What's on the menu this Sunday?

Re: What's on the menu this Sunday?

Postby pugboy » November 9th, 2020, 6:45 pm

that’s kinda odd
i have read that bird peppers are really the result of crossbred peppers in the wild
the peppers when crossbred all how like a pot hound tend to revert to bird pepper shape

Postby SMc » November 9th, 2020, 7:24 pm

I agree with that to some degree, bird pepper as we know them tend to pop out of the ground from nowhere and is likely the seeds came out a birds arse to do so- I don't think the name from that but rather a shortened version of birds eye chilli which it very close to.

Also, dobt its a cossbreed of different peppers but what a first strain of pepper would be in the wild in this region if left alone for a while, I don't know about you but when I was young there was always wild cherry tomatoes and caraili growing all over the place which would be similar to this.

On pot hounds- they are not cross breeds, a 30lb black-nose tan dog is the dog all other breeds are based off of- its the only 'breed' I have seen in every country if been to and ill fight that theory till I die :)

Postby De Dragon » November 10th, 2020, 1:40 am

SMc wrote:Some can be real forking hot. I make a quick sauce by chopping up about 4-6 , squeeze half a lime and about 2 tbsp. of fish sauce. It may smell a bit weird at first- but it goes down good with all sorts of dishes but grilled fish is the one for me.

Sounds like a good hangover cure :lol: :lol:

rebound

Postby rebound » November 10th, 2020, 8:19 am

pugboy wrote:that’s kinda odd
i have read that bird peppers are really the result of crossbred peppers in the wild
the peppers when crossbred all how like a pot hound tend to revert to bird pepper shape
Yup, I remember those trees growing like weeds through cracks in the yard etc, by my parents. Now its not a common site. I dont know why.

Postby pugboy » November 10th, 2020, 8:38 am

them birds getting plenty food with the vine with little cucumber shaped fruit

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 10th, 2020, 8:40 am

pugboy wrote:them birds getting plenty food with the vine with little cucumber shaped fruit

you mean wild carille? At least that's what I know it as.

Postby 88sins » November 10th, 2020, 9:16 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

they eating that too, but nah it have a kinda wild cucumber does be growing all over the place. The fruit itself small, maybe an inch & a half to two inches long, and when it "ripe" it does turn red & get soft. Seen a guy from India pick & eat them green, he say they does eat that there.
that vine is a PITA btw.

Postby pugboy » November 10th, 2020, 9:20 am

yeah, the indians eat it a lot
but at a certain time of ripeness is it bitter
at least that is what a guy told me

it is one of the fastest growing things
24d kills it
roundup does not

VexXx Dogg wrote:

they eating that too, but nah it have a kinda wild cucumber does be growing all over the place. The fruit itself small, maybe an inch & a half to two inches long, and when it "ripe" it does turn red & get soft. Seen a guy from India pick & eat them green, he say they does eat that there.
that vine is a PITA btw.

Postby 88sins » November 10th, 2020, 5:10 pm

Boi I eh want nuttn to do with dem chemical, meem using dem in my yard at all, especially that glyphosate.
It easy to manage tho. Once you find and pull out the root it dead within hours.

Postby adnj » November 11th, 2020, 7:34 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

that vine is a PITA btw.

The ripe fruit is poisonous.

---------

Many people put them in salads as they would cherry tomatoes. So where does the problem lie? Probably with the ripening fruit, or the one and only historical account was wrong. The little cukes turn black as they ripen and that’s probably a good sign to leave them alone. But green it’s salad here we come. The state of North Carolina adds its toxicity is low even if purgative.

http://www.eattheweeds.com/creeping-cuc ... a-pendula/
Last edited by adnj on November 11th, 2020, 7:34 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby pugboy » November 11th, 2020, 7:46 pm

what level of poison?
birds seem immune

adnj wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

that vine is a PITA btw.

The ripe fruit is poisonous.

Postby adnj » November 11th, 2020, 7:51 pm

Low. They cause gastric distress. But based on what I've seen some people scarfing down, they wouldn't know the difference.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 11th, 2020, 9:14 pm

I used to eat that whenever I see it on the fence wire. Rell like the wild carillie too

Postby Gladiator » November 12th, 2020, 2:03 pm

adnj wrote:Low. They cause gastric distress. But based on what I've seen some people scarfing down, they wouldn't know the difference.

I once saw two large elderly afro trini women fight each other for that in Arima, It was not even theirs, they were picking it from a fence of an abandoned building...

Postby rollingstock » November 14th, 2020, 12:24 am

Not Sunday but later today is buss up shut, pumpkin, curry chataigne, channa and aloo and a dread lime pepper sauce. Didn't get any mango.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 14th, 2020, 10:03 am

I'm pretty sure everyone is having this today

Rofl
rollingstock wrote:Not Sunday but later today is buss up shut, pumpkin, curry chataigne, channa and aloo and a dread lime pepper sauce. Didn't get any mango.

Postby rollingstock » November 14th, 2020, 10:15 am

And here I thought I was being different :lol:

Postby *KRONIK* » November 14th, 2020, 10:57 am

Any other day.....maybe
rollingstock wrote:And here I thought I was being different

Postby eliteauto » November 14th, 2020, 12:19 pm

Curry cooking tomorrow, in the office all day today so family decided tomorrow for dat

Postby De Dragon » November 14th, 2020, 12:31 pm

Pelau in work today :?
Level curryments/sweets later though. My weight loss program will hadda take ah pause :lol:

Postby SMc » November 14th, 2020, 1:39 pm

doing currry tomorrow, just made a massive pot of soup and the pepper buss :( ... ice cubes and coco butter might be on the flick for the morning.

Postby rollingstock » November 14th, 2020, 1:44 pm

The pepper these days like pimento no heat. Yuh might be safe.

Postby SMc » November 14th, 2020, 1:59 pm

nope- i went for a full on hot pepper- my ears block up after tasting v1 of the soup. Plan is now to add pleny more provisions, dumplins and corn . I think yhat will help tone it down.

Postby 88sins » November 14th, 2020, 3:06 pm

SMc wrote:doing currry tomorrow, just made a massive pot of soup and the pepper buss :( ... ice cubes and coco butter might be on the flick for the morning.

:lol: ah nearly dead reading this

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 14th, 2020, 3:24 pm

LOL @ ice cubes and coco butter

Postby De Dragon » November 14th, 2020, 4:16 pm

SMc wrote:doing currry tomorrow, just made a massive pot of soup and the pepper buss :( ... ice cubes and coco butter might be on the flick for the morning.

Don't forget the refrigerated tp :lol:

Postby gastly369 » November 14th, 2020, 4:28 pm

How allyuh does make out when hadda pass thru 3-4 house jed...and everybody expect you to eat ah belly full....

donnysam

Postby donnysam » November 14th, 2020, 6:51 pm

rollingstock wrote:The pepper these days like pimento no heat. Yuh might be safe.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 15th, 2020, 9:26 am

Cyah agree with allyuh, even tho allyuh right.

A man from up toco plant scotch bonnet and carolina reaper together
The outcome was a SUPER flavourful hot pepper with heat to make yuh cry.

He have some pimento close by too
Same situation
Super flavourful and hot (not not as the SB/CR crossbreed)

Usually i share my peppers with my cousins etc. i didnt this time.
Grind all, put in bags and flatten/compact then vacuum sealed.
Break off a lil chunk when we cooking
Cuz it reaaaallll bess
donnysam wrote:
rollingstock wrote:The pepper these days like pimento no heat. Yuh might be safe.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 15th, 2020, 9:42 am

Used some pimentoes to make karhee yesterday. Man those things were like regular peppers in terms of heat. My son couldn't eat the food.

Got them Massy (last minute thing) as usually I wouldn't buy market items outside the market.
*KRONIK* wrote:Cyah agree with allyuh, even tho allyuh right.

A man from up toco plant scotch bonnet and carolina reaper together
The outcome was a SUPER flavourful hot pepper with heat to make yuh cry.

He have some pimento close by too
Same situation
Super flavourful and hot (not not as the SB/CR crossbreed)

Usually i share my peppers with my cousins etc. i didnt this time.
Grind all, put in bags and flatten/compact then vacuum sealed.
Break off a lil chunk when we cooking
Cuz it reaaaallll bess
donnysam wrote: