Coil Packs.......

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Coil Packs.......

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 9th, 2004, 8:42 am

So I fear one or more of my coil packs are giving some trouble (will know Saturday fuh sure)......Greypatch had a similar problem and was able to replace them (luckily)..........if anyone comes across any place that sells the coil packs fuh them roro Galants 4G93GDI motors, let me know please.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » April 9th, 2004, 5:39 pm

aye b4 you do that...check the shaft that runs into the engine to the spark plug. Some carry a clip, some carry a spring. sometimes they get loose and cause current loss. check to see if the shaft has any cracks in it....if so get another shaft and try it. If not, take some small pliers or so and either close the clip or pull out the spring. Put a sliiight amount of grease and try it...If those don't work then time to get a new one. Diamond @ 900-1200 for coilpacks is a bit expensive but the 4g92 and 4g93 should be the same (MD362907)

Postby Ignorant Ignis » April 9th, 2004, 6:57 pm

i burnt the coil pack for my 4g91 and looking for one two

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » April 9th, 2004, 8:20 pm

i burnt the coil pack for my 4g91 and looking for one two

boy in all honesty is always best to buy it new. Not Sure if the coil packs for the newer mitsu engines will work. I've also heard the 1.6 323 coils may work...don't hold me to that one though

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 10th, 2004, 2:38 am

J-MISHI-R wrote:aye b4 you do that...check the shaft that runs into the engine to the spark plug. Some carry a clip, some carry a spring. sometimes they get loose and cause current loss. check to see if the shaft has any cracks in it....if so get another shaft and try it. If not, take some small pliers or so and either close the clip or pull out the spring. Put a sliiight amount of grease and try it...If those don't work then time to get a new one. Diamond @ 900-1200 for coilpacks is a bit expensive but the 4g92 and 4g93 should be the same (MD362907)

I'll play around with it........the shafts didn't appear to have any cracks last time I pulled them down but I'll play around with the springs dem.

What is the real problem is that at rpm's around 5k I hear a lil backfiring in the engine bay during driving.....and the power is not building fast enough........so if a "kick down" is attempted, car pull normally up to 4.5 to 5k rpm......then one feels a slight buck....is not tranny, is not fuel delivery...........if the car is at idle it runs the rpm range smoothly without any problems, but keep depressing and releasing the accelerator quickly and you may hear a backfiring sound...........hence my feeling is coil packs.
Anyway, later in de lime ah will be diagnosing and will know for sure :wink:

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » April 10th, 2004, 5:57 am

it should stutter also when you move off from a parked position...definately soun like coil pack. Try and see..hope it helps

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 10th, 2004, 11:41 am

very slight stutter occasionally...thanks for the help out mishi :wink:

Postby Ignorant Ignis » April 10th, 2004, 8:33 pm

got a coil pack today in the bambo.....haven't installed it yet ...paid $100.00 for it!!!!!!

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » April 11th, 2004, 6:22 am

aye make sure it in good condition...check it for any cracks to the shaft and check if it has been dropped or anything. Once it ok, is no problem

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 11th, 2004, 4:26 pm

silverlancer4472 wrote:got a coil pack today in the bambo.....haven't installed it yet ...paid $100.00 for it!!!!!!

which part exactly?

Postby Dave » April 13th, 2004, 9:37 am

any coil could be wired to work, becarful with the wires

skindog

Postby skindog » April 13th, 2004, 9:44 am

aye Vega check Patch..... :wink:

W2J

Postby W2J » April 13th, 2004, 4:25 pm

Dave wrote:any coil could be wired to work, becarful with the wires

I dont think so dave Mitsubishi coil pack has the ignitors built-in that is why inexperience haltec and MSD tuners blow the coil packs and they run external coils.

bunny

Postby bunny » April 13th, 2004, 6:37 pm

vega , i know what your problem is....at mid to high rpm it occurs.[occasionally?] its not your coil pack! it sounds like yout fuel pump relay is bad. take it out and use a jumper to bypass the resistor so the fuel pump will recieve full battery power as opposed to the 9v it gets at low rpm when the resistor is in the circuit. the problem occurs at change over from 9v to full voltage. if the relay is corroded inside, this problem will occur intermitently. the relay is usually enclosed in a rubber type holder in the engine bay and is usually cliped onto a metal bracket. did you recently do an engine wash or was your engine exposed to steam? :twisted: on modified cars [esp. turbo ones]this is usually done so that the engine never runs lean as boost comes on earlier/ sharper than stock etc. you can call me at 683 3916. :twisted:

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » April 13th, 2004, 10:58 pm

well look at that I would have never thought that...boy fuel injection is a headache yes....

Postby wagon r » April 14th, 2004, 7:00 am

that is some interesting sh!t dey boy bunny. i never would have thought of that... :|

i guess i'll take extra precaution when going for and engine wash.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 14th, 2004, 8:23 am

bunny wrote:vega , i know what your problem is....at mid to high rpm it occurs.[occasionally?] its not your coil pack! it sounds like yout fuel pump relay is bad. take it out and use a jumper to bypass the resistor so the fuel pump will recieve full battery power as opposed to the 9v it gets at low rpm when the resistor is in the circuit. the problem occurs at change over from 9v to full voltage. if the relay is corroded inside, this problem will occur intermitently. the relay is usually enclosed in a rubber type holder in the engine bay and is usually cliped onto a metal bracket. did you recently do an engine wash or was your engine exposed to steam? :twisted: on modified cars [esp. turbo ones]this is usually done so that the engine never runs lean as boost comes on earlier/ sharper than stock etc. you can call me at 683 3916. :twisted:

@4500 and over rpms........I usually wash my own engine bay, but mostly the body parts......then there is that cover over the motor and necessary wiring......I will check that out, because my initial thought was a fuel delivery problem........would that account for the backfiring sound as well ?

Postby Greypatch » April 14th, 2004, 12:03 pm

that's most interesting....can the relay be replaced/repaired ?

bunny

Postby bunny » April 14th, 2004, 7:26 pm

the relay can be replaced or permanently bypassed. and when the misfiring occurs , that is when you are running lean cause the pump is spinning slowly with only 9v. i have bypassed them on all my turbo cars. the disadvantage? shorter fuel pump life..but not by much. :twisted:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 18th, 2004, 9:12 am

alright problem figured out! It is indeed the coil packs.........So I'm now looking for 4! 8)
Anyone who could help feel free to guide accordingly 8)

bunny

Postby bunny » April 18th, 2004, 10:00 am

are you sure? did you borrow someones own and swaped them to see if that is the problem. the probability of all four going bad is slim. did you open the f/pump relay? do let us know more! :twisted: :twisted:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 18th, 2004, 10:20 am

bunny wrote:are you sure? did you borrow someones own and swaped them to see if that is the problem. the probability of all four going bad is slim. did you open the f/pump relay? do let us know more! :twisted: :twisted:

yeah I swapped packs....and the problem was gone.......as to say exactly how many bad I can't say for sure.....I believe it's 2 (didn't have the time to do individual testing), but the thing is, if one or two gone bad then the others may not be too far off.......So I'm looking for 4.........hope it doh buss meh pocket.

bunny

Postby bunny » April 18th, 2004, 10:23 am

well at least now you sure! :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » April 18th, 2004, 12:50 pm

Is it possible to do a resistance test on those coil packs like a regular coil? That way you can know which ones are bad.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 18th, 2004, 1:50 pm

I believe I will do that soon Inshan.thanks for reminding me :wink:

Postby Ignorant Ignis » April 18th, 2004, 6:53 pm

check auto wreck japan in petite bourg,,,,they have a few of the engines on the floor

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 18th, 2004, 7:11 pm

cool.........if anyone could check out for me too in spare time, cause is back to work for me and I eh go have much time again 8)

Postby Greypatch » April 19th, 2004, 12:37 pm

latest ?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 19th, 2004, 5:18 pm

salt thus far.....eh check nutting yet......meh bro supposed to check out ah scene for me.

Postby Greypatch » April 23rd, 2004, 12:55 pm

yuh have to move with the car pallies and check place to place walh with 1500

Return to “MITSUBISHI”