Postby nervewrecker » August 11th, 2020, 10:59 pm

These Bluetooth headsets are a thing?
I ain't like this battery charging thing

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Ted_v2 » August 13th, 2020, 8:06 pm

yeah boy ED, these chips still really lasting some years easy
i bought a 1600X used when the second gen was launched, HCCA built my pc with a b450 MSI, 16gb LPX 3000 clocked to 3200.

at that point i was on a xtech 600w psu with a gt710, we clocked it at 3.8 all cores because it was only off a 4 pin cpu header, i upgraded to a evga unit later on and added a better gpu. but i havent touched at 3.8 yet, no need to- havent gotten a limitation yet, i could go alot more easy, have a big cooler ect. going in like a year and something since it was built. temps does be like 65 Max.

a good deal on the market now is the gammamax 400 coolers, dog cheap and works really good, i would class it on par with a hyper 212 but its cheaper now i think, its a little better IMO than the AMD RGB wrath prism coolers.

i wanna take a chook with a 3600 because its so efficient but i think ill upgrade from my 1050ti before. Prob a 2060 or a 1660 Super soon, havent needed more than the 1050ti either.

coltspeed

Postby coltspeed » August 14th, 2020, 8:15 am

Ted_v2 wrote:havent needed more than the 1050ti either.

NFS heat choking this card rite now, making me feel as tho i running a prebuilt system for the first time in all the games i have played for the past years even metro ex ran smooth. Looking to build a entirely new system with a rtx 2060 or 2070 depend on the pricing at that timing.

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » August 20th, 2020, 7:03 pm

Microsoft Flight Simulator is finally out...and yes you might need a beastly rig to run it...

https://youtu.be/v6mjzzP4FV4

Just for kicks I had to try the Piarco - ANR run.
I'm not going to lie...the map is more accurate than I expected. Scarily so.

This might be the only way to 'travel' for the rest of 2020 yes.

Postby stev » August 20th, 2020, 10:47 pm

geez...now i need to download that and fly a plane into my house...

Postby maj. tom » August 20th, 2020, 11:04 pm

They just used their Microsoft aerial photographed map and integrated it into the game.
Compare the jetliner's shadow and image on the ground here:

https://youtu.be/v6mjzzP4FV4?t=628

with

https://www.bing.com/maps?osid=3d726ed5 ... orm=S00027

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » August 22nd, 2020, 1:12 pm

Look who into FS as well.

https://youtu.be/ja4ySJfwmoY

Postby stev » August 27th, 2020, 12:03 am

whogaaard!!! FS have the 1660Ti bawling!!! 16GB 3000MHz RAM usage at 85% too. getting 45 FPS on Ultra lol.

it's impressive but flying over America Region and Euro Region much nicer that flying over the third world Caribbean IMO :roll:

also live weather over trinidad is non existent...idk about u all.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 1st, 2020, 3:35 pm

Any thoughts on the recent launch of rtx3070, 3080 etc.

Postby sMASH » September 1st, 2020, 5:41 pm

1500 us,!!

They good, but price worth it? Gamers with paper could run In. But 970 still good for me cause I very casual.
Me, I'd let it push out and look for the flipped 10 or 20 series.
kamakazi wrote:Any thoughts on the recent launch of rtx3070, 3080 etc.

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » September 1st, 2020, 7:12 pm

Oil up from now. Image

Postby Ted_v2 » September 1st, 2020, 8:40 pm

Looking forward to lower 1000 series and 2000 series used cards or new old stock.

Postby sMASH » September 1st, 2020, 11:49 pm

prices not as high for the lower end as i assumed. it kinda realllllll gud.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » September 2nd, 2020, 1:23 am

Every time I buy a new card I go one model higher.

So from 1070 I woulda go to 2080, but I skip the whole 2000s because I didn't see reason for me to upgrade so fast. 1070 was running most things at 4K with at least 30fps in most games, and also that RTX/Ray Tracing feature was in the first iteration, so it would be better to wait for a later version or refresh.

In one of the slides it said the 3070 was faster than a 2080Ti.
If that is the case, depending on availability I could go with that.
3080 "starting at" $700US which mean 3rd-party/AIB would be about 800, and then shortage/corvid might bring that up to 900 or more, and if you paying that, you probably won't complain paying customs.

500 for 3070 might mean close to $650.

But I will wait and see what the benchmarks/reviews look like.

Catastrophist

Postby Catastrophist » September 2nd, 2020, 3:37 am

been running a radeon hd 7870 on medium-medium high settings @ 1080p for about 8 years now and still crisp like the first time i bought it
i might actually consider that gtx 3070 but maybe i would need to upgrade everything else to avoid bottleneck

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » September 3rd, 2020, 1:07 pm

Not sure how to feel about the Doom demo.
On average the 3080 was about 30-35 fps faster than the 2080 Ti.
Not counting the +140 fps because there was not too much graphics during those parts.

If the 3070 is also faster than the 2080 Ti according to slides, it can't be too close the performance of the 3080 so might be slightly faster in most games and maybe slower or same on a few games.

But a 2080Ti cost +1200US while 3070 is supposed to be $500, and 3080 - $700.
The cheapest 2080Ti on amazon is 1300US and it is a refurbished evga card.
Brand new 2080Ti starting at $1500.
So in other words it make absolutely no sense to buy a 2080Ti - theoretically you can get 3x3070 or 2x3080 at the same price. Unless they cut the price of 2080Ti by over 1000US which I don't see happening.

From the Doom demo alone, it looking like a 3070 might be for me but I will wait for more benchmarks.

Postby Les Bain » September 3rd, 2020, 3:56 pm

Some questions about the Xbox controller for PC:

- Anyone has experience dealing with the controller disconnecting from port 1, reconnecting with another, then the game not recognizing the controller until you restart the PC? Is that a hard luck scene to live with or can it be fixed?

- Would the usb dongle for the xbox 360 wired controller be compatible with the xbox one?

- any recommendations for a solid pc controller that windows games recognize?

Postby sMASH » September 3rd, 2020, 11:44 pm

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » September 3rd, 2020, 11:49 pm

now come to post that same thing yes

some more "benchmarks"

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » September 4th, 2020, 4:14 am

Let's see...

Code: Select all

{
   - buy new $2500 laptop bc msfs will demolish my poor poor GTX1060
     (and kids riling abt we upgrading all the machines in the house to RTX, bc minecraft...
   - purchase msfs  uber premium delux fu version for $120, because fomo..
   - eat ramen and sleep on couch next month bc minister of finance noticed the c/c purchase,
     and already screaming at the our monthly steam purchases...

}

OR {
   - watch flight sim vids on twitch and yt and be contented...
}

stev wrote:whogaaard!!! FS have the 1660Ti bawling!!! 16GB 3000MHz RAM usage at 85% too. getting 45 FPS on Ultra lol.

it's impressive but flying over America Region and Euro Region much nicer that flying over the third world Caribbean IMO :roll:

also live weather over trinidad is non existent...idk about u all.

Postby X_Factor » September 4th, 2020, 3:23 pm

whats good system specs for around 600usd...will be bought on amazon and sent to a relative who will bundle and ship together....will get the case locally
light gaming, basic internet, ms office work, occasional movie...something that i wont have to worry about upgrading for a 5yrs or so

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 4th, 2020, 5:29 pm

X_Factor wrote:whats good system specs for around 600usd...will be bought on amazon and sent to a relative who will bundle and ship together....will get the case locally
light gaming, basic internet, ms office work, occasional movie...something that i wont have to worry about upgrading for a 5yrs or so
Does this budget include monitor and peripherals?

Including monitor

Ryzen 3 3100- 100
A520m mbd- 70
16gb Memory - 55
550W Psu - 60
500gb SSD - 60
Rx570 4gb GPU - 140
24” monitor - 105
The above prices do not include US tax

If you can wait for AMD GPU launch and black friday... Your budget can go further
Last edited by kamakazi on September 4th, 2020, 5:29 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby sMASH » September 4th, 2020, 5:30 pm

X_Factor wrote:whats good system specs for around 600usd...will be bought on amazon and sent to a relative who will bundle and ship together....will get the case locally

hold off a month to see how the amd cards will perform. that might cause some pricing tweaks. if at least, it might get the 20 series cards to get piped off. in the mean time, u could source some cpu/board/ram combos to keep in mind. and so far amd is the best bang for buck picks.

Postby X_Factor » September 4th, 2020, 9:05 pm

600 is for processor/cooler /mb/ram/ssd/vc
...I will get monitor/keyboard here

Postby Chimera » September 4th, 2020, 10:38 pm

Great is the pnm
FB_IMG_1599273140050.jpeg

Postby sMASH » September 4th, 2020, 10:40 pm

Remove back!
Cause it was tax free before.

Postby Chimera » September 4th, 2020, 10:42 pm

It didnt have duties. It had vat.and well opt is a new tax on the while

Postby sMASH » September 4th, 2020, 10:53 pm

I had brought in a 17" laptop 10 years ago probably about 7lbs. Only paid 150 total skybox charge.
What ever it had, was damn cheap.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 4th, 2020, 11:49 pm

Are we still paying the 7% OPT too or is that also removed?

Kronik

Postby Kronik » September 5th, 2020, 7:47 am

When somebody bring in something let us know if they really did remove it. Same way like the CCTV systems, Steups