:: The official TOOLS thread ::

RoTaRyBoYz

Re: Power Tools

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 7th, 2010, 3:19 pm

kaifzenn wrote:While power tools are extremely helpful, they also produce gratuitous amounts of noise and vibrations. Using power tools without hearing protection over a long period of time can put a person at risk for hearing loss.

Power tools

Que?? I can't hear you. Do you mind repeating what you just said? Thanks :|

aidan

Postby aidan » August 7th, 2010, 9:14 pm

RoTaRyBoYz check his join date. He just joined to post that link as a back link to his website so his website will appear higher in Google rankings when someone in Australia searches power tools.
Very noobie SEO mr kaifzenn if you are reading this.

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 8th, 2010, 4:20 am

^say wha?

does Black and Decker make good jigsaws?

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 8th, 2010, 9:08 pm

Ended up getting a Milwaukee circ saw.

It's worth paying the price for that extra 2A.

The 13A Skil catches hell to go through 2x4 even with a new blade, the 15A Milwaukee doesn't even think twice.

Same holds for a B&D sander vs a DeWalt, the raw power is worth every cent.

I've gone through 2 B&D hammer drills in 4 years, and i'm someone who uses tools very carefully.

This time i'll pay the extra for something more durable.

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 8th, 2010, 9:14 pm

This is what i got so far

And a third on the way

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 9th, 2010, 12:24 am

u buy some rel good tools dey man

B&D now is not d same quality as d older models ...

UltimateCustomizing

Postby UltimateCustomizing » August 20th, 2010, 8:00 am

you can also check A1 tools in san juan

b&d tools is real good stuff also

Strugglerzinc - Why did you get a palm sander? personally i find a orbital works much better and faster

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 20th, 2010, 7:07 pm

Maybe so but a lot of the smaller hardwares don't sell the round pads whereas everyone sells full sheets, even the car parts places sell them. Don't want to have to visit the big boys everytime i need sandpaper.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 20th, 2010, 8:49 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:This is what i got so far

Just bought one exactly like this in Bhagwansinghs for ~$440
They had 10% off on DeWalt powertools
I opted for this one too because it used sheets instead of proprietary pads and it has a vacuum bag

Have a greenheart pergola to tackle this weekend :x

I also have one of these since last year

this is BESSS hammer drill.
My walls are foundation blocks and I swear they loaded them with some big stone gravel, but with this drill and a good tungsten carbide bit it makes the wall feel like butter
and I real weak!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 20th, 2010, 10:54 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:This is what i got so far

Just bought one exactly like this in Bhagwansinghs for ~$440
They had 10% off on DeWalt powertools
I opted for this one too because it used sheets instead of proprietary pads and it has a vacuum bag

this sale still running? I really really need a finishing sander and this price wise and use of sheets looks the best!!

Postby X_Factor » August 20th, 2010, 10:59 pm

^ like that sale always running!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 20th, 2010, 11:39 pm

^ seems so eh, cause the sign has been up for a WHILE now

UltimateCustomizing

Postby UltimateCustomizing » August 21st, 2010, 3:17 am

those are 2nd grade dewalt
check the dewalt web site
the only place where i get original dewalt that don't give any trouble but they are used is A1 tools

ps i also have the exact palm , orbital dewalt sanders but i have switched over to pneumatic since most of my shop runs on air

UltimateCustomizing

Postby UltimateCustomizing » August 21st, 2010, 3:50 am

those foreign used tools from the USA are like new
most contractors change tools after every job in the states because transport and shipping is expensive
makes more sense to sell the tools an recover most of the money when the job is done instead of have to move around with a set of tools

UltimateCustomizing

Postby UltimateCustomizing » August 21st, 2010, 4:40 am

do you really feel the price they selling dewalt for you getting something good ?

partner after sales service an parts is the 2 most important things

wheel whores

Postby wheel whores » August 21st, 2010, 7:07 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:Seeing Milwaukee tools generally cheaper than the DeWalt.

Got a DeWalt 1/4 sheet sander on sale for $400

When i worked at SIS, they used Milwaukee almost exclusively and they took heavy abuse.

Anytime i think Bosch i think SDS hammers. Them thing deadly but sadly i can't justify getting one.

Allyuh fellas talkin High End though :)

milwaukee hands down can take abuse never see another that can stand up to the test :D

Firewall

Postby Firewall » August 21st, 2010, 8:36 am

+

was running this for quite some time

Firewall

Postby Firewall » August 21st, 2010, 8:50 am

now i got these

UltimateCustomizing

Postby UltimateCustomizing » August 21st, 2010, 10:02 am

good stuff dey firewall

do you find the 12v cordless has enough battery life?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 21st, 2010, 4:40 pm

UltimateCustomizing wrote:those are 2nd grade dewalt
LOL ok :lol:

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 21st, 2010, 4:40 pm

Firewall wrote:now i got these

How does this work? Added it to mih cart on Amazon, just searching for some reviews.

Duane and Pios...those are some kick a$$ drills. Did you guys find them locally?

Duane from the chuck, that looks like SDS?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 21st, 2010, 4:53 pm

^ I bought mines at Bhagwansinghs last year
I usually buy stuff from Amazon and use a skybox but I've never tried Amazon for power tools.

I got one of these from Amazon and I use it ALOT!
Milwaukee 40pc screwdriver bit set

Postby Damien » August 21st, 2010, 4:54 pm

UltimateCustomizing wrote:good stuff dey firewall

do you find the 12v cordless has enough battery life?

i have one just like that,battery life not so good

Postby pugboy » August 21st, 2010, 6:44 pm

Bosch jigsaws are the best, after you use one of those you will not use another
similarly with a Hilti pneumatic hammer drill

Firewall

Postby Firewall » August 21st, 2010, 7:16 pm

agreed the battery life is now terrible (but that is after almost two years of using it also my haphazard charging sequence may have caused it) it was the one from pricesmart.

as for the router i love it. its touted as the best router for beginners with a lot of professionals using it as their backup

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 21st, 2010, 7:23 pm

for those who like to install their own car audio there is a thread with tools used for that purpose : ...

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=183838&hilit=tools

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 21st, 2010, 7:40 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I also have one of these since last year

this is BESSS hammer drill.
My walls are foundation blocks and I swear they loaded them with some big stone gravel, but with this drill and a good tungsten carbide bit it makes the wall feel like butter
and I real weak!

I rented one recently and it wok!

What's the deal with Hilti in Trini? Men doh use that no more?

Postby pugboy » August 21st, 2010, 7:59 pm

Hilti is much more expensive

Postby Damien » August 21st, 2010, 8:11 pm

Power tools that i have so far, dewalt grinder and power saw, craftsman portable drill, milwaukee drill.

what i need, a powerful hilti, a chopsaw and a welding machine

alyuh recommend a good welding machine and price, the welding machine is just to do normal welding, dog kennel,gate, burglar proof. nothing to fancy and too expensive because you know people does want to borrow

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 21st, 2010, 8:56 pm

I paid $1400 at Bhagwansingh. The Dewalts are slightly cheaper if you look around.

Good old Lincoln Electric. Cost $3200 at Ramlagan in Couva. Edoos Welding has combo sets with chop saw and grinder for around $5000 if your pockets that deep. This is one of those tools that can last. I know people using these for 20+ years with no repair. Hopefully the build quality hasn't dropped significantly.