Gas leaking under fender of altis when filling up at gas station..SOLVED

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

onyx

Gas leaking under fender of altis when filling up at gas station..SOLVED

Postby onyx » September 1st, 2018, 9:18 pm

While filling up at the gas station I noticed gas dripping unto my rear tyre.

Under the fender there is a wet area but there is a shield is blocking.

Is there any causes of this leak and how I can properly evaluate to fix this issue.

Thanks in advance.

onyx

Re: Gas leaking under fender of altis when filling up at gas station

Postby onyx » September 2nd, 2018, 6:02 am

Bump...

Postby black start » September 2nd, 2018, 8:19 am

Most likely the filler tube leaking somewhere. Jack it up and check through....

pjfred

Postby pjfred » September 2nd, 2018, 8:23 am

I have seen a few rotten on the neck. Only Toyotas doh.

onyx

Postby onyx » September 2nd, 2018, 2:24 pm

Will check.. its difficult to get a new one though

onyx

Postby onyx » September 3rd, 2018, 7:22 pm

Checked it and saw a small hole..appears rusted.. anybody ever encountered this before and how
It was fixed?

pjfred

Postby pjfred » September 3rd, 2018, 8:07 pm

Remove it and have it welded away from vehicle, it is made of steel alloy.

onyx

Postby onyx » September 4th, 2018, 6:56 am

pjfred wrote:Remove it and have it welded away from vehicle, it is made of steel alloy.
See the picture below.. the leak is on the thinner tube. Will the welding hold out?
20180903_205443.jpeg

pjfred

Postby pjfred » September 4th, 2018, 8:53 am

onyx wrote:
pjfred wrote:Remove it and have it welded away from vehicle, it is made of steel alloy.
See the picture below.. the leak is on the thinner tube. Will the welding hold out?
20180903_205443.jpeg
Recently I had one repaired jus like that but what I did was replaced that piece using another from a crashed vehicle (nze). I then sent it to the guys that do gas tank coating and coated the whole Assembly.

onyx

Postby onyx » September 4th, 2018, 8:19 pm

pjfred wrote:
onyx wrote:
20180903_205443.jpeg
Recently I had one repaired jus like that but what I did was replaced that piece using another from a crashed vehicle (nze). I then sent it to the guys that do gas tank coating and coated the whole Assembly.
Ok thanks..Who did the gas coating?

I saw only 1 foreign used place has it but i am not sure if it will last..

pjfred

Postby pjfred » September 5th, 2018, 12:32 am

Where you from? Call me 3080691

onyx

Postby onyx » September 5th, 2018, 12:49 pm

Got through with a FU one... it was the only sure way..will fix the old one just in case.. Thanks for all the help!!

ADONI

Re: Gas leaking under fender of altis when filling up at gas station..SOLVED

Postby ADONI » September 7th, 2018, 9:09 am

OP, yuh could under-wash and shock oil a lil frequent as well....

Postby Dave » September 7th, 2018, 9:25 am

Do u fill your tank right up?

onyx

Postby onyx » September 8th, 2018, 6:50 am

Will definitely do ADONI.. i used to fill right up sometimes dave

Return to “TOYOTA”