:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby *KRONIK* » February 4th, 2021, 7:25 am

Window sealant is polyurethane
Needs a few days to set properly, those parts place does sell it. Get the 3M one in the cartridge if you buying.

Option 2: get the part machined by the poly bushing man in cunupia. As long as it can run on the lathe, he will make it.
He did some custom leaf spring pads for my van. I drew up the measurements and sent it for him.
pugboy wrote:i never seen that sold in tubes like how the silicone is sold, will check.

Its being squeezed into a mold to make the shape.

rollingstock wrote:Try polyurethane. Should be available in most parts places.

Postby pugboy » February 4th, 2021, 7:33 am

looking for small quantity like them lol silicone toothpaste size

*KRONIK* wrote:Window sealant is polyurethane
Needs a few days to set properly, those parts place does sell it. Get the 3M one in the cartridge if you buying.

Option 2: get the part machined by the poly bushing man in cunupia. As long as it can run on the lathe, he will make it.
He did some custom leaf spring pads for my van. I drew up the measurements and sent it for him.
pugboy wrote:i never seen that sold in tubes like how the silicone is sold, will check.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 4th, 2021, 8:27 am

Nah
You wont get good liquid poly in small tube so
pugboy wrote:looking for small quantity like them lol silicone toothpaste size

*KRONIK* wrote:Window sealant is polyurethane

Postby sMASH » February 5th, 2021, 2:50 pm

where sells chainsaw parts? need to get a drive sprocket to turn the chain.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 5th, 2021, 6:01 pm

What brand chainsaw?
sMASH wrote:where sells chainsaw parts? need to get a drive sprocket to turn the chain.

Postby sMASH » February 5th, 2021, 6:28 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:What brand chainsaw?
sMASH wrote:where sells chainsaw parts? need to get a drive sprocket to turn the chain.

i have a sthil with like 6 sprangs on the sprocket. but want sumting a lil bigger.

i want to try making a grinder into a chain saw. but the small one i have, cant fit onto the grinder shaft. so if i could find a larger sprocket with like 8 teeth , it might work.

Postby timelapse » February 5th, 2021, 6:34 pm

FT farfan,Same street with Eat it in Sando

Postby *KRONIK* » February 5th, 2021, 7:18 pm

Well most of them bigger argi-shops have stihl parts
Check a few
sMASH wrote:

i have a sthil with like 6 sprangs on the sprocket. but want sumting a lil bigger.

i want to try making a grinder into a chain saw. but the small one i have, cant fit onto the grinder shaft. so if i could find a larger sprocket with like 8 teeth , it might work.

Postby sMASH » February 5th, 2021, 7:33 pm

nice tnx

Postby nervewrecker » February 6th, 2021, 12:56 am

Cant find the home imporvment thread. I looking for 120v AC motion sensors. discrete.

like these

https://www.amazon.com/Sensky-Occupancy ... ics&sr=1-7

these are also fine

https://www.amazon.com/HC-SR501-Sensor- ... 84JKTZXDRV

Wolfgang123

Postby Wolfgang123 » February 6th, 2021, 9:19 am

Good day, where sells foundation/scaffolding props?

Postby adnj » February 6th, 2021, 9:46 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Well most of them bigger argi-shops have stihl parts
Check a few
sMASH wrote:

A nice electric chainsaw is about US$50. A replacement bar and chain costs about US$25.

IMHO - Unless you already have the bar, chain and an bar chain oiler oiler, the corded electric saws work well and will give many years of service. The controls layout make them much more safe than a grinder also.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 6th, 2021, 11:45 am

Yea boi
I see men on youtube doing this grinder thing, madness yes.

I prefer use a sawzall with a low TPI blade
Much safer
adnj wrote:
Check a few
sMASH wrote:

A nice electric chainsaw is about US$50. A replacement bar and chain costs about US$25.

IMHO - Unless you already have the bar, chain and an bar chain oiler oiler, the corded electric saws work well and will give many years of service. The controls layout make them much more safe than a grinder also.

Postby sMASH » February 6th, 2021, 12:29 pm

adnj wrote:
Check a few
sMASH wrote:

yeah, already have them ting, just to fabricate them together.

but 50us eh bad at all. shipping might be a beyotch for that size tho.

Postby pugboy » February 6th, 2021, 12:33 pm

angle grinders are the jack of all tools

but how safe is it to use as a chainsaw ?
chainsaws usually have a pivot fence to press against so it does not kick or bite back

Postby Rovin » February 6th, 2021, 1:03 pm

dat mickey mouse contraption sounding like a recipe for disaster ...

Postby pugboy » February 6th, 2021, 1:26 pm

its probably safest used on thin branches like 1" or so
its when you cut thick material the blade will bind from side friction and then the bacchanal start

Postby adnj » February 6th, 2021, 3:54 pm

sMASH wrote:
adnj wrote:
Check a few
sMASH wrote:

yeah, already have them ting, just to fabricate them together.

but 50us eh bad at all. shipping might be a beyotch for that size tho.
An electric chainsaw weighs about 8 pounds to ship.

pugboy wrote:angle grinders are the jack of all tools

but how safe is it to use as a chainsaw ?
chainsaws usually have a pivot fence to press against so it does not kick or bite back

The forward guard is a hand brake. If the chain kicks, the brake engages to stop the chain.

Are we talking about cutting tree limbs or human limbs?

Postby sMASH » February 6th, 2021, 4:12 pm

pugboy wrote:its probably safest used on thin branches like 1" or so
its when you cut thick material the blade will bind from side friction and then the bacchanal start

but for a branch, might as well use a sawzall.

50 us for a factory built one not bad. i could build that, strong and safe with tensioner and oiler, but the time i will take to do it.. might not be worth it. if the sprocket thing was fitting the grinder, all now i grinding down some trees.

Postby Kenjo » February 6th, 2021, 8:02 pm

Rovin wrote:dat mickey mouse contraption sounding like a recipe for disaster ...

I’m looking out for the hospital workers taking too long to see me thread although with that type of injury he will be a priority patient for sure unless some major car accident or gun shot wounds come in simultaneously

philliprock

Postby philliprock » February 11th, 2021, 10:10 pm

leatherman skeletool.
amazing 8-)
LM830845b.jpg

Postby De Dragon » February 12th, 2021, 9:59 pm

philliprock wrote:leatherman skeletool.
amazing 8-)

Love the belt clip, all the ones I've owned over the years came with some sort of nylon/leather pouch.

Postby adnj » February 12th, 2021, 10:17 pm

amazing 8-)
You just found out that the carabiner doubles as a bottle opener, didn't you?

Postby De Dragon » February 12th, 2021, 11:35 pm

adnj wrote:
amazing 8-)
You just found out that the carabiner doubles as a bottle opener, didn't you?

Sacrilege! Leatherman to open drinks? :lol:

Postby Ted_v2 » February 14th, 2021, 8:03 pm

spoke to edoos 1550 for a metabo, ill buy one there. chopsaw that is.
already bought a craftsman 4.5 grinder at tool store, paddle switch.
i barely do any fab work right now, but i does try to keep the skill sharp in work.

Postby pugboy » February 14th, 2021, 8:13 pm

pillai tools had makita grinders for $350
work real good.

fabbed a bench the other day with donated steel
6D2DEF4E-3798-44D9-866D-48EB747B3F8D.jpeg
92D3B5B7-03C7-47FB-BD36-A1444806F403.jpeg

Cooper

Postby Cooper » February 15th, 2021, 7:51 am

amazing 8-)
Excellent Brand. Bought my Leatherman over 20 years ago, and I still use it on the job today. Never had to sharpen the knives.
Image%20(4).jpeg

Postby MG Man » February 15th, 2021, 7:59 am

Cooper wrote:
amazing 8-)
Excellent Brand. Bought my Leatherman over 20 years ago, and I still use it on the job today. Never had to sharpen the knives.
Image%20(4).jpeg

wife gave me one on our wedding day 20 years ago...engraved mih name an ting....left it on the roof of the car one day and drove off :cry:
Still have the pouch and screwdriver attachment tho :cry: :cry:

Postby supercharged turbo » February 15th, 2021, 7:34 pm

Where can I get acrylic glue or this specific plastic Loctite??Need to stick some plexi pieces.
plastic_bonder_card_us_loctite_1280x1280.jpeg

NR8

Postby NR8 » February 16th, 2021, 2:12 am

Allied Home Centre has quite a wide range of Loctite glues.