What's all this I hear about tuning your backdash?

image91

What's all this I hear about tuning your backdash?

Postby image91 » March 1st, 2006, 3:33 pm

Keep hearing tuners talking about tuning your backdash for sq?

Or, it's angled forward for sq purposes?

Does any of this make sense?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 1st, 2006, 3:57 pm

either way it just plain boosheit.

how on earth can you tune rear speakers for better sq. thats total nonsense.
when you go to a concert, are the main speakers behind you or infront of you?
i dunno i must be going mad that i dunno since when people angle rear speakers for better sound quality. maybe i should ask them what the heck is sound quality inthe first place.

rear speakers are used for ambience. thats it. a pair of 4" is more than sufficient for rear FILL. furthurmore, proper rear fill should not posess such high frequencies as to pull the sound stage backward .

people need to separate crowd pleaser/gallery systems from sq cuz it eh have no way in hell somebody could talk to me about sq with them selenium and emimence in the same sentence. thats just boosheit.

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » March 1st, 2006, 4:47 pm

yeah thats true you rear speakers are only for rear fill and dont really need to be tuned. i have my speakers in the back facing forward so the mids travel when im playing the car in an open area but if you read the reviews this pulls my soundstage back alot although my fader is usually set to 8 on the front speakers so it actually has a negative impact on my system in terms of true SQ.

Postby SR » March 1st, 2006, 6:31 pm

for sound q you dont need rear fill however it does help for ambiance

and make the overal sound a bit more lively when listening to live recordings concerts etc

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » March 1st, 2006, 7:19 pm

yeh i liek rear fill cuz its unique to the car yuh know what isayin ? buh i gues if i was competing i wud get rid of it

audioaddict

Postby audioaddict » March 1st, 2006, 11:02 pm

i think alyuh should just make the back dash right up the the top ah the roof buh then again police does charge man fuh that in trini

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 2nd, 2006, 8:31 am

boi Aaron...SQ eh yuh thing.. u is a gallery man.. yuh dont need to worry about all this...

or proberly u jus want to aquire de best backdash mids fuh yuh money?

image91

Postby image91 » March 2nd, 2006, 8:23 pm

^^I overs dat since that incident (Eminence etc.) Plus, never used to gallery it anyhow :roll:
Ask ppl how I used to play that system, rel 'on the low'

Reason I asked about the 'tuning the dash for sq' was cause I found that it made no sense and kept hearing about it over and over and wondering if I was goin mad :?:

And not to say they were talking about tuning the back/rear stage from amp/deck/cross/pre... They meant actually tuning the dash itself (like how you tune a box) Or, if you angle it forward, you get better sq.

Advertising and saying, I will tune your backdash for sq for small money :roll:

Just hope some ppl who don't know better run through this thread :wink:

Postby SR » March 2nd, 2006, 9:13 pm

wait wait sombody tell yuh they go tune your back dash for sound q

OK DEN

and they goin to charge small money

i curious as to the techniques employed in "tuning" a backdash for sound q

front stage yes
backdash
well other than some sound dampening to stop the rattles and maybe palying with the angles of how the speakers are mounted but then these dont really need to change much due to the wavepathlenght to your ears compared to that of the door speakers

if anything you may want to dampen the sound or slow it down as it may reach you ears before the sound from the doors

hence time alignment
and utilizing smaller speakers with less power going to them than the doors

audiopipe

Postby audiopipe » March 2nd, 2006, 10:46 pm

[quote="Chiney"]boi Aaron...SQ eh yuh thing.. u is a gallery man.. yuh dont need to worry about all this...

so why cann't a person like sq spl sql an gallery @ d same time :roll:

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 2nd, 2006, 10:49 pm

funny you should ask.
for those pple who dont get those abbrevs, could you say what each is... perhaps the answer to your question lies in the definition of each...

audiopipe

Postby audiopipe » March 2nd, 2006, 10:58 pm

sq=sound quality
sql= sound quality level
spl= sound pressure level
gallery= gallery aka loud a$$ system with no care 4 quality

happy now

Postby SR » March 2nd, 2006, 11:01 pm

sql
sound quality and loud

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » March 2nd, 2006, 11:18 pm

sql + what i liek for a daily driver

Postby SR » March 2nd, 2006, 11:20 pm

especially when driving around campus eh

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » March 2nd, 2006, 11:20 pm

hahahah nah man jes to let it out on them big highways and relax

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 2nd, 2006, 11:51 pm

audiopipe wrote:sq=sound quality
sql= sound quality level
spl= sound pressure level
gallery= gallery aka loud a$$ system with no care 4 quality

happy now

using the above definitions audiopipe, how it is possible that a logical and sane person can like sound quality and gallery at the same time? again.. using your own definitions... im confused.

and thanks sr for clearing up what sql meant, cuz i real hearing that these days and i was wondering if the pple who preachin sql knew what it meant...

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » March 3rd, 2006, 12:05 am

^^^ ...well imagine having alouddd clean well balanced system without rear fill cuz ive seen it done and im sure it cud compete in sq at lower volume level cuz i mean if u use horns up front and some good midbass u cud get pretty damn loud mids and if u have the bass ot back it up have a sq sytem that cud also gallery abt...

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » March 3rd, 2006, 12:53 am

so why cann't a person like sq spl sql an gallery @ d same time :roll:[/quote]

:lol: its really funny to see the kind of comments pple make sometimes. Thanx for clearing that up nigel

guess we found one of the guys who tuning their back dash :lol:
Last edited by 33 hertz on March 3rd, 2006, 12:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » March 3rd, 2006, 12:56 am

sql = spl+sq which is a system capable of doin high numbers under teh meter and daily driving but still capable of sounding clean similar to how a sound q car sounds

guess its just wishful thinkin of trying to get the 2 together but some try

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » March 3rd, 2006, 1:09 am

eh i liek all cuz they all hard to obtain

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 7th, 2006, 12:23 pm

I doh understand how men could have 2 15s in d trunk & 4 6x9s in d rear dash & tell deyself "Aaaaaaaaaaah boi - DAT sounding BOSS " when all i hearing is BOOOOOOOOOM, BOOOOOOOOOOOM , Shhhhhhhhhhh, Shhhhhhhhhhh,

Like only 1 setta bass & tweets like ah DJ by d road side fo carnival ...

Correct thing is FRONT STAGE fo good imaging & if u like a lil bit of rear fill put like 1/3 d power u putting in d F/S (using a 4 chan amp & fader on ur HU to balance it ) & u have some good SQL subs in ur trunk (& i doh mean no 2 12s 306 nonsense eh) .............. :fadein: