North coast freshwater rivers/streams.

kjaglal76v2

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby kjaglal76v2 » February 18th, 2016, 7:04 pm

meccalli wrote:
kjaglal76v2 wrote:where to catch crayfish, with traps

anywhere specific on a map? hadda go thru plenty bush?

Postby meccalli » February 18th, 2016, 9:20 pm

I've never done it myself but that's the geographic range and habitat for the greatest concentration of them in Trinidad. The people up there poison streams to catch them.

Postby SMc » February 19th, 2016, 12:10 am

meccalli wrote:I've never done it myself but that's the geographic range and habitat for the greatest concentration of them in Trinidad. The people up there poison streams to catch them.

Yes that is a problem but only really see it NE parts, thay use chlorine/bleach tablets to do it and mostly from Balandra up to Mission (especially Rampanalgas :x ) after that its not so prevalent...fucknuts

kjaglal76v2 wrote:
meccalli wrote:

anywhere specific on a map? hadda go thru plenty bush?

Not always, but as meccalli said in the more accessible areas the more likely it will be a hit or miss situation. Regarding traps, they in my experience are useless unless you willing to put out one for each largish crayfish you want to catch as unlike the US or UK Signals (which is likely what you are are probably thinking of) seem to be more territorial and so you may only catch one per pond/pool.

Local crayfish themselves don't have plenty meat but if you do want to catch them the best way is either with a coceyea (sp) lasso or by using a torchlight to light up the eyes and then scoop them up with your hands...it taste better that way and it keeps the numbers at a more sustainable level. BTW you will need to get wet.l

gameking

Postby gameking » February 19th, 2016, 1:30 pm

Do you need a pass or something to go in CG to catch fish on the jetty :/ really wanna go there!

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » February 19th, 2016, 8:18 pm

Any river stream Along Northern Range
Check Cumaca River , Brasso Seco PAria , shark River , grand rivere and any small steam along the coast from Toco to Matelot.
River in Damien Bay use to have about 10 years ago also

People on Toco usually say that you need to wait until rainy season to catch them close to the coast since they get wash down ( not sure if true or false

Catching with trap is a lot of hard work though considering you have to go to a far location set your traps and leave it overnight which is when they come out to feed .

Best method is to walk the river with a light and 3 prong spear .

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 20th, 2016, 12:50 am

BlueIce wrote:
ryan99tt wrote:Didnt do much fishing over d carnival weekend...more lime an relax but did ah lil 30mins fishing for kings...got one 17lb fish...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

30 mins and you GT yea

water was gd for ah short time...daz gd bait for some shark in d grand...

altec

Postby altec » February 20th, 2016, 12:35 pm

Need some info on fishing off the toco lighthouse rocks. I and some friends who are all novices in fishing will be going to toco next Saturday to do some rock/beach fishing. So...
What is best sinking, floating?
Live bait or lures?
High or low tide/doesn't really matter?
Some would be using hand casters can these work there?
Are there other spots in the area more friendly to novices, beach perhaps?

Thanks for any help offered.

bumpie

Postby bumpie » February 20th, 2016, 5:38 pm

2016-02-20 17.18.52.jpg
The attachment 2016-02-20 14.48.44.jpg is no longer available

went out solo ,st peters bay by militery museum.

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » February 21st, 2016, 9:21 pm

altec wrote:Need some info on fishing off the toco lighthouse rocks. I and some friends who are all novices in fishing will be going to toco next Saturday to do some rock/beach fishing. So...
What is best sinking, floating?
Live bait or lures?
High or low tide/doesn't really matter?
Some would be using hand casters can these work there?
Are there other spots in the area more friendly to novices, beach perhaps?

Thanks for any help offered.

My opinion; not the best location for novices; is you are speaking about the big rock on the left hand side of the light house for two reason:
1) only people who had luck at the location used lures and it took some technique
2) if you are lucky and catch something big it can be very dangerous to bring it up if you don't know what you are doing. you will need to climb down the rock and pull up your fish very close to the water. Other method i have seen used in a youtube video is speargun.

A good location for a novice is Balandra on the next side to the bay. Pass the fishing depot and climb over the small incline to the next side of the beach. Fish close to the rocks.

Postby dougla_boy » February 22nd, 2016, 2:16 pm

question, yall have a list of boat men yall use to hit a fishing trip? i usually use a guy called Jason with a boat name Sharky from Yacht Club, but i find he could be a bit lazy sometimes, he tell we he doh do a la vie, because u does real catch yuh ass, and he rather he go banking in some spots name George and Excalaber, and to be real, does find is catch ass sometimes jed, and is the same fish all the time.....so i dunno if allyuh wanna put boat men numbers and whatnot

Postby dougla_boy » February 24th, 2016, 11:04 am

no help for any boat man jed? goar bai

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » February 24th, 2016, 1:48 pm

dougla_boy wrote:no help for any boat man jed? goar bai

Search thread for Nello ( lil pricey).

Postby timelapse » February 24th, 2016, 3:48 pm

Ah finally ketch someting. Went Salybia with the family and caught a small pompano and a big sea crab.Wife caught a small pompano and a sardine

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » February 24th, 2016, 4:52 pm

went Scotland bay on Saturday evening into Sunday morning. Fished in front of Teteron as well. Caught about 45 reds and a couple bachin. The reds were a mix between walliack and deep sea, normal size no monsters. Weather was nice but Scotland was freezing cold.
Saw a lot of boats heading back in from the wahoo tournament. Freddie has bait penned up in Scotland, that is a good sign so early in the season.

drop ho

Postby drop ho » February 25th, 2016, 8:15 am

he selling bait orrr?

drop ho

Postby drop ho » February 25th, 2016, 8:18 am

he selling bait orrr?

Postby dougla_boy » February 25th, 2016, 10:58 am

yeah, he sells live bait....

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » February 25th, 2016, 11:41 am

yeah Freddie is the no 1 live bait man down in the West, all them a-la-vive men does from him.

Postby dougla_boy » February 25th, 2016, 12:41 pm

Hyperion wrote:yeah Freddie is the no 1 live bait man down in the West, all them a-la-vive men does from him.

yup! thats the man for live bait, brethren have his number to collect live bait and put down ah order 8-)

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » February 25th, 2016, 3:28 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1456428297.466933.jpg
Enough to make any fisherman smile

proton17

Postby proton17 » February 25th, 2016, 3:53 pm

Carnival Tuesday after lunch it had seaweed in manzan, not too much but enough dat it was frustrating and had to eventually stop, water was clean and nice and had mullet running in d surf.

Anyone know if in manzan it still hv dis seaweed....

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » February 25th, 2016, 4:33 pm

:drinking:
Last edited by BlueIce on February 25th, 2016, 4:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » February 25th, 2016, 4:37 pm

:D :D :D
Last edited by BlueIce on February 25th, 2016, 4:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » February 25th, 2016, 4:37 pm

^^ for real, they does fry nice too

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » February 25th, 2016, 5:19 pm

Was down Mayaro and Manzanilla last week and i did not notice any seaweed.

proton17

Postby proton17 » February 25th, 2016, 7:08 pm

It wasn't apparent until I was actually in the water, then realise it floating around like almost just under the surface.

I thought water looked like no seaweed until I went in and cast lines too.

Postby meccalli » February 25th, 2016, 8:00 pm

Yeah went balandra for carnival and was the same deal, blue water but unfishable with the weed, it alsowasn't sargassum either, was some fine strand algae that was tough like 10lb braid lol, spent 10 mins to get the clump off. Had to go up on a point to get past the surf and into clean water, albeit extremely rocky.

Postby gastly369 » February 25th, 2016, 8:49 pm

BlueIce wrote:

Have a cast net bro?

Ever see when they come in to feed .. When it have we does get buckets full in 10 mins ..share out to ppl and had real fry dry after..best was red sardine fry dry <3

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » February 26th, 2016, 9:09 am

gastly369 wrote:
BlueIce wrote:

Have a cast net bro?

Ever see when they come in to feed .. When it have we does get buckets full in 10 mins ..share out to ppl and had real fry dry after..best was red sardine fry dry <3

Yup , but sometimes its quicker to just pass scotland and get when we going out.