What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Re: What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Postby nervewrecker » August 5th, 2018, 8:46 pm

bluefete wrote:How come those inverter units do not cut off automatically and then come back on?
They do when there is no heat load or ambient temp matches set temp.

Inverter units are vrf types. They vary compressor speed and therefore refrigerant flow to match heat load and maintain the temp.
Others run full flow, reach set point and come back on with a one degree C differential.
Inverters come on at full rpm and throttle down as heat load drops. They monitor comp rpm, ambient temp, condenser coil temp, indoor room return air temp and evaporator coil temp.
Its also why you dont check pressures in it. Pressures vary.

Postby bluefete » August 5th, 2018, 8:48 pm

Thanks Nerve.

That means it have serious heat loads on mine. I have never seen it cut off and come back on.

Postby RedVEVO » August 5th, 2018, 8:53 pm

rspann wrote:Nerve, if you had a large house to do with some of the rooms towards the middle ,what would you do seeing that the piping and the draining might be difficult? Think central might be better?
When you say central, you mean ducted or multi split?
Ducting my itself is an issue wrt service.
Multi split is same piping and drain line bizness..

Peake units are not the problem, its the poohar service guys they have. Did a job for a guy and he was telling me peake does the units at work. Said what my service entails is not what thier own is.
In addition it may not be the service men. May be the install men that leave no slack on the drain line to take out the drain pan. Pita to put it back in proper. Met many just rest on..

Our Church has about 5 Peakes Units ( 5 Ton ) and they also leak badly .

There is lots of condensation (water) on the front , then it drips .

Peakes service charge is $300 per unit - every 3-4 months.

Postby rspann » August 5th, 2018, 8:56 pm

I will have to get advice because I don't know which way to go. If I put the units outside the building, some lines might be as long as 30ft.and it will have to pass through the ceiling so I'm worried about condensation on the lines damaging the ceiling.

Postby nervewrecker » August 5th, 2018, 9:01 pm

bluefete wrote:Thanks Nerve.

That means it have serious heat loads on mine. I have never seen it cut off and come back on.
Depends on the set temp as well.
Mine is all kinda 28 degrees so it dont come on most nights.
During the day it runs.
They will quicker cut off during the night.
Advantage is they pull less current.

Postby nervewrecker » August 5th, 2018, 9:03 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
rspann wrote:Nerve, if you had a large house to do with some of the rooms towards the middle ,what would you do seeing that the piping and the draining might be difficult? Think central might be better?
When you say central, you mean ducted or multi split?
Ducting my itself is an issue wrt service.
Multi split is same piping and drain line bizness..

Peake units are not the problem, its the poohar service guys they have. Did a job for a guy and he was telling me peake does the units at work. Said what my service entails is not what thier own is.
In addition it may not be the service men. May be the install men that leave no slack on the drain line to take out the drain pan. Pita to put it back in proper. Met many just rest on..

Our Church has about 5 Peakes Units ( 5 Ton ) and they also leak badly .

There is lots of condensation (water) on the front , then it drips .

Peakes service charge is $300 per unit - every 3-4 months.
That cant be right.
5 tonne is like $600.00 and up.
Usually when there is condensation there the temp is set low and fan speed set low.

I did some work for samlalsingh in marabella with an assoicate recently. They bawl..
Behind the coils does have to clean too. Had big junks of stuff coming out. Since that they freezing.

Postby RedVEVO » August 5th, 2018, 9:04 pm

During the day it runs.

Also you should get the 3 Phase not Single .
You will save $$$.

Postby nervewrecker » August 5th, 2018, 9:07 pm

rspann wrote:I will have to get advice because I don't know which way to go. If I put the units outside the building, some lines might be as long as 30ft.and it will have to pass through the ceiling so I'm worried about condensation on the lines damaging the ceiling.
I have done an in install like that for a spa. They didnt want any lines showing. All passed in the ceiling, all properly insulated. As long as they are not exposed to air for water vapour to condensate on them, no issues.
30 feet may be a bit of a stretch. Condensers cant go high up on the wall? I have scaffolding.
Extra lines cost more so its something to consider. It can be done with all the condensers close together so when time to service is one climb..
If you want you can have me do a site visit and advice you accordingly.

Postby nervewrecker » August 5th, 2018, 9:08 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

During the day it runs.

Also you should get the 3 Phase not Single .
You will save $$$.

Edited so fly by night techs cant read and act like they know chit

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 6th, 2018, 1:21 pm

something I noticed about these new units and my padner said the same thing about he Daikin, the temp sensor seems to be badly inaccurate compared to older units.

25 on my Delta feels like 21 on my old unit. My old Frigidaire was way better at operating at accurate temps.

Postby nervewrecker » August 6th, 2018, 1:36 pm

Like I said, weak..

Bet you never said that about a gree, lennox or Daikin.
Donno what your pander saying about the daikin. Maybe he get a break line and bleed install so the coils coated with wax.

Same reason why I say call someone else the split second they start to ask for $2200.00 install.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 6th, 2018, 3:59 pm

^ So its likely not a thing with newer units being designed inferior but more of a poorly installed unit?

And yeah my padner from freeport his Daikin operates just like my Delta, inaccurate temp control. But in his case his Daikin break down in 1 year. I not sure who installed it for him or how much he paid for that but it was likely those fly by night techs.

Postby nervewrecker » August 6th, 2018, 5:52 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ So its likely not a thing with newer units being designed inferior but more of a poorly installed unit?

And yeah my padner from freeport his Daikin operates just like my Delta, inaccurate temp control. But in his case his Daikin break down in 1 year. I not sure who installed it for him or how much he paid for that but it was likely those fly by night techs.
See, I was dead on..

Within a year oil turn to acid and start to eat the copper.
No warranty on that install. No sir

Postby Chimera » August 6th, 2018, 6:06 pm

nerve can a AC condenser be put indoors?

like high up on a wall in a room that isn't used much that has ventilation blocks?

Postby nervewrecker » August 6th, 2018, 6:22 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:nerve can a AC condenser be put indoors?

like high up on a wall in a room that isn't used much that has ventilation blocks?
I am iffy about it..
Depends on the cold box temp and ambient temp in the room.
Not recommended though but I have seen it done, kinda..
If the whole wall is ventilation blocks, yea.

Postby rspann » August 6th, 2018, 6:33 pm

Some AC men are real frauds too. Don't know anything about the work except how to charge. I know one who use to fix AC fridge and washing machine. The son take over ,same thing only robbing people. They don't have a clue about the theory neither the practical.

Postby Chimera » August 6th, 2018, 8:44 pm

I need a ac done but the problem is the location where to put compressor

Postby nervewrecker » August 7th, 2018, 1:11 pm

And the thing is, men like that are household names. Meanwhile people like me still have to build a reputation :(

Surgeon, an install is not limited to the 10 feet run. There is some flexibility wrt install. There must be somewhere to put that condenser

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » August 7th, 2018, 3:05 pm

Looking for recommendations to supply/install/service a multi-split system. Anybody could refer reliable company?

Checked Peake already, looking for alternatives as well.

Postby nervewrecker » August 7th, 2018, 3:22 pm

Multi split as in the inverter type?

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » August 7th, 2018, 3:40 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Multi split as in the inverter type?

Yes

Postby RedVEVO » August 7th, 2018, 4:48 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:I need a ac done but the problem is the location where to put compressor

Phoney why you cannot put it "back to back" ?

It's going to be cheaper.

Postby nervewrecker » August 7th, 2018, 5:22 pm

DF1_2nR wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Multi split as in the inverter type?

Yes
I not really doing installs these days or I would have done it (if I had the time) and warranty might not cover if my install guy do it..

I can ask around who might be able to do such an install.

Postby K74T » August 7th, 2018, 7:11 pm

DF1_2nR wrote:Looking for recommendations to supply/install/service a multi-split system. Anybody could refer reliable company?

Could try Comfort Cooling Ltd

Postby RedVEVO » August 7th, 2018, 7:29 pm

K74T wrote:
DF1_2nR wrote:Looking for recommendations to supply/install/service a multi-split system. Anybody could refer reliable company?

Could try Comfort Cooling Ltd

No .. :!: :!:

Postby Chimera » August 7th, 2018, 9:08 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:I need a ac done but the problem is the location where to put compressor

Phoney why you cannot put it "back to back" ?

It's going to be cheaper.

the room is in the middle of a building

so back to back would end up with the condenser inside another room.....

Postby nervewrecker » August 7th, 2018, 10:57 pm

Can run the pipes through and through the rooms or in the ceiling.

But the drain lines is an issue. If it has a kitchen sink or bathroom the line can be routed into the drain.

sinnaz25

Postby sinnaz25 » August 7th, 2018, 11:02 pm

Check darren a/c he might b able to help u out 758-1166

Postby Chimera » August 7th, 2018, 11:03 pm

when yuh cud come and give me a quote nerve?

near st marys junction

Postby nervewrecker » August 7th, 2018, 11:16 pm

I actually very busy these days.

Handling a set of ice machines for a company right now. They were poorly maintained.

Inbox me a number and I will give you a call tomorrow when I get some free time.
St marys moruga btw?

Will post a pic of my hole drilling skills soon.