Tortilla_Man

Re: The guitar string (thread)

Postby Tortilla_Man » March 31st, 2020, 11:43 am

Miktay wrote:
Tortilla_Man wrote:
Miktay wrote:The Indonesian made strats and teles aren’t bad.

And the production quality iza hellofalot better than newer Gibson’s

Some [not all] chinese guitars nowadays are good too, copies though not the forgery ones. They making stringed instruments by hand for thousands of years yet people think they can't do it with a factory and a cnc machine lol.

I buy a strat copy last year with 'chord' on the headstock in all black, black hardware with orange tribal art, it literally weigh next to nothing yet it loud, versatile and tuners tight, never goes off-tune. I use it as my main guitar now.

What brand?

It just have "chord" written on the headstock so i guess that is the (unofficial) brand. It just came in an unmarked triangular cardboard box. I posted about it in another random forum and a guy told me the copies around since the 90's but that new 'Glarry' guitar brand is a copy of mine.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » March 31st, 2020, 1:10 pm

I bought a bass guitar last year. Hoping to use lockdown to learn. I feel my strings need changing though. It's a used guitar

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » March 31st, 2020, 1:34 pm

Kinda strange but boil your strings to give it some extra life , i used to do that with my guitar strings back in the day. I bought a cheap bass last year , bass is so fun.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » March 31st, 2020, 1:45 pm

Recommend some good links or sites to learn bass guitar? My guitar is a dean evo bass

https://www.deanguitars.com/query?upc=819998005856

Postby meccalli » March 31st, 2020, 3:29 pm

The first song I learnt on guitar was seven nation army, playing the bass riff. Taught me how to fret strings properly to start and also taught me how to read tabs. Guitar pro was a real lifesaver later down the road trying to learn complex pieces. Youtube and Ultimate Guitar.com is your best friend.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » April 2nd, 2020, 4:07 pm

Hey guys playing with the guitar almost a year now,wish I had done this sooner,but it's a lot of fun especially with the lockdown

Postby MG Man » April 2nd, 2020, 7:06 pm

loaned a buddy mih bass....country lockdown now :(
Nothing to do but watch Davie504

Postby shogun » April 2nd, 2020, 9:30 pm

^Bonx yuh head.

If I have a spare, then maybe. You never know when inspiration will take you.

Postby MG Man » April 2nd, 2020, 9:55 pm

shogun wrote:^Bonx yuh head.

If I have a spare, then maybe. You never know when inspiration will take you.

been meaning to buy an acoustic bass but procrastination rules my life

Postby shogun » April 2nd, 2020, 11:55 pm

The procrastination might be deserved. A decent one kinda pricey.

Postby MG Man » April 3rd, 2020, 10:39 am

shogun wrote:The procrastination might be deserved. A decent one kinda pricey.

yup
Samash used to have a decent Dean for $150
Now for that price all you can get is a mini, and a full body is now well over 200 :(

Postby maj. tom » April 3rd, 2020, 10:41 am

Go R&S in Sando and pay 2 to 3 times the actual value... before tax.

Postby MG Man » April 3rd, 2020, 9:19 pm

maj. tom wrote:Go R&S in Sando and pay 2 to 3 times the actual value... before tax.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » April 3rd, 2020, 10:15 pm

I vex.. bass not working now. I don't know what's wrong with it if it's the jack or the cord or the y splitter smh

Postby shogun » April 3rd, 2020, 11:07 pm

^Man, the jack shorted out on my guitar a couple weeks back. Swear it was the amp at first. Thank goodness I had a couple of spare connectors around to cut/splice the old cord and install the new ones.

MicroSMD Lab

Postby MicroSMD Lab » May 13th, 2020, 8:46 am

Anyone knows where I can get a #6 steel string for an acoustic guitar today in the Chaguanas area?
Last edited by MicroSMD Lab on May 13th, 2020, 3:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby maj. tom » May 13th, 2020, 10:57 am

Place in mid center mall Sasu... If they open. Other than that, not in Chaguanas.
There's R&S in sando. If they open.

MicroSMD Lab

Postby MicroSMD Lab » May 13th, 2020, 11:39 am

WOW..... not much music shops in Chaguanas! Montrose Electronics has some too but they have not been open since the lockdown.

Postby Les Bain » May 13th, 2020, 2:23 pm

MicroSMD Lab wrote:Anyone knows where I can get a #6 steel string acoustic guitar today in the Chaguanas area?

#6 steel string? That a typo?

Postby maj. tom » May 13th, 2020, 2:46 pm

He means a regular 6-string acoustic guitar, steel string, not nylon.
btw, don't... just don't buy those cheap Chinese guitars you see in an electronics store. This means Radio Shack too! I wouldn't even call them guitars, they're just pieces of ill, dull plywood. And they're stringed with steel, but they're meant to be nylon. You'll think that all guitars are crap like that and never want to play again. The action will be terrible, awful bent warped neck with no truss rod, a disgusting unfixable buzzing sound, cheap plastic nut with no resonance... etc., you will lose all your motivation.

Buy the best you can afford from a real music store at the moment if you really want to play guitar. Bro if you can afford a starter Gibson Les Paul for $1000 USD, go for that instead.

Postby Les Bain » May 13th, 2020, 3:03 pm

Ah, cool.
I remember being curious about a DetourTech acoustic some years ago, a Rollins....couldn't find a review anywhere
I really wanted unplugged freedom for practice so i compromised and bought a tiny Danelectro amp instead. Battery powered and has a belt clip if you aim to be a busker.

Lewwe know if you eventually GT, Microlab.

MicroSMD Lab

Postby MicroSMD Lab » May 13th, 2020, 3:21 pm

Oops! I should have been more specific. I'm looking for the #6 string for an acoustic steel string guitar.... not the guitar...

Postby maj. tom » May 13th, 2020, 3:25 pm

oh lol. well same applies. Music store. But i would change all the strings at once though. And use only 1 brand for all.

Postby Les Bain » May 13th, 2020, 4:17 pm

MicroSMD Lab wrote:Oops! I should have been more specific. I'm looking for the #6 string for an acoustic steel string guitar.... not the guitar...

Yeah, you better off buying a full set. Watch a video on restringing though. In my rookie times I broke a lot of high e strings (the thinnest ones) thinking they were to be put on first and tuned first. Basically, the order is to put them on from thick to thin at first without tuning. As for the tuning, same order. A video would explain better, but I haven't snapped a string since.

Postby MG Man » May 13th, 2020, 6:28 pm

Ripped open my thumb. No bass practice for a while

Postby maj. tom » May 13th, 2020, 8:02 pm

Postby meccalli » May 13th, 2020, 8:28 pm

MG Man wrote:Ripped open my thumb. No bass practice for a while

Tough luck. Practice going good on my end, getting a chance to relearn some old tunes. Ul'd this last week.

Postby MG Man » May 13th, 2020, 10:38 pm

sweet

Postby MG Man » May 16th, 2020, 10:49 pm

maj. tom wrote:Image

if only it were that impressive

Postby MG Man » May 16th, 2020, 10:53 pm

Created and produced by a friend of mine. The guitars are all his playing. Everything else he did on his computer
Just for context, this is a guy with 20 plus years of rheumatoid arthritis, fused wrists, maligned fingers and a life of constant pain
Been playing for most of his life