Re: Local Car Industry History WTK

Postby K74T » August 20th, 2020, 7:53 pm

FB_IMG_1597966229148.jpeg

Does anyone know what this is?

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 20th, 2020, 8:16 pm

Almost looks like one of them Rural Transport bus UNC brought in but PAX is too old for that.

Postby zoom rader » August 20th, 2020, 8:27 pm

Our stupid laws does not allow for locally assemble cars.

You can't even build a Trailer.
Last edited by zoom rader on August 20th, 2020, 8:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 20th, 2020, 8:37 pm

Yeah was surprised to hear about that trailer thing recently.

rebound

Postby rebound » August 20th, 2020, 8:52 pm

Yup but, if you go abroad and build the same trailer and ship it back to Trinidad, they would register it....LO has no auto engineers/experts or fundamentally, common sense.....

rebound

Postby rebound » August 20th, 2020, 8:53 pm

Yup, just because they stupid, they feel everyone else is also
zoom rader wrote:Our stupid laws does not allow for locally assemble cars.

hindian

Local Car Industry History WTK

Postby hindian » August 20th, 2020, 10:04 pm

K74T wrote:
FB_IMG_1597966229148.jpeg

Does anyone know what this is?
Most likely that's an Iveco bus I think. It had one of them in green band maxi trim when I was going to school in PoS.
Last edited by hindian on August 20th, 2020, 10:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » August 20th, 2020, 10:12 pm

rebound wrote:Yup, just because they stupid, they feel everyone else is also

I said our laws in this case

Political wise the public are idiots and guilable

Postby Monk BANzai » August 22nd, 2020, 2:25 am

Dave wrote:Lovely. Had a friend used to be vehicle inspection. He said whenever a crown was in black it was for someone important.

Nice we was important lol.....at one time the family was a Toyota Shop.
PAU 276*. Our Royal Saloon. Black with the plush velvet seats. Pops Daily.
PAW 130*. White Cressida (X70). Velvet interior. Moms daily.
PAW 37*1. White Short wheelbase Land Cruiser with aftermarket American Racing wheels on them (J70). - $1500 in gas a month back in the late 80's. That bloody thing was greedy but powerful....level grunt. One of the first in the country.

All had American Racing Wheels on them that Amar brought in and fitted before delivery. (they kept the original wheels)

*doh go and spend allyuh money checking CC's now eh....#JimWatts

used to hang around when they brought in the 87c/88c Race cars (blew both engines not long after they brought them in and was forever to be used as visual props) and got to "steer" one before it ended up in the Car and Boat Display at Expo88.

Fun times with the Toyota brand.

Postby bluefete » August 22nd, 2020, 2:48 am

Once N&M stopped doing that in the 1980's no one else could ever get a chance.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 22nd, 2020, 4:36 am

it have a slimey bald head man in the bamboo that made he millions under bas when people used to bring car without engine and then pay a $75 when they put in the engine instead of the thousands in taxes. now he sell BBQ.

Postby zoom rader » August 22nd, 2020, 8:51 am

bluefete wrote:

Once N&M stopped doing that in the 1980's no one else could ever get a chance.
No , that was not the reason

It was because people brought cars in halfs and welded them up to advoid paying the duties.

Big boys complained and it got banned

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » August 22nd, 2020, 10:08 am

daring dragoon wrote:it have a slimey bald head man in the bamboo that made he millions under bas when people used to bring car without engine and then pay a $75 when they put in the engine instead of the thousands in taxes. now he sell BBQ.

Clown, nobody want to hear your biography. Shut your ass nah.

Postby Monk BANzai » August 22nd, 2020, 12:40 pm

daring dragoon wrote:it have a slimey bald head man in the bamboo that made he millions under bas when people used to bring car without engine and then pay a $75 when they put in the engine instead of the thousands in taxes. now he sell BBQ.

Same fella who issa law upon himself and got land from the Gubment for religious purposes but does host jiff events on same said land?

yeah...ah know he. lol

Postby Dave » August 22nd, 2020, 1:11 pm

Same man who mouth can't stay quiet for nothing and knows everything?

abducted

Postby abducted » August 22nd, 2020, 1:57 pm

Same man who using religion, to get free land to run his own business, while bullying other businesses

Postby K74T » August 23rd, 2020, 3:54 pm

FB_IMG_1598212203816.jpeg

Postby zoom rader » August 23rd, 2020, 4:17 pm

K74T wrote:
FB_IMG_1598212203816.jpeg
Dems days I was making $300 a week .

A speeding ticket was $150

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 24th, 2020, 8:48 pm

K74T wrote:Bumping an old thread. All images courtesy The Amar Group.

Crown/Royal Saloon Limousine conversion done by Amar

Watch the beginning.

(this vid was in caribbean sound basin, owned by AMAR)

Postby K74T » August 24th, 2020, 9:59 pm

Yeah saw that a while back. Recently a video of CSB was uploaded. Check it out.

Limo here as well

Postby K74T » August 24th, 2020, 10:10 pm

And this is the limo from the videos as of last year:

FB_IMG_1572382049659.jpeg
FB_IMG_1572382051903.jpeg
FB_IMG_1572382047487.jpeg

Postby eliteauto » August 24th, 2020, 10:20 pm

When CSB was built it was considered one of the best recording studios in the western hemisphere if not the world, the Toyota Soarer in the vid is now in condition similar to the limo

Postby K74T » August 25th, 2020, 9:04 am

Monk BANzai wrote:Old School via the Rotting Proxy.

[img]https://images2.imgbox.com/b2/48/euSNSmQ7_o.jpg[/img]
[img]https://images2.imgbox.com/a4/d0/17ykUtQq_o.jpg[/img]
[img]https://images2.imgbox.com/b5/74/lftakQMl_o.jpg[/img]
[img]https://images2.imgbox.com/81/01/GQY3YWEt_o.jpg[/img]
[img]https://images2.imgbox.com/46/16/UlQUgVyK_o.jpg[/img]
[img]https://images2.imgbox.com/92/a1/QbsCPQ12_o.jpg[/img]

Postby Dave » August 25th, 2020, 9:21 am

Allyuh hurting me.
Elite, the soarer really no better off?
Hate to ask for pics.

Postby pugboy » August 25th, 2020, 9:24 am

at least they using fresh coconut branches

Postby Rovin » August 25th, 2020, 12:07 pm

wowww how ppl let that go to that condition is a shame ...

Postby eliteauto » August 25th, 2020, 1:38 pm

Dave wrote:Allyuh hurting me.
Hate to ask for pics.

Yeah there were 2, both unlicensed, left to rot, sadly there were another 2 that were licensed and they even worse off, always loved that model sometimes I think about a Cressida number plate :lol: :lol:
Amar's:
soarer2.jpg

Postby K74T » August 25th, 2020, 1:54 pm

20200825_135312.jpeg

D plates

Postby Dave » August 25th, 2020, 2:09 pm

You and I go way back but I know you have no respect to tell me and show me these things!

I am sorry, for me, pre 1995 in Japan, 99% of those automobiles were awesome!
eliteauto wrote:
Dave wrote:Allyuh hurting me.
Hate to ask for pics.

Yeah there were 2, both unlicensed, left to rot, sadly there were another 2 that were licensed and they even worse off, always loved that model sometimes I think about a Cressida number plate
Amar's:

Postby K74T » September 9th, 2020, 5:50 am

FB_IMG_1599644885562.jpeg