Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Les Bain » September 5th, 2020, 10:50 pm

Still love my underutilized RTX 2070.

Postby stev » September 6th, 2020, 1:07 am

Les Bain wrote:Still love my underutilized RTX 2070.

EXACTLY!!! a lot of people regretting buying their 2070 and 2080....but if your card works for you then I see no problem...

i'm still rocking my 1660Ti...does everything at 2560x1080 so what's the point of changing :|

Postby sMASH » September 6th, 2020, 5:49 am

u either hadda be a dummy or have real spare paper to upgrade from the 20 series.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 6th, 2020, 6:31 pm

stev wrote:

EXACTLY!!! a lot of people regretting buying their 2070 and 2080....but if your card works for you then I see no problem...

i'm still rocking my 1660Ti...does everything at 2560x1080 so what's the point of changing :|

How much did you pay for the 2070?

Postby Les Bain » September 6th, 2020, 7:05 pm

stev wrote:

$499.00
Ordered everything online for a custom built PC. Was aiming for a 2080 but had to save some money.

src1983

Postby src1983 » September 8th, 2020, 10:51 pm

stev wrote:

Nobody could have guessed those prices

Even the guys in the know didn’t see it coming

Postby maj. tom » September 8th, 2020, 11:08 pm

Meanwhile AMD responds with the big guns. Pulling out everything they have to contest the RTX 3090.

This is not a joke. :| :?

Postby Les Bain » September 9th, 2020, 7:21 am

Is it a longevity build you after? Ulyuh really need to game in 4k?
Graduating from compromise mode with a GT730 to my new setup, 1080 ultra mode eh nothing to steups at.

Postby sMASH » September 9th, 2020, 7:56 am

maj. tom wrote:Meanwhile AMD responds with the big guns. Pulling out everything they have to contest the RTX 3090.

This is not a joke. :| :?

3090? really? i doubt... the 3070 probably,,,, but on pricing,,,, maybe... but its interesting.
lets see if they pull some rabbits out of the hat.
*views monitor via gtx 970... for a long time to come still*

DanielCW

Postby DanielCW » September 9th, 2020, 6:30 pm

Fellas, Digicel upgraded my fibre pkg to 100 down and a 100mbs upload, but now I am getting serious game lag on fifa 20 UT, can anyone help?

Postby sMASH » September 9th, 2020, 6:38 pm

ah man on fb say that the csr called him and tried all how to get him to upgrade. he didnt capitulate, reach home to find out he package upgraded any how, and laggy af

DanielCW

Postby DanielCW » September 9th, 2020, 6:48 pm

Same thing I saying, I calling them now

dartzreunion

Postby dartzreunion » September 10th, 2020, 12:16 pm

Tingle

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » September 10th, 2020, 12:59 pm

Dem Growlers tax removal have any effect on GPU?
If no tax at all, the 3080 looking more like a reality for me.

Postby maj. tom » September 10th, 2020, 1:08 pm

We covered that already in other threads. Cliffs: the PNM lied.

How much power does that beast consume though? Need at least a 1000W PSU and a fancy case designed for extra air flow cooling? You would have to build a new system around this GPU, rather than the other way around.

Postby sMASH » September 10th, 2020, 2:19 pm

They should start brining out the 12v only boards and psu's next iteration cycle.
Is about time

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » September 12th, 2020, 6:41 am

morning every one

hopefully someone can help my microsoft outlook account not receiving emails from youtube, it isn't block or anything like that didn't make any changes all of a sudden it stop. i also stop receiving emails from a football site, was receiving emails up to yesterday but suddenly stop also

any ideas to fix this

thanks in advance

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 12th, 2020, 10:07 am

fred1266 wrote:morning every one

hopefully someone can help my microsoft outlook account not receiving emails from youtube, it isn't block or anything like that didn't make any changes all of a sudden it stop. i also stop receiving emails from a football site, was receiving emails up to yesterday but suddenly stop also

any ideas to fix this

thanks in advance

Are the emails in your junk or spam folder?
Have you tried the browser version of your inbox to see if you are receiving them?

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » September 12th, 2020, 10:24 am

any ideas to fix this

thanks in advance

Have you tried the browser version of your inbox to see if you are receiving them?

no not in junk check that, what you mean the browser version of inbox should i open in edge?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 12th, 2020, 11:57 am

fred1266 wrote:

any ideas to fix this

thanks in advance

no not in junk check that, what you mean the browser version of inbox should i open in edge?

Yes Edge or any other browser
You can see then if the issue is with Outlook or with your account or account filters

Postby maj. tom » September 12th, 2020, 12:45 pm

Go into Outlook email settings via a browser login and whitelist the YouTube domain. Sometimes the automatic email spam filters would heuristically block YouTube notifications because it behaves like spam.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 12th, 2020, 1:23 pm

Microsoft accounts like Hotmail and Outlook tend to be overly erratic with blocking email notifications

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » September 12th, 2020, 2:07 pm

Question. And it may seem dottish but i just wanna know. If you order a pre-made gaming pc. What duty would customs apply. That applicable for gaming consoles. Or that applicable for computer towers. Any assistance with this query is appreciated.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » September 12th, 2020, 5:17 pm

maj. tom wrote:Go into Outlook email settings via a browser login and whitelist the YouTube domain. Sometimes the automatic email spam filters would heuristically block YouTube notifications because it behaves like spam.

not sure what u mean by whitelist, are you refering to safesenders list?

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » September 13th, 2020, 12:55 pm

Les Bain wrote:Some questions about the Xbox controller for PC:

- Anyone has experience dealing with the controller disconnecting from port 1, reconnecting with another, then the game not recognizing the controller until you restart the PC? Is that a hard luck scene to live with or can it be fixed?

You mean it disconnecting out of the blue, or you manually changing out one controller for the next?
If is out of the blue, not sure what you can do about it. I used to have that problem with a PS-controller and Bluetooth because of how they didn't have official drivers.
If is option 2 I still don't know why that happening. Only in a specific game or for all?

- Would the usb dongle for the xbox 360 wired controller be compatible with the xbox one?
Not sure bout this.

- any recommendations for a solid pc controller that windows games recognize?
Right now I using the cheapest Logitech PS type ones with no vibration. F310 or something
My PS controller collecting dust.
But if I not mistaken, the Xbox controllers are Windows ready and is just Plug/Play with no set of other 3rd party software.

Also I see Steam added some support for PS4 controllers but never tried.

https://steamcommunity.com/groups/SteamClientBeta/announcements/detail/834683256454278286

Also just a heads up for Horizon Zero Dawn people.
On steam the "Complete Edition" is 49.99
While on Epic Store the same thing is 29.99

I had gotten Metro Exodus Complete edition (all DLC) on Epic for about 7.00US long before it was on Steam and when it did reach steam was about 30.00 or so.

Postby Les Bain » September 13th, 2020, 3:47 pm

Blaze d Chalice wrote:
Les Bain wrote:Some questions about the Xbox controller for PC:

- Anyone has experience dealing with the controller disconnecting from port 1, reconnecting with another, then the game not recognizing the controller until you restart the PC? Is that a hard luck scene to live with or can it be fixed?

You mean it disconnecting out of the blue, or you manually changing out one controller for the next?
If is out of the blue, not sure what you can do about it. I used to have that problem with a PS-controller and Bluetooth because of how they didn't have official drivers.
If is option 2 I still don't know why that happening. Only in a specific game or for all?

- Would the usb dongle for the xbox 360 wired controller be compatible with the xbox one?
Not sure bout this.

- any recommendations for a solid pc controller that windows games recognize?
Right now I using the cheapest Logitech PS type ones with no vibration. F310 or something
My PS controller collecting dust.
But if I not mistaken, the Xbox controllers are Windows ready and is just Plug/Play with no set of other 3rd party software.

Also I see Steam added some support for PS4 controllers but never tried.

https://steamcommunity.com/groups/SteamClientBeta/announcements/detail/834683256454278286

Also just a heads up for Horizon Zero Dawn people.
On steam the "Complete Edition" is 49.99
While on Epic Store the same thing is 29.99

I had gotten Metro Exodus Complete edition (all DLC) on Epic for about 7.00US long before it was on Steam and when it did reach steam was about 30.00 or so.

Ah. Cool.

The vibration function on some games used to cause it. Some of the games in my library don't bother if the controller registers to another port but a few demand the controller be port 1. Did some research and a lot of Xbox 360 pc controller owners have the same problem; they blame a poor design element for shorting the wire.

Not interested in a controller without vibration. Sony changed my life forever when they released the OG Dual Shock.

Postby Chimera » September 13th, 2020, 6:02 pm

What you guys think about this laptop? Good for the price?
Screenshot_20200908-074344_Amazon%20Shopping.jpeg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 13th, 2020, 9:44 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:What you guys think about this laptop? Good for the price?Screenshot_20200908-074344_Amazon%20Shopping.jpeg

Check this one
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07TWHYTSQ/re ... wFbAB780GT

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 13th, 2020, 9:46 pm

Nvidia Announces ARM Acquisition for $40 Billion

Screenshot 2020-09-13 at 9.45.45 PM.jpg

https://www.tomshardware.com/news/nvidi ... 40-billion