Noisy hydraulic tappets & Mitsu related *hiccups*

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

kalongi

Postby kalongi » March 22nd, 2004, 11:50 am

well guys ah going an try it , because ah due for one , ah fed up with tappets , when is d next lime , ah was coiming to drag sat to give the ole 3rdgen a try out but ah open ah detailing centre weekend so salt with d movements , but maybe next wekk.

peace

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 22nd, 2004, 10:27 pm

10th April kalongi.......

dat soundin like ah great reason to lime oui......

but of course :wink: :wink: :wink:
ah feel wagon want to camp too
and we welcome him :mrgreen:

kalongi

Postby kalongi » March 24th, 2004, 6:03 pm

well ah search all over town for this oil and nobody doh carry it , is it curepe and where , ah need it bad , and ah suppose to be working offshore that weekend of the lime , but ah think I on holidays dat week end , ah will check .

kalongi

Postby kalongi » March 27th, 2004, 2:33 pm

Where ah getting this oil in Curepe , could someone tell me

Postby Dave » March 29th, 2004, 9:52 am

the 10w-30 oil?

kalongi

Postby kalongi » March 29th, 2004, 9:56 am

yes

Postby Dave » March 29th, 2004, 10:05 am

dsr hardware has it for $20 qt.
1st auto/hardware on the rhs from the highway

kalongi

Postby kalongi » March 29th, 2004, 10:22 am

ah hardware LOL , but anyway thanks , ah going an try it for the galant ah hear it sutied for dem lifters .

Peace mih boy

kalongi

Postby kalongi » March 29th, 2004, 10:23 am

ah auto /hardware (LOL) anythiong goes in dis country yes , but anyway thanks , ah going an try it for the galant ah hear it suited for dem lifters .

Peace mih boy

Postby Dave » March 29th, 2004, 10:40 am

no no no, use it only to clean, that oil would break down under the heat. use the 15w-50 to normal driving

kalongi

Postby kalongi » March 29th, 2004, 11:03 am

so use this oil for how long to clean , and switch to what type 15w- 50

Postby Dave » March 29th, 2004, 11:10 am

yes, u not reading the thread, r u?

kalongi

Postby kalongi » March 29th, 2004, 11:16 am

I was now going thru it , and was about to reply saying you mentioned that already (good looking out though) , I wil follow your advice , thanks again , I will post results when it works

Peace

Postby wagon r » March 31st, 2004, 7:18 am

i mehself... :| ah want to do ah oil change this weekend.

altec

Postby altec » April 1st, 2004, 5:54 am

Up to 3 weeks ago everything was still fine. Right now my car parkup.As I was coming out of grande, ah mts pickup coming from the opposite direction, hit my car and ram a maxi , and insurance giving me pressure. The driver said he got a tire blowout which caused the pickup to drift over to my side of the road. Most of the damage is mechanical since I have to replace everything connected to the right front wheel. Rim crushed, tire busted, shock bent, axle etc damaged. Thank God that nothing happened to me.

Postby wagon r » April 1st, 2004, 7:00 am

sorry to hear that bro. :( i know bick's in de bamboo opp. de savannah had 2 vrg front cuts on de ground. dunno if they still there but uh could try them. :|

hope yuh repairs are speedy. :D

roger

Postby roger » April 1st, 2004, 7:00 am

guys keep tis thread goin. i have a 4g15 gdi and i too have the tappet noise prob. i runnin castrol 20w50 full syn. and i still get the noise. from readin this thread it looks like i'll be switching to the 15w instead. was thinkin of the mobil 1, but i keep hearing form other with the gdi engine that the long term performance is somewhat comprimised bcuz it "breaks down" quicker.

willin to try the shell or redline this time..

Dave: would it make any difference if i just fill up with the quaker 10w30, let the engine turnover for a couple of minutes, drain it and then add the shell?

Postby wagon r » April 1st, 2004, 8:01 am

yuh right about the mobil. i tried the castrol in the earlies when i bought my car. stick with the shell. to me the hotter it gets, the better it works. you will hear some noise on start up, but once "she" warms up, the engine should get quieter.

let me know if it works.

Postby Greypatch » April 1st, 2004, 9:30 am

ok fellas 4 pages is plenty to read but ah get thru dem...

1st...REDLINE 15W50
Works better that the MOBIL1 but the lifter noise is still there 5-10 mins b4 is goes away..and you still hear it sometimes....

2nd....The Blue Bottle Shell 15W50

That sounding like it really wuckking fellas....
5-10 secs...

3rd...ALTEC

for 288 and no noise sounds really good what oil were you using ?

4th..Dave
How does this sound for me ?

then use the blue bottle shell...

if there is still noise
Try a sludge treatment

if the noise is still there thry altecs treatment

Postby wagon r » April 1st, 2004, 9:35 am

i think dat is de four pages there oui.... :lol:

any chance i could just save the last page..... :|

Postby Greypatch » April 1st, 2004, 9:37 am

prob to your HD archive it

Postby Dave » April 1st, 2004, 9:53 am

Ok in summary,
if after your oil is changed it goes balck then more than likely u have sludge.
3 options, use a oil cleaner that the engine could run on or pour a bottle or 2 of a light oil like a 10w-30 through and let it drain or use the full complement of 10w-30 and run engine for about an hour or so and then fully drain.
Refill with an oil like a 15w-50 fully synthetic and a purolator oil filter.

If wear is your problem then 2 options here, do like meh partner Steve and order the parts and change all the worn pieces. Or you can run a good 20w-50 partial or fully synthetic based oil that would respond to the engine changing needs. I personally like the Redline 20w-50, real thin for a 20w but should work good in this situation or the belended quaker state oil or maybe, the umm, ahh castrol blend. The esso i also like. You will need a slightly thicker oil if wear is your problem so thats why i say use the 20w here. You may say that that too thick but I said specific brands cause of how they start up when cold and pump when cold. My engine has kinda the same problem, my tensioner will stock the chain from rattling when oil pressure is built so I have a kinda same problem, well used too.

I would also recommend flushing is wear is the problem to ensure u start with a clean base.

Thank you and Good Night. :lol:

Postby Dave » April 1st, 2004, 11:08 am

And yes my son, you are HEALED :lol:
i think this was the jist of all said b4, did i forget anything?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 2nd, 2004, 2:56 am

so sorry to hear about the hit boy altec......dat is real tuff......and Grande? well yuh maybe know that's meh work area :mrgreen:

I have not tried the redline as yet......apparently I may have a fuel delivery problem that needs sorting out first and that will cost me a good change----injector cleanout + filter change (ah heard Faiz have).
As soon as these items are sorted, the redline will go in and observations will be recorded here vizavie.........Redline vs Mobil1 vs Shell Helix and the hydraulic lifters 8)

kalongi

Postby kalongi » April 7th, 2004, 12:40 pm

well fellas , ah try that red line and ROCK SALT , after that 10w 30 and then redline 15w 50 , I now know whey daisy gone , I could go up for competition with dat pan side , the guy with the solution in Arouca , could I get some directions to try this one out .

Postby wagon r » April 7th, 2004, 1:50 pm

sorry to hear dat bro but give it a few days. check and see if the noise goes away as the oil "settles in".

roger

Postby roger » April 7th, 2004, 2:47 pm

^^ i agree...give it a few days

well i switchin from 20w-50 castrol next week tuesday to 15w-20 shell helix an i hope my pan side packs up and goes home...will you guys posted

kalongi

Postby kalongi » April 7th, 2004, 3:00 pm

Well ah going on four days and salt , ah will take allyuh advice , I fell I giving that VRG a permanant rest and stick to mih rx for a while . as ah matter ah fact ah selling dem to two blasted cars and look for some new flick , I fed up.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 7th, 2004, 9:42 pm

Oh flick boy........so sorry to hear about dem lifters.....and I was going with the redline in a while...........I go go back with de Mobil yes........buh honestly, dis shell helix have dem lifters quiet like all de time.........

kalongi

Postby kalongi » April 8th, 2004, 8:35 am

Ah want to find out something , if you could get the older galant (the one just before ours with a VR4 and AWD , could a swap be made with suspension and engine and still work fine .

Return to “MITSUBISHI”