Best place to connect a crossover for bass.

jackal

Best place to connect a crossover for bass.

Postby jackal » May 26th, 2020, 1:46 pm

So I want to add a crossover to my system.

I have a Pioneer head unit with a built in EQ and bass output with lots of control parameters eg. bass boost, phase shifting and the whole 9 yards, you audiophiles will know what I talking about.

I also have a Clarion Pre amp sending bass output signal to the a Monoblock and the rest suppling signal to the mids and highs amp.

I want to add a crossover for bass!

Where would be the best place to connect the crossover?

The option is from the output of the Clarion preamp bass output to the Monoblock

or from the bass out put on the head unit to the Monoblock? and just use the preamp to clean up the mids and highs.

I have to do this in two of my vehicles.

kavaninho

Re: Best place to connect a crossover for bass.

Postby kavaninho » May 26th, 2020, 5:02 pm

Clearly you have the 9 yards and subtracting 7.

Im pretty sure your deck has a capable LPF, them clarion preamp have LPF switch, your amp LPF too. What you tryna do -96db/oct slope? :lol:

Postby Rovin » May 26th, 2020, 9:55 pm

what is d model no of that pio deck ? ... 80prs ?

Postby rollingstock » May 26th, 2020, 10:51 pm

Deck to mono. Why complicate a simple thing. Sub bass is a just a fraction of audible frequency range. All you really need is a lpf. Most run of the mill pio decks should be around 4v out.

jackal

Postby jackal » May 27th, 2020, 7:54 am

To much acronyms.
Speak English.

The decks are AVH-490 double din DVD players.

Current configuration is deck to pre amp. Pre amp sub output to Monoblock and the rest of the pre amp going to another amp supplying the mids and highs. The sub output of the deck is not used.

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » May 27th, 2020, 9:30 am

jackal wrote:To much acronyms.
Speak English.

The decks are AVH-490 double din DVD players.

Current configuration is deck to pre amp. Pre amp sub output to Monoblock and the rest of the pre amp going to another amp supplying the mids and highs. The sub output of the deck is not used.

Uninstall the preamp and give it to your cousin, run the output of the deck to the amps. Do all your processing on the deck and thank me later.

jackal

Postby jackal » May 27th, 2020, 9:57 am

Actually, I took the pre amp from my cousin.

To get this right, connect the bass out to the mono block and the rest to the mids and highs

but what about base control, every time I will have to go into the deck to make adjustments.

Postby Ted_v2 » May 27th, 2020, 10:55 am

Nuh really. Rovin have a rca cable with a volume knob on it. Should work for ur application. Some bass amps have knob for this reason.

Postby Rovin » May 27th, 2020, 11:03 am

learn about ur deck
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=flSgpzaiWLQ

for me i wud use d deck alone & not bother with any preamp or crossover , deck has 13 bands & enough bells\whistles

if u like to play up with bass control : if ur bass amp has a remote bass knob then use it or simply buy a level controller like pac lc-1 ...

jackal

Postby jackal » May 27th, 2020, 11:21 am

Rovin wrote:learn about ur deck

for me i wud use d deck alone & not bother with any preamp or crossover , deck has 13 bands & enough bells\whistles

if u like to play up with bass control : if ur bass amp has a remote bass knob then use it or simply buy a level controller like pac lc-1 ...

That remote bass sounding like the way to go and eliminate the pre amp

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » May 27th, 2020, 5:15 pm

Your deck has subwoofer level control. Unless you love to turn that bass knob. :)

Postby Ted_v2 » May 27th, 2020, 6:12 pm

I used to like adjusting bass for every genre of music. Till a day I ended up on -2 and never moved since

Postby nervewrecker » May 27th, 2020, 8:22 pm

jackal wrote:
Rovin wrote:learn about ur deck

That remote bass sounding like the way to go and eliminate the pre amp

Take it from me, its not 1980 anymore. Start with a good deck and that's all you will ever need.

I had all of the above and never got it to sound right. Had a Pioneer 5100ub I got from rovin shop and I eventually connected that alone to the amps. Used the onboard crossovers coupled with the crossovers on the amps to give me the slopes I wanted. Never looked back.

Moved up to an 80prs some years later as I wanted to leave out the passive crossovers and have more control over my equipment. Truth be told the eq more or less close to flat and crossovers on the amps redundant. Only the Subsonic I use on the bass amp and as of late no need for it as the Image Dynamics don't bottom out. Low wattage plus cone area gets loud fast.

jackal

Postby jackal » May 28th, 2020, 7:45 am

So, from all comments, get rid of the pre amp and route everything through the head unit.

I did bought 2 of these bass controls off amazon yesterday, should reach home sometime next week.

Audiotek AP100 Digital Bass Processor..jpg
Audiotek AP100 Digital Bass Processor..jpg (29.74 KiB) Viewed 7205 times

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » May 28th, 2020, 10:06 am

jackal wrote:So, from all comments, get rid of the pre amp and route everything through the head unit.

I did bought 2 of these bass controls off amazon yesterday, should reach home sometime next week.

Cancel it if you can. You wont be needing this.

OP who advising you on these buys?

Postby Rovin » May 28th, 2020, 10:55 am

a bass control shud simply be a signal output level controller

thats like a wannabe audiocontrol epicenter ? ...

jackal

Postby jackal » May 28th, 2020, 11:44 am

bought it for the bass control

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » May 28th, 2020, 4:45 pm

https://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_52 ... -LC-1.html

You should have bought that if the knob was necessary.

Postby nervewrecker » May 28th, 2020, 7:19 pm

jackal wrote:So, from all comments, get rid of the pre amp and route everything through the head unit.

Should work well to Chuck wheels when you doing repairs. I think mango in season as a matter of fact. It won't waste.

I think you should get some demos from some of us in here.

What area you from?

Postby nervewrecker » May 28th, 2020, 9:06 pm

I don't have the subs in when I at the warehouse or i'd make a vid.

Deck and amps. Nothing else.

if you from the south lands you can shoot me a pm and I will see how best I can guide you.

jackal

Postby jackal » May 29th, 2020, 8:43 am

I from the Rio Claro side.

When I had the music in my X-Trail, only deck and amp (MTX 10", 6" 18 sound and some good quality tweeters and a Hifonics Zeus) it used to sound much better, but I was always fiddling with the bass controls based on the music playing.

In my current vehicle, I included a pre amp and change out the bass speakers to 2 12" MTX red cone speakers, same mids and highs, sound magnus Monoblock (1500X1) and a cross fire for the mids and highs that I had laying around. It not giving me anything like what I had in the X-Trail.

When I come off work next month, I have the hilux to do. Built the box already, have two 10" kicker.

I'll put in the bass line, I have two 6" matts for the door and will have to get some highs and i'll be using the Zeus for everything.

All this to go in, pending wife approval.

When that done, I have the Hilux LN167 to put something in. Daughter going for DP just now, I will not get any of the other vehicles to use. I will be stuck with the LN167

Postby Rovin » May 29th, 2020, 10:59 am

music acoustics will vary from vehicle to vehicle , its not always simple as what sounded "good" in 1 will sound just as good in another

it ur system taste more geared toward gallery style ? so its cracking mids\highs & high tuned bass ? ...

jackal

Postby jackal » May 29th, 2020, 12:10 pm

Clean music, deep rolling bass with some gallery in there, when I need it.

I spend a lot of time in my car to an from work, so, music helps keeping me company and destressing.