Re: Must see movie trailers

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 9th, 2020, 2:37 pm

DUNE 2020 trailer

I'm not sure this one can capture the magic the 1984 movie had

Postby MG Man » September 9th, 2020, 3:15 pm

they got the stilsuits wrong....well not wrong, they compromised them to show the faces of the actors
KInda sucky because it defeats the point of the suits
Shai hulud looks awesome tho

Postby maj. tom » September 9th, 2020, 3:44 pm

Duncan Idaho was chosen well.
And nice touch with a tribute to Pink Floyd's Eclipse in the soundtrack.

I wish that the studio will continue the franchise to Leto God Emperor and the Scattering and the Golden Path concepts of the future of humanity. It would beat anything Star Trek could ever dream of doing with all their not-well-thought-out futuristic stories.

The 1984 Dune was in reality, quite a bit of rubbish. If you ever read the book or look at that film today you will cringe so hard at everything. In 1984 audiences were easier.

Postby MG Man » September 9th, 2020, 3:51 pm

maj. tom wrote:Duncan Idaho was chosen well.
And nice touch with a tribute to Pink Floyd's Eclipse in the soundtrack.

I wish that the studio will continue the franchise to Leto God Emperor and the Scattering and the Golden Path concepts of the future of humanity. It would beat anything Star Trek could ever dream of doing with all their not-well-thought-out futuristic stories.

The 1984 Dune was in reality, quite a bit of rubbish. If you ever read the book or look at that film today you will cringe so hard at everything. In 1984 audiences were easier.

I loved Lynch's attempt
Did you read all the way up to Sandworms of Dune....that thing got reaaaaaaaaaaaal trippy
The Butlerian Jihad would make an epic trilogy too
and yeah Floyd FTMFW

Postby maj. tom » September 9th, 2020, 4:06 pm

I read a few of the Brian Herbert prequel books, and thought that he went overboard with the concept that his father wrote. Like the ideas got way too convoluted compared to the grandeur of our future that Frank Herbert dreamed up.
I certainly didn't agree with his concept of the origins of the Butlerian Jihad which should have far deeper causes and should encompass ideas from the Matrix, Battlestar Galactica and Blade Runner.

I had started Hunters of Dune, but was just soo turned off at the writing. The plot was insane!!!

Postby aaron17 » September 9th, 2020, 4:10 pm

The dune old school pc game?

Postby sMASH » September 9th, 2020, 6:27 pm

too many big name stars in that, not to watch it. for some reason, all that i encountered with dune, never really caught me. felt way to fantasy.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 9th, 2020, 9:26 pm

sMASH wrote:too many big name stars in that, not to watch it. for some reason, all that i encountered with dune, never really caught me. felt way to fantasy.

A movie based on a science fiction novel set in the year 10,191 where humans mine a planet for spice that gives some mutated forms and the ability to fold space while others battle while riding giant worms in the desert felt way too fantasy for you?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 9th, 2020, 9:35 pm

aaron17 wrote:The dune old school pc game?

that was some great fun!

Postby sMASH » September 9th, 2020, 9:36 pm

What is the name of the planet?
sMASH wrote:too many big name stars in that, not to watch it. for some reason, all that i encountered with dune, never really caught me. felt way to fantasy.

A movie based on a science fiction novel set in the year 10,191 where humans mine a planet for spice that gives some mutated forms and the ability to fold space while others battle while riding giant worms in the desert felt way too fantasy for you?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 9th, 2020, 11:05 pm

sMASH wrote:What is the name of the planet?

Dune
also called Arrakis

Postby sMASH » September 9th, 2020, 11:30 pm

spice arrak :D

Postby MG Man » September 10th, 2020, 8:43 am

maj. tom wrote:I read a few of the Brian Herbert prequel books, and thought that he went overboard with the concept that his father wrote. Like the ideas got way too convoluted compared to the grandeur of our future that Frank Herbert dreamed up.
I certainly didn't agree with his concept of the origins of the Butlerian Jihad which should have far deeper causes and should encompass ideas from the Matrix, Battlestar Galactica and Blade Runner.

I had started Hunters of Dune, but was just soo turned off at the writing. The plot was insane!!!

Frank wrote up to Hunters so it's all part of what he dreamed up
His vision was never one about grandeur though. Dune was always a cautionary tale
I loved the Butlerian Jihad series...typical human behaviour: a band of elitists with special privileges become tyrants, but they themselves become puppets to a darker force. I found the cymek concept was pretty cool, as was the evermind
It also lays the foundation for the Bene Gesserit breeding program, how the seed of a forthcoming messiah was planted in the fledgling Fremen tribe, why the Harkonens despise the Atreides, how the tech for Holzman drive came about, and how someone figured out spice could be used to fold space
The roots of the Butlerian Jihad were hinted to in the original series as well, when referenced in relation to the ban on thinking machines and the use of mentats
If you finished Hunters, you really need to finish Sandworms of Dune....two words: Duncan Idaho

Postby maj. tom » September 10th, 2020, 8:46 am

Actually going to do that as soon as i finish "Biggles Takes It Rough." :lol:

Postby MG Man » September 10th, 2020, 9:58 am

maj. tom wrote:Actually going to do that as soon as i finish "Biggles Takes It Rough." :lol:

lmao

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 10th, 2020, 7:19 pm

FREAKY - from Universal Pictures and Blumhouse

Freaky Poster.jpg

Postby aaron17 » September 12th, 2020, 8:37 am

sMASH wrote:
teems1 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:That looking way better than the one which was released.

Not to sure how I feel about that twilight dude as batman nuh

Just remember many people were saying this back in 2007-2008

Not to sure how I feel about that health ledger dude as joker nuh.

And look how that turned out.
Snyder cut looking like 4hrs of popcorn. Looking forward to it.

Twibat looking okay, but not getting the wow factor.
But then again, suicide squad had a bess trailer, and the moive was meh. He could pass as young batman, but he looking more like Charlie sheen than bruce Wayne.
They could have made Batman Beyond.

Postby sMASH » September 12th, 2020, 9:07 am

aaron17 wrote:
sMASH wrote:
teems1 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:That looking way better than the one which was released.

But then again, suicide squad had a bess trailer, and the moive was meh. He could pass as young batman, but he looking more like Charlie sheen than bruce Wayne.

that on plenty youtube comments. keaton still have it, at the right age, and given that dc doing so many stand alone stories, that not sticking to timelines, it NEEEEDS to happen, even if as a one off.

one thing i liked about the beyond, is the mutation serum thing .

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 12th, 2020, 9:57 am

sMASH wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
sMASH wrote:
teems1 wrote:

that on plenty youtube comments. keaton still have it, at the right age, and given that dc doing so many stand alone stories, that not sticking to timelines, it NEEEEDS to happen, even if as a one off.

one thing i liked about the beyond, is the mutation serum thing .

With Mark Hamill as the Joker?

Postby sMASH » September 12th, 2020, 10:16 am

in the beyond timeline, there isnt a joker, but the joker gang. it kinda operated like the deck of cards gang(cant remember their name, but they all are named after cards), in the batman animated series cartoon.(totally forgot about that gang, they had some interesting stories).
it kinda lines up with the 'joker' movie where he is significantly older than bruce. beyond had its own contexts with its own villains. it worked. a worthy successor to the animated series, without being a rehash. is like plenty of the criminals were like croc and bane, because of the mutigen thing.

if they do that, it might make it possible to logically bring in clay face and solomon grundy.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 15th, 2020, 11:17 am

The Mandalorian season 2

Postby MG Man » September 15th, 2020, 11:19 am

guess I should get around to watching season 1?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 20th, 2020, 10:44 pm

WandaVision trailer

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 21st, 2020, 1:02 pm

The Croods - A New Age

Postby shogun » October 4th, 2020, 3:45 am

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 9th, 2020, 1:00 pm

Aadam's Family 2 - Halloween 2021

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 26th, 2020, 9:50 am

News of the World - Tom Hanks movie
January 2021

122117988_1759659030875061_2691410493114849374_n.jpg

Tom Hanks starring in News of the World, a moving story written and directed by Paul Greengrass, reuniting for the first time with his star from their 2013 Best Picture nominee Captain Phillips.

Five years after the end of the Civil War, Captain Jefferson Kyle Kidd (Hanks), a veteran of three wars, now moves from town to town as a non-fiction storyteller, sharing the news of presidents and queens, glorious feuds, devastating catastrophes, and gripping adventures from the far reaches of the globe.

In the plains of Texas, he crosses paths with Johanna (Helena Zengel, System Crasher), a 10-year-old taken in by the Kiowa people six years earlier and raised as one of their own. Johanna, hostile to a world she’s never experienced, is being returned to her biological aunt and uncle against her will.

Kidd agrees to deliver the child where the law says she belongs. As they travel hundreds of miles into the unforgiving wilderness, the two will face tremendous challenges of both human and natural forces as they search for a place that either can call home.

triniangie

Postby triniangie » October 26th, 2020, 1:26 pm

sMASH wrote:

Loved it!