Mountain Biking

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 5th, 2020, 1:34 pm

MG Man wrote:rode a lil 12k last month, just in the streets around my house. All the stop / start at junctions gives a nice lil burn...one day I'll get a vehicle that can hold a bike rack, and start back venturing out to trails etc

central? Chaguanas or Couva?
plenty nice riding roads down there inno

Postby MG Man » March 5th, 2020, 2:28 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
MG Man wrote:rode a lil 12k last month, just in the streets around my house. All the stop / start at junctions gives a nice lil burn...one day I'll get a vehicle that can hold a bike rack, and start back venturing out to trails etc

tbqh I fraid I get lick dong....from my house, the first main road is a long stretch of SMR that sees every form of driving jackassery known to man

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » March 24th, 2020, 10:32 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Cyclists quiet.
What y'all up to?

The central spokes Icacos ride is coming up on the 29th. Anyone else going?

Is this ride still on?

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » March 24th, 2020, 10:34 am

PariaMan wrote:Another mount st Catherine run highest point 1800 ftScreenshot_20191102-112339.jpeg

very good time

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 24th, 2020, 7:58 pm

richiepooh wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:Cyclists quiet.
What y'all up to?

The central spokes Icacos ride is coming up on the 29th. Anyone else going?

Is this ride still on?

postponed until June. (and in good sense)

Doing my usual solo rides.

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » March 25th, 2020, 8:48 am

Vexxdogg what machine you riding?

you ride the trail in chag? i may know you.

I'm riding a Red Specialized Crave Hardtail 2014.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 25th, 2020, 9:35 pm

richiepooh wrote:Vexxdogg what machine you riding?

you ride the trail in chag? i may know you.

I'm riding a Red Specialized Crave Hardtail 2014.

I don't drive to ride :lol: , so unless we cross paths between Couva, Santa Rosa, Piarco, Chaguanas, Gran Couva etc, I doubt.

I make a big loop starting and ending home.

This be my machine. Specialized Diverge Gravel :)

Postby shogun » March 25th, 2020, 11:07 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

tbqh I fraid I get lick dong....from my house, the first main road is a long stretch of SMR that sees every form of driving jackassery known to man

Word.

For a while I used to take a chance and make a lil stretch on the bus route, when making the loop back to my house.... at night. Maybe a lil more than a quarter mile or so. In retrospect though that was fvckin' chupid.

Postby MG Man » March 26th, 2020, 9:12 am

yup, So for now I'll stick to my 14 km hourly ride inside my village. All dead end streets, so minimal risk

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 26th, 2020, 7:09 pm

So how this lockdown going to impact the lil inner village activities?

Postby MG Man » March 27th, 2020, 7:48 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:So how this lockdown going to impact the lil inner village activities?

well boy!
Church close since they said no big groups, so I can ride any evening I want. Used to be Monday, Wednesday, Friday evenings weren't practical becuause from 5 to 7 had cars coming in. Yesterday I did a nice breezy 12k in about an hour....my ride has a lot of stop and go because of the junctions, so lil extra push
WhatsApp Image 2020-03-27 at 7.50.34 AM.jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2020-03-27 at 7.50.35 AM.jpeg

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » March 29th, 2020, 1:00 am

Took a really nice ride from Richard Street in tacarigua that leads to a wicked downhill that ends on the road to victory heights

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 29th, 2020, 3:06 pm

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 29th, 2020, 3:13 pm

And Gary said something else. :/

Postby zoom rader » March 29th, 2020, 3:23 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:https://www.facebook.com/mns.tnt/photos/a.447296742016188/2854810851264753/?type=3&theater

91907334_2854810854598086_8187155982070054912_o.jpg
Cycling can be a solo or mass sport. Very rarely do I cycle in groups

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 29th, 2020, 5:01 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:https://www.facebook.com/mns.tnt/photos/a.447296742016188/2854810851264753/?type=3&theater

91907334_2854810854598086_8187155982070054912_o.jpg
Cycling can be a solo or mass sport. Very rarely do I cycle in groups

same here, I like rolling by myself.

It's hard to get people with same level of fitness as you. Eithe people holding you back, or you feel like you holding them back. I find too many stops tends to kill the vibe.

I don't mind a few group rides for the year, Central Spokes has some good stuff so I fall in the bigger events like Coast to coast, Icacos, and this year I wanna make the Arima to Blanchi run. Those rides I can't do solo purely from a logistics perpective.

Did a 100km this morn, wasn't pushing too hard because of some nagging lower back discomfort, still managed a decent average speed of 25.5kph

Maybe it's time to upgrade to padded shorts, these normal shorts are getting mighty uncomfortable after 3 hours.
https://www.strava.com/activities/3231505760

Postby pugboy » March 30th, 2020, 6:29 am

^^you good to not wear a proper cycling shorts for 3 hours, it is a world of difference in comfort.

I have not ridden outside in over a year, been using my indoor online zwift setup exclusively
so I am accustomed to this social distancing thing.

Did 3 hours yesterday, over 60 miles indoor, there were over 25k other riders at the same time.

Postby zoom rader » March 30th, 2020, 7:32 am

pugboy wrote:^^you good to not wear a proper cycling shorts for 3 hours, it is a world of difference in comfort.

I have not ridden outside in over a year, been using my indoor online zwift setup exclusively
so I am accustomed to this social distancing thing.

Did 3 hours yesterday, over 60 miles indoor, there were over 25k other riders at the same time.

Damm bro, 3 hrs is a killer

I hate home trainers its just boring for me . I can only do 20mins for me and that's it.

I just stick to riding outdoors but i only do 1hr rides doing 20 miles in 1hr @ 190 to 210 Watts, normally do it at 20mph .

I can hammer out 280 watts at threshold and I am sure I can win a Masters national TT easy.

Postby pugboy » March 31st, 2020, 9:52 am

daily workout

relax until lunchtime

78621260-1CCA-4142-B640-3C5045D70C2B.jpeg

F07F63AE-4EAE-47D4-9C77-592E42337E6E.jpeg
2EAD8D71-C457-4C4F-AC6C-5954C04DB608.jpeg

Postby pugboy » March 31st, 2020, 9:53 am

my pics somehow often upload upside down

Postby zoom rader » March 31st, 2020, 10:26 am

pugboy wrote:my pics somehow often upload upside down
Damm bro you doing good at 188watts.

Looks like your threshold around 240 to 260.

Looks like you riding a size 52cm frame?

Postby pugboy » March 31st, 2020, 10:29 am

nah that is 55
thold prob more like 230
not really interested in trying to get it much higher, just maintaining
and happy to be able to burn a quick 600cal easily.

Postby zoom rader » March 31st, 2020, 10:36 am

This my Rig, a 56cm Cinelli, full Campy 12 with Garmin power pedals and head unit.
20200331_093101.jpeg

Postby adnj » March 31st, 2020, 11:26 am

zoom rader wrote:This my Rig, a 56cm Cinelli, full Campy 12 with Garmin power pedals and head unit.
20200331_093101.jpeg
You seem to have a lot of bottled up anger for someone of such small stature.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 31st, 2020, 11:31 am

Nice setup. Wish I had a trainer for days like these steups

Postby pugboy » March 31st, 2020, 11:34 am

campy, nice

Postby zoom rader » March 31st, 2020, 11:35 am

adnj wrote:
zoom rader wrote:This my Rig, a 56cm Cinelli, full Campy 12 with Garmin power pedals and head unit.
20200331_093101.jpeg

You know nothing about cycling and are a dumb arse.

A proffesional racing cyclist will always ride a slighty smaller frame cause it's much easier to handle in a sprint situation. It is also lighter and stiffer on climbs .

The frame I have is what's called a compact frame. If you look at the seat hight you will see how much seat extension is used. The top tube is the most important factor when sizing a frame it is not the seat tube as that can be adjusted via the seat post .

A size 56cm compact is for guys will a hight of 5ft 8in to 6ft 2in. I am 6ft at 165lbw.

So stop being an ingorant arse and learn something about road bike sizing.

Postby adnj » March 31st, 2020, 12:25 pm

adnj wrote:
20200331_093101.jpeg

You know nothing about cycling and are a dumb arse.

A proffesional racing cyclist will always ride a slighty smaller frame cause it's much easier to handle in a sprint situation. It is also lighter and stiffer on climbs .

The frame I have is what's called a compact frame. If you look at the seat hight you will see how much seat extension is used. The top tube is the most important factor when sizing a frame it is not the seat tube as that can be adjusted via the seat post .

A size 56cm compact is for guys will a hight of 5ft 8in to 6ft 2in. I am 6ft at 165lbw.

So stop being an ingorant arse and learn something about road bike sizing.
As I said, small stature.

Edit: and a sh!tload of anger.
Last edited by adnj on March 31st, 2020, 12:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 16 cycles » March 31st, 2020, 12:31 pm

zoom rader wrote:This my Rig, a 56cm Cinelli, full Campy 12 with Garmin power pedals and head unit.20200331_093101.jpeg

who built the campy up for you?

Postby zoom rader » March 31st, 2020, 2:11 pm

16 cycles wrote:
zoom rader wrote:This my Rig, a 56cm Cinelli, full Campy 12 with Garmin power pedals and head unit.20200331_093101.jpeg

who built the campy up for you?
Bought the frame and a Campy 12 groupset using Ritchey stem, seat post and handel bar and Campy Zonda wheelset. Was built by myself and weights in at 16.5lbw it's not even a Carbon frame.