:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby Chimera » March 2nd, 2021, 10:08 pm

Real ppl running down total tools...the price you paying with 1 year warranty...you can buy it and work it hard for the year, lend and rent it out if need be and it's worth the cost.

I've always bought Milwaukee and dewalt and haven't bought any total tools myself
Doubt I will. Rather pay a few hundred more for dewalt or milwaukee

NR8

Postby NR8 » March 2nd, 2021, 10:29 pm

I have contractors doing heavy construction in some big buildings in POS and many of them using Total power tools hard every day with no issues for the last 6 months. I talking demo hammers, SDS, chop saws, etc. I see they even have 4.5" cutting discs now.

Postby X_Factor » March 2nd, 2021, 10:32 pm

it all depends on if you are a diyer, your usage of the tool, and your financial situation at the point in time
i bought the total rotary hammer tool, it did the job i wanted done...never used it since...which is more than 1yr ago

Postby supercharged turbo » March 2nd, 2021, 11:21 pm

I would rather spend the money and get a reputable brand for things like cordless impact and drills/chopsaw/welding etc.I go chance a Total branded tool for like a soldering iron/heat gun/trowel/pliers etc.Nothing serious basically

hindian

Postby hindian » March 3rd, 2021, 6:20 am

Fellas where I getting vise jaws to buy locally? Im Trying to restore my old man's Record vise that my brother was going to throw away since my old man passed a few years ago. Thanks

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » March 3rd, 2021, 7:08 pm

adnj wrote:Total rebrands many of the tools that are manufactured in Shenzen, China and a few other cities in China. The specs and performance are similar to many no name tools on AliExpress. Some are pretty good, some aren't, some just needs little tweaking.

Most of the the power tools that I have us out of China many need a bearing upgrade, better lubrication or have some less than durable design elements. The Total brushcutter that I saw last week at a local hardwate looked like so many of the others.

IMHO, if you don't mind upgrading the cutting head and the harness and you know how to tune a 2-stroke engine, you will probably get more than a few years service out of it.

Understood, thanks for the insight.

carluva

Postby carluva » March 4th, 2021, 9:05 pm

Folks.

Can anyone recommend where I can get a good quality garden hose and hose reel? I am fedup of buying hoses that kink, bend, break, leak, need to be joined and rejoined and get brittle, despite my good care.

I'd like to have between 150' - 200' of hose, minimum 5/8" but 3/4" is preferred. (My yard is big and I currently have a leaky 50' joined to a broken and cracked 100' to get the coverage I need).

I came across these two hose reels online. The Eley is for garden hose and the Coxreels is for pressurised hose, but can be adapted to garden hose. Any idea if these are available locally? If not, any alternatives?

Cox reels hand crank hose reel:
https://www.coxreels.com/1125-series_8_13.html

Eley hand crank hose reel:
https://www.eleyhosereels.com/products/ ... -hose-reel

Eley polyurethane hose:
https://www.eleyhosereels.com/products/ ... arden-hose

Thanks.

NR8

Postby NR8 » March 4th, 2021, 9:33 pm

Like you I had grown fed up of that. have never seen a good quality metal hose reel available locally, only the plastic ones that always seem to fail. That led me to getting this aluminum hose hanger a few years ago that has been holding up well. I'll probably eventualy go for this one below when funds permit.
https://www.northerntool.com/shop/tools ... _200640139

I bought this hose back then as well due to lack of good options locally at the time. I see Allied cureently has one or two farm/heavy duty rubber hoses that look pretty sturdy. Trinidad Hose also has a blue Goodyear that looks good too and comes in 50'/100' lengths. Can't recall prices but those look like the best I've seen locally.

Postby pugboy » March 4th, 2021, 9:51 pm

the trinidad hose blue one is a very good quality hose, very kink proof and not very expensive,
it is a little on the heavy side but still worthwhile.

I had 2 of them, but replaced them with a high pressure steam hose which is the best thing since sliced bread.

any hose over 75ft is gonna be heavy to move and reel up for sure.
I would rather have shorter hoses connected to specific garden taps than a single tap and very long hose.

Postby supercharged turbo » March 5th, 2021, 10:52 am

The blue Goodyear hose from Trinidad hose is very good in terms of both price and quality.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 5th, 2021, 10:57 am

What bout them expanding hoses?
Anybody have them and can give a review?

Postby Dave » March 5th, 2021, 11:03 am

Neighbor bought a metal one from bhagwansinghs I believe. Seems good. Packs away pretty neat.

Postby Rovin » March 5th, 2021, 11:18 am

imo d 5\8" hose dont really kink up as easy as normal 1\2 econo hose , i end up owning 1 50ft & 2 75ft for when i have to power wash , easier to handle a shorter hose for different length areas all over & simply screw them together as u need more length

i dont like hose reels that expensive flimsy & coils up ur hose , i rather have mine in like 10ft long loops or if i coil them its in a big circle like 3-4ft diameter ... always uncoil ur hose & not grab a end & pull which leads to kinks

Postby *KRONIK* » March 5th, 2021, 11:20 am

Hmmmmm
Cuz i do a piece of kaka here

I buy a 100 ft hose
But find it was too much bacchanal to roll up.
I chop it in 3
1x50
2x25

Was a cheap hose, so it kinking all over.
Dave wrote:Neighbor bought a metal one from bhagwansinghs I believe. Seems good. Packs away pretty neat.

Postby Dave » March 5th, 2021, 11:24 am

I move like pugboy, shorter, neater and more manageable pieces with one long fella and others lil shorter for when you need a long one.

carluva

Postby carluva » March 5th, 2021, 11:47 am

I called Trinidad Hose. Their hose is the Continental Contitech hose. It comes in sizes from 1/2" to 3/4" and they cut them to any length needed plus make up the ends. Gonna swing by tomorrow to get a 100' and a 50' that can join when I need the full length. The hose is UV rated, oil and chemical resistant and they will repair any damages.

That sounds like the hose for me... Now to get a hose reel.

Postby MG Man » March 5th, 2021, 11:54 am

*KRONIK* wrote:What bout them expanding hoses?

they not bad, but if you drag them around, or of they get snagged, the sheathing can get damaged / worn

Zalos

Postby Zalos » March 5th, 2021, 12:21 pm

carluva wrote:I called Trinidad Hose. Their hose is the Continental Contitech hose. It comes in sizes from 1/2" to 3/4" and they cut them to any length needed plus make up the ends. Gonna swing by tomorrow to get a 100' and a 50' that can join when I need the full length. The hose is UV rated, oil and chemical resistant and they will repair any damages.

Price?

Postby *KRONIK* » March 5th, 2021, 12:24 pm

That was the plan, cuz installed QC fittings on each, but the hose quality itself....just kaka
Dave wrote:I move like pugboy, shorter, neater and more manageable pieces with one long fella and others lil shorter for when you need a long one.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 5th, 2021, 12:25 pm

Send pics when yuh GT nah
carluva wrote:I called Trinidad Hose. Their hose is the Continental Contitech hose. It comes in sizes from 1/2" to 3/4" and they cut them to any length needed plus make up the ends. Gonna swing by tomorrow to get a 100' and a 50' that can join when I need the full length. The hose is UV rated, oil and chemical resistant and they will repair any damages.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 5th, 2021, 12:26 pm

Ohhh
Well that wont work by me, the govahmint road have plenty hole and stone

they not bad, but if you drag them around, or of they get snagged, the sheathing can get damaged / worn

carluva

Postby carluva » March 5th, 2021, 12:32 pm

Zalos wrote:

Price?

A 1/2" 100' was around $550.

A 5/8" 100' was around $850.

When I buy, I will post specific prices.

Postby MG Man » March 5th, 2021, 1:15 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Ohhh
Well that wont work by me, the govahmint road have plenty hole and stone

yeah daz really for light duty ish like when you have fancy lawn and preddy kitchen garden, maybe washing car if your yaad nice and smooth, just don't yank hard if it gets snagged under a wheel

carluva

Postby carluva » March 5th, 2021, 2:02 pm

... or you can use these when washing the car...

https://www.amazon.com/Detail-Guardz-Pr ... 240&sr=8-2

carluva

Postby carluva » March 5th, 2021, 2:04 pm

Google bot.JPG
Google bot.JPG (11.95 KiB) Viewed 2061 times

Ummmm .... maybe this belongs in the wtf thread, but wtf a google bot doing on this ched?

Postby pugboy » March 5th, 2021, 2:31 pm

great idea indeed, always pisses me off when the hose catches just when you think you can walk back

carluva wrote:... or you can use these when washing the car...

Postby Gladiator » March 5th, 2021, 3:36 pm

carluva wrote:Google bot.JPG

Ummmm .... maybe this belongs in the wtf thread, but wtf a google bot doing on this ched?

Feeding you advertisements... that's how the Admins make their million$...LOL

Postby *KRONIK* » March 5th, 2021, 4:32 pm

This rel badddddddd
carluva wrote:... or you can use these when washing the car...

Postby pugboy » March 5th, 2021, 5:15 pm

or just make yuh own out of some piece of wood and pvc

Postby *KRONIK* » March 5th, 2021, 5:58 pm

Nah
I does hardly wash van by me