Slartibartfast wrote:Our democracy is broken because we are not using it properly. We vote based on who we think will win the next election which is the dumbest thing we can do. This is why 3rd parties cannot get a proper foothold.
All you need to do is vote for who you think is best even if you are 100% sure that they will lose. Let your vote actually count. If the 3rd parties we have start getting more support then we will get better candidates as people figure out that it's not a waste of their time to go up for elections.
But please refrain from voting for UNC because you don't want PNM to win. The opposite happened last elections and the PNM are still convinced that we are in support of them because the only metric the have to accurately measure support for them shows it to be that way.
So vote for PEP if you think they are best, or MSJ or Progressive Party or whoever. Just stop voting for the "lesser of two evils" or else we will never get out of this spiral.
COP did more harm than good in the end. What they did with the PP made people lose hope in third parties and basically secured power for UNC/PNM for the next decade.VexXx Dogg wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:Our democracy is broken because we are not using it properly. We vote based on who we think will win the next election which is the dumbest thing we can do. This is why 3rd parties cannot get a proper foothold.
All you need to do is vote for who you think is best even if you are 100% sure that they will lose. Let your vote actually count. If the 3rd parties we have start getting more support then we will get better candidates as people figure out that it's not a waste of their time to go up for elections.
But please refrain from voting for UNC because you don't want PNM to win. The opposite happened last elections and the PNM are still convinced that we are in support of them because the only metric the have to accurately measure support for them shows it to be that way.
So vote for PEP if you think they are best, or MSJ or Progressive Party or whoever. Just stop voting for the "lesser of two evils" or else we will never get out of this spiral.
Tried that with COP, tbh.
they looked the most promising, they talked the talk, they walked the walk until they did that foolishness with the PP
The difference between the COP and the PEP is chalk and cheese. I'm not an ecomonist nor a political scientist, but from my limited understanding on finance and pragmatic governance, the PEP's spiel is mostly nonsense.
If another party can come with the same weight, experience and sense like the COP did.....we might have a viable third contender. Right now, the PEP have a better chance than the COP tbh, and that's saying lots - considering I can pretty much predict a loss of deposit for each orange candidate.
Slartibartfast wrote:Our democracy is broken because we are not using it properly. We vote based on who we think will win the next election which is the dumbest thing we can do. This is why 3rd parties cannot get a proper foothold.
VexXx Dogg wrote:I had some older research from about 10 years ago on the democratic systems and a couple alternatives jumped out.
The westminster democracy, or the variant that we have is a dead end IMHO. We keep beating a dead horse and making the same mistakes and expect different outcomes.
When I was reading, I found Lijphart's work on consocationalism and consensus democracies to be quite interesting. The experts can chime in here.
pugboy wrote:Wha is latest with the mark he buss the other day about Newman george losing his us visa?
Slartibartfast wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:Our democracy is broken because we are not using it properly. We vote based on who we think will win the next election which is the dumbest thing we can do. This is why 3rd parties cannot get a proper foothold.VexXx Dogg wrote:I had some older research from about 10 years ago on the democratic systems and a couple alternatives jumped out.
The westminster democracy, or the variant that we have is a dead end IMHO. We keep beating a dead horse and making the same mistakes and expect different outcomes.
When I was reading, I found Lijphart's work on consocationalism and consensus democracies to be quite interesting. The experts can chime in here.
Looks like we were on the right track. Looks like Ranked Choice Voting may be something to look in to.
paid_influencer wrote:We big time now !!!!
half-syrian Jesus going on National media tonight to announce candidates. I am ready!
https://www.facebook.com/peptrinbago
VexXx Dogg wrote:paid_influencer wrote:We big time now !!!!
half-syrian Jesus going on National media tonight to announce candidates. I am ready!
https://www.facebook.com/peptrinbago
Nice man.
He can't complain about media blackout now - that was a crutch for quite some time