What's on the menu this Sunday?

Re: What's on the menu this Sunday?

Postby 88sins » June 21st, 2020, 12:04 pm

Fathers day flavor to savor.
Wildmeat, dasheen, cassava, yam, plantain, fresh green peas and the biggest cup in d house full to the brim with mauby.

Father's Day this year turning out real nice.

Postby aaron17 » June 21st, 2020, 12:05 pm

..with a sprinkle of Saharan dust on the top.

Postby pugboy » June 21st, 2020, 12:11 pm

crunchy air fryer
963D1189-2515-48C0-9853-44089DB3658C.jpeg

Postby gastly369 » June 21st, 2020, 12:48 pm

Ah start....
IMG_20200621_115617.jpeg
IMG_20200621_121841.jpeg

Postby eliteauto » June 21st, 2020, 7:19 pm

Dinner this evening. Linguine alfredo, porterhouse and ribeye steaks, battered and fried mushrooms, salad consisting of strawberries, arugula, mustard greens and a balsamic vinaigrette. Sorrel port wine, some foreign ciders and stouts, fresh lemon juice. Cupcakes and milkshakes for dessert

Postby Dave » June 21st, 2020, 7:23 pm

Battered and fried mushrooms, literally as it sounds?

NR8

Postby NR8 » June 21st, 2020, 7:26 pm

eliteauto wrote:Dinner this evening. Linguine alfredo, porterhouse and ribeye steaks, battered and fried mushrooms, salad consisting of strawberries, arugula, mustard greens and a balsamic vinaigrette. Sorrel port wine, some foreign ciders and stouts, fresh lemon juice. Cupcakes and milkshakes for dessert
No vapes for the kids or cigars for the dogs?

Postby eliteauto » June 21st, 2020, 7:52 pm

Dave wrote:Battered and fried mushrooms, literally as it sounds?
Yup, first time I had it was at Fanatic Kitchen Studio a year ago, never thought to do that before. Batter it like you would chicken and deep fry, season the dredge to taste. I use either white or baby bella mushrooms

carluva

Postby carluva » June 21st, 2020, 7:56 pm

Ded. Same thing I thought while reading it
NR8 wrote:
eliteauto wrote:Dinner this evening. Linguine alfredo, porterhouse and ribeye steaks, battered and fried mushrooms, salad consisting of strawberries, arugula, mustard greens and a balsamic vinaigrette. Sorrel port wine, some foreign ciders and stouts, fresh lemon juice. Cupcakes and milkshakes for dessert

Postby pugboy » June 21st, 2020, 8:10 pm

I say hookah

carluva wrote:Ded. Same thing I thought while reading it
NR8 wrote:

What's on the menu this Sunday?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 21st, 2020, 8:18 pm

Tried a thing.
Ramen noodles, bean sprouts, broccoli, mushrooms, bok choi, egg and pan grilled shrimp in sesame oil with black sesame seeds

Postby Dizzy28 » June 22nd, 2020, 8:34 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Tried a thing.
Ramen noodles, bean sprouts, broccoli, mushrooms, bok choi, egg and pan grilled shrimp in sesame oil with black sesame seeds

What type of broth did you use?

Postby pugboy » June 22nd, 2020, 9:14 am

egg cooked right

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Tried a thing.

Postby *KRONIK* » June 28th, 2020, 3:39 pm

Allyuh aint cook today or wah?

Postby *KRONIK* » June 28th, 2020, 3:39 pm

Having a lil baghi rice and steamed fish today

Postby eliteauto » June 28th, 2020, 11:43 pm

pumpkin, aloo, curry mango and curry chicken with paratha. Fresh lime juice

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 28th, 2020, 11:50 pm

Simple lunch.
Mashed potatoes, steamed veg tossed with a very small amount of garlic butter, stew chicken and fresh salad.

This evening had some leftover pigtail pelau from yesterday with a pepper/carille salad

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 29th, 2020, 12:47 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Allyuh aint cook today or wah?
Pelau today
nothing to really take pics of - it gonna taste better tomorrow anyway.
Leftover pelau always tastes better, plus the zaboca should be ripe by tomorrow

However seeing a raging debate going on - which way you prefer your pelau?
Sappy, medium or dry?

Postby *KRONIK* » June 29th, 2020, 7:17 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Pelau today

This is so true tho.
And that zaboca thing...legit also

Postby Dizzy28 » June 29th, 2020, 8:27 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Allyuh aint cook today or wah?
Pelau today

However seeing a raging debate going on - which way you prefer your pelau?
Sappy, medium or dry?

Sappy!!!!

Postby K74T » June 29th, 2020, 8:39 am

Sappy FTW

NR8

Postby NR8 » June 29th, 2020, 11:28 am

Sappy is the only way.

carluva

Postby carluva » June 29th, 2020, 4:44 pm

My wife makes a good sappy pelau.

My mom makes a buss dry pelau.

My mother in law makes a good dry pelau.

Generally I like sappy. And hell yeah to that zaboca. With kuchela. Or with a piece of raw hot pepper.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 29th, 2020, 4:51 pm

medium for me yes
not too wet it's not soup
and not too dry cause that's just fry rice and chicken

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 29th, 2020, 5:12 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:medium for me yes
not too wet it's not soup
and not too dry cause that's just fry rice and chicken
Medium. Accompanied by either a slaw and zaboca or something crunchy and bitter like watercress and carille

Postby SMc » June 30th, 2020, 2:34 am

^^ Same for me- medium, slaw and kutchela , but for the life of me I cant get it to come out medium only sappy :x

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 30th, 2020, 9:55 am

SMc wrote:^^ Same for me- medium, slaw and kutchela , but for the life of me I cant get it to come out medium only sappy :x

You starting with too much water.

Start with the bare minumim liquid and add more while cooking
A good average is 2:1 liquid to rice ratio for plain rice.

peleau needs low heat to simmer, and it needs to remain covered so the rice can steam.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 30th, 2020, 10:11 am

Thoughts on the other beans ppl like to add like corn and green peas in addition to pigeon peas?
Should it be pigeon peas only?

Postby SMc » June 30th, 2020, 2:42 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
SMc wrote:^^ Same for me- medium, slaw and kutchela , but for the life of me I cant get it to come out medium only sappy :x

peleau needs low heat to simmer, and it needs to remain covered so the rice can steam.

Tried that, i usually do 1:1.5 rice:water ratio- maybe too much oil in the browning part making the rice get hard/sealed so it absorbs less water so not as fluffy. Ill try that and see what happens

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 30th, 2020, 3:46 pm

SMc wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

Tried that, i usually do 1:1.5 rice:water ratio- maybe too much oil in the browning part making the rice get hard/sealed so it absorbs less water so not as fluffy. Ill try that and see what happens

brr, solid ratio there
perhaps you overcooking it? or change the timing of your ingredients. mushy vegetables contribute to the sappiness level