The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » July 20th, 2008, 7:07 pm

i update to 2.0 with the pwnagetool and it works and the phone works...
DO IT....

xtech

Postby xtech » July 20th, 2008, 7:38 pm

well it not so easy when u running on windows

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 20th, 2008, 8:41 pm

PwnageTool 2.0.1
http://blog.iphone-dev.org/post/4293130 ... tool-2-0-1

PwnageTool 2.0.1

Well, the response was overwhelming. :) The downloads brought down several of our servers, and some of them have yet to recover!

It seems that some people have been having problems with our initial release, so we have PwnageTool 2.0.1 for you. It addresses the following issues:

* It auto-finds the bl39 and bl46 files better, if they’re on your computer
* It creates the ~/Library/iTunes/Device Support/ folder if not present, which should help with some 1600 errors people have been having.
* Many people have reported the PwnageTool not starting up at all (the icon never stops bouncing). This issue should be resolved now.
* The Sparkle AppCast URL is fixed in this version, so automatic updates should work for future releases.

Because of the AppCast URL fix, we recommend that everyone who downloaded PwnageTool 2.0 get this version, if they want to stay up to date automatically.

N.B: if PwnageTool 2.0 pwned your phone correctly the first time, you do not need to pwn again with 2.0.1.

The file can be found on _BigBoss_’s repository, or at our friends at Hackint0sh. If you choose to download it from other mirrors, you may want to verify that the SHA1 of the file is 10b6c7dc22286e7b70c3d5a92cda7d117426fda9.

Download:
http://thebigboss.org/repofiles/nonrepo ... _2.0.1.zip
http://www.hackint0sh.org/forum/mirror/ ... _2.0.1.zip

N.B. Still Mac OS X only though :(

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 20th, 2008, 9:31 pm

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/mAoX1SJLxEw&hl=en" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Unlocking my iPhone with PWNAGE Tool 2.0 - Video

Everything works great, Phone calls, SMS, EMail, YouTube, AppStore, iTunes Sync etc. Only problem is that I either need to patch my Caller Id (AppSupport for Trinidad & Tobago) or edit all my numbers to include +1(868), but with Cydia on there, this should be available for download and install soon or I or someone will create the needed .plist and you can install it over OpenSSH.

Highly recommended upgrade if you can live without Installer. Very Very easy software to use. This version of PWNED is the easiest jailbreak/activation/unlock Tool yet.

Thanks to the entire Dev Team and everyone that made this possible:

asap18, bgm, Bugout, bushing, c1de0x, chris, dinopio, drudge, Fred_, ghost_000, gray, iZsh, jim–, kroo, MuscleNerd, netkas, np101137, penisbird, planetbeing, pr3d4t0r, pumpkin, pytey, roxfan, sam, saurik, Turbo, w___, wizdaz, Zf

Thanks to iClarified for creating such great user friendly tutorials. Thank you all, thanks to all those not mentioned that made this possible.

check my site for files and more info: http://mytriniphone.com/blog/2008/07/un ... ge-tool-2/

ParanoidPig

need some advice.......

Postby ParanoidPig » July 20th, 2008, 11:16 pm

I'll be going Miami next 2 months and wanted to know if i can buy an iphone 3G $199 without getting it activated on At&T.
I mean just walk in an Apple store and buy it and unlock it in Trinidad............

SRASC

Re: need some advice.......

Postby SRASC » July 20th, 2008, 11:29 pm

ParanoidPig wrote:I'll be going Miami next 2 months and wanted to know if i can buy an iphone 3G $199 without getting it activated on At&T.
I mean just walk in an Apple store and buy it and unlock it in Trinidad............

No unfortunately. All actiavtions of iPhone 3Gs bought in the US from either a AT&T or Apple store requires that you activate on AT&T before leaving the store...which also means that their 2 yr contract is also put in place as well.

If you want out though you'll have to wait 30 days (because they will take the phone back before that amount of time has passed), pay the early termination fee, & you end up with it.

Basically its like this:
$199-$299 - iPhone 8GB-16GB
$36 - Activation Fee
$70 - Minimum Deposit
(wait 30 days)
$175 - Early Termination Fee
$480-$580 - Total

Postby tr1ad » July 21st, 2008, 11:30 am

RS200,

so how it workin out now?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 21st, 2008, 11:33 am

really good, nothing wrong or any crashed apps or anything...

shivanand beat me to the caller ID fix

Hey Aaron, long time no hear from. Just wanted to contribute a little to your site. I patched the appropriate files for Caller ID to work in Trini for iPhone 2.0. For those who want to install it, follow the steps below.

Step 1: Install OpenSSH from Cydia
Step 2: Restart iPhone
Step 3: Use winscp to connect to the iPhone Username:root Password:alpine
Step 4: Download this file http://www.mediafire.com/?e9evgtceuec
Step 5: Replace

/System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/AppSupport.framework/PhoneNumberTemplates.plist
/System/Library/Frameworks/UIKit.framework/PhoneFormats/UIPhoneFormats.plist

with files from ZIP

Step 6: Restart iPhone
Step 7: Enjoy!

Hit me up when you get a chance.

Shivanand

Freelander

Postby Freelander » July 21st, 2008, 11:45 am

i started having probs with twinkle today :S

would load then just crash imma try reinstalling now

Postby tr1ad » July 21st, 2008, 11:46 am

nice nice

sorry for being a noob

but on ur site i am seeing the unlock / jailbreak for mac...anything for windows?
and how come installer doenst work?

xtech

Postby xtech » July 21st, 2008, 11:47 am

it possible from windows but it alot harder

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 21st, 2008, 11:54 am

installer need to be rebuilt for the file system of 2.0

(like trying to get windows 95 apps to run on vista)

no PWNAGE Tool for windows

you can get a PWNED 2.0 firmware ipsw from a mac user, then install boot neuter with installer, neuter your baseband, then put your iphone into DFU, and restore with the custom built 2.0 firmware with itunes on your pc

it works..

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 21st, 2008, 7:58 pm

Add Trinidad and Tobago to your iPhone Address Book on 2.0

http://mytriniphone.com/blog/2008/07/ad ... h-address/

Advil
Location: searching for an avatar that will not offend the idiots

Postby Advil » July 21st, 2008, 11:59 pm

RS200, u have the new iphones yet?

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » July 22nd, 2008, 12:01 am

advil ur glitched ... no one can see ur post dont make sense posting lol

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » July 22nd, 2008, 12:05 am

let meh help yuh out dey padna
Advil wrote:PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 11:59 pm Post subject:

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 22nd, 2008, 2:07 pm

Get Your Computer Online Using Your iPhone's Data Connection:
http://lifehacker.com/398961/get-your-c ... connection

1. Jailbreak your iPhone 3G (or first gen iPhone running the 2.0 software). Install OpenSSH via Cydia.

2. Create an ad-hoc network on your computer. On Macs, just click on the Wi-Fi icon in the menubar and select "Create Network." On Windows, set up internet connection sharing.

3. Join the iPhone to this network via Wi-Fi as usual.

4. On the iPhone, under Settings->Wi-Fi, select the network you have joined to view connection details. Write down its IP address.

5. From the Mac's Terminal, run the following command:
ssh -ND 9999 root@IPHONE_IPADDR
but replace IPHONE_IPADDR with the IP you wrote down in step 4. Login. The default root password is alpine; you should really login normally over SSH and change this.

Windows users: the free SSH client Putty will allow you to accomplish this same step. Don't install Cygwin+OpenSSH as some suggest, that's massive overkill.

6. Configure your browser to use a SOCKS5 proxy server at localhost:9999. Here's more on setting up a SOCKS proxy in Firefox; Adam did it on his Mac in Safari.

7. Surf. I've successfully done web browsing and IRC, anything that supports SOCKS4/5 should work. Haven't yet had success with my Citrix client :(

For the curious: The iPhone is joining your Wi-Fi network, but with no internet access on this network it falls back to using 3G for outgoing packets. ssh -ND creates a local proxy server that relays packets from the loopback address on your pc to the iPhone, which dutifully proxies them out the cellular connection.

Browsing is surprisingly fast, 3G really shows its potential here. It's zippier than doing it directly on the iphone, which I put down to rendering delay.

A more ideal solution of course would be to get the iPhone showing up as a regular access point. I see no reason why this wouldn't be possible, and will be doing some research myself, mostly observing what Unix processes handle this on desktop OS X, and see if they can be compiled from source for the iPhone. In the meantime, the steps to accomplish this are not bad and will definitely serve in a pinch.

Check article for appropriate links

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 22nd, 2008, 2:29 pm

Midnight_Demon wrote:let meh help yuh out dey padna

sorry i will NOT be selling the iPhone 3G

i will service, hardware and software repairs, but NO sales of iPhone 3G

they are next to impossible to get and once you get them without contracts etc the cost it way more than most people willing to spend.

seems more headache than anything

I will have one for my personal use/testing soon though :D

Postby tr1ad » July 22nd, 2008, 2:36 pm

now i need dat 2.0 upgrade more than eva to teather to my laptop

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » July 22nd, 2008, 4:07 pm

RS200 wrote:
Midnight_Demon wrote:let meh help yuh out dey padna

sorry i will NOT be selling the iPhone 3G

selling the old one???

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 22nd, 2008, 5:05 pm

no sorry, i will be keeping my original week 38 iphone for testing alongside my 8gb touch, my old week 42 iphone tester currently has a mix matched baseband/bootloader and no touch screen response etc.. (a real pickle to fix and i am swamped and lazy)

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 22nd, 2008, 5:08 pm

tr1ad wrote:now i need dat 2.0 upgrade more than eva to teather to my laptop

http://mytriniphone.com/blog/2008/07/un ... in-itunes/

jsut find a 2.0 custom restore ipsw (made on a mac with pwnage tool 2.0) and dfu restore you iphone in itunes 7.7 and you'll be unlocked on 2.0 in about 10 mins.

you dont need to use/download pwnage

check the torrents for 2.0 custom ipsw

Postby tr1ad » July 22nd, 2008, 5:43 pm

ima have to read ur blog more

I have no idea wha u just say rs200 lol :lol:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 22nd, 2008, 6:50 pm

RS200 wrote:
tr1ad wrote:now i need dat 2.0 upgrade more than eva to teather to my laptop

http://mytriniphone.com/blog/2008/07/un ... in-itunes/

jsut find a 2.0 custom restore ipsw (made on a mac with pwnage tool 2.0) and dfu restore you iphone in itunes 7.7 and you'll be unlocked on 2.0 in about 10 mins.

you dont need to use/download pwnage

check the torrents for 2.0 custom ipsw

have u tested this method as yet?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 23rd, 2008, 1:34 pm

yes on my touch - should/would be same on iphone, many users have testified to this on hackint0sh on the link in the post...

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 23rd, 2008, 2:15 pm

tried it yesterday but was only getting a 1600 error in itunes...

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 23rd, 2008, 2:21 pm

were you in DFU or REstore mode, there is a big difference, this must be done in DFU (hold power and home for 10 secs, then let go pwoer, keep holding home, itunes will prompt to restore, hold shift/alt and click restore, find the ipsw)

and make sure you got a 2.0 Custome firmware for the first gen iPhone (iPhone1,1_2.0_5A347_Custom_Restore and NOT iPhone1,2_2.0_5A347_Custom_Restore)

the iPhone1,2 is for 3G and will give errors

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 23rd, 2008, 2:36 pm

^was using DFU mode yesterday.

just tried it again (itunes 7.7) WITHOUT putting it in DFU mode and it worked like a charm!

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 23rd, 2008, 2:47 pm

hahaah

well there ya go, i am very very happy that it worked my friend :)

ON another NOTE!!!

I have 6 of these XSIM that spoof (trick-unlock) the iPhone 3G into working world wide on any sim card :lol:

http://www.hackint0sh.org/forum/showthread.php?t=46010

WHO IS GOING TO HELP ME GET A IPHONE 3G FOR REAL THIS TIME??

I GIVING YA 2 X-SIM CARDS FOR FREE JUST FOR SELLING ME THE IPHONE 3G

Postby tr1ad » July 23rd, 2008, 2:50 pm

ok fellas

allyuh gimme a lil help nah

which file to dl an use on meh laptop ( windows )

AN STOP USIN D TECH JARGON!!!!! :lol: