.:::.WTK: DERMATOLOGIST.:::.

Postby De Dragon » September 8th, 2009, 1:35 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:there's somebody down couva side that petrotrin used but I can't remember the name right now.
Gloria Maharaj by Camden Villas. And the visits start at $200 I believe.

Re:

Postby nervewrecker » January 13th, 2011, 11:47 am

evo_chic wrote:i used to work @ dr. basanta's for a while.. he's an excellent dermatologist and most local entertainers used to visit there...

Here's ALL the call card info: :lol:

Morgan Basanta Jr.
M.B.B.S., Dip. DERM. (Longd.) DIP. VEN. (Lond.) F.A.A.D. (USA)
DERMATOLOGIST (Disease of the Skin, Hair & Nails)

#44 Eastern Main Road, St. Augustine - 645-SKIN
#56 Irving Street, San Fernando - Ph: 653-SKIN Fax: 653-NAIL

(If yuh in de sister isle)

Main Street, Scarborough - 639-5055

Hope this helps..

thanks. :oops:

Re: .:::.WTK: DERMATOLOGIST.:::.

Postby nervewrecker » January 13th, 2011, 11:48 am

anyone went there recently? he still good?

how the prices reading?

TallRasta

Postby TallRasta » March 23rd, 2011, 8:21 am

...............................................................................................................
Last edited by TallRasta on March 23rd, 2011, 12:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » March 23rd, 2011, 9:03 am

thanks for the review, I ended up going by Mr Basanta. Only later on I found out quite a bit of people I know ent there too & said they got sorted out whne they gave up hope & thought no one else could.
truth be told I am happy with my results so far.

good to have a review about another dermatologist up in hurr & lets hope this thread dosent turn into a 'who better' argement thread.

I also agree, Trinidad really have some damn good looking women. :P

evo_chic

Postby evo_chic » March 27th, 2011, 1:20 am

cool, glad it worked out well nervewrecker :)

Postby Gem_in_i » March 27th, 2011, 7:24 am

Does Dr. Basanta still prescribe Accutane?

evo_chic

Postby evo_chic » March 31st, 2011, 7:49 pm

Roaccutane? the $20 pill for acne, no kfc, no gel, hair grease, oily food on d whole for some months?

nah, idk.. call him up.

mimi007

Re:

Postby mimi007 » March 31st, 2011, 9:40 pm

Oleander wrote:Has anyone else or anyone you know of gone to Dr. Khamedaye B. Maharaj?
Were you/they satisfied with the treatment?

went to her when i was younger! she's the best...and as someone asked yes they refer to her as kim or kimmy also

evo_chic

Postby evo_chic » April 4th, 2011, 1:30 am

^^ I think she's also one of the best Derms also.

CS3A_GLX

Postby CS3A_GLX » May 5th, 2011, 2:42 pm

what about bacne? minor small bumps on shoulder and back? any recc for those?

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » May 5th, 2011, 2:53 pm

WDMC alyuh doh know bout baydin

stacey99

Postby stacey99 » August 18th, 2011, 10:50 am

Hi does any1 kno a contact # for Khemdaye Maharaj? Tkss!!

Postby Stephon. » August 18th, 2011, 11:33 am

I remember that name, I think they either did work for the Peter Elias or west port models at some point in time. What area? Valsayn? If it's the same person I could get a number for u later tonight.

stacey99

Postby stacey99 » August 19th, 2011, 9:15 am

okie tkss mucho :)

stacey99

Postby stacey99 » August 19th, 2011, 9:22 am

don't kno where she's located....heard good reviews from this chat so wanted 2 make an appointment with her...once i get a contact # tho....

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 19th, 2011, 4:59 pm

stacey99 wrote:don't kno where she's located....heard good reviews from this chat so wanted 2 make an appointment with her...once i get a contact # tho....

Check page 1 of this thread for the information you require.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » July 27th, 2012, 2:56 pm

has anyone heard of Marilyn Suite?

TiffyEddy

Postby TiffyEddy » November 7th, 2012, 6:49 pm

Yip Dr. Marilyn Suite.. Broad Certified Dermatologist, who looks @ your skin for about 2 seconds & prescribes OTC meds & charges you $300...

I'm now with Dr. Arkal

new_gran_fella

Postby new_gran_fella » April 16th, 2014, 3:16 pm

My wife went to Dr. Basanta for what appeared to be Lota. He confirmed that it was Lota as well as Seborrheic Dermatitis just by looking at it (didn't recommend doing a test or anything), gave her a bunch of advice about what to eat, a bunch of creams, pills, and facial washes (which of course cost alot of $$$), and told her it should go away in a couple of months. Didn't help one bit, so I came here to get other recommendations.

From what I've read, I think I may give "kimmy" a try. I'll update a.s.a.p

Postby Kenjo » April 16th, 2014, 5:38 pm

^^^^^^ but how long did your wife try the advice and medication for?

Postby javishm » April 18th, 2014, 11:53 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:Does Dr. Basanta still prescribe Accutane?

Only in severe cases and if need be. But 99% of the times he doesn't. Too risky

Dr Khem. Maharaj is a waste of time

Dr Kumari is better IMO

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » April 19th, 2014, 9:04 am

javishm wrote:
Gem_in_i wrote:Does Dr. Basanta still prescribe Accutane?

Only in severe cases and if need be. But 99% of the times he doesn't. Too risky

Dr Khem. Maharaj is a waste of time

Dr Kumari is better IMO

new_gran_fella

Postby new_gran_fella » April 19th, 2014, 11:37 am

Kenjo wrote:^^^^^^ but how long did your wife try the advice and medication for?

He prescribed Nizoral tablets for a month I believe, along with the Nizoral cream. Didn't work. One pharmacist where I live saw it and said that Nizoral wouldn't work, and that she should try terbisil. She even said that two back to back courses of Terbisil would most likely have to be used. Another friend of mine said she had the same thing and Nizoral did nothing for her, and that two courses of Terbisil cleared it up alot. So my wife did one course of Terbisil but it didn't help. She is reluctant to do the second course (and rightly so) without getting checked out by another Doctor. And this is where we're at. Should we go back to Basanta or try someone new is what we're wondering.

new_gran_fella

Postby new_gran_fella » April 19th, 2014, 11:41 am

Basanta's visit was $500 when we went, last year. Saw someone posted $300 but that was I guess a few years back

Postby Kenjo » April 19th, 2014, 11:49 am

Problem with dermatology is that it basically is Matter of recognition of the commonest things , if she has a fungal infection the terbisil is stronger than nizoral and those infections take weeks to months to clear up for sure.so that is why it is such a difficult call because it takes so long to see results.it won't hurt to get a second opinion but they will probably go through the same plan of action

Postby Kenjo » April 19th, 2014, 11:50 am

Oh and ask them for generic terbisil / lamisil because it will work just as well as the brand name

new_gran_fella

Postby new_gran_fella » April 19th, 2014, 11:55 am

Yea that's true! It's not something you can see results with overnight. Everyone who has seen it was surely said it was Tinea Versicolor causing the white patches. Hmm, she probably should have just continued with the Nizoral until it cleared up.

Will keep updating

new_gran_fella

Postby new_gran_fella » April 19th, 2014, 11:57 am

And I think too if Basanta wasn't sure, he would have taken the skin sample. But he was so sure it was Lotah. He said diet had alot to do with it too- no ketchup, orchard, all that stuff. She watched her diet but as I said, maybe it needed more time to work!

Postby Ted_v2 » April 19th, 2014, 12:06 pm

Anyone ever got treatment for a type of skin that keeps cracking/peeling?