Mountain Biking

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 26th, 2019, 10:40 am

First crash yesterday. At least at this level.

My own fault really. Was going round an 90deg s bend and took it wide to make room for a van. Hit some loose gravel at about 28-30 kph and wiped out.

Got up, made sure nothing was broken on me and the bike and finished my ride.

Helmets are pretty important. Head hit the road and the helmet took the brunt. Got some massive forehead bruising from it.

Also got a huge whiteman on my forearm, deep grated knuckles, slightly grazed knees and some road rash on my hip/quad. Bathtime was LOADS of fun. :/

Plus what appears to be a bruised ribcage.

I can't fathom crashing at high speeds like the pros nah. One little midspeed tumble and is ah that? Lolol. Not even deterred.

Bike is fine. I'm mostly good. Planning to saddle back up tomorrow. Wife strongly disagrees tho.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 26th, 2019, 2:16 pm

All that in it. You wear gloves?

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 26th, 2019, 9:33 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:All that in it. You wear gloves?

Yup, they got busted.

Helmet took a good crack. Didn't realize it until a buddy told me to inspect. The foam is cracked in a number of spots. Saved my noggin it did.

Grounded until I get a replacement, already ordered new gloves and MIPS helmet.
My plan to ride tomorrow busted. May take a little run instead. eh pound pavement in a month or so

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 26th, 2019, 10:04 pm

OUCH!!!!!!
Hope you recover soon

Postby De Dragon » October 27th, 2019, 11:21 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Yup, they got busted.

Helmet took a good crack. Didn't realize it until a buddy told me to inspect. The foam is cracked in a number of spots. Saved my noggin it did.

My plan to ride tomorrow busted. May take a little run instead. eh pound pavement in a month or so

:shock: Waays, I was going to vibes you after Divali to get some info on good areas to ride for fitness building (just got a road bike) as you seem to be from my area in Central. Like ah blight yuh! :lol:

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 27th, 2019, 8:11 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Yup, they got busted.

:shock: Waays, I was going to vibes you after Divali to get some info on good areas to ride for fitness building (just got a road bike) as you seem to be from my area in Central. Like ah blight yuh! :lol:

all that in it. wifey fuming, but once this meatbag heal up enough for me to saddle up, I'm game.
Vibes meh whenever you ready. I usually ride one or two evenings during the week (couva to waterloo twice) and weekend is cross country vibes.

Postby De Dragon » October 28th, 2019, 9:58 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Yup, they got busted.

all that in it. wifey fuming, but once this meatbag heal up enough for me to saddle up, I'm game.
Vibes meh whenever you ready. I usually ride one or two evenings during the week (couva to waterloo twice) and weekend is cross country vibes.

Nice, meh sarobai wants to start back as well. I just have to do some tweaking of the bike, change the pedals etc.

Postby pugboy » October 28th, 2019, 10:03 am

You lucky, if helmet cracked then imagine without a helmet.
A good fitting helmet with snug not loose strap is important.

You also lucky no shoulder injury, when your arm hits the deck the force is usually transferred to shoulder
And that is why collarbone and shoulder injuries are most common.

At higher speeds, 24mph+ impacts are harder.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 28th, 2019, 6:19 pm

pugboy wrote:You lucky, if helmet cracked then imagine without a helmet.
A good fitting helmet with snug not loose strap is important.

You also lucky no shoulder injury, when your arm hits the deck the force is usually transferred to shoulder
And that is why collarbone and shoulder injuries are most common.

At higher speeds, 24mph+ impacts are harder.
Can't endorse this helmet thing enough. To think as a teen, helmets were never around and falls were normal.

This is my first bike fall in 20 years, granted I've only started back 2.5 years ago. My first thought when I fell and I felt the impact on the road was THANK GOD FOR HELMET.

The one that saved my head was the free specialized align helmet I got when I bought my first bike from Mike's. Going back with another specialized helmet. Not because I'm a brand junkie, but because it worked. I have more faith in it now.

This new one has MIPS, and room for the Angi sensor. Not sure if I'll get the Angi yet tho.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 28th, 2019, 9:05 pm

Went Mt St Catherine chagaramas today again. I love rhat ride 8 km constant hill and no cars

Postby MG Man » October 29th, 2019, 7:50 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Plus what appears to be a bruised ribcage.

from my experience bruising ribs, do not take pain killers
After my chaguaramas fall, I was on pain meds for bruised ribs. After a week on the couch (pain to move, pain to breathe, pain to fart), I went back out to work as normal. A day layer, I was flat out again because I ended up aggravating the injury, becauase I figured I was ok.
The pain sucks but it gives a good indication of how you're healing, and what your limitations are

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 29th, 2019, 9:46 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Plus what appears to be a bruised ribcage.

from my experience bruising ribs, do not take pain killers
After my chaguaramas fall, I was on pain meds for bruised ribs. After a week on the couch (pain to move, pain to breathe, pain to fart), I went back out to work as normal. A day layer, I was flat out again because I ended up aggravating the injury, becauase I figured I was ok.
The pain sucks but it gives a good indication of how you're healing, and what your limitations are

Thnx bruh.
It's more of an painful annoyance than severe pain, but it's BALLS. Keep forgetting that I'm not a teenager with wolverine like healing anymore.

Apparently, you should not take ibuprofen for these types of injuries (advil, motrin etc)
Paracetamol (or acetaminophen) should be ok.

How long was your recovery?

Postby MG Man » October 29th, 2019, 10:50 am

had to take a week off from work to recover, mainly because I couldn't even drive
Then went back to work, frig up everything and was back home in pain again, so basically two weeks before I could drive properly
What helped was one of my cars is low to the ground and has super-soft power steering, so I was able too plop in to the car, and drive with my hands in my lap and thread the steering wheel back and forth by manipulating the lower half
But the longest and most painful part in the two years since, is people still post funny bike crash videos to my wall....I may never recover from that

Postby 16 cycles » October 29th, 2019, 1:25 pm

sun and leg sleeves help with uv protection and some sacrificial medium for the whitemen...

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 2nd, 2019, 11:25 am

Another mount st Catherine run highest point 1800 ft
Screenshot_20191102-112339.jpeg

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 2nd, 2019, 2:52 pm

Paria man, you joining the NCCR ride?
That looks up your alley!
https://centralspokescycleclub.redpodiu ... lenge-ride

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 2nd, 2019, 8:49 pm

Look good

Postby MG Man » November 19th, 2019, 10:10 am

any ah allyuh hail me out in chaguanas yesterday?

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » November 20th, 2019, 9:10 pm

MG Man wrote:any ah allyuh hail me out in chaguanas yesterday?

I hail out a fat man on a bike...not sure if was you, I was just encouraging him.

Postby MG Man » November 20th, 2019, 9:21 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:
MG Man wrote:any ah allyuh hail me out in chaguanas yesterday?

I hail out a fat man on a bike...not sure if was you, I was just encouraging him.

lol nah I was driving the MGF in traffic

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » November 20th, 2019, 9:23 pm

MGF in traffic = over heating .

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 20th, 2019, 10:04 pm

Report of a hit and run in Chaguanas on Sunday (main road/road cyclist): Moderately serious, biker recovering
Also a car hit a cyclist in Couva/Exchange road on Sunday. Minor spill.

Tis the season to WATCH YOUR 6.
BE careful roadies

Postby De Dragon » November 21st, 2019, 4:08 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Report of a hit and run in Chaguanas on Sunday (main road/road cyclist): Moderately serious, biker recovering

BE careful roadies

Sheit! One of my normal routes :x

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 21st, 2019, 4:54 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Report of a hit and run in Chaguanas on Sunday (main road/road cyclist): Moderately serious, biker recovering

BE careful roadies

Sheit! One of my normal routes :x

same here.
Just sharing so y'all can be extra careful in traffic

bgh

Postby bgh » December 29th, 2019, 6:36 pm

Couple new parts and a little TLC....
20191228_174205.jpeg
20191228_165840.jpeg
20191228_162820.jpeg
20191228_164122.jpeg
20191228_164146.jpeg

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 30th, 2019, 11:41 am

Nice!!!
I have to give my bike a good cleandown.
It's covered in grit from wet road riding.

Postby ismithx » December 30th, 2019, 12:52 pm

Nice! Overhauled the drivetrain on my trek 4300 this year myself and tuning the gears was a headache, good luck with that!

bgh

Postby bgh » December 30th, 2019, 6:33 pm

Tuning the gears was not hard this time around.
I will see how it performs after a couple rides.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 5th, 2020, 10:29 am

Cyclists quiet.
What y'all up to?

The central spokes Icacos ride is coming up on the 29th. Anyone else going?

Postby MG Man » March 5th, 2020, 1:31 pm

rode a lil 12k last month, just in the streets around my house. All the stop / start at junctions gives a nice lil burn...one day I'll get a vehicle that can hold a bike rack, and start back venturing out to trails etc