DSG failure twice in less than 3 years!

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

svramoutar

Re: DSG failure twice in less than 3 years!

Postby svramoutar » August 1st, 2013, 10:12 pm

syncrod wrote:
svramoutar wrote:So, just an update folks, my VW Jetta (MK5) wouldn't start on Monday, lever wouldn't shift out of Park, only to be told it was the mechatronic unit gone bad again for the second time in less than 3 years. The first time it went was when the car was one week old, and then I was told that a batch of them had to be swapped for the updated ones. So, the updated ones are giving trouble now? Honestly, I'm so frustrated with my car, just had too many issues. All I want is a reliable vehicle, and so far this has been the most unreliable one I have ever owned. I really tried hard to love my car, just can't anymore. As sad as it makes me, I'm actually contemplating putting it up for sale, sniff!

hopefully you get a good part this time
i'm on number 4, dont have any other info on the older units
but this is the current unit HW/SW numbers, etc
haven't had any problems so far,(except a recuring 006012 fault code)

Address 02: Auto Trans Labels: 0AM-300-04x.lbl
Part No SW: 0AM 300 048 N HW: 0AM 927 769 D
Component: GSG DSG AG7 431 2681
Revision: 00043014 Serial number: CU501211135667
Coding: 0000020
Shop #: WSC 07737 898 02089
VCID: 3B75EB8F7A4194C69BB

maybe u can compare the part numbers to see whether its a newer unit.
and maybe an Mk6 owner who hasn't had any problem can provide similar info just for comparison
since both Mk5 & 6 use 118kw engines (CAVD & CTHD)

Number 4 as in a 4th mechatronic? You guys scaring me bad bad. By the way, were you charged for the part or did they do it under goodwill?

syncrod

Postby syncrod » August 1st, 2013, 11:00 pm

good will prevailed on the first failure
original = 2 1/2 - 3 years
#2 = 1 or 2 weeks
#3 = was told this one didn't work
#4 = working about 8 months now

car was just out of warranty when the original failed
think they changed it under goodwill due to mileage and service history.
car was about 10000 - 14000 miles at the time and always serviced at BA

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » August 2nd, 2013, 12:29 am

syncrod wrote:good will prevailed on the first failure
#2 = 1 or 2 weeks

This is totally unacceptable on VW's part, I'm sorry, something is seriously wrong with DSG on the whole. It was nice at first, but after all these problems it just not worth it to me.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » August 2nd, 2013, 9:39 am

#2 = 1 or 2 weeks

You missing the Clio as yet?

syncrod

Postby syncrod » August 2nd, 2013, 1:30 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:
#2 = 1 or 2 weeks

You missing the Clio as yet?

only when i at the gas station. miss them $90 fill-ups

cqk4

Postby cqk4 » August 2nd, 2013, 11:05 pm

Its very very strange the behavior of dealers.. the world says there is a problem but they say it doesn't occur in Trinidad ?. A next thing other countries VW (china, us) offers the 10 year/160k (5 in Australia) warranty for those DSG.. but you have to depend on the good will of the dealer ???

Bull$heit if you ask me..

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » August 4th, 2013, 3:51 pm

cqk4 wrote:Its very very strange the behavior of dealers.. the world says there is a problem but they say it doesn't occur in Trinidad ?. A next thing other countries VW (china, us) offers the 10 year/160k (5 in Australia) warranty for those DSG.. but you have to depend on the good will of the dealer ???

Bull$heit if you ask me..

I totally agree with you. The last man in charge, Richard Joseph told me he was battling to get the 10 year warranty in Trinidad, but he's gone now, oh well.

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » August 4th, 2013, 3:53 pm

#2 = 1 or 2 weeks

Did you know in the States you would've been in a good position to get a new car. I think there's a law called Lemon Law if the same part goes bad 3 times you would be entitled to a new vehicle.

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » August 10th, 2013, 10:19 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
syncrod wrote:
svramoutar wrote:So, just an update folks, my VW Jetta (MK5) wouldn't start on Monday, lever wouldn't shift out of Park, only to be told it was the mechatronic unit gone bad again for the second time in less than 3 years. The first time it went was when the car was one week old, and then I was told that a batch of them had to be swapped for the updated ones. So, the updated ones are giving trouble now? Honestly, I'm so frustrated with my car, just had too many issues. All I want is a reliable vehicle, and so far this has been the most unreliable one I have ever owned. I really tried hard to love my car, just can't anymore. As sad as it makes me, I'm actually contemplating putting it up for sale, sniff!

hopefully you get a good part this time
i'm on number 4, dont have any other info on the older units
but this is the current unit HW/SW numbers, etc
haven't had any problems so far,(except a recuring 006012 fault code)

Part No SW: 0AM 300 048 N HW: 0AM 927 769 D
Component: GSG DSG AG7 431 2681
Revision: 00043014 Serial number: CU501211135667
Shop #: WSC 07737 898 02089
VCID: 3B75EB8F7A4194C69BB

maybe u can compare the part numbers to see whether its a newer unit.
and maybe an Mk6 owner who hasn't had any problem can provide similar info just for comparison
since both Mk5 & 6 use 118kw engines (CAVD & CTHD)

Here is mine. Mk6 Jetta. CAVD engine.

Part No SW: 0AM 300 053 HW: 0AM 927 769 D
Component: GSG DSG AG7 431 3029
Revision: 00043014 Serial number: CU501112056516
Shop #: WSC 02069 000 90108
VCID: E9F7E4F9C0C01D56B97

No fault code found.

Just adding for comparo Bunny. Mine is 2013 CTHD engine 160hp

Address 02: Auto Trans Labels: None
Part No SW: 0AM 300 058 P HW: 0AM 927 769 D
Component: GSG DSG AG7 431 3652
Revision: 00043014 Serial number: CU501301246838
Shop #: WSC 02069 000 90108
VCID: 3E79010769E149E8127

No fault code found.

neexis

Postby neexis » August 11th, 2013, 12:08 pm

Eco got a VW now? :D

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 11th, 2013, 12:22 pm

neexis wrote:Eco got a VW now? :D

Well svramoutar leaving so they hadda balance the numbers with Eco.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » August 11th, 2013, 1:19 pm

Well svramoutar leaving so they hadda balance the numbers with Eco.

Bunny, you ever got thru with the links in the UK?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 11th, 2013, 1:28 pm

Got positive responses for the mats but I never ordered as it would have cost 1300 tt for front mats alone. The lights I had to source through Poland.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » August 11th, 2013, 1:36 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Got positive responses for the mats but I never ordered as it would have cost 1300 tt for front mats alone. The lights I had to source through Poland.

I guess to ship the mats, the size of the package was taken into account.

Looks like you need to initialise a VW Jetta Group Buy down here.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 11th, 2013, 2:08 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Got positive responses for the mats but I never ordered as it would have cost 1300 tt for front mats alone. The lights I had to source through Poland.

I guess to ship the mats, the size of the package was taken into account.

Looks like you need to initialise a VW Jetta Group Buy down here.

Yeah the mats bulky and heavy. Shipping costs the same as the mat. I dunno bout group buy and ting nah. People doh really put their money where their mouth is.

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » August 11th, 2013, 8:23 pm

Couldn't let yall have all the fun...lol..besides was feeling left out :)

neexis

Postby neexis » August 12th, 2013, 8:02 am

well... as long as we maintain the balance.

so.. when you remapping?

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » August 14th, 2013, 5:47 pm

Lol...was gonna do it on day one..but not seeing tune available for my newer engine as yet CTHD....the pistons and rings are stronger and its also the same as the CTH* as in polo gti...

Just disappointed a bit though..was looking fwd to it...may open up the ecu to see if different from the CAVD in bunny's MY2012 model...

The ecu appears to be same and its located near my battery so easy access there...just to get the cage off...

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » August 14th, 2013, 10:56 pm

EcoTune Trinidad wrote:Lol...was gonna do it on day one..but not seeing tune available for my newer engine as yet CTHD....the pistons and rings are stronger and its also the same as the CTH* as in polo gti...

Just disappointed a bit though..was looking fwd to it...may open up the ecu to see if different from the CAVD in bunny's MY2012 model...

The ecu appears to be same and its located near my battery so easy access there...just to get the cage off...

Ah only hearing fyyazz....

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » August 15th, 2013, 7:25 am

purple_heart77 wrote:
EcoTune Trinidad wrote:Lol...was gonna do it on day one..but not seeing tune available for my newer engine as yet CTHD....the pistons and rings are stronger and its also the same as the CTH* as in polo gti...

Ah only hearing fyyazz....

Done know :lol: ...suspension first before anything though...she handling like the Titanic around corners IMO

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » August 21st, 2013, 5:56 pm

#2 = 1 or 2 weeks

So you weren't charged anything then? I'm waiting on a response from Germany concerning goodwill. Car was fixed today after 5 weeks. Hopefully a new updated part was installed. Either way, I'm selling soon next year and going back to a simple, reliable Japanese vehicle.

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » August 21st, 2013, 7:08 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:How much you selling it for?

Car in excellent condition. Make an offer. You obviously getting a new mechatronic in it, lol!

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » August 21st, 2013, 7:10 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:how much you would sell it for?

Car in excellent condition. Make a reasonable offer. You'll be getting a new mechatronic unit in it now, lol! Car is doing approximately 28,000 miles, never even been to the beach.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 21st, 2013, 7:52 pm

svramoutar wrote:

Car in excellent condition. Make an offer. You obviously getting a new mechatronic in it, lol!

lol nah was just asking. I already have a mk6 and never really took to the styling of the mk5.

Did they ever tell you what exactly was wrong with the mechatronic unit on yours? Did you get part numbers of the old and new mechatronic units?

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » August 21st, 2013, 9:12 pm

svramoutar wrote:

lol nah was just asking. I already have a mk6 and never really took to the styling of the mk5.

Did they ever tell you what exactly was wrong with the mechatronic unit on yours? Did you get part numbers of the old and new mechatronic units?

Didn't get the car back as yet. It's still up there. Gonna check the Cerato out though, very pretty car.

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » August 26th, 2013, 8:27 pm

Well, I finally got my car back today, after 5 weeks. I was told that this time it was in fact the updated mechatronic that was installed. Apparently, this was not the case when the mechatronic was changed 2 years ago. So, I guess I just have to wait and see how it holds up this time. Gonna take it for a good south run tomorrow to see how she's running. I must say I'm relieved that this time the car came back with no dings, dents. However, either a mechanic or one of the guys at the wash bay left something for me to clean. See pic.
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1377563297.040299.jpg

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 26th, 2013, 9:26 pm

Did you have to pay anything in the end?

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » August 26th, 2013, 9:59 pm

Yes, 50% of the labour cost which was around $500

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » August 26th, 2013, 10:27 pm

svramoutar wrote:Well, I finally got my car back today, after 5 weeks. I was told that this time it was in fact the updated mechatronic that was installed. Apparently, this was not the case when the mechatronic was changed 2 years ago. So, I guess I just have to wait and see how it holds up this time. Gonna take it for a good south run tomorrow to see how she's running. I must say I'm relieved that this time the car came back with no dings, dents. However, either a mechanic or one of the guys at the wash bay left something for me to clean. See pic.
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1377563297.040299.jpg

I would have let them clean this..

syncrod

Postby syncrod » August 26th, 2013, 10:39 pm

Can u provide dsg7 autoscan information to confirm sw and hw numbers.
Only thing is I not sure where that info is taken from.
All we need now is to check a mk5 that hasn't had the mechatronic unit change to confirm sw/hw numbers

Return to “EURO”