dizzy28 » December 6th, 2019, 10:07 am

gastly369 wrote:Got my black Friday deal IMG_20191205_152139.jpeg

How much was it? Over the black friday weekend the in store discount was 60% off the listed prices (even if already on discount). Zig Techs and Zig Pulses were $35 and others were between $28 - 34.

Regret not buying any as my luggage coming back was only 38 pounds.

Postby gastly369 » December 6th, 2019, 10:10 am

185tt skybox + 38usd.. Original price was 85usd

Postby Dizzy28 » December 6th, 2019, 10:23 am

gastly369 wrote:185tt skybox + 38usd.. Original price was 85usd

Not bad at all!!

Postby Chimera » December 6th, 2019, 11:19 am

mad wrote:
Apparently is some knock off version from Panama. Has a motherboard problem and trust me there is no where you can get it online.

Just to clarify some more, when my JVC was in the repair shop we called a service tech from JVC in the US, when we told him the model #, it did not appear in their database. He told us that it was the knock-off version from Panama. He even explained that JVC US has nothing to do with Panama and has no affiliation with them. He said that they take cheap Chinese generic TV and put a JVC stamp on them. That's why parts are impossible to get for them.

lol it have fake EVERYTHING

people accustom to the usual fake shoes, handbags, watches, belts, etc

but plenty dont know it have fake tyres, fake alcohol , fake condoms, fake medicine, fake batteries, fake car parts (brake pads etc),
fake engine oil, fake appliances, fake spark plugs

all the things i now list ive seen down here

i buy a case of absolut from a well know wholesaler a few months ago in central and every single bottle we open, when you opening it, the head breaking off, when you taste it, it tasting 100 times stronger than normal absolut, when you watch the label, you realize its a vinyl sticker stuck on, rather than engraved....

it have some men in bamboo selling fake NGK spark plugs

have a fella in el socorro selling fake engine oil

Postby hydroep » December 6th, 2019, 12:15 pm

Even some replacement parts are fake. Imagine spending a small fortune on "branded" capacitors and transistors only for them to fail and then you pulling out your hair trying to figure out if something else is wrong with the circuit...:mad:

matix

Postby matix » December 6th, 2019, 12:24 pm

gastly369 wrote:Got my black Friday deal
IMG_20191205_152139.jpeg

Really like these

Postby Rovin » December 6th, 2019, 6:09 pm

wed i was in PS price plaza so i watching d bunch of jvc 50" 4k tv for tt2799 [i dunno what was d sale price] , it really looked to be a rel good deal , i cud see why ppl rush & buy it unknowingly if its indeed alleged fake or a "panama model" , it have alot of ppl who doh use d net & just buy what they seeing in front their eyes

well according to d info yall posted here i sorry for them even if is a "lil 2800" ....

Postby redmanjp » December 6th, 2019, 6:41 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
mad wrote:

lol it have fake EVERYTHING

people accustom to the usual fake shoes, handbags, watches, belts, etc

but plenty dont know it have fake tyres, fake alcohol , fake condoms, fake medicine, fake batteries, fake car parts (brake pads etc),
fake engine oil, fake appliances, fake spark plugs

all the things i now list ive seen down here

i buy a case of absolut from a well know wholesaler a few months ago in central and every single bottle we open, when you opening it, the head breaking off, when you taste it, it tasting 100 times stronger than normal absolut, when you watch the label, you realize its a vinyl sticker stuck on, rather than engraved....

it have some men in bamboo selling fake NGK spark plugs

have a fella in el socorro selling fake engine oil

in any other country authorities would be seizing all this fake stuff

Postby paid_influencer » December 6th, 2019, 7:00 pm

redmanjp wrote:in any other country authorities would be seizing all this fake stuff

the counterfeit wave is a global thing. even in the USA, Amazon has a huge problem with counterfeit goods all over their site. don't ever buy from third-party sellers on there even if it is "fulfilled by amazon."

Postby Rovin » December 6th, 2019, 7:03 pm

do customs or bureau of standards really do their jobs thoroughly ?

a few mths ago i was piarco to collect a tool , so a grandma collecting a big box like a pallet size full of household ting she chirren or grands send she , variety of household , clothes , food items even 2 mats , tings as gifts to use in normal house not to sell back : customs officer tell she empty everything so we cud see d bottom of d box , granny complied with no protest or corcern .... allyuh think it does go that way when companies bring in stuff they does check every single ting especially when is containers ? , aint nobody got time fo dat

Postby Rovin » December 6th, 2019, 7:09 pm

as for d fakery of brands i recall watching a youtube vid how fashion designers like gucci , versace , prada etc have a huge problem with counterfeit items from china coming into d usa in spite of all d modern checks & balances they have at their american customs .... so if they have problems & it still getting into d streets then who is we lil dot country

Postby pugboy » December 6th, 2019, 8:22 pm

got the echo show 5
it is great, will be dumping my old bedside clock radio

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » December 7th, 2019, 10:25 pm

Yeah but with regards to clothes/bag/shoes, plenty times the Chinese knock-off last way longer than the 'authentic'

And when you pose up on instagram with your fake brands, nobody could really tell it fake from the pics (unless the spelling different) so you will still get your 'likes' and 'follows'

Postby redmanjp » December 7th, 2019, 11:51 pm

rattans have d most fakes

Postby gastly369 » December 8th, 2019, 12:00 am

So I does do jersey printing etc

Rattans have a Jersey brand call "kalvin classics" paid like $24 for it
Friend went in gulf city mall saw same ting for $60... Note as first wash the Jersey does get "heng heng"
redmanjp wrote:rattans have d most fakes

Postby Chimera » December 8th, 2019, 12:17 am

Rovin wrote:do customs or bureau of standards really do their jobs thoroughly ?

a few mths ago i was piarco to collect a tool , so a grandma collecting a big box like a pallet size full of household ting she chirren or grands send she , variety of household , clothes , food items even 2 mats , tings as gifts to use in normal house not to sell back : customs officer tell she empty everything so we cud see d bottom of d box , granny complied with no protest or corcern .... allyuh think it does go that way when companies bring in stuff they does check every single ting especially when is containers ? , aint nobody got time fo dat

realistically they cant check all goods

and fakes are not illegal in trinidad in any event

Postby Dizzy28 » December 8th, 2019, 2:37 am

I'm sure they are based on international agreements we have signed on too. We are a member of the World Intellectual Property Office and then there's WTO etc.
Phone Surgeon wrote:
Rovin wrote:do customs or bureau of standards really do their jobs thoroughly ?

realistically they cant check all goods

and fakes are not illegal in trinidad in any event

Postby hydroep » December 8th, 2019, 6:46 am

BoS...one day three representatives showed up to "investigate" two 8-port network switches that were contained in a shipment with the company's goods. Cannot say how they found out about them but they did.

Anyways, they looked at them, asked what they were for and then declared those things should be bought locally.

Called the brokers immediately to find out what this was about and they said don't worry about it, basically they don't know their arse from their elbow.

Never heard from them again...:|

Postby supercharged turbo » October 13th, 2020, 9:51 am

Anybody bought anything yet for Prime Day?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 13th, 2020, 8:52 pm

Postby pugboy » October 13th, 2020, 9:00 pm

guava season here
deals are mostly for amazon products

supercharged turbo wrote:Anybody bought anything yet for Prime Day?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 13th, 2020, 10:02 pm

Linksys Mesh Wi-Fi Router (Tri-Band Router, Wireless Mesh Router for Home AC2200), Future-Proof MU-MIMO Fast Wireless Router https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07L9282JK/
Save US$60 off the price - 30% off

Postby Kenjo » October 14th, 2020, 3:35 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Linksys Mesh Wi-Fi Router (Tri-Band Router, Wireless Mesh Router for Home AC2200), Future-Proof MU-MIMO Fast Wireless Router https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07L9282JK/
Save US$60 off the price - 30% off

Been considering if to stick with linksys or go tp- link for the longest while . This is a great deal actually

Postby pugboy » October 14th, 2020, 8:28 am

https://www.amazon.com/Vitamix-Blender- ... 5b74d06df3

the best deal i have seen
top of the line blender

Skanky

Postby Skanky » October 14th, 2020, 8:41 am

How are you accessing these deals?
Trying to buy a fire tablet but for some reason can't access deal price even as a Prime member.
Ideas?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 14th, 2020, 9:06 am

Skanky wrote:How are you accessing these deals?
Trying to buy a fire tablet but for some reason can't access deal price even as a Prime member.
Ideas?

If you go to Amazon.com/primeday you can see all the current deals
Remember there are lightning deals that go away after a while

The Fire 10 tablet is $79 right now, that's 50% off
https://www.amazon.com/Fire-HD-10/dp/B07K1RZWMC

Screenshot 2020-10-14 at 9.04.42 AM.jpg

carluva

Postby carluva » October 14th, 2020, 9:18 am

Not really a prime day deal post, but has anyone ever purchased a renewed laptop or desktop from Amazon. I see quite a few available in HP and Dell, especially business PCs, but not sure on whether its a risk to purchase. Any thoughts?