WTK 4G15 DOHC or 4G92 SOHC?

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » October 17th, 2007, 5:58 pm

Pal, according to affordability and availabilty of parts 4g15 would be your best bet. I have had the pleasure of putting both engines to the test as daily drivers and personally, i think the 4g92 is a slightly better performer but the potential performance difference as opposed to price would not make that investment favourable at this point.

^^Yeah boogy I went with the 4G15 DOHC EFI.And it pulling nice :)

srnoth

Postby srnoth » May 8th, 2008, 11:12 am

:bump:

Well fellas my 4g13 overheated, water pump gone through and the head gasket blown, and I'm not too keen on spending more money on it. So looks like the time for an engine swap has come :D !

Morpheus23, I'm thinking of doing the exact same conversion as you, since it's bolt-for-bolt and the engines are readily available. I saw several in the bamboo for $4000 including harness, ECU and tranny. Is that a good price?

Can you recommend a mechanic who can do the swap without bussing price on my head? But who would do it properly and quickly as well :lol: .

Also anything I need to know before going after this swap? What to look for when purchasing the engine? Any other advice?

Thanks guys.

doubleoseven

Postby doubleoseven » May 10th, 2008, 9:31 pm

rych_bess2k6, I am converting from a 4g15 carb >>>4g15 dohc EFI. Do I need the ignition as well? So far I have a man ready to sell me harness computer and engine. I have heard I need the manifold too. What does the electrician need to do, i dont have power windows or nutten so.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 12th, 2008, 8:53 am

PM Quick Pcs

daz rych new account

mety57

Re: WTK 4G15 DOHC or 4G92 SOHC?

Postby mety57 » February 23rd, 2012, 9:06 pm

aye can anyone say how the bolt up does be if i have to put in a 4g15 dohc in a cs2 lancer /cedia

nicholasfabulous

Postby nicholasfabulous » September 26th, 2014, 9:04 am

I looking for a 4g15 and tranny for my lancer I currently have a 4g13 carb looking to upgrade for Sumn lil faster doh as to cost for complete install how would it cost on average guys

Postby Ted_v2 » September 28th, 2014, 7:17 am

7k engine and trans. Mounts using back
1k for a fuel injected tank.
Radiator hose could cut and make back. Could even get new ones.
Ac lines cutting and redoing.

Cater roughly 10k maybe cheaper if you could do the swap yourself.

nicholasfabulous

Postby nicholasfabulous » October 16th, 2014, 9:30 pm

Ok I doh mind nah honestly not thinking of selling my bbz lol

Postby Ted_v2 » October 16th, 2014, 9:31 pm

If you looking for someone to do the swap. Pm me