:: The official TOOLS thread ::

dbeast

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby dbeast » September 12th, 2017, 10:50 am

No boy want to try meh hand at some knife making. I have a piece of train track but i want something heaver now

Postby adnj » September 12th, 2017, 11:22 am

dbeast wrote:No boy want to try meh hand at some knife making. I have a piece of train track but i want something heaver now

Do you plan on forging or doing stock removal?

Postby X_Factor » September 12th, 2017, 7:47 pm

adnj wrote:
dbeast wrote:No boy want to try meh hand at some knife making. I have a piece of train track but i want something heaver now

Do you plan on forging or doing stock removal?

like someone get hooked on forged in fire?

what heat source you gonna use?...homemade furnace?

Postby adnj » September 12th, 2017, 7:53 pm

I've seen homemade furnaces made from firebrick, a scrap 20 lb tank and a propane weed torch. They work pretty well for simple carbon steels like 10XX.

Postby pugboy » September 12th, 2017, 7:53 pm

I have some ceramic wool to give away if you need to make one of them freon tank forge

dbeast

Postby dbeast » September 13th, 2017, 12:01 pm

intrested before the whole forged in fire. did some knives stock removal, from steel spring, pieces of SS sheets. Homemade coal forge in the making, old brake hub and blow up matress blower. Like the small tin can forge too, i have a propane weed torch too.
Doh mine the ceramic wool. Where are you located? I spoke to the same foundry u suggested before about a year ago. $9000 for ah 100lb Anvil.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 13th, 2017, 12:50 pm

So....we having a knife making lime by dbeast?

I bringing the geera gizzard

Postby pugboy » September 13th, 2017, 5:41 pm

port of spain, where you located ?
How much you need ?

that foundry does good work though, they made a rectangular shoebox shaped coal grill for me from a wooden model I made, they did it by sand casting a mold.

dbeast wrote:intrested before the whole forged in fire. did some knives stock removal, from steel spring, pieces of SS sheets. Homemade coal forge in the making, old brake hub and blow up matress blower. Like the small tin can forge too, i have a propane weed torch too.
Doh mine the ceramic wool. Where are you located? I spoke to the same foundry u suggested before about a year ago. $9000 for ah 100lb Anvil.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 14th, 2017, 11:20 am

like some of u are fans of this show :lol:

i myself only recently started watching , interesting to see d kinda stuff they get challenged to make & how they do it .....

car

Postby car » September 14th, 2017, 2:47 pm

Where sells brazing kits? What to try something.

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 14th, 2017, 8:12 pm

Peakes. Allied has but peakes has a bigger selection of rods. Also probably somewhere like Edoos.

Postby Morpheus » September 14th, 2017, 9:05 pm

LoL check ACME Hardware...

First time and I believe the only anvil I've ever seen is in work by me. I was in awe. Haha

Postby *KRONIK* » September 15th, 2017, 4:14 pm

Yes allyuh!

Check it out without a doubt

Tool sale:

Details and prices below:

viewtopic.php?p=9582910#p9582910

jl6106

Postby jl6106 » September 15th, 2017, 5:52 pm

dbeast wrote:intrested before the whole forged in fire. did some knives stock removal, from steel spring, pieces of SS sheets. Homemade coal forge in the making, old brake hub and blow up matress blower. Like the small tin can forge too, i have a propane weed torch too.

@dbeast- there is an anvil for sale on trinicars...check it out.

dbeast

Postby dbeast » September 16th, 2017, 9:06 am

Already did goin to check it out when i get home. Freeport area

car

Postby car » September 16th, 2017, 11:46 am

dbeast wrote:Already did goin to check it out when i get home. Freeport area

I called. It gone already.

Postby Chimera » September 16th, 2017, 11:48 am

i buy about 40 pallets 6 months now to make some "outdoor" furniture and cant get around to doing it

what is a cheap option to add wheels/casters to them if i need to roll them around a bit though?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » September 16th, 2017, 12:03 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:i buy about 40 pallets 6 months now to make some "outdoor" furniture and cant get around to doing it

what is a cheap option to add wheels/casters to them if i need to roll them around a bit though?

Cheap castor wheels can be bought at allied, from 10lb to 60lb rollers I believe. Bhagwansinghs also has but mostly bigger sizes.

Bought 4inch wheels by allied recently and they easily lock and move with close to 200lbs on the crate

Drill with nut and bolt and they secure well onto the pallet wood

Postby pugboy » September 17th, 2017, 10:57 am

end up making a 3" hand auger with some pipe
worked very good, dug 2ft holes.

trick is to put water to keep soil damp or the blade does not bite the soil well and move the soil
IMG_4959.JPG
IMG_4960.JPG

Postby rspann » September 17th, 2017, 12:49 pm

You dig it upside down, it must be easy. All the dirt fall out while you digging.

Postby X_Factor » September 17th, 2017, 4:52 pm

anyone want some msa filters
one pair used one pair never used

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 17th, 2017, 6:43 pm

Have to weld a gate and have the option of regular mild steel or zinc plated.

Zinc plated has better corrosion resistance but how do you paint it? What should be used? Always see paint peeling from galvanized pipe etc.

If is too much hassle, I'll just use MS.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 17th, 2017, 8:35 pm

I have a zinc gate. Rell bess. Almost no rot after 10 years or so on the zinc. The ms rods nothing either. I paint the entire thing once a year. I use industrial enamel with a spray gun.

I'm looking for a brass hammer, couple punches ect. I always forking things up with metal punch and chisels.

I'm also looking for a decent set of drill bits. Usually in a set like those multi bit sets.

Saw the Dewalt. Milwaukee, Bosch and something else in allied. My cordless has a 3/8 chuck.

Postby adnj » September 17th, 2017, 9:03 pm

There are two ways that I know of:
1. Clean the metal with soapy water. Let it dry. Wash with ammonia solution. Let it dry. Lightly sand everything. Prime then paint.
2. Clean the metal with soapy water. Let it dry. Pre-prime with one-part galvanized metal primer. Let it dry. Prime then paint.

If the galvanized metal has been exposed to the weather for more than six months, you're "supposed" to be able to just prime and paint. I never tried that. I usually pre-prime with very good results (near-zero flaking).

nick639v2

:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby nick639v2 » September 17th, 2017, 10:16 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:I have a zinc gate. Rell bess. Almost no rot after 10 years or so on the zinc. The ms rods nothing either. I paint the entire thing once a year. I use industrial enamel with a spray gun.

I'm looking for a brass hammer, couple punches ect. I always forking things up with metal punch and chisels.

I'm also looking for a decent set of drill bits. Usually in a set like those multi bit sets.

Saw the Dewalt. Milwaukee, Bosch and something else in allied. My cordless has a 3/8 chuck.

No on the dewalt drill bit set, bought a bosch I think it was by sws and it lasted wayy longer. The dewalt went dull fast and some broke within weeks

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 18th, 2017, 11:33 am

adnj wrote:There are two ways that I know of:
1. Clean the metal with soapy water. Let it dry. Wash with ammonia solution. Let it dry. Lightly sand everything. Prime then paint.
2. Clean the metal with soapy water. Let it dry. Pre-prime with one-part galvanized metal primer. Let it dry. Prime then paint.

If the galvanized metal has been exposed to the weather for more than six months, you're "supposed" to be able to just prime and paint. I never tried that. I usually pre-prime with very good results (near-zero flaking).

Don't recall ever seeing galvanized metal primer.

Postby pugboy » September 18th, 2017, 1:43 pm

It's called etching primer

Postby Rovin » September 18th, 2017, 1:45 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Have to weld a gate and have the option of regular mild steel or zinc plated.

Zinc plated has better corrosion resistance but how do you paint it? What should be used? Always see paint peeling from galvanized pipe etc.

If is too much hassle, I'll just use MS.

strongly advise galvanised pipe [or they do sell galvanised RHS too] lasts waaaaay longer , especially if u have male dogs or male cats roaming freely on ur compound its a must because their pee will rotten it faster

b4 u weld it u cud use a mild sand paper & then clean it properly , after u finish welding use a etching primer that is made for that , then primer... i sure if u google it u will get more ideas

also prefer galvanised instead of regular RHS cause its a tougher stiffer material & its much easier to weld too....

Postby adnj » September 18th, 2017, 4:14 pm

pugboy wrote:It's called etching primer

Yes. Also called a wash primer. It's a thin bodied mix of phosphoric acid and vinyl butyral (sp?). Some say that it's an unnecessary step. My results are usually better by adding it before the zinc chromate primer on both plain and galvanized steel. But your results may vary.

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 18th, 2017, 5:19 pm

Ah, etching primer !! Thanks.

Rovin, yes it's basically galvanized RHS. Idrees and Ramlagan both have various sizes.