:: The official TOOLS thread ::

fokhan_96

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby fokhan_96 » July 8th, 2020, 7:27 am

Looking to buy a gas lawn mower. Any recommendations? Any brands to stay away from.

make meh care

Postby make meh care » July 8th, 2020, 8:40 am

Looking for a 3/8 -18 NPT tap to buy .Any links ?

Postby X_Factor » July 8th, 2020, 8:57 am

Bhagwansing should have
I bought a 1/2 inch tap in the Irwin brand

Postby supercharged turbo » July 8th, 2020, 10:23 am

Saw L&DG have sale on aluminum ladders.Prices not bad

Postby adnj » July 8th, 2020, 3:55 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:Looking to buy a gas lawn mower. Any recommendations? Any brands to stay away from.
If it is a typical walk behind, nearly all models made in the US are built by MTD in Ohio. There is also Ariens, Toro and Honda are very reliable. I prefer Honda but they are pricey. There are new small engines being shipped in from Chinese manufacturers that are a hit or miss. Good designs but quality is dependent on the seller.

If you are getting a commercial mower for a big yard or play field, Gravely (owned by Ariens) and John Deere are probably worth the $40K price tag.
Last edited by adnj on July 8th, 2020, 3:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » July 8th, 2020, 4:45 pm

Toros are well regarded because they use a sturdy alumnium body which doesnt rust and disappear like the others

Postby adnj » July 8th, 2020, 5:00 pm

pugboy wrote:Toros are well regarded because they use a sturdy alumnium body which doesnt rust and disappear like the others
I've owned more than a few lawn mowers but only one was aluminum and I never had a corrosion problem. I rinse the deck to keep the underside clean and don't have a problem with stone-pecking from close-cutting a thin lawn.

But I do like the aluminum decks. I like Honda's resin decks even more.

Postby Chimera » July 9th, 2020, 8:38 pm

Anyone know where I can get rechargeable batteries like this locally
IMG-20200709-WA0015.jpeg
IMG-20200709-WA0013.jpeg

Postby adnj » July 9th, 2020, 8:44 pm

You can buy 1.2V AA NiMH batteries at Pricesmart, Peak Home Store and others but you probably know that already.

What you have is a 1.5V AA Lithium battery. They are not rechargeable. Lithium primaries are very long life. I have never seen any locally.

Postby pugboy » July 9th, 2020, 8:49 pm

The pricesmart Duracell rechargeable are very good, they are similar to the eneloop nimh and don’t self drain like older nimh

adnj wrote:You can buy AA NiMH batteries at Pricesmart and Peak Home Store.

What you have is a 1.5V AA Lithium battery. They are not rechargeable. Lithium primaries are very long life. I have never seen any locally.

Postby Chimera » July 9th, 2020, 9:37 pm

You're correct. I assumed they were somehow rechargeable as I've had them in a camera about 2 years outdoors. Thought it was being recharged with sunlight.

Can I safely use a 1.2 v instead if the 1.5

Postby adnj » July 10th, 2020, 3:44 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:You're correct. I assumed they were somehow rechargeable as I've had them in a camera about 2 years outdoors. Thought it was being recharged with sunlight.

Can I safely use a 1.2 v instead if the 1.5
Most electronics will tolerate the voltage sag from NiMH chemistry but you can't be sure unless you check the manual or try them out. The lower voltage likely won't damage your camera -- it may just not work with them.

Lithium primaries are of the same chemistry as some watch batteries so you get the same benefits: steady voltage, very long storage life and no leakage. But they cost about 10x what a Duracell alkaline costs so they aren't very common.

make meh care

Postby make meh care » July 10th, 2020, 9:05 am

X_Factor wrote:Bhagwansing should have
I bought a 1/2 inch tap in the Irwin brand

Thanks bro got it today.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » July 10th, 2020, 10:32 am

Quick job boring out a pair of wheel spacers.

Postby Rovin » July 10th, 2020, 11:32 am

looking good

u have this equipment as a hobby or its a business u have ? ...

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » July 10th, 2020, 12:52 pm

Hey Rovin, I do this as a business.

Postby De Dragon » July 10th, 2020, 5:15 pm

pugboy wrote:Toros are well regarded because they use a sturdy alumnium body which doesnt rust and disappear like the others

Who carries these? In the market for a good mower myself.

Postby Rovin » July 10th, 2020, 5:50 pm

[X]~Outlaw wrote:Hey Rovin, I do this as a business.

cool man i figured it had to be cause a good metal lathe aint cheap

i have a decent 1 for woodworking i bought last year just for hobby use ...

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » July 13th, 2020, 1:55 pm

Any one knows if or where I could get one of these locally?
41q+j6mMtaL._AC_SL1000_.jpg

RH Digital Truck Parts

Postby RH Digital Truck Parts » July 13th, 2020, 7:47 pm

Lauglin
amd-dude wrote:Any one knows if or where I could get one of these locally?

Postby adnj » July 13th, 2020, 8:45 pm

TWLPARTS wrote:Lauglin
amd-dude wrote:Any one knows if or where I could get one of these locally?
It's called a right angle driver attachment. Peakes, Bhagwansingh, Protools, SSL, etc.

hindian

Postby hindian » July 17th, 2020, 10:59 am

Guys where can I find a DeWalt repair centre? Have a grinder to repair thanks

Postby rspann » July 17th, 2020, 12:08 pm

hindian wrote:Guys where can I find a DeWalt repair centre? Have a grinder to repair thanks

ProTools. Petit Bourg . 290 4000 . Or Edoo's Sando .

carluva

Postby carluva » July 18th, 2020, 8:01 am

Ft Farfan
hindian wrote:Guys where can I find a DeWalt repair centre? Have a grinder to repair thanks

Postby Rovin » July 18th, 2020, 11:11 am

what wrong with it , cud be a simple ting as worn down brushes or switch going bad ...

hindian

Postby hindian » July 18th, 2020, 7:06 pm

Rovin wrote:what wrong with it , cud be a simple ting as worn down brushes or switch going bad ...
Got through with a place in chase village. Brushes were bad and the switch is bad as well. Problem is the switch is non existent. I getting the switch under black and decker but its almost $60US for it. It's a DW 474 7" grinder, an old unit

Postby Rovin » July 18th, 2020, 7:25 pm

as i suspected

a welder i know told me recently that over time he had 3 different brand of grinders with worn switches , was more cost effective for him to simply buy a new tool & continue his work ...

Postby adnj » July 18th, 2020, 7:54 pm

Rovin wrote:as i suspected

a welder i know told me recently that over time he had 3 different brand of grinders with worn switches , was more cost effective for him to simply buy a new tool & continue his work ...
You can always use a generic 120V 10A switch. They cost less than TT$5. Find the size that you want and mount it into the tool's case. You can cover any gaps with a piece of thermoplastic (1-1/2" PVC pipe can be cut and flattened using a heat gun) and mount the switch there.

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » July 18th, 2020, 8:32 pm

Just my 2 cents. Some grinder switches usually have some sort of safety mechanism whereby they cannot be operated accidentally. It may not be that safe to utilize a switch without a safety mechanism. There is a risk of injury. A friend of mine got cut behind the ankle when a grinder fell on the floor still running.
adnj wrote:

You can always use a generic 120V 10A switch. They cost less than TT$5. Find the size that you want and mount it into the tool's case. You can cover any gaps with a piece of thermoplastic (1-1/2" PVC pipe can be cut and flattened using a heat gun) and mount the switch there.

Postby rspann » July 18th, 2020, 8:38 pm

Supra GT-FOUR wrote:Just my 2 cents. Some grinder switches usually have some sort of safety mechanism whereby they cannot be operated accidentally. It may not be that safe to utilize a switch without a safety mechanism. There is a risk of injury. A friend of mine got cut behind the ankle when a grinder fell on the floor still running.
adnj wrote:

Correct . If you want to use a substitute , use a rocker type button or a press type that will turn off when the pressure is removed . One with a spring action. I keep all my old machines for parts and believe me , they come in handy.