:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby adnj » August 10th, 2020, 7:49 pm

Depends on what you want. SSL has a Milwaukee 3/4" Milwaukee for $2630. You can get it online for $275.

The landed cost will be about $100 less.

If you want to spend less, look for a 1/2".

Postby X_Factor » August 10th, 2020, 9:15 pm

Via seabox the porter cable should cost less than 1000

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 10th, 2020, 9:51 pm

Calor wrote:Thats a good price...the average price locally was $2k and up

Don't waste time with that porter cable either. Get a decent cordless model and you will not regret it. Doesn't haven't to be anything too expensive either. A few years ago I got a Craftsman C3 model and ended up adding a hammer drill and angle grinder that uses same batteries. One of the best tool investments I ever made. Ryobi has a good cordless line for DIY use too.

Postby adnj » August 11th, 2020, 12:17 am

X_Factor wrote:Via seabox the porter cable should cost less than 1000
No argument there. I would guess about $825. Some tools can be purchased locally at some stores at reasonable prices. And 1/2" impact wrenches are typically less expensive than 3/4".

A similar Stanley 1/2" (Porter-Cable is a Stanley brand) was available at Pro Tools for $950. More expensive, yes, but perhaps worth it if you need it locally.

Postby pugboy » August 11th, 2020, 2:09 pm

Yes there is little or no duty on tools, just vat

Postby MG Man » August 11th, 2020, 4:11 pm

anyone knows where I can get a Craftsman cordless impact gun repaired? It's maybe 15 years old. Feels like the clutch is gone because you can pull the trigger and stop it spinning with your bare hand, while it happily klak-klaks all day long
(already ruled out batteries as the problem)

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » August 11th, 2020, 6:30 pm

ImageImageImageImage.

I give this small compact 1800 psi pressure washer 10/10 stars , from ryobi sells on amazon , it has the different nozzles to use on vehicles, concrete, patio and more .

Postby De Dragon » August 11th, 2020, 6:39 pm

pugboy wrote:Yes there is little or no duty on tools, just vat

Hold on........

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » August 11th, 2020, 9:38 pm

MG Man wrote:anyone knows where I can get a Craftsman cordless impact gun repaired? It's maybe 15 years old. Feels like the clutch is gone because you can pull the trigger and stop it spinning with your bare hand, while it happily klak-klaks all day long
(already ruled out batteries as the problem)

Try tool house

Postby Ted_v2 » August 13th, 2020, 8:09 pm

i have a m18 1/2 mid torque, have a impact driver, and quite a few m12 tools lights drills and ratchet.

yes corded is nice, no issues with batteries. but get into a cordless line, it would cost you next to nothing. i bought bare tools for 350TT already, ect.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » August 13th, 2020, 11:30 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:i have a m18 1/2 mid torque, have a impact driver, and quite a few m12 tools lights drills and ratchet.

yes corded is nice, no issues with batteries. but get into a cordless line, it would cost you next to nothing. i bought bare tools for 350TT already, ect.
I have 3 of the M18, the same impact and driver you have, plus the stubby impact. Want to get some of the M12 tools now

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 14th, 2020, 10:21 am

Click https://bit.ly/thetoolstorett for more info
They close at noon on Saturday

Postby Rovin » August 14th, 2020, 10:54 am

^^^recently bought their 7" grinder $845 & reviewed it a couple pages back , fantastic deal on that

when u go lithium cordless u really doh wanna go back corded again nah ... if i had to choose a brand it wud be milwaukee [or makita as a 2nd choice] , i have a pair of m12 drill & impact driver i use often

Postby pugboy » August 14th, 2020, 11:04 am

yeah, no need to go corded again at all with modern lithium power

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » August 14th, 2020, 4:48 pm

I ended up buying this...searching for a socket set for it now
Screenshot_20200814-115452_Gallery.jpg

Postby Ted_v2 » August 14th, 2020, 8:07 pm

IMG_9322.JPG

I bought this at tool store San Fernando. I believe Allied has as well. I paid 275 but it's really worth it.

We have a couple sets in Work. They work all day. Haven't broken yet. Intensively abused. My set like brand new. Bought because I saw how durable they are. The Pittsburgh on the market is garbage. Huge sidewalls

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 14th, 2020, 8:39 pm

Calor wrote:I ended up buying this...searching for a socket set for it now

Nice. I got this set a few years ago. No ragrets :)

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002MW2CGO/

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 14th, 2020, 8:57 pm

Calor wrote:I ended up buying this...searching for a socket set for it now

Price Club in chaguanas (of all places) has a set in the Tekton brand. I use those in a shop environment with almost no issues. Broke one once and Tekton WILL replace it to your skybox.

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » August 14th, 2020, 9:51 pm

My prob is everyone has the impact sockets 1/2 inch and this is 3/4 drive

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 15th, 2020, 12:24 am

Click https://bit.ly/thetoolstorett for more info
They close at noon on Saturday

Emmar01

Postby Emmar01 » August 15th, 2020, 9:38 pm

Apart from Pricesmart, where else can I get one of those outside storage sheds? PS has one or two but they're too big for my needs. Looking more at one about the size of a large chest freezer.

Postby adnj » August 15th, 2020, 9:44 pm

Emmar01 wrote:Apart from Pricesmart, where else can I get one of those outside storage sheds? PS has one or two but they're too big for my needs. Looking more at one about the size of a large chest freezer.

Peakes Home store and Bhagwansingh.

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » August 23rd, 2020, 10:22 pm

Anyone knows where I can source this cordless screwdriver locally or another brand but same mini version
IMG_20200823_222051.jpeg

Postby Ted_v2 » August 23rd, 2020, 11:20 pm

allied, tool store

300 or less for a stanley branded i think. 9. something volts.
i had one, its okay for certain task, dont look forward to it being a impact driver btw.

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » August 23rd, 2020, 11:41 pm

Thanks, I do appliance repair so just looking for something lightweight to open circuit board panels
Ted_v2 wrote:allied, tool store

i had one, its okay for certain task, dont look forward to it being a impact driver btw.

Postby adnj » August 24th, 2020, 8:24 am

tropi_flakes wrote:Thanks, I do appliance repair so just looking for something lightweight to open circuit board panels
Ted_v2 wrote:allied, tool store

FWIW most compact screwdrivers will weigh about 16 to 24 oz while most compact 12 volt drill/drivers will weigh about 24 to 32 oz.

Smaller capacity LiIon batteries will give you some weight savings, too.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » August 24th, 2020, 9:00 am

I have a black and decker to this. Bought in Dansteel. Should mention this is for only light duty work so removing screws in electrical devices shouldn't be a problem. However the battery life decreases dramatically after a year and you cannot change the battery.
tropi_flakes wrote:Anyone knows where I can source this cordless screwdriver locally or another brand but same mini version
IMG_20200823_222051.jpeg

Postby maj. tom » August 24th, 2020, 9:03 am

tropi_flakes wrote:Anyone knows where I can source this cordless screwdriver locally or another brand but same mini version IMG_20200823_222051.jpeg

https://www.atlasindustrialsupply.com/product/dewalt-8v-gyroscopic-screwdriver/

Seems like exactly what you're looking for. Call them and see.

hindian

Postby hindian » August 24th, 2020, 10:30 pm

Fellas where can I get acme nuts to purchase? Im trying to save a bench vise from the rubbish. The screw is fine but the nut is stripped out. Thing is the threads are built into the vise body so machine work will be required to bore out the old threads and put the acme nut in place. im also looking for a shop that can do the job at a reasonable price thanks

carluva

Postby carluva » August 25th, 2020, 3:51 pm

I'm not sure of your location but a few years ago, I used Kanson Engineering in Couva/Pt. Lisas to machine out a sheared bolt in a patio rocking chair. I also used them to machine a broom handle male threaded connection to use on a bull float back in 2016.

On both occasions, they did good work.

They are located on the roundabout by KFC in Pt. Lisas. Head north on the roundabout (to Couva) and as you pass the roundabout, they are just on your right.

As for the nuts, perhaps you can check Trinidad Fasteners or Screwtek.