Coffee drinkers

dogg

Re: Coffee drinkers

Postby dogg » November 3rd, 2020, 11:12 am

carluva wrote:Nothing is wrong with that...

What kind of instant coffee have you stocked up on?
dogg wrote:I'm sure this would be blasphemy in this exclusive thread, but over the last few weeks there's been a LOT of sales on instant coffee. In quite a few different stores.

I stocked up and now have at least a couple year's worth!

Usual suspects
Folgers
Nescafe
pricesmart's house brand

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » November 3rd, 2020, 12:04 pm

starbucks via instants are strong and premium, too bad you have 2 order these not availablw here yet!

Tar Baby

Postby Tar Baby » November 4th, 2020, 10:37 pm

Removed
Last edited by Tar Baby on April 17th, 2022, 6:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby teems1 » December 22nd, 2020, 12:05 pm

Anyone ever brought in descaling solution for coffee makers via Skybox? Also is there someone who brings it in locally or a decent alternative?

I know Nespresso and Keurigs machines eventually need to descale.

It is basically citric acid which is used to descale the heating element in coffee makers.

https://www.amazon.com/DeLonghi-EcoDecalk-Eco-Friendly-Universal-Descaling/dp/B008YETL18

Postby adnj » December 22nd, 2020, 2:09 pm

teems1 wrote:Anyone ever brought in descaling solution for coffee makers via Skybox? Also is there someone who brings it in locally or a decent alternative?

It is basically citric acid which is used to descale the heating element in coffee makers.

https://www.amazon.com/DeLonghi-EcoDecalk-Eco-Friendly-Universal-Descaling/dp/B008YETL18

Anything that heats water will likely need to be treated for calcium scaling in time.

You hit on citric acid as one weak acid that is widely used. Dilute white vinegar is another.

Postby pugboy » December 22nd, 2020, 4:55 pm

Yeah noir guy does his own roasting/tasting

Likewise full bloom by oval has a good coffee too.

Tar Baby wrote:
Skanky wrote:For those who appreciate good coffee you should try the coffee lab at Bisou cafe Auzonville road in Tunapuna. The coffee is phenomenal!

If you like it black try the Long Black, no sugar.
You're welcome!

Bisou and Noir have arguably some of the best food and coffee in the country. Someone took me there pre lockdown and it was 10/10

Postby pugboy » December 22nd, 2020, 4:56 pm

I have a pack of cleancaf you can have as I don’t use espresso machine again.

teems1 wrote:Anyone ever brought in descaling solution for coffee makers via Skybox? Also is there someone who brings it in locally or a decent alternative?

unimatrix-001

Postby unimatrix-001 » December 23rd, 2020, 3:08 pm

Filter your water (using britta or similar) before using in a coffee machine...will never need to descale...and tastes better!

Postby teems1 » December 23rd, 2020, 3:17 pm

unimatrix-001 wrote:Filter your water (using britta or similar) before using in a coffee machine...will never need to descale...and tastes better!

I use Blue Waters in my DeLonghi Dedica which has a blinking descale light.

I think it's a simple counter tied to a usages. Basically once you use the machine a number of times the light comes on.

Postby adnj » December 23rd, 2020, 7:58 pm

teems1 wrote:
unimatrix-001 wrote:Filter your water (using britta or similar) before using in a coffee machine...will never need to descale...and tastes better!

I use Blue Waters in my DeLonghi Dedica which has a blinking descale light.

I think it's a simple counter tied to a usages. Basically once you use the machine a number of times the light comes on.
I use one ounce of white vinegar to 16 ounces of water. Heat to a boil and wipe down the outside with a cloth dampened with straight vinegar. Let it cool, rinse and let dry.

I used bottled water in a French press for years. You will still eventually get scaling even from bottled or purified water. Some bottlers add minerals after purification to improve the taste.

Obi-Wan

Postby Obi-Wan » December 23rd, 2020, 8:05 pm

Anybody notice Hong Wing packs no longer says Trinidad coffee and it tastes milder and weaker now?

Postby pugboy » December 23rd, 2020, 8:12 pm

it was never local coffee
they use brazilian sourced beans

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » December 23rd, 2020, 9:50 pm

Obi-Wan wrote:Anybody notice Hong Wing packs no longer says Trinidad coffee and it tastes milder and weaker now?

Hong wing is over roasted robusta Brazilian coffee, it's not bad but it is what it is. They have an Arabica line as well.

Postby Rovin » December 28th, 2020, 6:57 pm

Nikki Crosby
I know I was bad in Maths eh. But like customs take the cake. My sis sent me a bag of coffee (2lbs) she bought on sale for $10US. She sent it for me via FedEx. Customs and excise valued the contents @$100US.. Paid $420tt to clear . Sometimes Trinidad don't make No sense

https://www.facebook.com/photo?fbid=102 ... 6544537812

Postby Chimera » February 3rd, 2021, 10:16 pm

looking to buy a coffee machine for a coffee lover...

now i dont really drink coffee so me eh know what to look for

but i know she likes tasty coffee along the lines of french vanilla /hazelnut flavoured stuff

i was thinking them kcups thing that u just put the pod and press a button....

any ideas where i can get that locally?

carluva

Postby carluva » February 3rd, 2021, 10:21 pm

The k cups are used with a Keurig machine. I am not sure who sells them locally.

If you do get one of those machines, do not waste time with the k cups. They are expensive and really not all that great tasting. Better to get a k cup adapter and then grind your own coffee or buy pre ground coffee for use...

... However, if you goin through all that trouble to brew ground coffee, just but a quality coffee maker of espresso machine that can do single cup servings.

Postby Habit7 » February 3rd, 2021, 10:53 pm

I have one of these, it does K cups or brews ground coffee.
https://www.dwellingstrinidad.com/shop/ ... ffee#attr=

Postby Chimera » February 3rd, 2021, 11:38 pm

what yuh think about something like this?

Sboly Single Serve Coffee Maker & Milk Frother, Coffee Brewer for K-Cup and Ground Coffee, Cappuccino Machine and Latte Maker Bundle
Visit the Sboly Store
4.4 out of 5 stars 1,024 ratings
Price: $79.99 & FREE Returns
Coupon
Save an extra $10.00 when you apply this coupon. Details

Postby pugboy » February 4th, 2021, 4:57 am

lots of those kcup machines on the market
she will need the ground coffee, either she buys whole bean and you buy her a good grinder too
or buy preground which is not so good as the freshness goes within days.

however if you buy beans from fullbloom coffeeshop they can grind them for you so at least you have a locally ground supply rather than imported dont know how old beans.

PBZ Wingroad

Postby PBZ Wingroad » February 4th, 2021, 5:39 pm

Any Luwak coffee drinker here? I bought this in Indonesia a lil while ago. The coffee beans are digested by this small animal called the luwak and then sterilized etc.

Postby K74T » February 4th, 2021, 5:42 pm

FB_IMG_1611786993441.jpeg

Anyone had this?

Postby pugboy » February 4th, 2021, 7:58 pm

had this a while back, it was horrible
could also be because the beans the person had might have been old.
supposed to be very expensive

best coffee i have had so far is still blue mountain

PBZ Wingroad wrote:Any Luwak coffee drinker here? I bought this in Indonesia a lil while ago. The coffee beans are digested by this small animal called the luwak and then sterilized etc.

Postby Chimera » February 7th, 2021, 1:56 pm

i still eh know what to buy

any one knows where locally i can go look for a machine tomorrow? otherwise tomorrow is my last day to order on amazon for it to reach before vday

Postby eliteauto » February 7th, 2021, 2:04 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:i still eh know what to buy

any one knows where locally i can go look for a machine tomorrow? otherwise tomorrow is my last day to order on amazon for it to reach before vday

https://www.dwellingstrinidad.com/shop? ... fee&order=

https://thomasandsonstt.com/index.php?r ... ption=true

viedcht

Postby viedcht » February 8th, 2021, 6:29 pm

Looks interesting.... Hopefully it not disappointing like the Colombian Nescafé. Office got that, and I went and buy a gold blend, fuss it was weak
K74T wrote:
FB_IMG_1611786993441.jpeg

Anyone had this?

Postby K74T » February 8th, 2021, 8:10 pm

I bought one last week at JTA, only comes in the 200g size. Hoping it's good yes, haven't opened it as yet, still finishing up some Gold and Dolce. Agreed that the Colombian blend was disappointing.

PBZ Wingroad

Postby PBZ Wingroad » February 11th, 2021, 7:17 pm

pugboy wrote:had this a while back, it was horrible
could also be because the beans the person had might have been old.
supposed to be very expensive

best coffee i have had so far is still blue mountain

PBZ Wingroad wrote:Any Luwak coffee drinker here? I bought this in Indonesia a lil while ago. The coffee beans are digested by this small animal called the luwak and then sterilized etc.

Yeah it’s not great tasting. I think it’s just a overhyped novelty product. The beans before digested by the animal actually taste much betters.

Postby pugboy » February 11th, 2021, 7:32 pm

At the end of the day, a good brew relies on a number of variables
Good quality beans
Proper roast
Freshness
Proper grind
Proper technique

A mediocre to good quality roasted bean used under the right conditions will Trump any big shot named beans.
I had visited Italy and France and you won’t find a bad coffee there, yet they are using mass produced locally roasted beans with good technique by the baristas

GLANIMAL

Postby GLANIMAL » February 12th, 2021, 4:03 pm

pugboy wrote:At the end of the day, a good brew relies on a number of variables
Good quality beans
Proper roast
Freshness
Proper grind
Proper technique

A mediocre to good quality roasted bean used under the right conditions will Trump any big shot named beans.
I had visited Italy and France and you won’t find a bad coffee there, yet they are using mass produced locally roasted beans with good technique by the baristas

So u came here to say u have been to Italy and France....lolol..jkn

You are correct......gr8 technique is always needed and better the beans..better the coffee..u missing one thing as well..proper brew temp and pressure..proper milk temp as well...These days im on the cold brew train....back to working hard for a coffee as I had a semi auto with separate grinder b4....hardly use my fully automatic machine anymore

Postby teems1 » February 12th, 2021, 4:19 pm

Last November I was able to buy both the DeLonghi Dedica Espresso Machine and DeLonghi Dedica Grinder from Standards on a red tag sale. 50% off.

Paid $1700 for both, when the usual price would have been $3400.

They are considered beginner machines and grinder in the coffee world though. There are prosumer machines which can go for 3000+ USD.