reviews on royal canin maxi large breed puppy chow

rebel sounds

reviews on royal canin maxi large breed puppy chow

Postby rebel sounds » November 2nd, 2010, 1:18 am

any reviews good or bad on royal canin dog chow ? hearing that it is comparable to eukanuba large breed puppy chow

Re: reviews on royal canin maxi large breed puppy chow

Postby cinco » November 2nd, 2010, 10:19 am

it does lash wid ketchup

Sequel

Postby Sequel » November 2nd, 2010, 8:36 pm

its good but you could check health wise and blue buffalo as well. I think there are a few other good brands as well.

Rassyroots

Postby Rassyroots » November 2nd, 2010, 9:51 pm

The royal canin is comparable to eukanuba. Blue buffalo, Orijen, Canidae, those brands are the top shelf stuff, but healthwise... their parent company was bought over by proctor and gamble who have a bad history with animal testing and watering down of good formulae. This is the same company that owns Eukanuba/Iams.
http://www.dogfoodscoop.com/natura-dog-food.html

Check these links, I find the reviews on these tend to be helpful
http://www.dogfoodscoop.com/dog-food-comparison.html

http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/

rebel sounds

Postby rebel sounds » November 2nd, 2010, 11:35 pm

there are so many mixed reviews on dog food , yet you cant get a fixed decision because you would never know what they really put in them. the blue buffalo i have seen been getting consistently high ratings. the eukanuba which we say is one of the best has received some really low marks.

rebel sounds

Postby rebel sounds » November 2nd, 2010, 11:37 pm

the evo and health wise seems to be at the top of their game ..not many red flags raised in their composition

Rassyroots

Postby Rassyroots » November 8th, 2010, 10:44 pm

Yess!! its real hard to pick one. I spent a week or two trying to decide on the last switch I made.

eukanuba was initially a top a the line brand, but when Proctor and Gamble bought over the line, they watered down the ingredients so it was more profitable (i guessing) to mass market, consumers weren't notified, and lots of dogs had reactions to the poor quality ingredients...So people bring it here, and Trini doh know nothing about research, just taking the salesman word and buying it like it going out of style. They lost integrity and like I said before Proctor and Gamble was involved heavily in animal testing/cruelty so all that adds to its low marks.

the evo and healthwise, you're right, they are. I was feeding my dog that. But i found it became more difficult each month to get a bag of the chow, because the expiry date would be too soon =S like within the month. Old stock ? Anyway I went researching other brands and when I saw Proctor and Gamble bought them over I decided to just make the switch to avoid stress in finding it.

Out of curiousity, what kinda dog is he/she?

rebel sounds

Postby rebel sounds » November 8th, 2010, 11:17 pm

its a mastiff , neo and Italian mix. well on the bright side i was feeding her eukanuba and i saw explosive results.unfortunately after two bags she was showing signs of uninterest. so i went to the pet store and asked the sales clerk what do you have equivalent in price and content with eukanuba , she pointed out the royal canin. so i bought the chow skeptically and fed my dog some , now initially she seemed excited, but after a few days she lost all interest and refused to eat, then started throwing up. i immediately cut out that food and switched to purina with a vitamin supplement until i buy the evo or health wise. please do not invest in the royal canin , its a veggie diet for dogs.
my ignorance cost me and i did my research after.
p.s. sales clerks don't know sheit even with their " well a lady feed her mastiffs this and it works well."Poor dogs

Rassyroots

Postby Rassyroots » November 11th, 2010, 12:39 am

oh poor dog : ( I have a malinois who took really well to the healthwise lamb and rice chow, nice size, reallly healthy coat. (Just remember to check the expiry date when u buying it) So switch out to it soon! You don't want her to lose anything bc of the purina. and you so right about sales clerks, ANYTHING to make a sale. it's ridiculous.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 11th, 2010, 12:44 am

good info!!!!

SkettellGod

Postby SkettellGod » November 11th, 2010, 4:30 pm

Previously i used Royal Canin for my dog (gotti/ jeep mix). He was never really interested in it.
Eventually i changed to Evo and health wise.
Result was astonishing, coat was better, dog was and still is very interested in food and showed a remarkable increase in growth and energy. My best advice is if you care about your pet, use Evo and healthwise.

mindxlabz

Postby mindxlabz » November 11th, 2010, 6:36 pm

Rice and dhal with smoke herrin.... works magic...

rebel sounds

Postby rebel sounds » November 11th, 2010, 6:47 pm

yep i'm going to buy that evo or health wise this weekend .. anyone knows where i can get it readily available in south and at competitive prices. i am even looking to invest in the "blue buffalo " dog chow ..here's a helpful link http://www.bluebuffalo.com/sample/test- ... .php?wso=0

rebel sounds

Postby rebel sounds » November 11th, 2010, 7:46 pm

mindxlabz wrote:Rice and dhal with smoke herrin.... works magic...

hoss if i get that i not giving my dogs, thats for me ..bess diet

rebel sounds

Postby rebel sounds » November 11th, 2010, 9:00 pm

just found out that wacky world pets in marabella sells the Blue line of dog food

Rassyroots

Postby Rassyroots » November 12th, 2010, 1:36 am

go blue! that's what my dog eating now and i swear when is time for food he's ecstatic!!! i think the healthwise site lists the retailers here if you want that one

SkettellGod

Postby SkettellGod » November 12th, 2010, 4:07 am

wacky world has almost always in south

shirdi_6

Postby shirdi_6 » October 22nd, 2011, 11:03 pm

Anyony can tell me where i can buy this blue buffalo for my puppy? Thanks

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 18th, 2017, 6:29 am

Can anyone provide me with contact information for local suppliers of Acana and Blue Buffalo dog chow? I am not sure how current is the information in this thread.

Thanks.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 2nd, 2018, 4:40 pm

:bump:
Can anyone provide assistance with my query? None of the pet stores in the Yellow Pages carry either of these brands.

kevinbtak

Postby kevinbtak » January 2nd, 2018, 8:51 pm

@rory Phoulorie , Dude, theres a place called Wishbone Pet Nutrition in Cunupia that carries these brands.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 3rd, 2018, 6:11 am

Thanks.

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » January 3rd, 2018, 9:13 am

Haraya Imports for Acana and Orijen 685-2862