where do you buy work clothes?

Postby Team Loco » September 21st, 2007, 5:15 pm

2nr working men, where is the best deal for work clothes, soft pants shirts, casuals etc. Where do u all buy? I fed up with the generic stuff. Bradford? Francis fashions? Saw some ok stuff actually in pricesmart but I won't buy from there. Lemme hear

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 21st, 2007, 5:17 pm

bradford pants cool, van heusen shirts rock.

if you wanna get stuff done by an excellent tailor, check harry's in chase village (on the main road).
you in couva now, so a chase village run not all that far.

Postby De Dragon » September 21st, 2007, 5:37 pm

Detour/Francis/Bradford when I used to wear casual to work. I also used to order Dockers/CK/Levis from a pardner who used to go abroad fairly often

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » September 21st, 2007, 6:00 pm

buy it online

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » September 21st, 2007, 6:26 pm

If yuh looking for brands - and yuh have paper - Bluegrass, Michael's & Jody's in Gulf City, West Mall?

Postby De Dragon » September 21st, 2007, 6:30 pm

Tired Accord wrote:If yuh looking for brands - and yuh have paper - Bluegrass, Michael's & Jody's in Gulf City, West Mall?

Might as well buy online!

adri 2nr

Postby adri 2nr » September 21st, 2007, 7:14 pm

get a few pairs of dockers flat fronts

last a good while...i would say stay away from the blue...they tend to fade after a few washing

and francis fashions you can get a couple nice shirts veryyyyyyyyyyy resonable

Postby eliteauto » September 21st, 2007, 7:17 pm

All that Jazz- LCM and West Mall

Postby Team Loco » September 21st, 2007, 7:25 pm

Catwalk clothes does shrink boy

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » September 21st, 2007, 8:02 pm

chewps Dickies is teh best work brand out there.. grease ,oil i even see ah fella wearing it as casual ..

Postby X_Factor » September 21st, 2007, 8:19 pm

van heusen and Elite are decent..i doh see the point in wearing expensive stuff to work..unless its necessary

but issey miyake colonge on ne thing works!!

and another one to add to the list recently is Armani Mania

Postby X_Factor » September 21st, 2007, 9:01 pm

i hear francis fasions have off shore shirts sellin cheep for those who interested

JWT

Postby JWT » September 21st, 2007, 10:30 pm

fashion abode in san fernando next to the yatcht club

and as Corolla lover said All that Jazz

also if you want to save $$ fly it in

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 21st, 2007, 11:14 pm

JWT buys his work clothes in wonderful world.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » September 21st, 2007, 11:19 pm

^buh how somebody cud buy work clo........ ohhhhhhhhhhhh :shock: :shock:

Conrad

Postby Conrad » September 22nd, 2007, 2:51 am

Stephenson's gent store...decent casual, love the Van Husein and ties...in all, good quality stuff.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » September 22nd, 2007, 3:01 am

I guess while we on the topic - anyone knows where you can get Armani/Hugo Boss suits?

Postby equipped2ripp » September 22nd, 2007, 4:32 am

Terran

Postby Terran » September 22nd, 2007, 7:41 am

I shop at Francis Fashions, Detour, All That Jazz. They're in malls so I don't have to go downtown. Once a year - either Father's Day or for Christmas when they having a sale. All I really need is pants as my company provides uniforms, but the pants suck.

aR&D

Postby aR&D » September 22nd, 2007, 8:03 am

Team Loco, it is not so much where but what ... it was mentioned here already and i have to concur, that Van Heusen shirts and pants are of a better quality and durability and at an affordable price.

My question now is: where can plain, white cotton jerseys' (not vest) be bought. The type a gentleman would wear under his shirt for work. There are white jerseys available, but they are too short to properly tuck in and maintain a dressed appearance.

Postby Team Loco » September 22nd, 2007, 10:15 am

Oh, and I find down south have no good quality clothes. Thanks for the store name guys. Duane, how you know jwt buys his clothes in wonderful world?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 22nd, 2007, 11:15 am

^ he confessed under drunkeness - usual thing

aR&D, what you need to look for are under-tee's made by fruit of the loom and hanes. You get those in stores that sell FTL and Hanes gents underwear - they are longer at the waist, thinner and have a thin collar and sleeve ends so it doesnt print out through your shirt. Like the underwear you usually get them three to a pack.

Postby Team Loco » September 22nd, 2007, 11:22 am

Yeah I saw those in pricesmart duane. Hanes under tees are really comfy

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » September 22nd, 2007, 12:04 pm

saw them in michaels and jodys

semi-formal and formal, is michaels and jodys and bradford....michaels and jodys has some nice shoes :P

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 22nd, 2007, 12:30 pm

Team Loco wrote:Yeah I saw those in pricesmart duane. Hanes under tees are really comfy

yeah they have there and they are tagless too!

Terran

Postby Terran » September 22nd, 2007, 1:31 pm

Duane, what colours do you buy?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 22nd, 2007, 3:50 pm

^ white

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » September 22nd, 2007, 3:56 pm

X_Factor wrote:van heusen and Elite are decent..i doh see the point in wearing expensive stuff to work..unless its necessary

but issey miyake colonge on ne thing works!!

and another one to add to the list recently is Armani Mania

issey does really smell good..
plus Acqua Di Gio by armani is good as well!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 22nd, 2007, 3:57 pm

interesting read - I think this was written in the 50's but it still holds true today since dressing for work and formal dress should never change - casual is a whole other story.

for work:
Fitting a shirt is not hard. Measure your neck with a tape measure. A shirt should not be too loose around the neck (you should not be able to stick your whole hand in your collar!) nor should it be too tight (when you turn your head, your shirt should not turn with it). The sleeve length should be such that the cuff hits that bone at the top of your hand some 4 inches above your thumb.

Do I really need to say it? No short-sleeve "dress shirts" in public, ever! Also, do I really need to say this? Shirts are not supposed to be worn against the skin. Wear a T-shirt, please.

Jackets: most men wear them too tight! Resist the temptation to get them taken in. They should be loose and comfortable. Jacket sleeve length: men tend to wear them too long! One-quarter to one-half inch of your shirt cuff should show below the jacket. You should measure this standing in place.

It doesn't matter what your life activities are: fit is fit! I once had a drummer tell me that he needs his jacket sleeves long in order for them to look right as he plays his cymbals. Well, if so, I should make mine long to change a lightbulb! This is nonsense. There is only one way a jacket fits: properly.

Trousers: they are not supposed to fit like jeans! They are supposed to be loose and even bellowy by blue-jean standards. Do not have the seat taken in. Do not have the back leg taken in. Just wear them as they come. The length of leg should hit the top of your shoe. It should not break too much. Cuffs should be 1.5 inches, no less. Older men can get away with larger cuffs but not younger men.

Socks: nothing fancy, please! They should be blue, black, grey, or tan. Anything else, like argyles or other patterns, is too fussy for a gentleman. They conjure up an image of a guy rifling through a sock drawer try to find just the right sock for the occasion. This is an awful image. Socks should appear to be put on without any effort or thought. But: never wear a sock that is a lighter color than your jacket. No time to explain why. Just trust me on this point.

Finally, never underestimate the power of the iron. The iron is the ultimate tool for dressing well. It puts the crease in your trousers and takes the wrinkles out of your jackets. It flattens the placket on your shirt and puts a point in the cuffs of your pants. Your iron should come out frequently, almost daily in fact. If you are not ironing, you are not dressing well.

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » September 22nd, 2007, 3:59 pm

Work? Pffffttt