Noisy hydraulic tappets & Mitsu related *hiccups*

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 8th, 2004, 8:40 am

I don't see why not, once your current vrg is 4wd...........the motors tend to be swappable from model to model.........

kalongi

Postby kalongi » April 8th, 2004, 9:01 am

well that's d problem , I am not 4wd , but will dat suspension be swappable

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 9th, 2004, 7:36 am

I'm not too sure, but the shape of the undercarriage wrt installing a diff and driveshaft and the necessary brackets may be different.......if you could locate the vr4 suspension for our models it would be easier........
But honestly ah feel it'll be one big expense. But if yuh really serious about going with a 4wd, then why not consider a 4G63T (evo) motor......that has available tuning options/parts that may not be as expensive as that V6.........in fact yuh may just be able to leave out the vr4.

If ever I'm changing motor, is ah 4G63T ah doing 8)

roger

Postby roger » April 24th, 2004, 4:36 pm

guys sorry for resurecting as it were, this old topic, but i am posting an update as promised.

i have switched from the castrol fully synthetic to the the shell helix 15w-50 synthetic (the one in the blue container nah!), and the noisy tappets have all but dissappeared. I hear it for about 3 secs on a cold start and that's it.....going from 20w to 15w has worked for me..

thanks to all the above mentioned tips.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 24th, 2004, 6:01 pm

Nah doh worry about resurrecting......it's a good topic !!!!!

So far is wagon r, mehself and you roger, who now running the blue gallon Shell Helix and the lifter noise has dramatically decreased..........
My lifter noise still on the very very low down......like you said for a lil bit on initial start up 8)

kalongi

Postby kalongi » April 25th, 2004, 10:01 am

Well I fanally get ah chance to agree with allyuh , my lifter nosie quiet dramatically with that helix , so ah guess that is the option for galant now, fifty million french men cyah be wrong.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 25th, 2004, 6:14 pm

4 satisfied souls............SHELL HELIX, the lifter friendly oil........

Aye kalongi, like yuh fuhget we hoss :lol: :?: 8)

kalongi

Postby kalongi » April 25th, 2004, 7:23 pm

I eh forget yuh at all , I will be on land from Wed so ah will arange to meet you all , Ah think ah going to car crazy , allyuh going ?

Postby Greypatch » April 26th, 2004, 10:00 am

changed oil to helix on sat...

will let you all know how it wuckking

Mitsu power

Postby Mitsu power » April 27th, 2004, 7:08 am

A keep tellking u guys that the best weight oil to use in your car is 15w-40 i used this oil and hear no tappets the engine quiet

Postby Greypatch » April 27th, 2004, 11:42 am

what brand mitsu power ?

i an still getting tappet noise with the shell helix

RoadWarrior

Tick Tick Tick Tick

Postby RoadWarrior » April 28th, 2004, 7:06 am

My lifters are sooooo noisy ! I was using Mobil 1 15w-50w, then I tried Mobil 1 10w-30W, a little better then it got worse. So, on to Royal Purple 15W-40W (synthetic)...a slight reduction in noise, just like when you change oil, it quietens down for a little while. Even tried Dexron 3 transmission fluid in the oil (slight help initially).....but back to square one. Noisy, embarassing, annoying,f&#@*&g lifters. Seems most of the Mitsu engines are afflicted with this malady. Ah fed up !
One cure is : new hydraulic lash adjusters. I priced mine US$16.50 each(before shipping & local taxes) & I need 24 of them. (thats TT2500 before shipping, taxes & installation. Too costly !
Anybody tried an engine flush out or manually cleaning the lifters ? I wanted to try the engine flush but was advised against that by more than one person.
What to do ? In the meantime : tick tick tick tick tick tick tick.....is it going to explode ?

Postby wagon r » April 28th, 2004, 7:58 am

^^ you need to read the last 6 pages pallie..... :|

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » April 28th, 2004, 9:05 am

ok to sum up the past 6 pages , what worked and what did not work let meh hear all yuh

Mitsu power

Postby Mitsu power » April 28th, 2004, 9:36 am

its penzoil long life 15w -40 with a bradol 1 bought the penzoil is a gas and deseil engine oil so there is none to little burn off .and the bradol helps with the cold starts i got it at LD in arima but they dont have any more of the penzoil (luckly i buy 2 gallon bottles of the stuff ) the bradol was in a corner parts shop and they dont have any more . but i tell u the engine quiet ...

RoadWarrior

Postby RoadWarrior » April 29th, 2004, 6:42 am

Found this instructive thread on the Lancer Register forum. Looks like a bit of work. Non DIY people need not apply.
http://www.lancerregister.com/showthrea ... adid=18708

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 29th, 2004, 5:42 pm

what worked and what did not work let meh hear all yuh

well ah man went somewhey and get ah treatment that helped out quite a bit......autolabs or something........
And some of us here, went off the Mobil1 and onto the Shell Helix with satisfactory results......and ah next man say try the pennzoil long life.

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » April 29th, 2004, 6:53 pm

That is not difficult to do at all, I think you all should try it. I did it on a Ford Explorer V6 and it made a world of difference. All of the HLA's were totally stuck, gummed up. Clean them out as they said, and squeeze them back and forth in some gas to get all the stuff out. Then squeeze them under oil to make sure they are good.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 29th, 2004, 9:08 pm

if only the damn tappet pan cover wasn't so bloody hard to get off............intake plenum comes directly over and mounts there...... :?

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » April 30th, 2004, 4:14 am

Take your time and do it on your weekend, it not impossible... and you wouldn't know if you don't try it.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 30th, 2004, 9:50 pm

It could be done Inshan.....the only hindrance to that is that there are several gaskets that stand the possibility of being damaged when the plenum is pulled down......and they are not really easily accessed......right now I have an Audi gasket on mine due to an attempted pull down.

Postby Greypatch » May 20th, 2004, 10:01 am

what is the code on the belt ?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 21st, 2004, 12:17 am

tomorrow ah go post it up........everywhey lock up now and will be too much noise .....in fact, ah feel ah go call yuh, cause ah know you is a 4day work week kinda fella :mrgreen:

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » May 28th, 2004, 10:24 am

HERE NAH I CHANGED MY OIL FROM THE QUAKER STATE 20W-50 TO THE MOBILE 1 15W-50 AND MY TAPPET NOISE DISAPPEAR :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: HOW FORKING COOL IS THAT

RoadWarrior

Postby RoadWarrior » May 28th, 2004, 1:26 pm

Temporary fix....I think ! I was using Mobil 1 15W-50 from day one & mine are noisier than ever. When I change my timing belt I am going to have them cleaned manually...that should work !
Good luck & keep us updated.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 31st, 2004, 7:09 pm

I'm wondering if altec (thread starter) has had any re occurance of lifter noise.

RoadWarrior, if is a GDI galant, servicing them lifters manually is easier said than done..........that intake plenum is a biyatch to pull down without damaging some valuable gaskets...........

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » June 1st, 2004, 3:01 pm

850KM SINCE OIL CHANGE NO NOISE YET

HAYWIRE

Postby HAYWIRE » June 2nd, 2004, 11:52 pm

:shock: I NOW FIND OUT BOUT THIS THREAD FROM CORNFUSED...WELCOME ME TO THE CLUB FELLAS...I AM A MEMBER OF THE NOISY LIFTERS CLUB :wink: ALLYUH WOULDNT BELIEVE HOW QUIET MY ENGINE WAS WHEN I FIRST GOT THE CAR...EVERYONE TOLD ME TO USE MOBIL ONE SYNTHETIC OIL FOR THE CHANGE , SO I DID...AS THE CAR STARTED IT WAS THE NOISYEST I EVER HEARD AN ENGINE 8) ... I CHANGED AFTER A MONTH AND USED CASTROL SYNTEC AND IT WAS A LITTLE QUIETER...MY MECHANIC(ROBERT CHAN IN SANDO)TOLD ME THAT MY LIFTERS ARE WORN AND NEEDS TO BE CHANGED.$100 PER LIFTER BY 16 LIFTERS.....$1600.. :evil: HE THEN TOLD ME THAT THE COMPLETE JOB WOULD COST BOUT $4000.00 AS IT IS ADVISED TO DO AN ENGINE JOB ONE TIME RATHER THAN JUST CHANGE THE LIFTERS...SOUNDS FISHY TO ME TOO.... :? NOT SURE WHAT I DOING AS YET BUT IM SURE THAT IM CHANGING THE LIFTERS....DOUBT THE BLUE BOTTLE OIL WOULD HELP ME MUCH BUT ILL THINK ABOUT TRYING IT OUT... :wink:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 3rd, 2004, 12:13 am

:shock: $4000 + $2000 fuh coil packs........is better ah throw in de 4G63T if ah have to spend dat kinda money on dat motor....but HAYWIRE, why not give the Shell Helix a try.....a few of us here running the helix and the lifter noise ease up plenty...fuh the while though :| Me, I try Syntec, Mobil1, patch try redline and still noisy lifters.......why not give the helix a try....it cheaper too....

But IMHO is best to just change the lifters...doh bother with no engine job....I doh see the need for it :?

roger

Postby roger » June 3rd, 2004, 7:36 am

^^x2 on the shell helix.....so far it workin for me and that is for a month now

Return to “MITSUBISHI”