Mountain Biking

Rockram

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby Rockram » September 30th, 2019, 9:37 am

TurboSingh12 wrote:Heard the ride was nice.They got some rain too cool down also.

Personally I enjoyed last year's route more.

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » September 30th, 2019, 9:43 am

When is the next ride?

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 30th, 2019, 11:35 am

Ride was nice. That rain was a tease tho. Soaked me down and then the sun came back with a vengence. Hate riding with soggy shoes :x

Last year was more bush and more hills. Guess they made it a little easier.

The next big ride is in 2 weeks or so. T
The pride of paria. Not CSCC, but another club. It's 100k from paria suites and makes a huge loop through point and the southern peninsula. Lots of hillclimbs. Never did it, but I don't have the time for that whole day ride on that Sunday.

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » September 30th, 2019, 12:21 pm

richiepooh wrote:When is the next ride?

On the 13th October from Paria Suit from 7am

Postby ismithx » September 30th, 2019, 3:16 pm

Ride was nice man. I cap out in grande because my thighs started to cramp, that's the first time in my life I've had a muscle cramp. That was like 65/80km.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 30th, 2019, 8:52 pm

ismithx wrote:Ride was nice man. I cap out in grande because my thighs started to cramp, that's the first time in my life I've had a muscle cramp. That was like 65/80km.

Well done! dsi you'll finish next time :)

Postby ismithx » October 1st, 2019, 6:15 am

Thanks! Waterloo to grande is actually a long distance even if you driving if you study it

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » October 1st, 2019, 6:54 am

ismithx wrote:Ride was nice man. I cap out in grande because my thighs started to cramp, that's the first time in my life I've had a muscle cramp. That was like 65/80km.

Saw in a video someone fell off his bike catching cramps.Was that you?

Postby ismithx » October 1st, 2019, 7:09 am

TurboSingh12 wrote:

Saw in a video someone fell off his bike catching cramps.Was that you?

Nah that was someone else, I was still able to get off gracefully before I ran out of steam

Postby Redman » October 1st, 2019, 7:27 am

I have nothing but respect for allyuh fellas.
Allyuhismadmantho :D :D

Postby De Dragon » October 3rd, 2019, 3:40 pm

Redman wrote:I have nothing but respect for allyuh fellas.

Maybe if you trained a bit more, you too could be "mad" too?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 5th, 2019, 3:42 am

Mount St Catherine. A true mountain stage
Screenshot_20191005-033917.jpeg
Screenshot_20191005-033840.jpeg

Postby Redman » October 5th, 2019, 10:48 am

Im making my way back to 20k a day Im at 15 -thats mad enough for now

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 5th, 2019, 10:52 am

Redman wrote:

Little by little bro.
Don't let ego or other people's opinions drive you. Push yourself and have fun.

That's why I mostly ride solo. Few exceptions. I enjoy my own company more than the dick measuring contest that seems to happen with most groups

Postby Redman » October 5th, 2019, 11:04 am

Thx man,

Im into the kettlebells - that is the priority this year-Im trying to own the 88.
The riding keeps the cardio in play and breaks the monotony

Postby De Dragon » October 6th, 2019, 3:06 am

Redman wrote:

Miles, or km's?

Postby Redman » October 6th, 2019, 9:07 am

Aiming for 20Km.

Postby De Dragon » October 6th, 2019, 9:44 pm

Redman wrote:Aiming for 20Km.

That's not bad IF you're riding everyday.

Postby Redman » October 7th, 2019, 9:15 am

Not everyday yet- but getting there

originalbling

Postby originalbling » October 7th, 2019, 10:18 am

A small TTO team took part in the Caribbean Championship of Mountain Bike in the Dominican Republic this weekend gone.

Small vid of part of one trail, this was in the Constanza Hills at an elevation of about 1,200m

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 7th, 2019, 10:34 am

originalbling wrote:A small TTO team took part in the Caribbean Championship of Mountain Bike in the Dominican Republic this weekend gone.

Small vid of part of one trail, this was in the Constanza Hills at an elevation of about 1,200m

Them folks have REALLLLL COJONES. Glad we had a contingent, how did team TTO do?

Postby zoom rader » October 7th, 2019, 2:09 pm

These are the photos from DR wirh the TT team
IMG-20191006-WA0003.jpeg
IMG-20191006-WA0009.jpeg
IMG-20191006-WA0008.jpeg
IMG-20191006-WA0007.jpeg
IMG-20191006-WA0006.jpeg
IMG-20191006-WA0005.jpeg
IMG-20191006-WA0011.jpeg
IMG-20191006-WA0010.jpeg
The attachment IMG-20191006-WA0001.jpeg is no longer available
The attachment IMG-20191006-WA0002.jpeg is no longer available
The attachment IMG-20191006-WA0009.jpeg is no longer available

Postby zoom rader » October 7th, 2019, 2:21 pm

Redman wrote:Not everyday yet- but getting there
You need to ride at least 5 days a week if you want to get fit.
Use small gears learn to spin 90+ rpm ,never push. Start by doing endurance base easy rides, don't ride to tire yourself.
You should ride where you can hold a conversation with another rider and not get out of breath.
Aim to ride around 1.5 hrs a day and on weekends do 1.5 to 2.5 hr rides.

In cycling you go by time and not by miles. Cause you made ride 12 miles in an hr today but as you get fit you can easily do 20 miles in one hour.

If you can ride 25 plus miles in an hour, see me cause you can win the national road 40km time trial title.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 7th, 2019, 4:06 pm

Use small gears learn to spin 90+ rpm ,never push. Start by doing endurance base easy rides, don't ride to tire yourself.
You should ride where you can hold a conversation with another rider and not get out of breath.

In cycling you go by time and not by miles. Cause you made ride 12 miles in an hr today but as you get fit you can easily do 20 miles in one hour.

If you can ride 25 plus miles in an hour, see me cause you can win the national road 40km time trial title.

Zoomie you're a cyclist?
well gawddamn.

Agreed. I used to average 15-17kph on rides, that crept up to 20-22, (MTB) now I'm floating between 26-29. (Gravelbike)
That's on endurance rides for 3.5-4.5 hrs
If I ever switch to a full blow roadbike with 26c tires, I feel I could maintain mid 30's.

So far my fastest over mostly flat terrain was 30km in 1 hour flat. That's a little road circuit down by me - waterloo to couva twice

Postby zoom rader » October 7th, 2019, 6:43 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Zoomie you're a cyclist?
well gawddamn.

Agreed. I used to average 15-17kph on rides, that crept up to 20-22, (MTB) now I'm floating between 26-29. (Gravelbike)
If I ever switch to a full blow roadbike with 26c tires, I feel I could maintain mid 30's.

So far my fastest over mostly flat terrain was 30km in 1 hour flat. That's a little road circuit down by me - waterloo to couva twice
At your stage you have enough muscular endurance in your legs. If you want to increase your speed then you got to do whats know as VO2 max workouts. Its intervals where you you ride hard for over 30secs followed by 30 sec rest for a number of efforts. Its hard and have various workouts you can do. Do two sessions of 10 twice a week. Over 4 weeks your speed will increase somewhat. A rest day is needed inbetween cause its very hard on the body to recover. Riding hard means doing max efforts, some cyclist vomit at the end of the work out which means they are hitting the effort with the right intensity.

You can do 30sec by 30 sec rest
Or 1min by 1 min rest.

For mountain bikers best to do 30 secs or 1min workouts.

Mountain bikers and bmx racers normally have some very high wattage values.

Was a well known racing cyclists for donkey years, won a couple national titles at road and track cycling. Did stage racing abroad. Been a qualified UCI cycling coach for years. Kinda dropped out of the cycling scene due to pass jobs and time.

I could write a book on cycling, dopping and power meters.

Postby Redman » October 7th, 2019, 7:42 pm

Thank you for the advice.
Except for the miles thing-I sticking to the metric system for now :)

The ultimate goal is 20k 3-4 times a week alternating days with the KBs and get that 20k in under the hr
On KB days I would like to do a short ride 30 min or so.

Postby zoom rader » October 7th, 2019, 7:57 pm

Redman wrote:

Thank you for the advice.
Except for the miles thing-I sticking to the metric system for now :)

The ultimate goal is 20k 3-4 times a week alternating days with the KBs and get that 20k in under the hr
On KB days I would like to do a short ride 30 min or so.
20km is about 12miles, just use a light gear and learn to spin. Let your cardiovascular system power your legs its easier on your body.

Do some long rides on the weekend, riding slow helps build new ways to fuel your leg muscles with oxygen.

Postby De Dragon » October 7th, 2019, 8:47 pm

I can only dream of riding daily :cry:

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 7th, 2019, 9:02 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Zoomie you're a cyclist?
well gawddamn.

At your stage you have enough muscular endurance in your legs. If you want to increase your speed then you got to do whats know as VO2 max workouts. Its intervals where you you ride hard for over 30secs followed by 30 sec rest for a number of efforts. Its hard and have various workouts you can do. Do two sessions of 10 twice a week. Over 4 weeks your speed will increase somewhat. A rest day is needed inbetween cause its very hard on the body to recover. Riding hard means doing max efforts, some cyclist vomit at the end of the work out which means they are hitting the effort with the right intensity.

Or 1min by 1 min rest.

Was a well known racing cyclists for donkey years, won a couple national titles at road and track cycling. Did stage racing abroad. Been a qualified UCI cycling coach for years. Kinda dropped out of the cycling scene due to pass jobs and time.

hossss
cool stuff :)
thnx for the advice. I'm an amateur but getting faster is addictive!

Postby zoom rader » October 7th, 2019, 11:37 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Zoomie you're a cyclist?
well gawddamn.

Or 1min by 1 min rest.

hossss
cool stuff :)
thnx for the advice. I'm an amateur but getting faster is addictive!
All the pros started off as amateurs.