:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby Rovin » August 25th, 2020, 6:37 pm

was in bhagwansing chaguanas branch today , saw they have 2 models makita 4.5" grinder for $400 & 500 & d bigger makita 7" angle grinder for $995

15-20+ yrs ago when these were made not in china d prices were 2-3 times more than now , quality may not be as good as back then but todays consumers lucky at how much cheaper tools have gotten ....

Postby Ted_v2 » August 25th, 2020, 10:51 pm

Dumore for bolts and Nuts.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » August 26th, 2020, 12:55 am

I'm looking for a 24 ft ladder. I see the telescopic is cheaper. Which stores have used and second hand tools for sale or ladders on sale

Postby adnj » August 26th, 2020, 5:44 am

nismotrinidappa wrote:I'm looking for a 24 ft ladder. I see the telescopic is cheaper. Which stores have used and second hand tools for sale or ladders on sale
A1 Tools sells used ladders.

SPEED THRILLZ

Postby SPEED THRILLZ » August 26th, 2020, 7:23 pm

tropi_flakes wrote:Anyone knows where I can source this cordless screwdriver locally or another brand but same mini version
20200826_144112.jpeg
This might help.... and it's on sale for this week at khanico ltd, passed thru and got a 6inch bench grinder 1/2hp for $410... not bad for the home user
20200826_144112.jpeg

Postby X_Factor » August 26th, 2020, 7:34 pm

Total tools has a 6inch bench grinder for 295....not sure of the power rating tho
Bought it last Christmas and it's still in the box......

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » August 26th, 2020, 8:18 pm

Anyone knows where i can get threaded inserts for metal?

Postby Ted_v2 » August 26th, 2020, 10:38 pm

i bought one and never used it too, same brand from kanico.

sold it to a coworker and bought some welding equipment

jackal

Postby jackal » August 27th, 2020, 6:28 am

G-DUB wrote:Anyone knows where i can get threaded inserts for metal?

Try Lotech in Trincity, Dumore and Southern Supplies

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » August 27th, 2020, 8:30 am

Thanks got it at Lotech

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » August 28th, 2020, 9:51 pm

tropi_flakes wrote:Anyone knows where I can source this cordless screwdriver locally or another brand but same mini version IMG_20200823_222051.jpeg

I got one today Ingco brand paid $147 at kelvin Ghany in trincity , comes with bits and extension. Don"t buy it at the distributors they add their mark up.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » August 28th, 2020, 10:02 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:
tropi_flakes wrote:Anyone knows where I can source this cordless screwdriver locally or another brand but same mini version IMG_20200823_222051.jpeg

I got one today Ingco brand paid $147 at kelvin Ghany in trincity , comes with bits and extension. Don"t buy it at the distributors they add their mark up.
Nice and small
Image.jpeg

Postby Rovin » August 28th, 2020, 10:52 pm

not bad at all for d price ...

Postby supercharged turbo » September 4th, 2020, 3:24 pm

Where can I get a motor like this locally?
SmartSelect_20200904-152157_Amazon%20Shopping.jpeg

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » September 4th, 2020, 9:07 pm

looking for recommendations for a good DA (pneumatic) for automotive use
Last edited by WestIndian424 on September 5th, 2020, 9:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby maj. tom » September 4th, 2020, 9:38 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Where can I get a motor like this locally?SmartSelect_20200904-152157_Amazon%20Shopping.jpeg

Look for a discarded Microwave oven or turntable, anything with a synchronous motor. Maybe check those Appliance parts places and see if they have for repair. Motor rewinding machine shops could probably make one if they wanted to.

Postby Rovin » September 5th, 2020, 11:19 am

Calor wrote:looking for recommendations for a good DA (pneumatic) for automotive use

da sander right ? , ACE in montrose chaguanas sell those ...

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » September 6th, 2020, 5:44 pm

Rovin wrote:
Calor wrote:looking for recommendations for a good DA (pneumatic) for automotive use

da sander right ? , ACE in montrose chaguanas sell those ...

Yes..DA/sander

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » September 14th, 2020, 12:08 pm

Looking for a DA polisher as well but electric, any recommendations in south, already checked SSL and Allied, they just have regular rotary polishers, if not south I'll be willing to make a north drive.

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » September 14th, 2020, 11:12 pm

amd-dude wrote:Looking for a DA polisher as well but electric, any recommendations in south, already checked SSL and Allied, they just have regular rotary polishers, if not south I'll be willing to make a north drive.

Check ACE...they have good stuff

Postby MG Man » September 15th, 2020, 8:08 am

amd-dude wrote:Looking for a DA polisher as well but electric, any recommendations in south, already checked SSL and Allied, they just have regular rotary polishers, if not south I'll be willing to make a north drive.

Meguiar's DA is pretty awesome. Agent is lubetech

Postby supercharged turbo » September 15th, 2020, 2:47 pm

Where can I get this?I thought ACE and Allied would have but negative.
71fsGvoa7PL._AC_SY606_.jpeg

Postby pugboy » September 15th, 2020, 2:50 pm

That one not so common like the grey(weaker) one which is sold everywhere,

You can get the vhb one which is the strongest at car paint places or 3m distributors
But vhb only comes in big roll, around $120. Works out cheaper than buying those little rolls.

The vhb one is what they use for side molding on cars, real strong.

supercharged turbo wrote:Where can I get this?I thought ACE and Allied would have but negative.71fsGvoa7PL._AC_SY606_.jpeg

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » September 15th, 2020, 3:10 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Where can I get this?I thought ACE and Allied would have but negative.71fsGvoa7PL._AC_SY606_.jpeg

I actually got this at eddie's pharmacy in debe. Strangely enough tho, I bought it to stick some trucking to the wall a few months ago and just last week a piece of the trunking fell :roll:

Postby Ted_v2 » September 15th, 2020, 6:23 pm

hadda get some screws and wallplugs for trunking pappi, yuh looking for that to fall down and damage somebody or something.

Postby maj. tom » September 15th, 2020, 6:37 pm

The key to the 3M double-sided tapes sticking and holding permanently is that both surfaces must be as clean as possible from grease of dust, and that they are as smooth as possible, the ideal surface being glass.

And then each tape mass rating has different instructions on how to use 4 inches per lb (5-lb tape). So don't think that these mounting tapes are a miracle solution for a job when 4 weeks later you come home and find the object it was holding up fell down and broke. I telling you from experience.

Postby pugboy » September 15th, 2020, 6:43 pm

the vhb tape is really good, there are a few versions of it depending on the application surface too, thjnk they are 45lb per sq in

i tried sticking an rfid lock on a fridge and the regular ones would not stick to the textured fridge paint
lock holding up real good despite efforts to break it.

the vhb one stick real good, troublesome to remove too.

Postby maj. tom » September 15th, 2020, 7:00 pm

Yuh know how long i looking for the VHB in hardwares and still can't find it. I'll try a 3M auto-paint shop next time.

Postby pugboy » September 15th, 2020, 7:30 pm

try their dealers

isd solutions or koan
isd is in boundary rd

maj. tom wrote:Yuh know how long i looking for the VHB in hardwares and still can't find it. I'll try a 3M auto-paint shop next time.

Postby supercharged turbo » September 16th, 2020, 12:31 am

Thanks fellas...@pugboy it's for the side mouldings on a car self