Mazda 3 top speed limiters ???

MAZDA People United - it continues here

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 30th, 2008, 9:39 am

yeah, i like them stats, real selective stats there, y didnt you get the stats for both cars from the same test site; how about a little less bias;
HERE ARE THE REAL TIMES OF BOTH CARS:
type R:0-60=6.6, top speed=146mph
speed3:0-60=5.9, top speed=155mph
both taken from edmunds,
the 2007 speed 3 was tested against the 2008 wrx subaru impreza, it had the exact same 0-60 time but at the end of the quarter mile its top speed was higher than that of the wrx impreza.Autoblog has noted that the speed 3 has the same slalom time as the civic si(3hp less than the type R, but lighter than the type R), but totally outperforms the the si in any drag.and for anyone else reading this post, just check anywhere online and you will see that the speed 3 outperforms the type R easily .heck it outperforms the AWD 2008 wrx impreza, the civic cant even keep up with that, so lets make an attempt to move away from prior arguments and be unbiased,,no emotions ek4ever.the type r civic has 200hp stock and the speed 3 has 263(very conservatively measured, independent dynos have it rated higher) minor bolt on mods raise the speed 3's hp to 300hp quite easily(mazdaspeed mods eh), not sure about the type r at this poin, i.e. with regards to mods

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 30th, 2008, 9:48 am

also take this into consideration:hp-to-weight ratio
speed 3:12.6 lbs/hp
civic R : 14.6 lbs/hp

and torque speed 3 :280 ft-lb
typeR:139 ft-lb

whats to compare? do you see those numbers, the type R is in over its head in this one .

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » March 31st, 2008, 10:09 pm

ghostbusters wrote:also take this into consideration:hp-to-weight ratio
speed 3:12.6 lbs/hp
civic R : 14.6 lbs/hp

and torque speed 3 :280 ft-lb
typeR:139 ft-lb

whats to compare? do you see those numbers, the type R is in over its head in this one .

I was talking about the JDM FD2 CTR which has 240hp. No US auto mag has posted a test of the FD2 cause its a JDM model....but UK mags have been able to since they're RHD. I think these 2 cars are closer than you think, however, there hasn't been a test of both of them on the same track.

Oh btw....be careful of Autoblog...it's users views are not necessarily in line with true specs.

Anyway....nice duscussing this with you...see you around trinituner

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » March 31st, 2008, 10:16 pm

ghostbusters wrote:yeah, i like them stats, real selective stats there, y didnt you get the stats for both cars from the same test site; how about a little less bias;
HERE ARE THE REAL TIMES OF BOTH CARS:
type R:0-60=6.6, top speed=146mph
speed3:0-60=5.9, top speed=155mph
both taken from edmunds,

Oh yeah....the stats I posted on the CTR are from a real world test done by Top Gear.....with instruments. But of course track temp, driver skills and many other factors come into play when testing cars at their limits.

Anyway...later dude.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 31st, 2008, 11:20 pm

i actually never heard of the jdm fd2 before, but yeah, i believe that with 240 ponies its alot closer, could go either way with that one.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 1st, 2008, 4:47 pm

^^^excellent comments by both ghostbusters and ek4ever but here is my $0.02:

The PBB-PBJ (96-00) Civic SiR is a very nice car. Back then it was great to get a compact sedan with standard 4-wheel disc brakes with ABS, Dual Airbags, sunroof and ofcourse the 1.6 DOHC 16V VTEC engine all standard. It even had a power antennae, front and rear adjustable head rests and a split seat in the back which is all good. An Automatic SiR is fast and the 5-speed is even faster and more fun too.

Stock 4 stock, an auto SiR vs an auto Mazda3.....is almost dead even. Where the Civic begins to pull away is when those VTEC cams kick-in. The Civic is also a slightly lower car and its alot lighter than the Mazda so power to weight is in favour of the Civic. I got 2 car lengths on a SiR Civic with a CAI, extractors and a 2" exhaust in the Mazda 3 1.6 I was driving which was the fully loaded version so its slightly heavier than the standard 1.6. I respect an SiR so much so that I seriously want one as a pure play car.

I also did same with a stock Sentra Super Saloon (B14) with a standard GA16DE engine not the VTC black top version eh and I scared the SiR driver but again, where the b14 starts to pant and lose steam, the VTEC motor now start to breathe.

Now......bring the new 1.5 DOHC 16V VVT-i NZE140 Corolla, 1.5 DOHC 16V MIVEC Lancer, 1.6 SOHC 16V i-VTEC Civic, 1.5 DOHC 16V Impreza, 1.6 DOHC 16V Jetta and run it against the old Mazda3 1.6 DOHC 16V SV-T and gutless is not a word I would be using to describe such a car. Bring the roro NZE120 Corolla Altis with the 1.6 DOHC 16V VVT-i engine as well.

Back to the Civic.......once it is VTEC doh mess with it and I not talking about them previous VTi-S 1.7 SOHC 16V VTEC motors.....I talking B-series engines in a eg or ek Civic chassis..........they're ruthless. Them new i-VTEC Civics are a WOT when it comes to a straight line race with a Mazda3 and lets avoid a track comparison because most if not all of the foreign automotive press rated the mazda3 over the Civic.

So the SiR civic is indeed FASTER than a 1.7 VTi-S and 1.8 VTi-S and the 1.7 sedans never had disc brakes in the rear....matter of fact the current Civic in the states have rear drums in the back when Mazda 3's comes standard with disc brakes...ofcourse our "gutless" market has drums for the 1.6 sedan but discs for the 1.6 hatchback.....look whateva yes.

Hyundai all the way! :mrgreen:

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » April 1st, 2008, 5:02 pm

x2floor wrote:^^^excellent comments by both ghostbusters and ek4ever but here is my $0.02:

The PBB-PBJ (96-00) Civic SiR is a very nice car. Back then it was great to get a compact sedan with standard 4-wheel disc brakes with ABS, Dual Airbags, sunroof and ofcourse the 1.6 DOHC 16V VTEC engine all standard. It even had a power antennae, front and rear adjustable head rests and a split seat in the back which is all good. An Automatic SiR is fast and the 5-speed is even faster and more fun too.

Stock 4 stock, an auto SiR vs an auto Mazda3.....is almost dead even. Where the Civic begins to pull away is when those VTEC cams kick-in. The Civic is also a slightly lower car and its alot lighter than the Mazda so power to weight is in favour of the Civic. I got 2 car lengths on a SiR Civic with a CAI, extractors and a 2" exhaust in the Mazda 3 1.6 I was driving which was the fully loaded version so its slightly heavier than the standard 1.6. I respect an SiR so much so that I seriously want one as a pure play car.

I also did same with a stock Sentra Super Saloon (B14) with a standard GA16DE engine not the VTC black top version eh and I scared the SiR driver but again, where the b14 starts to pant and lose steam, the VTEC motor now start to breathe.

Now......bring the new 1.5 DOHC 16V VVT-i NZE140 Corolla, 1.5 DOHC 16V MIVEC Lancer, 1.6 SOHC 16V i-VTEC Civic, 1.5 DOHC 16V Impreza, 1.6 DOHC 16V Jetta and run it against the old Mazda3 1.6 DOHC 16V SV-T and gutless is not a word I would be using to describe such a car. Bring the roro NZE120 Corolla Altis with the 1.6 DOHC 16V VVT-i engine as well.

Back to the Civic.......once it is VTEC doh mess with it and I not talking about them previous VTi-S 1.7 SOHC 16V VTEC motors.....I talking B-series engines in a eg or ek Civic chassis..........they're ruthless. Them new i-VTEC Civics are a WOT when it comes to a straight line race with a Mazda3 and lets avoid a track comparison because most if not all of the foreign automotive press rated the mazda3 over the Civic.

So the SiR civic is indeed FASTER than a 1.7 VTi-S and 1.8 VTi-S and the 1.7 sedans never had disc brakes in the rear....matter of fact the current Civic in the states have rear drums in the back when Mazda 3's comes standard with disc brakes...ofcourse our "gutless" market has drums for the 1.6 sedan but discs for the 1.6 hatchback.....look whateva yes.

Hyundai all the way! :mrgreen:

Ha ha ha.....x2floor yuh not easy...yes....yuh going good good and then just drop a bomb there... An yuh driving a Wingroad to boot. Anyway cool scene man. 8-)

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 1st, 2008, 5:45 pm

wait nah i now reading this second page..........lets press some brakes here pallies ok.

From Car and Driver magazine(not like other magz who cant launch a car properly and testing acceleration going up a hill :lol: )

MazdaSpeed 3 GT hatchback:

0-60mph in 5.4s-5.8s;
0-100mph in 13.6s-14.8s;
0-130mph in 27.4s-29s;
1/4 mile in 14.0s-14.4s @ 99-101mph
Top speed = 151mph drag limited to 155MPH governor limited
Braking (70mph-0) in 160-162ft
Handling (200ft skidpad): 0.85-0.87g
lane change: 65mph
weight: 3180-3185lbs
weight distribution: 63.1% front / 36.9% rear
C&D observed mpg: 18-21

Honda Civic Si Coupe:

0-60mph in 6.7s;
0-100mph in 16.8s;
1/4 mile in 15.1s @ 95mph
Top speed = 130 mph red-line limited
Braking (70mph-0) in 179ft
Handling (300ft skidpad): 0.91g
lane change: 69.1mph
weight: 2860lbs
weight distribution: 60.8% front / 39.2% rear
C&D observed mpg: 19

Honda better in handling and lane change which goes hand in hand. Everything else, its raped. lastly, from a roll the Mazda will rape the Honda again.

When a proper USDM test is conducted with the Type R then we'll talk further.

The Nissan Sentra SER Spec V is a much better competitor to the Honda IMHO.

The Dodge Caliber SRT4, Subaru Impreza WRX, Volvo C30 T5 v1.0, Audi TT 2.0T, Mini Cooper S, Volkswagen GTI and Volkswagen R32 are better equipped to compete with the Mazdaspeed 3 :!:

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 1st, 2008, 5:48 pm

Ha ha ha.....x2floor yuh not easy...yes....yuh going good good and then just drop a bomb there... An yuh driving a Wingroad to boot. Anyway cool scene man

dude.......is real kicks in here :lol: but good info though :mrgreen:

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » April 1st, 2008, 6:12 pm

but x2floor iz Car and Driver I quoted from. And yuh know they had to call Mazda to find out the best way to launch the car cause they were havng all sorts of problems and that time I posted was the best they could do.

As for a US test of the JDM FD2 CTR....well ah doh know if we'll see that...they seem quite content on just testing what the US will get. Might have problems getting a RHD car into the US to test.

But if you see a test in the US let mih know.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 1st, 2008, 6:21 pm

but x2floor iz Car and Driver I quoted from. And yuh know they had to call Mazda to find out the best way to launch the car cause they were havng all sorts of problems and that time I posted was the best they could do.

true......you sound like a C&D junkie like me :D .....but i even heard of 0-60 in 6.1s so wtf is that? oh well........we may need to scrap the above specs and use JDM specs instead. The Mazda 3 MPS Extreme is the top dog Aussie version. Either way they're both the purest FWD compact econo sports cars in the world market besides a VW R32.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » April 1st, 2008, 7:43 pm

nice information there x2floor, i read in a couple of places online that the american si version actually handles better than the euro type R version of the car. but i expect the americans to talk down a car that they cant get.soon enuff i will get mih aem fic and try somn.i spoke to a company that does cams, they told me that they would have to custom make them for me. by mid next year i will be alot faster hopefully

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » April 2nd, 2008, 9:02 am

ghostbusters wrote:nice information there x2floor, i read in a couple of places online that the american si version actually handles better than the euro type R version of the car. but i expect the americans to talk down a car that they cant get.soon enuff i will get mih aem fic and try somn.i spoke to a company that does cams, they told me that they would have to custom make them for me. by mid next year i will be alot faster hopefully

Well yuh know them americans....not sure how those american reviewers got to that conclusion. Thing is the FD2/1 (Type R/Si) and FN2 (euro) are different platforms with the FN2 having higher curb weight cause you know the Europeans demand more safety in their vehicles. I would think that a hatch would handle better than a 4dr sedan but maybe it is the weight difference...dunno.

Oh yeah ...I came across that Aussie MS3 version...something like 318hp. Then I started thinking....if C&D having problems launching the car with 'just' 280hp how d hell yuh does launch it with 318hp? At this level you will need some kind of launch control like in the BMW M5. Would love to see a vid of this.

And yeah.....much respect for the VW R32 too....

On another note...would you give more credibility to a european or rather UK review? The reason I ask is that they (UK) are also RHD and I've always been of the opinion that europeans like more driver involvement and therefore that translates into their cars and driving style. Americans are more lazy and prefer automatics and cushy rides.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 3rd, 2008, 12:33 am

On another note...would you give more credibility to a european or rather UK review? The reason I ask is that they (UK) are also RHD and I've always been of the opinion that europeans like more driver involvement and therefore that translates into their cars and driving style. Americans are more lazy and prefer automatics and cushy rides.

true but alot of american auto journalists prefer manual over automatic. C&D likes to be hardcore most of the time so they test the most driver involving models but sales figures show that manual trannies and much less popular than automatics.

Credibility would be given more to the Americans as opposed to the europeans.

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » May 29th, 2008, 7:00 pm

is the 2.3 and 2.3T sold in trinidad?

last i checked ss was not bringing them in

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 30th, 2008, 11:19 am

^^^no...only 1.6 and 2.0 available locally.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » June 2nd, 2008, 9:31 am

x2floor wrote:^^^no...only 1.6 and 2.0 available locally.

what about special order?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 3rd, 2008, 8:47 am

^ :lol: if N&M or LifeStyle Motors take over the Mazda franchise then we would get the 2.3 and 2.3 turbo on special order and perhaps right off the showroom floor but with SS running the brand since the 60's.......I think not. :evil: rorofurit!

SurGTR

Postby SurGTR » August 1st, 2008, 1:30 pm

is the 2.0 mazda 3 equivalent to the previous sport 20?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 1st, 2008, 1:58 pm

2.0 mazda 3 has 148 hp, sport 20 had 130, 2.0 mzr
in m3 also has more tuning potential in my opinion
, the mazda 3 20 is supposed to be much faster

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » August 3rd, 2008, 10:32 am

ghostbusters wrote:2.0 mazda 3 has 148 hp, sport 20 had 130, 2.0 mzr
in m3 also has more tuning potential in my opinion
, the mazda 3 20 is supposed to be much faster

Thought the Sport 20 was 170hp....

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 3rd, 2008, 12:29 pm

well iwas reading an article and it said the fs-ze, which is what the sport 20 has put out 130, but i not absolutely sure

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » August 3rd, 2008, 2:14 pm

fs-de 130 hp
fs-ze 170-175 hp
fp-de 115 hp
same engines basically just minor changes to bore stroke intake exhaust
an not forgetting
my favourite

zl-ve 1.5cc 130 hp stock

villain

Postby villain » August 3rd, 2008, 11:40 pm

ok so what the hell do we have down here...fs-de or fs-ze....cause that would explain a lot...if its fs-de :mrgreen:

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » August 4th, 2008, 6:14 am

we get both actually de two wheel drive is the fs de an de four wheel drive is de ze

villain

Postby villain » August 4th, 2008, 9:19 am

so bk and them is the fs-de hahahaha.....130hp...hahahahaha that is why we keeping up to them...and they does be concerned with only out handling people....

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » August 4th, 2008, 3:04 pm

well he prolly swap in ah fs-ze yuh doh know but de thing is de fs engines torque much higher dan de zl an zm which is why once tuned we'll be right there with them on top if is low down den we need to run gearbox an with ah zl-ve with management an gearbox we might prolly own ah fs-de an be close to de ze who knows

villain

Postby villain » August 4th, 2008, 9:54 pm

they tiptronic so all that torque not picking up early...it will protect itself from getting hit with all that torque and gradually bring it in as opposed to a gearbox.....now is cut ass for them...no fear...no mercy.....

Return to “MAZDA”