:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby *KRONIK* » November 3rd, 2019, 10:39 am

My biggest issue with that is storage and maintenance.
Its cheaper to rent one for 100 a day than to buy one and service it.
pugboy wrote:it is more fun to use impact driver though
whirrrrrr, clack clack

you should try and get your own small generator, like a 2000 size
one person can lift and could power a fridge etc in event natural gas run out

Postby pugboy » November 3rd, 2019, 10:47 am

So far I lucky with the two I have
start them once a year or so.

*KRONIK* wrote:My biggest issue with that is storage and maintenance.
Its cheaper to rent one for 100 a day than to buy one and service it.
pugboy wrote:it is more fun to use impact driver though
whirrrrrr, clack clack

you should try and get your own small generator, like a 2000 size
one person can lift and could power a fridge etc in event natural gas run out

Postby adnj » November 3rd, 2019, 10:59 am

hindian wrote:Regular variable speed drill for me. I did that trade for 11 years and never used impact or slip chuck drills once. The trick is when to know to let the trigger go to avoid pulling the screw too much causing the roofing sheet to sink thereby creating a potential future leak. You might need a fairly powerful drill because sometimes you may be required to go through double lapped purlins and a cheapo unit might not have the beans.
After using a screw gun on metal panels, plycem and gypsym walls, there is no way that I would go back.

[IMG]https://www.tradetools.com/images/ProductImages/Large/FS2500.jpg
[/IMG]
[IMG]http://toolcrave.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/DCF622M2_2-1024x1024.jpg
[/IMG]

Postby pugboy » November 3rd, 2019, 12:44 pm

Almost finished router mortising jig
Sturdy and pretty much square.
Just need to do the clamping setup on vertical board below.
714A75DB-99A8-4676-9404-95CF1B93D2A5.jpeg

Postby Rovin » November 4th, 2019, 6:48 pm

today 2 guys changed out d roof of my 20x20 work shop which was long time galvanize, 2x4 wood & galv nails , changed out to modern full legth galvanize , C purlin & roofing screws

they used a M18 fuel brushless impact driver with 5ah batt , seems to work well & that batt had enough juice for all d galv sheets , it wasnt that noisy , only clacks u hear was when d screws about 1\2 way in ....

Postby pugboy » November 4th, 2019, 6:52 pm

That clack is when the threads start to engage the purlin

U ain’t put the radiant barrier?

Postby Rovin » November 4th, 2019, 7:04 pm

badman doh use dat we like to bake in d heat

i really eh study dat inno , it jesso for d past 20 yrs , have a fair amt of breeze always blowing so i accustomed ..... :oops:

Postby *KRONIK* » November 4th, 2019, 7:35 pm

Put some gypsum board from the bottom if possible.
Will help with the heat
Rovin wrote:badman doh use dat we like to bake in d heat

i really eh study dat inno , it jesso for d past 20 yrs , have a fair amt of breeze always blowing so i accustomed ..... :oops:

Postby Ted_v2 » November 4th, 2019, 9:31 pm

The little green in my cart all now, waiting to drop that purchase soon.

have alot of stuff to sell too, will post up a for sale soon.

Postby adnj » November 5th, 2019, 11:21 am

Rovin wrote:today 2 guys changed out d roof of my 20x20 work shop which was long time galvanize, 2x4 wood & galv nails , changed out to modern full legth galvanize , C purlin & roofing screws

they used a M18 fuel brushless impact driver with 5ah batt , seems to work well & that batt had enough juice for all d galv sheets , it wasnt that noisy , only clacks u hear was when d screws about 1\2 way in ....

Sounds about right.

Your roof probably has nearly 400 screws.

I've seen tests where DeWalt and Milwaukee impact drivers (using a 3 ah battery 18v/20v) each drove more than 450 3" screws into wood on a single charge.

originalbling

Postby originalbling » November 5th, 2019, 11:35 am

Rovin wrote:today 2 guys changed out d roof of my 20x20 work shop which was long time galvanize, 2x4 wood & galv nails , changed out to modern full legth galvanize , C purlin & roofing screws

You used any beams or just C purlin right thru? What you used for the posts?

Thinking about adding on a shed to the back of the house - about 24ft wide x 10-12ft out. coming off the back wall.

any advice on beams, size of purlins etc?

Postby Rovin » November 5th, 2019, 11:36 am

^this shed is temporary on top of a steel frame building , its welded very strongly though built about 20yrs ago from 4" drill pipe & 4" angle iron as d cleats

ppl mostly use 2x4 or 2x6 H beam [check around though as some of them so thin like 3\16 maybe] & typical 4" C purlin , i find materials so thin & flimsy nowadays , better to space d purlins closer like 3ft , H beams depends on if u using 4" or 6"

better u get a couple quotes from a few welders

in a couple yrs we will need to remove this roof so we didnt use alot of screws heavily , i am seeing about 16 per perlin & 6 perlin so thats about 100-120 total ...

Postby pugboy » November 6th, 2019, 8:00 am

you can use round galv pipe for the posts, like 3" actual diameter, you need at least 6(3 and 3)
or properly anchor to the wall and not need posts by the wall assuming wall can take the weight.

I see many folks use C purlins for the 12ft out and then Z purlins for the 24ft, there are 30ft purlins available.
proper cleats is important with angle and bolts.

I see a shed where they screw the Z to the C and the whole roof rip out as its really only a single thread holding it down.

originalbling wrote:

You used any beams or just C purlin right thru? What you used for the posts?

Thinking about adding on a shed to the back of the house - about 24ft wide x 10-12ft out. coming off the back wall.

any advice on beams, size of purlins etc?

Postby adnj » November 6th, 2019, 9:39 am

The trick is to change the tension or pulling force on the attachment screws to a shear of cutting force.

[IMG]http://professionalroofing.blob.core.windows.net/publicwebsitefiles/images/0902_35_1.jpg
[/IMG]

Postby De Dragon » November 6th, 2019, 9:41 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Put some gypsum board from the bottom if possible.
Will help with the heat

The proper heat barrier rolls have the soft, cushioned backing. When I did a large front covering I used it, and even on baking hot days, you cannot feel any heat radiating from the sheeting.

Postby Rovin » November 7th, 2019, 10:21 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Put some gypsum board from the bottom if possible.
Will help with the heat

The proper heat barrier rolls have the soft, cushioned backing. When I did a large front covering I used it, and even on baking hot days, you cannot feel any heat radiating from the sheeting.

hmmm allyuh have meh thinking now , whats d cost of these sheets & d dimensions of it ? ....

Postby pugboy » November 7th, 2019, 10:38 am

Roof systems have a good quality one with thick foam about $1000 per roll, 4ft wide
Roll does 500sq ft

There are other brands out there but thinner and flimsy.

72DD5548-03B9-44B9-A7B1-7B50ADAA9C6A.jpeg

Postby adnj » November 7th, 2019, 10:42 am

There are also different types, if you plan to insulate below the ceiling between the rafters.

You can also use insulated cold room ceiling panels, if you find the seams on the ceiling acceptable. The panels are installed in place of a drop ceiling or gypsum on frame.

[IMG]https://www.radiantbarrierguru.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/eShield-radiant-barrier.jpg
[/IMG]

Parvin

Postby Parvin » November 8th, 2019, 7:08 pm

Is there anything like this or similar available locally ? Doesn't have to be the same brand.

Checked a few places and made some calls but they only have heavy duty/commercial pieces
ryobi-clamp-on-hand-helds-stand-up-p727-64_1000.jpg

Postby adnj » November 9th, 2019, 7:20 am

Milwaukee, DeWalt, Makita and Black & Decker make them. If you haven't already, call L&DG. They may have the Milwaukee. Bhagwansing may have the DeWalt.

You'll need a charger and battery so your choice may be a consequence of the cordless tools that you already own.

Otherwise, you could consider a work light that comes with a charger and built-in battery. Makita, INGCO, and Black & Decker market them.

[IMG]https://www.toolsid.com/images/makita/power-tools/dml805-4.jpg
[/IMG]

Parvin

Postby Parvin » November 9th, 2019, 12:08 pm

adnj wrote:Milwaukee, DeWalt, Makita and Black & Decker make them. If you haven't already, call L&DG. They may have the Milwaukee. Bhagwansing may have the DeWalt.

You'll need a charger and battery so your choice may be a consequence of the cordless tools that you already own.

Otherwise, you could consider a work light that comes with a charger and built-in battery. Makita, INGCO, and Black & Decker market them.

[IMG]https://www.toolsid.com/images/makita/power-tools/dml805-4.jpg
[/IMG]

L&DG was the first place I checked but the units they have way out of the budget ($3k+) for small home use now and then.

I’ll check Bhagwansinghs

Postby *KRONIK* » November 9th, 2019, 1:33 pm

Pricesmart have the recharcable CAT light. Not sure whats the application can it may be able to work

Postby adnj » November 9th, 2019, 1:41 pm

In my experience, no one seems to make a reasonably priced cordless worklight that operates well.

Right now, it's hard to beat a corded trouble light with an LED bulb for a total price of about TT$100. A work light thatblugs in cost about TT$300, you can get one at most hardwares or electric supply houses, and it will last many years.

For working around the house, I always have a few flashlights with rechargeable batteries. For a light, batteries and a charger, the cost will from about TT$300 to TT$1000 but it will fit in your pocket.

Postby X_Factor » November 9th, 2019, 9:07 pm

Anyone what some finishing Sanders
200 for one

Postby pugboy » November 11th, 2019, 6:21 pm

Anybody ever use rotoplastics tank repair service ?

I have a 1000gal with a 3” clean vertical crack.
Wonder if worth fixing. The tank otherwise is not porous.

matix

Postby matix » November 11th, 2019, 6:33 pm

pugboy wrote:Anybody ever use rotoplastics tank repair service ?

Never heard of this. In for the results

Postby pugboy » November 11th, 2019, 6:42 pm

If it can’t fix they also will dispose the old one too I been told and give a discount voucher on new tank too.

matix wrote:

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 11th, 2019, 9:06 pm

pugboy wrote:If it can’t fix they also will dispose the old one too I been told and give a discount voucher on new tank too.

matix wrote:

These people been advertising on FB. Plastic welding water tanks.

R&S Water Tanks Service

Protect your home conserver your water.Call/whatsapp/message us @ 3684793 to REPAIR or CLEAN your WATER TANKS.YOU COULD GET 18 MONTHS WARRANTY ON THE REPAIR.

Postby pugboy » November 11th, 2019, 9:17 pm

Will call them

Postby X_Factor » November 11th, 2019, 11:30 pm

flex tape on both sides?